Related-party asset transactions with a financial institution

Document Properties

   
  • Publication Type: Transaction Instructions
  • Index DA No: 23
  • Revised: June 2015

Legislative Authorities

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the name of the counterparty with which the applicant proposes to enter into the arrangement as well as:
    1. an analysis in support of the applicant's conclusion that the counterparty is:
      1. a financial institutionFootnote 1, and
      2. a related partyFootnote 2 of the applicant, accompanied by a current organization chart indicating the relevant parts of the applicant's corporate group (with percentages owned), and
    2. the most recent financial statements (balance sheet, income statement and statement of changes in shareholders' equity) of the related party;
  2. a description of the proposed arrangement, including:
    1. the rationale for the arrangement, including an analysis in support of the applicant's conclusion that the transaction or transactions ("transaction") contemplated in the arrangement would be in the normal course of the applicant's businessFootnote 3,
    2. the type of asset or assets ("asset") involved,
    3. whether the applicant will enter into the transaction directly or through a subsidiaryFootnote 4,
    4. in the case of an acquisition of an asset, a description of the consideration to be paid by the applicant or its subsidiary, including the terms of payment, and
    5. in the case of a disposition of an asset, a description of the consideration to be received by the applicant or its subsidiary, including the terms of payment, and the use or the proposed use of the proceeds;
  3. a confirmation from a senior officerFootnote 5 that the transaction:
    1. will be on terms and conditions that are at least as favourable to the applicant as market terms and conditionsFootnote 6 (such a confirmation is not necessary where the independent third party opinion referred to in item 6 is provided),
    2. will not result in the applicant having material ongoing financial exposure to a related partyFootnote 7 (or alternatively, provide a description of the exposure and of the measures or other safeguards that will be put in place to mitigate the exposure), and
    3. will not have a detrimental effect on the financial position or risk profile of the applicant;Footnote 8
  4. a description of the basis on which the assessment of each of the elements referred to in item 3 was made;
  5. details regarding the level of internal approval required in respect of the transaction (e.g., board of directors, board committee or senior management), based on the applicant's policies, as well as evidence that the transaction was approved at the appropriate level (e.g., relevant excerpts from the minutes of the meeting during which the proposed transaction was approved);
  6. where the asset is not a security that trades on a recognized stock exchange or over-the-counter market, an opinion from an independent third party or, where appropriate, other reliable evidence to demonstrate that the transaction will be carried out on terms and conditions that are at least as favourable to the applicant as market terms and conditions; and
  7. an analysis of the effect the arrangement will have on the financial position and risk profile of the applicant, including:
    1. a comparative pro forma balance sheet (pre- and post-transaction) including relevant assumptions,
    2. a comparative pro forma capital position (pre- and post-transaction) that confirms compliance with the applicant's internal capital target and with OSFI's requirements applicable to the applicant, together with relevant assumptions and, if the transaction is material to the applicant, a breakdown of:
      1. in the case of a deposit-taking institution, all elements used to calculate:
        1. the capital ratios, in accordance with the Capital Adequacy Requirements Guideline,
        2. the leverage ratio, in accordance with the Leverage Requirements Guideline, and
        3. the liquidity coverage ratio, in accordance with the Liquidity Adequacy Requirements Guideline,
      2. in the case of a life insurance company, all elements used to calculate the Minimum Continuing Capital and Surplus Requirements, or
      3. in the case of a property and casualty insurance company, all elements of the Minimum Capital Test,
    3. if the transaction is material to the applicant:
      1. in the case of a deposit-taking institution, a revised internal solvency assessment process document (e.g., Internal Capital Adequacy Assessment Process), or
      2. in the case of an insurance company, a revised scenario stress testing report (e.g.,  Dynamic Capital Adequacy Testing), and
    4. a confirmation that, following the transaction, the applicant will be in compliance with its relevant policies including those related to liquidity, capital management, risk management and investments.

Administrative Guidance

  1. In determining whether an asset transaction is in the normal course of the applicant's business, OSFI generally considers whether the transaction is consistent with the applicant's usual business practices and not a "one-off" transaction.
  2. OSFI generally considers the following elements when assessing applications for related-party asset transactions with a financial institution:
    1. No ongoing financial exposure: The transaction should generally not result in the applicant having material ongoing financial exposure to a related party, unless adequate mitigation measures or other safeguards have been put in place. Where there will be material ongoing financial exposure, it should generally only continue for a short period of time. OSFI generally considers an applicant to have ongoing financial exposure to a related party where it has a receivable from the related party, holds securities of the related party, has provided a guarantee for the benefit of the related party or holds a guarantee from the related party; and
    2. No detrimental effect: The transaction should not have a detrimental effect on the financial position or risk profile of the applicant. In this regard, OSFI will generally assess the impact of the transaction on the applicant's business, asset mix, capital, income and liquidity position.
  3. Asset transactions contemplated in this Transaction Instruction must be carried out on terms and conditions at least as favourable to the applicant as market terms and conditions. OSFI may, where appropriate, commission an independent evaluation, at the applicant's expense.
  4. If the arrangement provides for asset transactions between the applicant and the related party on an ongoing basis, the Superintendent may impose terms and conditions to the approval which could include granting the approval for a limited time (e.g., approval of recurring asset transactions up to a specified date) or imposing a limit on the total value of assets that can be acquired or disposed (e.g., approval to acquire or dispose of assets up to a specified amount).
  5. Where the asset transaction is permitted without approval under another related party provisionFootnote 9 (e.g., nominal value transaction), the federally regulated financial institution (FRFI) may proceed with the transaction under that other provision.
  6. Paragraph 6(1)(c) of the National Housing Act generally provides that a FRFI that is designated as an approved lender by the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) may, notwithstanding any restrictions on the power of the FRFI contained in any other statute, dispose of or acquire loans insured by CMHC together with the security taken in respect of those loans. The effect of this provision is that the FRFI may proceed with such a transaction without approval under the provisions set out in the Legislative Authorities.
  7. Assets, other than real property, acquired or disposed of under an arrangement that has been approved under the provisions set out in the Legislative Authorities are exempted from the calculation and application of the 10% threshold for purposes of asset transactions addressed in Transaction Instruction DA No. 18. – Asset Transaction Greater than 10% of Assets.Footnote 10
  8. The Superintendent may consider whether the proposed arrangement would hinder the effective implementation of corrective measures in the future, and may request information to that effect.
  9. Requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document are not subject to a service charge.Footnote 11

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI's experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Please see the definition of "financial institution" in section 2 of the BA, the TLCA, the ICA and the CCAA.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Please see the definition of "related party" in section 486 of the BA, section 474 of the TLCA, section 518 of the ICA and section 410 of the CCAA.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Please see item 1 of the Administrative Guidance below.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Please see subsection 489(2) of the BA, subsection 477(2) of the TLCA, subsection 521(2) of the ICA and subsection 413(2) of the CCAA.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

In this Transaction Instruction, "senior officer" means the chief executive officer or a person that reports to the chief executive officer or the board of directors.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

Please see the definition of "market terms and conditions" in section 501 of the BA, section 489 of the TLCA, section 534 of the ICA and section 425 of the CCAA.

Return to footnote 6

Footnote 7

Please see item 2(a) of the Administrative Guidance below.

Return to footnote 7

Footnote 8

Please see item 2(b) of the Administrative Guidance below.

Return to footnote 8

Footnote 9

Please see for example section 490 and subsections 494(1) and (2) of the BA, section 478 and subsections 482(1) and (2) of the TLCA, section 522 and subsections 527(1) and (2) of the ICA and section 414 and subsections 418(1) and (2) of the CCAA.

Return to footnote 9

Footnote 10

Please see paragraph 482(2)(j) of the BA, paragraph 470(2)(f) of the TLCA, paragraph 512(2)(f) of the ICA and paragraph 406(3)(e) of the CCAA.

Return to footnote 10

Footnote 11

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 11

Opérations sur l’actif avec un apparenté qui est une institution financière

Propriétés du Document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Index PA No : 23
  • Révisé : Juin 2015

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d'information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. le nom de la contrepartie avec laquelle il propose de conclure l'arrangement, ainsi que :
    1. une analyse pour appuyer sa conclusion à l'effet que la contrepartie est :
      1. une institution financièreNote de bas de page 1,
      2. un apparentéNote de bas de page 2 du demandeur, à laquelle est joint un organigramme à jour indiquant les parties pertinentes du groupe de sociétés du demandeur (avec pourcentages de propriété),
    2. les derniers états financiers (bilan, état des résultats et état des fluctuations de l'avoir des actionnaires) de l'apparenté;
  2. une description de l'arrangement proposé, notamment :
    1. le motif de l'arrangement, y compris une analyse pour appuyer la conclusion du demandeur à l'effet que l'opération ou les opérations (l'opération) visée dans l'arrangement se ferait dans le cadre normal de l'activité commerciale du demandeurNote de bas de page 3,
    2. le type d'élément d'actif ou les types d'éléments d'actif (élément d'actif) en cause,
    3. la question de savoir si le demandeur effectuera l'opération directement ou par l'intermédiaire d'une filialeNote de bas de page 4,
    4. dans le cas de l'acquisition d'un élément d'actif, une description de la contrepartie que versera le demandeur ou sa filiale, y compris les modalités de paiement,
    5. dans le cas de l'aliénation d'un élément d'actif, une description de la contrepartie que recevra le demandeur ou sa filiale, y compris les modalités de paiement et l'utilisation confirmée ou proposée du produit;
  3. une déclaration d'un cadre dirigeantNote de bas de page 5 confirmant que :
    1. les conditions de l'opération seront au moins aussi favorables pour le demandeur que celles du marchéNote de bas de page 6 (cette confirmation n'est pas nécessaire quand l'opinion du tiers indépendant dont il est question au point 6 est fournie),
    2. l'opération n'exposera pas le demandeur à un risque financier permanent important lié à un apparentéNote de bas de page 7 (ou, le cas échéant, fournir une description du risque et des mesures ou des autres protections qui seront mises en place pour atténuer le risque),
    3. l'opération n'aura pas un effet défavorable sur la situation financière ou le profil de risque du demandeurNote de bas de page 8;
  4. une description du fondement de l'évaluation de chacun des éléments prévus au point 3;
  5. des précisions relatives aux approbations internes requises pour l'opération (p. ex., du conseil d'administration, d'un de ses comités ou de la haute direction), conformément aux politiques internes du demandeur, de même qu'une preuve à l'appui de l'obtention de ces approbations (p. ex., un extrait pertinent du procès-verbal de la réunion au cours de laquelle l'opération a été approuvée);
  6. si l'actif n'est pas un titre négocié sur une bourse reconnue ou sur un marché hors cote, une opinion d'un tiers indépendant ou, s'il y a lieu, un autre fait probant fiable qui démontre que l'opération sera effectuée dans des conditions au moins aussi favorables pour le demandeur que celles du marché;
  7. une analyse de l'effet que l'arrangement aura sur la situation financière et le profil de risque du demandeur, notamment :
    1. un bilan pro forma comparatif (avant et après l'opération), y compris les hypothèses pertinentes,
    2. une analyse pro forma comparative des fonds propres (avant et après l'opération) confirmant que le demandeur respecte ses propres objectifs en matière de fonds propres ainsi que les exigences que le BSIF a établies à son endroit, assortie des hypothèses utilisées et, si l'opération est importante pour le demandeur, un relevé :
      1. dans le cas d'une institution de dépôts, de tous les éléments utilisés pour calculer :
        1. les ratios de fonds propres, conformément à la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres,
        2. le ratio de levier, conformément à la ligne directrice Exigences de levier,
        3. le ratio de liquidité à court terme, conformément à la ligne directrice Normes de liquidité,
      2. dans le cas d'une société d'assurance-vie, de tous les éléments utilisés pour calculer le Montant minimal permanent requis pour le capital et l'excédent,
      3. dans le cas d’une société d’assurances multirisques, tous les éléments du Test du capital minimal ou du Test de suffisance du capital des assureurs hypothécaires, selon le cas,
    3. si l'opération est importante pour le demandeur :
      1. dans le cas d'une institution de dépôts, la version révisée d'un document sur le processus interne d'évaluation de la solvabilité (par exemple, Processus interne d'évaluation de l'adéquation des fonds propres),
      2. dans le cas d’une société d’assurances, un rapport révisé de scénarios de simulation de crise (par exemple, Examen de la santé financière),
    4. une confirmation du fait qu'après l'opération, la situation du demandeur sera conforme à ses politiques pertinentes, notamment celles relatives aux liquidités, à la gestion des fonds propres, à la gestion des risques et aux placements.

Directives administratives

  1. Pour déterminer si une opération sur l'actif s'effectue dans le cadre normal de l'activité commerciale du demandeur, en règle générale, le BSIF se demande si l'opération est conforme aux pratiques commerciales usuelles du demandeur ou s'il s'agit plutôt d'une opération ponctuelle.
  2. En règle générale, le BSIF examine les éléments suivants quand il évalue les demandes d'opérations sur l'actif avec un apparenté qui est une institution financière.
    1. Aucun risque financier permanent : Normalement, l'opération ne devrait pas exposer le demandeur à un risque financier permanent important lié à un apparenté, à moins que des mesures d'atténuation ou d'autres protections adéquates n'aient été mises en place. S'il y a un risque financier permanent important, celui-ci devrait normalement être de courte durée. Le BSIF estime généralement qu'un demandeur est exposé à un risque financier important lié à un apparenté s'il détient une créance auprès de l'apparenté ou des titres de celui-ci, s'il lui a fourni une garantie ou si l'apparenté lui en a fourni une.
    2. Aucun effet défavorable : L'opération ne devrait pas avoir d'effet défavorable sur la situation financière ou le profil de risque du demandeur. À cet égard, le BSIF évaluera normalement l'impact de l'opération sur les affaires, la composition de l'actif, les fonds propres, le revenu et la position de liquidité du demandeur.
  3. Les opérations sur l'actif visées dans la présente instruction relative aux opérations doivent être exécutées dans des conditions au moins aussi favorables pour le demandeur que celles du marché. Le BSIF peut, s'il y a lieu, demander une évaluation indépendante, aux frais du demandeur.
  4. Si l'entente prévoit des opérations sur l'actif entre le demandeur et l'apparenté sur une base continue, le surintendant peut imposer des conditions à l'approbation, comme accorder l'approbation pour un temps limité (par exemple, approuver des opérations sur l'actif récurrentes jusqu'à une date précise) ou imposer une limite sur la valeur totale des éléments d'actif qui peuvent être acquis ou aliénés (par exemple, approuver l'acquisition ou l'aliénation d'éléments d'actif jusqu'à concurrence d'un certain montant).
  5. Si l'opération sur l'actif est autorisée sans approbation aux termes d'autres dispositions visant les apparentésNote de bas de page 9 (par exemple, opérations à valeur peu importante), l'institution financière fédérale (IFF) peut poursuivre l'opération conformément à ces autres dispositions.
  6. L'alinéa 6(1)c) de la Loi nationale sur l'habitation prévoit généralement que par dérogation aux dispositions de toute autre loi ou règle de droit limitant ses pouvoirs, le prêteur agréé par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL) qui serait, en les circonstances, une IFF, peut aliéner ou acquérir des prêts assurés par la SCHL ainsi que la garantie prise à leur égard. Ces dispositions permettent à l'IFF de poursuivre l'opération sans l'approbation requise par les dispositions du fondement législatif.
  7. Les éléments d'actif, autres que les biens immobiliers, acquis ou aliénés dans le cadre d'un arrangement qui a été approuvé en vertu des dispositions énoncées dans le fondement législatif sont soustraits du calcul et à l'application du seuil de 10 % aux fins des opérations sur l'actif visées dans l'instruction relative aux opérations PA no 18, Opérations sur l'actif de plus de 10 %Note de bas de page 10.
  8. Le surintendant pourrait vouloir déterminer si l'arrangement proposé nuirait à la mise en œuvre de mesures correctives et demander de l'information à ce sujet.
  9. Aucun droit n'est exigé en contrepartie de cet agrémentNote de bas de page 11.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l’évaluation des demandes. Les demandeurs qui fournissent toute l’information et tous les documents nécessaires peuvent s’attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Voir la définition d’« institution financière » à l’article 2 de la LB, de la LSFP, de la LSA et de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Voir la définition d’« apparenté » à l’article 486 de la LB, de l’article 474 de la LSFP, de l’article 518 de la LSA et de l’article 410 de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Voir le point 1 des « Directives administratives » ci-dessous.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Voir le paragraphe 489(2) de la LB, le paragraphe 477(2) de la LSFP, le paragraphe 521(2) de la LSA et le paragraphe 413(2) de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Dans la présente instruction relative aux opérations, « cadre dirigeant » s’entend du chef de la direction ou d’une personne qui relève de celui-ci ou du conseil d’administration.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Voir la définition de « conditions du marché » à l’article 501 de la LB, à l’article 489 de la LSFP, à l’article 534 de la LSA et à l’article 425 de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Voir le point 2(a) des « Directives administratives » ci-dessous.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

Voir le point 2(b) des « Directives administratives » ci-dessous.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8

Note de bas de page 9

Voir, par exemple, l’article 490 et les paragraphes 494(1) et (2) de la LB, l’article 478 et les paragraphes 482(1) et  (2) de la LSFP, l’article 522 et les paragraphes 527(1) et (2) de la LSA et l’article 414 et les paragraphes 418(1) et (2) de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 9

Note de bas de page 10

Voir l’alinéa 482(2)j) de la LB, l’alinéa 470(2)f) de la LSFP, l’alinéa 512(2)f) de la LSA et l’alinéa 406(3)e) de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 10

Note de bas de page 11

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 11