ACQUISITION OR DISPOSAL OF ASSETS EXCEEDING 5% OF A FI’S ASSETS, TO/FROM A WIDELY HELD BANK OR INSURANCE HOLDING COMPANY OR A SUBSDIARY OF THE HOLDING COMPANY THAT IS RELATED TO FI

Document Properties

  • Publication Type: Transaction Instructions
  • Index DA No: 24
  • Category: Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Information Requirements

  • ownership diagram showing FI seeking approval, its parent bank holding company or insurance holding company and, if applicable, any subsidiaries of the holding company or entitities in which the holding company has a substantial investment, that are involved in the proposed transaction

  • nature and value of assets being acquired or transferred by FI

  • total value of all assets, excluding exempted assets in subsection (2) of the legislative authorities referred to above, that FI directly or indirectly acquired from, or directly or indirectly transferred to the related party in the 12 months ending immediately before the proposed acquisition or transfer

  • total value of assets of FI as shown in its last annual statement prepared before the proposed acquisition or transfer

  • purpose, rationale and details of payment of purchase or sale

  • for material acquisitions, copies of due diligence reports, if any, that confirm asset quality

  • copy of resolution of Conduct Review Committee of the FI approving the transaction, including confirmation that the transaction will be at least as favourable as market terms and conditions

  • pro-forma calculation of capital adequacy tests reflecting asset transaction for FI seeking approval, and for its parent bank holding company or insurance holding company if the holding company is involved in the transaction.

  • analysis of transaction in respect of asset/liability management

Administrative Guidance

An application under any of the legislative authorities:

  • should conform to prudent balance sheet asset management principles

  • may also require an approval of the Superintendent under section 482 of Bank Act or section 470 of Trust and Loan Companies Act or section 512 of the Insurance Companies Act as appropriate, if the value of the assets being acquired from or transferred to the related party plus the total value of any other assets acquired from or transferred to the related party within the twelve months ending immediately before the proposed transfer, exceeds 10% of the FI’s total assets.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

ACQUISITION AUPRÈS D'UNE BANQUE À PARTICIPATION MULTIPLE, D'UNE SOCIÉTÉ DE PORTEFEUILLE D'ASSURANCES OU D'UNE FILIALE DE CETTE DERNIÈRE APPARENTÉE À UNE IF, OU CESSION EN SA FAVEUR, D'ÉLÉMENTS D'ACTIF REPRÉSENTANT PLUS DE 5 P. 100 DE L'ACTIF DE L'IF

Propriétés du Document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Index PA No : 24
  • Catégorie : Présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

  • diagramme de propriété comprenant l'IF qui sollicite l'agrément, sa société de portefeuille bancaire ou d'assurances mère et, le cas échéant, toutes les filiales de la société de portefeuille ou les entités dans lesquelles la société de portefeuille détient un intérêt de groupe financier et qui participent à l'opération proposée

  • nature et valeur des éléments d'actifs acquis ou cédés par l'IF

  • valeur totale de tous les éléments d'actif, à l'exception de ceux visés au paragraphe (2) de celle des dispositions législatives susmentionnées qui s'applique, que l'IF a acquis d'un apparenté ou lui a cédés dans la période de 12 mois précédant l'acquisition ou la cession proposée

  • actif total de l'IF d'après le dernier état annuel établi avant l'acquisition ou la cession

  • objet, justification et conditions du paiement relatif à l’opération sur l’actif

  • dans le cas d'une acquisition importante, copie des rapports sur les précautions prises, le cas échéant, qui confirment la qualité de l'actif

  • copie de la résolution du comité de révision de l'IF sanctionnant l'opération et confirmant qu'elle sera effectuée dans des conditions au moins aussi favorables que celles du marché

  • calculs pro forma des tests de suffisance du capital reflétant l’opération sur l’actif de l'IF qui sollicite l'agrément, et de sa société de portefeuille bancaire ou d'assurances mère si cette dernière est partie à l'opération

  • analyse de l’opération en ce qui concerne la gestion des liquidités et des éléments d’actif et de passif

Directives administratives

Toute demande présentée en vertu de l’une des autorisations législatives ci-dessus doit répondre aux critères suivants :

  • elle doit être conforme aux principes de gestion prudente de l’actif inscrit au bilan;

  • elle pourrait nécessiter l'agrément du surintendant en vertu de l'article 482 de la Loi sur les banques, 470 de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt ou 512 de la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurances si la somme de la valeur des éléments d'actif acquis de l'apparenté ou cédés à ce dernier et de la valeur de tous les autres éléments d'actif acquis de l'apparenté ou cédés à ce dernier au cours des 12 mois précédant la cession proposée représentent plus de 10 p. 100 de l'actif total de l'IF.