GIVING UP CONTROL OF AN ENTITY WHILE RETAINING A SUBSTANTIAL INVESTMENT

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: April 2009
  • Index DA No: 14
  • Category: Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. a description of the transaction, including:

    1. the name of the entity for which approval for giving up control is requested;

    2. a detailed description of the activities of the entity and the legislative provision under which the applicant is permitted to hold control of the entity or a substantial investment in the entity;

    3. the rationale for giving up control of the entity while retaining a substantial investment; and

    4. details of the applicant’s relationship to the entity before and after giving up of control, including:

      1. the number, value and percentage of each class of share or ownership interest held, or to be held, by the applicant and its subsidiaries; and

      2. the aggregate value of loansFootnote 1 that the applicant and its subsidiaries, whether individually or jointly, have made to the entity.

  2. Confirmation that upon giving up control of the entity:

    1. the applicant would meet the requirements of the Minority Investment Regulations; or

    2. the entity would meet the conditions referred to in subparagraph 468(4)(d)(iii) or 930(4)(c)(iii) of the BA, 390(4)(c)(iii) of the CCAA, 495(c)(iii) of the ICA, or 453(4)(c)(iii) of the TLCA.

  3. Where the entity currently uses the name of the applicant in its corporate name, carries on business or identifies itself by a name that is substantially the same as the applicant, or uses any identifying mark, logogram or insignia of the applicant to indicate or describe its business, and:

    1. where the entity will continue to use the applicant’s name after the applicant has given up control of the entity, a detailed description of any agreement permitting the continued use of the name as well as a rationale for permitting the continued use; or

    2. where the entity will cease to use the applicant’s name after the applicant has given up control, a description of the measures that the applicant will take to ensure that the entity ceases to use its name, identifying mark, logogram or insignia.

Administrative Guidance

  1. A key feature of the control requirement is to address concerns over the risks to reputation to which a FRE is exposed when it has a substantial investment in an entity whose activities are closely related to the business of banking, insurance, financial intervention or investment. When reviewing an application for giving up control, OSFI will assess the impact of giving up control on these risks. If applicable, OSFI will also take into account the sufficiency of the FRE’s measures to ensure that the entity will cease to use the applicant’s name, identifying mark, logogram or insignia

  2. When an entity ceases to be a subsidiary of a bank or bank holding company, the entity may be required to take action to comply with section 983 of the BA, which sets out rules for the use of the name, identifying mark, logogram or insignia of a bank or bank holding company.

  3. When an entity incorporated under the laws of Canada ceases to be a subsidiary of an insurance company, insurance holding company, trust company or loan company, the entity may be required to take action in respect of its name to comply with section 47 of the ICA or section 47 of the TLCA.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

See definition in subsection 464(1) of the BA, 386(1) of the CCAA, 490(1) of the ICA or 449(1) of the TLCA

Return to footnote 1 referrer

ABANDON DU CONTRÔLE D’UNE ENTITÉ TOUT EN MAINTENANT UN INTÉRÊT DE GROUPE FINANCIER

Propriétés du Document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : avril 2009
  • Index PA No : 14
  • Catégorie : Présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. une description de l’opération comprenant :

    1. la dénomination sociale de l’entité visée par la demande d’abandon de contrôle;

    2. une description détaillée des activités de l’entité et la disposition législative autorisant le demandeur à contrôler l’entité ou à détenir un intérêt de groupe financier dans cette dernière;

    3. les motifs d’abandon du contrôle de l’entité et du maintien d’un intérêt de groupe financier dans cette dernière;

    4. le détail des liens entre le demandeur et l’entité, avant comme après l’abandon du contrôle, y compris :

      1. le nombre, la valeur et le pourcentage de chaque catégorie d’actions ou de titres de participation que détiennent ou détiendront le demandeur et les membres de son groupe;

      2. la valeur totale des prêtsNote de bas de page 1 que le demandeur et les membres de son groupe ont consentis, individuellement ou collectivement, à l’entité.

  2. une confirmation qu’après avoir abandonné le contrôle de l’entité :

    1. soit le demandeur respectera les exigences du Règlement sur les placements minoritaires;

    2. soit l’entité remplira les conditions visées aux alinéas 468(4)d)(iii) ou 930(4)c)(iii) de la LBA, 390(4)c)(iii) de la LACC, 495c)(iii) de la LSA, ou 453(4)c)(iii) de la LSFP.

  3. Dans le cas où l’entité utilise le nom du demandeur dans sa dénomination sociale, ou exerce son activité commerciale ou s’identifie sous un nom à peu près identique à celui du demandeur, ou utilise une marque d’identification, un signe graphique ou un symbole du demandeur pour indiquer ou décrire son entreprise :

    1. si l’entité continuera d’utiliser le nom du demandeur après que ce dernier aura abandonné le contrôle de l’entité, une description détaillée de toute entente permettant à l’entité de continuer à utiliser le nom du demandeur, sa marque d’identification, son signe graphique ou son symbole, et les raisons de cette autorisation;

    2. si l’entité doit cesser d’utiliser le nom du demandeur après que ce dernier aura abandonné le contrôle de l’entité, une description des mesures que le demandeur prendra pour veiller à ce que l’entité cesse d’utiliser son nom, sa marque d’identification, son signe graphique ou son symbole.

Directives administratives

  1. L’exigence de contrôle vise notamment à atténuer les préoccupations au sujet du risque d’atteinte à la réputation auquel une entité fédérale s’expose lorsqu’elle détient un intérêt de groupe financier dans une entité dont l’activité est étroitement liée à des activités bancaires, d’assurances, d’intervention financière ou de placement. En examinant une demande d’abandon de contrôle, le BSIF évaluera l’impact de l’abandon du contrôle sur ce risque. Le cas échéant, le BSIF tiendra également compte du degré d’adéquation des mesures prises par l’entité fédérale pour faire en sorte que l’entité cesse d’utiliser le nom, la marque d’identification, le signe graphique ou le symbole du demandeur.

  2. Lorsqu’une entité cesse d’être membre du groupe d’une banque ou d’une société de portefeuille bancaire, elle peut devoir prendre certaines mesures pour se conformer à l’article 983 de la LBA, qui énonce les règles sur l’utilisation du nom, de la marque d’identification, du signe graphique ou du symbole d’une banque ou d’une société de portefeuille bancaire.

  3. Lorsqu’une entité constituée sous le régime d’une loi fédérale cesse d’être membre du groupe d’une société d’assurances, d’une société de portefeuille d’assurances, d’une société de fiducie ou d’une société de prêt, elle peut devoir prendre certaines mesures relativement à son nom pour se conformer à l’article 47 de la LSA ou à l’article 46 de la LSFP.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les consignes administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles reflètent la vaste expérience du BSIF en matière de traitement des demandes. Les requérants qui fournissent tous les renseignements et documents demandés peuvent généralement s’attendre à ce que leur requête soit étudiée plus rapidement. Compte tenu des circonstances, le BSIF peut demander un complément d’information, tenir compte d’autres éléments, imposer des modalités ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Au sens des paragraphes 464(1) de la LBA, 386(1) de la LACCt, 490(1) de la LSA ou 449(1) de la LSFP.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1