ASSET TRANSACTION GREATER THAN 10% OF ASSETS

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: May 2013
  • Index DA No: 18
  • Category: Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. a description of the transaction or series of transactions (the “transaction”), including:

    1. the rationale for the transaction (e.g., in the normal course of business or as part of, or in the course of, a restructuring),
    2. the type of asset or assets (“asset”) involved,
    3. the names of the parties to the transaction and, if applicable, a description of the nature of the applicant’s affiliation with any of them,
    4. in the case of an acquisition of an asset, a description of the consideration to be paid by the applicant or its subsidiary, including the terms of payment, and
    5. in the case of a transfer of an asset, a description of the consideration to be received by the applicant or its subsidiary, including the terms of payment, and the use or the proposed use of the proceeds;
  2. a breakdown of each element of the formula set out in the applicable Legislative Authority, demonstrating that the value of the transaction exceeds the 10 per cent threshold set out in the formula;

  3. a description of the impact the transaction will have on the applicant’s current business strategy and, if the transaction will result in a material impact, a revised business strategy; and

  4. an analysis of the effect the transaction will have on the financial position and risk profile of the applicant, including:

    1. a comparative pro forma balance sheet (pre- and post-transaction) including relevant assumptions,
    2. a comparative pro forma capital position (pre- and post-transaction) that confirms compliance with the applicant’s internal capital target and with OSFI’s requirements applicable to the applicant, together with relevant assumptions, and in the case of:
      1. a deposit-taking institution, a breakdown of all elements used to calculate the Capital Adequacy Requirements, including the risk-based Tier 1 capital ratio, the risk-based total capital ratio and the assets to capital multiple,
      2. a life insurance company or fraternal benefit society, a breakdown of all elements used to calculate the Minimum Continuing Capital and Surplus Requirements, including the Tier 1 capital and total capital required, or
      3. a property and casualty insurance company, details of the Minimum Capital Test or the Mortgage Insurer Capital Adequacy Test, as applicable,
    3. a confirmation that, following the transaction, the applicant will be in compliance with its liquidity policy, and
    4. a revised internal solvency assessment process document (for example, ICAAP or FCT), including a summary of anticipated material impacts of the proposed acquisition on the applicant.

Administrative Guidance

  1. Most transactions that federally regulated entities and their subsidiaries (collectively referredto as an “FRE”) enter into involve some form of acquisition or transfer of an asset. However,OSFI is of the view that the words “acquire assets” and “transfer assets” in the provisions setout in the Legislative Authority generally refer to:

    1. the purchase of assets and the sale of assets by an FRE (collectively referred to as “Purchase and Sale Transactions”); and
    2. the acquisition of assets and the transfer of assets in connection with the purchase and sale, respectively, by an FRE of a business or a line of business (e.g., in connection with the FRE assuming deposit, policy or other liabilities of, or ceding its liabilities to, another person) (collectively referred to as “Business Transactions”).

    Examples of Purchase and Sale Transactions include the acquisition of property by the FRE in return for the issuance of its shares, and the acquisition or transfer by the FRE of:

    1. shares or other ownership interestsFootnote1;
    2. debt obligations on the secondary market;
    3. real property; and
    4. receivables, including the acquisition or transfer of receivables by an FRE from or to a pool of securitized receivables originated by the FRE, in return for a decrease or an increase, as the case may be, of the FRE’s co-ownership interest in the pool.

    Examples of Business Transactions include the FRE entering into an assumption reinsurance arrangement and selling part of a branch network to another FRE.

  2. Transactions that are not Purchase and Sale Transactions or Business Transactions, and therefore that do not count toward the 10% threshold under the provisions set out in the Legislative Authorities, include services provided or purchased by an FRE (collectively referred to as “Service Transactions”) and transactions relating to an FRE’s capital (collectively referred to as “Capital Transactions”).

    Examples of Service Transactions include the FRE:

    1. accepting deposits;
    2. clearing and settling payments;
    3. making loans, extending credit and acquiring debt obligations on the primary market;
    4. exchanging foreign currency;
    5. insuring risks; and
    6. reinsuring risks on an indemnity basis, except where this transaction is a Business Transaction (e.g., where 100% of the risks of a business or a line of business are reinsured and the reinsurer undertakes to “service” the related policies).

    Examples of Capital Transactions include the FRE:

    1. issuing its shares for cash consideration;
    2. paying dividends;
    3. redeeming its shares or purchasing its shares for the purpose of their cancellation;
    4. reducing its stated capital; and
    5. distributing its remaining property on its dissolution.
  3. The provisions set out in the Legislative Authorities exempt certain assets from the calculation and application of the 10% threshold. The enumerated exempt assets include, among others, assets that are frequently traded and easily valued, such as government securities and money market instruments, and shares of, or ownership interest in, an entity for which approval of the Minister or Superintendent is required under the substantial investment rulesFootnote2. The assets of a segregated fund maintained by an FRE that is an insurance company or a fraternal benefit society are also exempt from the calculation and application of the 10% thresholdFootnote3.

  4. Paragraph 6(1)(c) of the National Housing Act generally provides that an FRE that is designated as an approved lender by the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (“CMHC”) may, notwithstanding any restrictions on the power of the FRE contained in any other statute, dispose of or acquire loans insured by CMHC together with the security taken in respect of those loans. The effect of this provision is that while the disposal or acquisition of such insured loans by an FRE that is designated as an approved lender counts toward the 10% threshold, the FRE may proceed with such transaction without approval under the provisions set out in the Legislative Authorities.

  5. The provisions set out in the Legislative Authorities apply to acquisitions and transfers between an FRE and any single “person” over a rolling twelve month period. For greater certainty, acquisitions and transfers between a federally regulated entity and any of its subsidiaries, as well as those between the subsidiaries of a federally regulated entity, are subject to these provisions. For example, if a federally regulated entity acquires, for cash, shares issued from treasury by its subsidiary, this would constitute a Purchase and Sale Transaction from the federally regulated entity’s standpoint and a Capital Transaction from the subsidiary’s standpoint.

  6. In making the calculation of the 10% threshold, the FRE should not double count. For example, the acquisition of real estate valued at $400,000 by the FRE in return for a $400,000 cash payment should count as $400,000 towards the calculation and not $800,000.

  7. When assessing an application, OSFI will generally:

    1. take into account the impact of the transaction on the applicant’s asset mix, capital, income, liquidity position, and risk profile:
      1. in the case of a federally regulated financial institution, to ensure that the overall solvency of the applicant will not be unduly threatened, or
      2. in the case of a bank or insurance holding company, to ensure that the applicant will continue to be able to provide adequate financial support to its federally regulated financial institution subsidiary; and
    2. assess the soundness and feasibility of the applicant’s revised business strategy if the transaction will result in a material change to that strategy.
  8. Transactions with related parties are also subject to the self-dealing rules. Asset transactions that are subject to the Superintendent’s approval under the self-dealing rules are exempted from the calculation and application of the 10% threshold.Footnote4

  9. Where the FRE’s business plan contemplates a series of transactions with a single person over any 12-month period that would cause the FRE to cross the 10% threshold, the FRE may request a blanket approval from the Superintendent in respect of such transactions.Footnote5

  10. The Superintendent may consider whether the proposed transaction would hinder the effective implementation of corrective measures in the future, and may request information to that effect.

  11. Requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document are not subject to a service charge.Footnote6

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Acquisitions of shares of, or ownership interests in, an entity for which approval of the Minister is required under the ownership regime, or for which approval of the Minister or the Superintendent is required under the substantial investment rules, are exempted from the calculation and application of the 10% threshold: see paragraphs 482(2)(h) and 944(3)(a) of the Bank Act; paragraph 470(2)(d) of the Trust and Loan Companies Act; paragraphs 512(2)(d), 569(3)(b) and 987(3)(a) of the Insurance Companies Act; and paragraph 406(3)(d) of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

See subsections 482(2) and 944(2) and (3) of the Bank Act, subsection 470(2) of the Trust and Loan Companies Act, subsections 512(2), 569(2) and (3), and 987(2) and (3) of the Insurance Companies Act, and subsections 406(2) and (3) of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act. See also the Exempt Debt Obligation Transactions (Banks and Bank Holding Companies) Regulations under the Bank Act.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

See paragraphs 490(3)(a) and 550(c) of the Insurance Companies Act.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

See paragraphs 482(2)(j) and (k) of the Bank Act, paragraphs 470(2)(f) and (g) of the Trust and Loan Companies Act, paragraphs 512(2)(f) and (g) of the Insurance Companies Act, and paragraphs 406(3)(e) and (f) of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

See subsections 482(1.1) and 944(1.1) of the Bank Act, subsection 470(1.1) of the Trust and Loan Companies Act, subsections 512(1.1), 569(1.1) and 987(1.1) of the Insurance Companies Act, and subsection 406(1.1) of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

OPÉRATION SUR L’ACTIF DE PLUS DE 10 %

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : mai 2013
  • Index PA No : 18
  • Catégorie : Présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. une description de l’opération ou de la série d’opérations (l’opération), notamment :
    1. la justification de l’opération (p. ex., dans le cours normal des activités ou dans le cadre d’une restructuration),
    2. le type d’élément d’actif ou les types d’éléments d’actif (élément d’actif) en cause,
    3. les noms des parties à l’opération et, s’il y a lieu, une description de la nature du lien du demandeur avec ces personnes,
    4. dans le cas de l’acquisition d’un élément d’actif, une description de la contrepartie que versera le demandeur ou sa filiale, y compris les modalités de paiement,
    5. dans le cas de la cession d’un élément d’actif, une description de la contrepartie que recevra le demandeur ou sa filiale, y compris les modalités de paiement et l’utilisation confirmée ou proposée du produit;
  2. un relevé de tous les éléments de la formule énoncée dans le fondement législatif pertinent qui démontre que la valeur de l’opération est supérieure au seuil de 10 % fixé dans la formule;
  3. une description de l’incidence que l’opération aura sur la stratégie commerciale du demandeur et, si l’opération avait pour effet de la modifier considérablement, une stratégie commerciale révisée;
  4. une analyse de l’effet que l’opération aura sur la situation financière et le profil de risque du demandeur, notamment :
    1. un bilan pro forma comparatif (avant et après l’opération), assorti des hypothèses pertinentes,
    2. une analyse pro forma comparative des capitaux ou des fonds propres (avant et après l’opération) confirmant que le demandeur respecte ses propres objectifs en matière de capitaux ou de fonds propres ainsi que les exigences que le BSIF a établies à son endroit, assortie des hypothèses utilisées et,
      1. dans le cas d’une institution de dépôts, un relevé de tous les éléments utilisés pour calculer les normes de fonds propres, y compris le ratio des fonds propres de catégorie 1 au titre du risque, le ratio de la totalité des fonds propres au titre du risque et le ratio actif/fonds propres,
        risk-based total capital ratio and the assets to capital multiple,
      2. dans le cas d’une société d’assurance-vie ou d’une société de secours mutuels, un relevé de tous les éléments utilisés pour calculer le Montant minimal permanent requis pour le capital et l’excédent, y compris les capitaux de catégorie 1 et le total des capitaux requis,
      3. dans le cas d’une société d’assurances multirisques, tous les éléments du Test du capital minimal ou du Test de suffisance du capital des assureurs hypothécaires, selon le cas
    3. une confirmation du fait qu’après l’opération, la situation du demandeur sera conforme à sa politique en matière de liquidités,
    4. la version révisée d’un document sur le processus d’évaluation interne de la solvabilité (par exemple, PIEAFP ou ESF), y compris un résumé des conséquences importantes prévues de l’acquisition proposée sur le demandeur.

Directives administratives

  1. La plupart des opérations qu’effectuent les entités fédérales et leurs filiales (désignées collectivement par le sigle EF) visent une forme d’acquisition ou de cession d’éléments d’actif. Toutefois, le BSIF estime que les mots acquérir des éléments d’actif et céder des éléments d’actif, au sens que leur prêtent les dispositions des fondements législatifs des présentes, s’entendent généralement de ce qui suit :
    1. l’achat d’éléments d’actif et la vente d’éléments d’actif par une EF (appelés collectivement opérations d’achat et de vente);
    2. l’acquisition d’éléments d’actif et la cession d’éléments d’actif relatifs à une entreprise ou une branche d’activité (p. ex., se rattachant au fait que l’EF assume certains engagements à l’égard, notamment, de dépôts ou de polices d’une autre EF, ou les lui cède) (appelés collectivement opérations commerciales).

    Constituent des exemples d’opération d’achat et de vente l’acquisition, par une EF, de biens en contrepartie de l’émission de ses actions, et l’acquisition ou la cession, par une EF, de ce qui suit :

    1. actions et autres titres de participationNote de bas de page 1;
    2. obligations sur le marché secondaire;
    3. biens immeubles;
    4. comptes créances, notamment l’acquisition ou la cession, par une EF, de comptes créances provenant d’un lot de participations titrisées, ou lui étant destinés, en contrepartie d’une augmentation ou d’une diminution, selon le cas, des droits de propriétés de l’EF à l’égard du lot.

    Constituent des exemples d’opération commerciale, souscrire une convention de réassurance, aux fins de prise en charge, ou vendre une partie de son réseau de succursales à une autre EF.

  2. Les opérations qui ne sont ni des opérations d’achat et de vente, ni des opérations commerciales, et qui ne doivent, par conséquent, pas être prises en compte aux fins du calcul du seuil de 10 % prévu dans les fondements législatifs des présentes, s’entendent notamment des services dont une EF est la prestataire ou l’acquéreur (appelées collectivement opérations de service) et des opérations qui ont trait aux capitaux ou aux fonds propres de l’EF (appelées collectivement opérations portant sur l’avoir).

    Constituent des exemples d’opérations de service l’EF qui se voit :

    1. accepter des dépôts;
    2. verser des dividendes;
    3. accorder des prêts, accorder du crédit et acquérir des obligations sur le marché primaire;
    4. acheter ou racheter ses actions dans le but de les annuler;
    5. garantir des risques;
    6. réassurer des risques aux fins d’indemnisation, exception faite d’une opération qui s’apparente à une opération commerciale (p. ex., lorsque la totalité des risques inhérents à une branche d’assurance ou à un type d’assurance sont réassurés et que le réassureur s’engage à offrir des services à l’égard des polices qui s’y rattachent).

    Constituent des exemples d’opérations portant sur l’avoir l’EF qui se voit :

    1. émettre ses actions pour contrepartie en espèces;
    2. verser des dividendes;
    3. acheter ou racheter ses actions dans le but de les annuler;
    4. réduire son capital déclaré;
    5. répartir le reliquat de ses biens lors de sa dissolution.
  3. Les dispositions des fondements législatifs des présentes soustraient certains éléments d’actif au calcul et à l’application du seuil de 10 %. Ceux-ci comprennent, notamment, certains éléments d’actif qui sont fréquemment négociés et faciles à évaluer, y compris des titres d’État, des effets du marché monétaire, et des actions ou titres de participation d’une entité lorsque l’agrément du ministre ou du surintendant est requis en vertu des règles sur les intérêts de groupe financierNote de bas de page 2. C’est également le cas des opérations mettant en cause les éléments d’actif de la caisse séparée tenue par une EF qui est une société d’assurances ou une société de secours mutuels Note de bas de page 3.
  4. L’alinéa 6(1)c) de la Loi nationale sur l’habitation prévoit généralement que par dérogation aux dispositions de toute loi ou règle de droit limitant ses pouvoirs, le prêteur agréé par la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) qui serait, en les circonstances, une EF, peut aliéner ou acquérir des prêts assurés par la SCHL, ainsi que la garantie prise à leur égard. Ainsi, bien que l’aliénation ou l’acquisition de tels prêts par une EF qui, dans les circonstances, est un prêteur agréé, doivent être prise en compte aux fins du calcul du seuil de 10 %, l’EF n’est pas tenue de demander l’autorisation prévue dans les fondements législatif des présentes pour effectuer cette opération lorsque celle-ci pousse l’EF au-delà du seuil de 10%.
  5. Les dispositions des fondements législatifs des présentes visent les acquisitions et les cessions entre une EF et une seule personne sur une période de 12 mois consécutifs. Il est entendu que les acquisitions et les cessions entre une entité fédérale et une de ses filiales, ainsi que celles entre les filiales d’une entité fédérale, sont assujetties à ces dispositions. Par exemple, l’acquisition, par une entité fédérale, d’actions provenant du trésor d’une de ses filiales en contrepartie d’espèces constituerait, du point de vue de l’entité fédérale, une opération d’achat et de vente et, du point de vue de la filiale, une opération portant sur les capitaux propres.
  6. Lors du calcul du seuil de 10 %, l’EF ne doit pas prendre en compte deux fois la valeur de la contrepartie d’une même opération. Par exemple, l’acquisition d’un bien immeuble évalué à 400 000 $ par l’EF en contrepartie d’un paiement en espèce de 400 000 $ doit être prise en compte à la valeur de 400 000 $, et non de 800 000 $.
  7. Dans l’évaluation d’une demande, le BSIF :
    1. prendra habituellement en compte l’incidence de l’opération sur la composition des éléments d’actif, les fonds propres, le revenu, la position au chapitre des liquidités et le profil de risque du demandeur :
      1. dans le cas d’une institution financière fédérale, pour s’assurer que la solvabilité globale du demandeur ne sera pas indûment menacée,
      2. dans le cas d’une société de portefeuille bancaire ou d’assurances, pour s’assurer que le demandeur demeure en mesure de fournir une aide financière adéquate à sa filiale qui est une institution financière fédérale;
    2. vérifiera habituellement le sérieux et la faisabilité de la nouvelle stratégie commerciale du demandeur si l’opération avait pour effet de modifier considérablement cette stratégie.
  8. Une opération effectuée avec un apparenté est assujettie aux règles régissant les opérations avec apparentés. Les opérations portant sur les éléments d’actif qui requièrent l’agrément du surintendant en vertu des règles sur les opérations avec apparentés sont soustrait du calcul et à l’application du seuil de 10 %Note de bas de page 4.
  9. Lorsque son plan d’affaires prévoit une série d’opérations avec une seule personne au cours d’une période de 12 mois qui lui ferait franchir le seuil de 10 %, l’EF peut demander l’agrément du surintendant pour cette série d’opérationsNote de bas de page 5.
  10. Le surintendant pourrait vouloir déterminer si l’opération proposée nuirait dans l’avenir à la mise en oeuvre de mesures correctives et demander de l’information à ce sujet.
  11. Aucun droit n’est exigé en contrepartie de cet agrémentNote de bas de page 6.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l’évaluation des demandes. Les demandeurs qui auront fourni toute l'information et tous les documents nécessaires pourront s'attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les actions et les titres de participation d’une entité sont soustrait du calcul et à l’application du seuil de 10 % lorsque l’agrément du ministre est requis en vertu de dispositions législatives sur la propriété pour cette acquisition, ou que l’agrément du ministre ou du surintendant est requis aux termes des règles sur les intérêts de groupe financier : voir les alinéas 482(2) h) et 944(3) a) de la Loi sur les banques, l’alinéa 470(2) d) de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, voir les alinéas 512(2) d), 569(3) b) et 987(3) a) de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances et l’alinéa 406(3) d) de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Paragraphes 482(2) et 944(2) et (3) de la Loi sur les banques, paragraphe 470(2) de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, paragraphes 512(2), 569(2) et (3), et 987(2) et (3) de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances, et paragraphes 406(2) et (3) de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit. Voir aussi le Règlement sur les titres de créance soustraits aux interdictions relatives à l’actif (banques et sociétés de portefeuille bancaires) de la Loi sur les banques.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Alinéas 490(3) a) et 550 c) de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Alinéas 482(2) j) et k) de la Loi sur les banques, 470(2) f) et g) de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, 512(2) f) et g) de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances, et 406(3) e) et f) de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Paragraphes 482(1.1) et 944(1.1) de la Loi sur les banques, paragraphe 470(1.1) de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, paragraphes 512(1.1), 569(1.1) et 987(1.1) de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances, et paragraphe 406(1.1) de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6