OSFI-525 Report Instructions

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Instruction Guide
  • Date: April 2019
  1. This Report can be used by federally regulated financial institutions (FRFIs) to meet their obligations to file information under subsection 83.11(2) of the Criminal Code.

  2. This Report must be filed no later than the fifteenth (15th) day of each calendar month. If such day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or statutory holiday, the Report is due on the next business day. Reports must be filed with the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, Regulatory Data Management Division via the Regulatory Reporting System (RRS).

  3. Canadian financial institutions must include information from branches located outside Canada. This should be included in the "Federally Regulated Financial Institution" column in the table.

  4. The term "Listed Entity" includes entities under the Regulations Establishing a List of Entities.  These regulations are made pursuant to the Criminal Code.

  5. This is an aggregate Report of dealings FRFIs have with a Listed Entity or Persons. Do not append personal information or account or policy information. Such information must be directed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police or the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, and if applicable, the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada and, in respect of any foreign operations, foreign law enforcement officials.

  6. All amounts must be stated in Canadian dollars.
    NOTE: If the original amount of the property frozen is denominated in a currency other than Canadian dollars, then the Canadian dollar equivalent should be reported using the same rate of exchange that was in effect on the date that the property was originally frozen and reported to law enforcement.

  7. It is an offence under the Criminal Code, to deal in terrorist property.  This includes the debiting of service charges and the crediting of interest, and/or , if the frozen property is a securities portfolio, the crediting of interest, dividends or other entitlements and the charging of custody fees, transaction fees or any other debits or credits to the account.

  8. The Report is cumulative. Information reported in the previous month must continue to be reported on the OSFI 525 Report for the current month unless the person in whose name the property is identified is no longer subject to the reporting requirements under subsection 83.11(2) of the Criminal Code. The positive form report is only to be used where the assets have been frozen AND reported to the RCMP. As noted, in #9 below, in all other situations, the simplified report (NIL form) should be used.

  9. If there are no assets frozen, you may use the simplified reporting form to confirm this. This includes situations where you may be seeking clarification from the authorities about whether an account holder is in fact a Listed Entity; in other words you may make the simplified filing where you have not made a determination that you are dealing with a Listed Entity. There is no need to report numbers of accounts where you are still seeking clarification from the authorities.

  10. This form is for use by Federally Regulated Financial Institutions only. Canadian Financial Institutions that are NOT FRFIs and that are regulated by a provincial regulator (such as a securities commission or a financial services commission) or the Investment Dealers Association (IDA) or the Mutual Funds Dealers Association are requested to use the appropriate reporting form issued by the province or the IDA.

  11. This form must be completed by every FRFI, including FRFI subsidiaries of FRFIs.

  12. All amounts and numbers provided must be entered in the table. Appendices that refer to additional information are not acceptable unless they provide clarifying information relating to data in the table.

  13. The "Reporting Month" is the month on which the report was based (e.g. for the report due on December 15th, the reporting month would be November).

  14. At each month end, an OSFI-525 (525 - Listed Entity Reporting Form) will be created within each FRFI's RRS Draft Returns Folder. This return can only be completed and submitted using the RRS online form.

  15. The online form contains both the Nil and Positive Report. The system will provide the appropriate form based on the type of report selected to be filled out on the cover page. Any questions should be directed via email to RA-RRS.Support@osfi-bsif.gc.ca .

  16. For electronic filing instructions, please refer to the Regulatory Reporting System (RRS) – Manage Financial Returns User Guide located on the OSFI website.

Guide sur le formulaire BSIF-525

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication: Guide d'instructions
  • Date : Avril 2019
  1. Les institutions financières fédérales (IFF) peuvent produire le rapport BSIF-525 pour s'acquitter de leurs devoirs en matière de communication au titre du paragraphe 83.11(2) du Code criminel.

  2. Le présent rapport doit être produit au plus tard le quinzième (15e) jour de chaque mois civil. Si ce jour est un samedi, un dimanche ou un jour férié, le rapport doit être soumis le premier jour ouvrable suivant. Il doit être transmis à la Division de la gestion des données réglementaires du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, au moyen du Système de déclaration réglementaire (SDR).

  3. Les institutions financières canadiennes sont tenues d'inclure les renseignements touchant leurs succursales à l'étranger, et ce, dans la colonne du tableau intitulée « Institution financière fédérale ».

  4. L'expression « entité inscrite » comprend les entités aux termes du Règlement établissant une liste d'entités, lequel a été pris en vertu du Code criminel.

  5. Le rapport est un rapport global des opérations que les institutions financières ont effectuées avec une entité inscrite ou plus. Il ne faut pas annexer de renseignements personnels ou de renseignements sur les comptes ou les contrats. Les renseignements de ce genre doivent être acheminés à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ou au Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité et, si nécessaire, au Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada et, à l'égard des opérations étrangères, aux responsables des organismes étrangers d'application de la loi.

  6. Tous les montants doivent être déclarés en dollars canadiens.
    REMARQUE : Si le montant initial des biens bloqués est libellé dans une devise autre que le dollar canadien, l'équivalent en dollars canadiens doit alors être déclaré à l'aide du taux de change qui était en vigueur le jour où les biens ont été initialement bloqués et signalés aux organismes d'application de la loi.

  7. Constitue un acte criminel en vertu du Code criminel, le fait d'effectuer sciemment une opération portant sur des biens qui appartiennent à un terroriste. Cela comprend le fait de porter des frais de service au débit d'un compte et de verser des intérêts au crédit d'un compte et (ou), si les biens bloqués constituent un portefeuille de valeurs mobilières, le fait de verser des intérêts, des dividendes ou d'autres droits au compte et d'imputer des droits de garde, des frais de transaction ou d'autres débits ou crédits sur le compte.

  8. Le rapport est cumulatif. Vous devez continuer à inclure l'information transmise dans un rapport précédent, à moins que la personne ou l'entité dont les biens sont identifiés ne fasse plus l'objet des exigences de rapport en vertu du paragraphe 83.11(2) du Code criminel. La version détaillée du rapport doit seulement être utilisée si les biens ont été bloqués ET déclarés à la GRC. Comme il est indiqué au point 9 ci-dessous, dans tous les autres cas, il faut utiliser la version abrégée du rapport.

  9. Si aucun bien n'a été bloqué, vous pouvez le confirmer en utilisant la version abrégée du rapport. C'est le cas, par exemple, lorsque vous cherchez à savoir auprès des autorités si le titulaire d'un compte est en fait une entité inscrite. En d'autres termes, vous pouvez utiliser la version abrégée du rapport lorsque vous n'êtes pas certain d'avoir effectué une opération avec une entité inscrite. Il n'est pas nécessaire de signaler les numéros des comptes lorsque vous cherchez encore à obtenir des précisions auprès des autorités.

  10. Ce rapport est réservé aux institutions financières fédérales. Les institutions financières canadiennes qui ne sont PAS des IFF et qui sont réglementées par un organisme de réglementation provincial (par exemple une commission de valeurs mobilières ou une commission de services financiers), ou l'Association canadienne des courtiers en valeurs mobilières (ACCOVAM) ou l'Association canadienne des courtiers de fonds mutuels, sont tenues d'utiliser le rapport approprié produit par l'organisme de réglementation provincial ou l'ACCOVAM.

  11. Toutes les IFF, ainsi que leurs filiales, doivent remplir un rapport.

  12. Tous les montants et nombres doivent être inscrits au tableau. Les annexes portant sur des renseignements supplémentaires ne sont pas acceptables à moins qu'elles ne donnent des précisions sur les données inscrites au tableau.

  13. Le « Mois du rapport » est le mois sur lequel le rapport est basé (par exemple, pour le rapport qui est dû le 15 décembre, le mois du rapport est celui de novembre).

  14. À la fin de chaque mois, un formulaire BSIF-525 (525 - Rapport des entités inscrites) sera créé dans le répertoire Relevés provisoires du profil de chacune des institutions dans le SDR. Ce relevé doit être rempli et présenté au moyen du formulaire en ligne dans le SDR .

  15. Le formulaire en ligne contient le rapport abrégé et le rapport détaillé. Le système fournira le type de rapport que l'institution indiquera à la page couverture. Les utilisateurs sont priés d'envoyer leurs questions par courriel à RA-RRS.Support@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

  16. Vous trouverez des instructions sur la production électronique des relevés dans le guide d'utilisation du SDR (Système de déclaration réglementaire (SDR) – Guide d'utilisation gestion des relevés financiers) se trouvant sur le site Web du BSIF.