Reduction of Stated Capital

Document Properties

  • Publication Type: Transaction Instructions
  • Index DA No: 4
  • Category: Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the rationale for seeking the reduction of stated capital;

  2. statements showing the number of shares by class of the applicant that are issued and outstanding;

  3. the proposed timing and amount of the reduction of stated capital;

  4. proof of publication of the notice of intention to apply for approval of the Superintendent to reduce the stated capital of the applicant (the Notice)Footnote 1;

  5. a confirmation from the applicant that it has not, since publication of the Notice, received any objections related to the Notice or otherwise with regard to the proposed reduction of stated capital, or has addressed any objection received (together with a description of the manner in which each objection has been addressed);

  6. an executed copy of the special resolution authorizing the reduction of stated capital and specifying the stated capital account or accounts from which the reduction of stated capital effected by the special resolution will be deducted (the Special Resolution)Footnote 2;

  7. results of voting by class of shares in respect of the Special Resolution; and

  8. an analysis of the effect of the reduction of stated capital on the financial position and risk profile of the applicant, including:

    1. a comparative pro forma balance sheet (pre- and post-reduction of stated capital) including relevant assumptions,

    2. a comparative pro forma capital position and liquidity positionFootnote 3 (pre- and post- reduction of stated capital) that confirms compliance with the applicant's internal target(s) and with OSFI's requirements applicable to the applicant, together with relevant assumptions and a breakdown of:

      1. in the case of a deposit-taking institution, all elements used to calculate:

        1. the capital ratios, in accordance with the Capital Adequacy Requirements Guideline,

        2. the leverage ratio, in accordance with the Leverage Requirements Guideline, and

        3. the liquidity coverage ratio, in accordance with the Liquidity Adequacy Requirements Guideline,

      2. in the case of a life insurance company, all elements used to calculate the Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test, or

      3. in the case of a property and casualty insurance company, all elements of the Minimum Capital Test or the Mortgage Insurer Capital Adequacy Test, as applicable, and

    3. a confirmation that, following the reduction of stated capital, the applicant will be in compliance with its relevant policies, which may include those related to liquidity, capital management, risk management and investments.

Administrative Guidance

  1. OSFI expects the Notice to set out, among other things:

    1. the name of the applicant;

    2. a copy of the actual or proposedFootnote 4 Special Resolution; and

    3. the Legislative Authority under which the Notice is given.

  2. An application pursuant to any of the Legislative Authorities must be made within 3 months after the time of the passing of the Special Resolution, and the Notice must be published in the Canada Gazette prior to making the applicationFootnote 5. The applicant may publish the Notice in the Canada Gazette prior to the passing of the Special Resolution provided that the applicant indicates in the Notice the date on which the Special Resolution will be presented to its shareholders or members, and if the Special Resolution passed differs substantively from the proposed Special Resolution published in the Notice, OSFI will expect the applicant to republish the Notice.

  3. Federally regulated entities are expected to maintain adequate capital and liquidity at all timesFootnote 6 and applicants should ensure that any planned reduction of stated capital will not impede their ability to meet capital and liquidity targets required by OSFI or its internal processes.Footnote 7

  4. The following email address should be used for the initial submission of documents in support of requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Once the initial submission has been received, a case officer will be assigned to the matter. Thereafter, all case-related documents and correspondence should be directed to the case officer.

  5. Requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document are not subject to a service charge.Footnote 8

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI's experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The Notice is described in subsections 75(5) of the BA, 78(5) of the TLCA, 79(5) of the ICA and 82(5) of the CCAA, as applicable. Please see also items 1 and 2 of the Administrative Guidance below for more information.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

An applicant may submit portions of the information requirements to OSFI prior to the passing of the Special Resolution, but a formal application cannot be made until the Special Resolution has been passed (and the Notice has been published and the confirmation in item 5 has been provided). Please see item 2 of the Administrative Guidance for more information.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

A liquidity position is only expected to be provided where the applicant is a deposit-taking institution.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Please see item 2 of the Administrative Guidance for more information.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Please see subsections 75(5) of the BA, 78(5) of the TLCA, 79(5) of the ICA or 82(5) of the CCAA, as applicable.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

Please see subsections 485(1) of the BA, 473(1) of the TLCA, 515(1) of the ICA or 409(1) of the CCAA, as applicable.

Return to footnote 6

Footnote 7

Federally regulated entities are prohibited from reducing their stated capital where such action would cause them to contravene capital/liquidity requirements or any direction to increase or maintain capital/liquidity. Please see subsections 75(2) of the BA, 78(2) of the TLCA, 79(2) of the ICA or 82(2) of the CCAA, as applicable.

Return to footnote 7

Footnote 8

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 8

Réduction du capital déclaré

Propriétés du Document

  • Type de publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Index PA no: 4
  • Catégorie: Présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d'information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. la justification de la demande de réduction du capital déclaré;

  2. les relevés indiquant le nombre d'actions par catégorie du demandeur qui sont émises et en circulation;

  3. l'échéancier et le montant proposés de la réduction du capital déclaré;

  4. une preuve de publication de l'avis d'intention de demander l'agrément du surintendant pour réduire le capital déclaré du demandeur (l'avis)Note de bas de page 1;

  5. une confirmation du demandeur qu'il n'a pas, depuis la publication de l'avis, reçu d'objections relatives à l'avis ou autrement relativement à la réduction proposée du capital déclaré, ou qu'il a donné suite à toute objection reçue (ainsi qu'une description de la façon dont chaque objection a été traitée);

  6. une copie signée de la résolution extraordinaire autorisant la réduction du capital déclaré et précisant le ou les comptes de capital déclaré faisant l'objet de la résolution (la résolution extraordinaire)Note de bas de page 2;

  7. les résultats du vote par catégorie d'actions et, le cas échéant, des membres, à l'égard de la résolution extraordinaire;

  8. une analyse de l'effet de la réduction du capital déclaré sur la situation financière et le profil de risque du demandeur, notamment :

    1. un bilan pro forma comparatif (avant et après réduction du capital déclaré), y compris les hypothèses pertinentes,

    2. une analyse pro forma comparative des fonds propres et de la liquiditéNote de bas de page 3 (avant et après la réduction du capital déclaré) confirmant la conformité au niveau de la cible interne de capital du demandeur et aux exigences du BSIF applicables au demandeur, ainsi que les hypothèses pertinentes et une ventilation :

      1. dans le cas d'une institution de dépôts, de tous les éléments utilisés pour calculer :

        1. les ratios de fonds propres, conformément à la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres,

        2. le ratio de levier, conformément à la ligne directrice Exigences de levier,

        3. le ratio de liquidité à court terme, conformément à la ligne directrice Normes de liquidité,

      2. dans le cas d'une société d'assurance-vie, de tous les éléments utilisés pour calculer le Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d'assurance-vie,

      3. dans le cas d’une société d’assurances multirisques, tous les éléments du Test du capital minimal ou du Test de suffisance du capital des assureurs hypothécaires, selon le cas,

    3. une confirmation que, à la suite de la réduction du capital déclaré, le demandeur se conformera à ses politiques pertinentes, y compris celles portant sur les liquidités, la gestion des fonds propres, la gestion des risques et les placements.

Directives administratives

  1. Le BSIF s'attend à ce que, entre autres choses, l'avis :

    1. indique le nom du demandeur;

    2. s'accompagne d'une copie de la résolution extraordinaire réelle ou proposéeNote de bas de page 4;

    3. précise le pouvoir législatif en vertu duquel l'avis est donné.

  2. Une demande en vertu des fondements législatifs doit être présentée dans les trois mois suivant l'adoption de la résolution extraordinaire, et l'avis doit être publié dans la Gazette du Canada avant de présenter la demandeNote de bas de page 5. Le demandeur peut publier l'avis dans la Gazette du Canada avant l'adoption de la résolution extraordinaire, pourvu qu'il indique dans l'avis la date à laquelle la résolution extraordinaire sera présentée à ses actionnaires ou membres et, si la résolution extraordinaire adoptée diffère sensiblement de la résolution extraordinaire proposée publiée dans l'avis, le BSIF s'attend à ce que le demandeur republie l'avis.

  3. On s'attend à ce que les entités fédérales réglementées maintiennent en tout temps des éléments de capital et des liquidités suffisantsNote de bas de page 6 et que les demandeurs s'assurent que toute réduction prévue du capital déclaré n'entrave pas leur capacité d'atteindre les cibles de capital et de liquidités exigées par le BSIF ou ses processus internesNote de bas de page 7

  4. L'adresse de courriel suivante doit être utilisée pour la présentation initiale de documents à l'appui d'une demande d'agrément visée par le présent document : approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Une fois ces documents initiaux reçus, le dossier sera attribué à un agent des cas. Par la suite, tous les documents et toute la correspondance relatifs au cas doivent être acheminés à l'agent responsable du cas.

  5. Les demandes d'agrément visées dans le présent document ne sont pas assujetties à des frais de serviceNote de bas de page 8.

Les exigences en matière d'information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l'évaluation des demandes. Les demandeurs qui fournissent toute l'information et tous les documents nécessaires peuvent s'attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d'autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

L'avis est décrit aux paragraphes 75(5) de la LB, 78(5) de la LSFP, 79(5) de la LSA et 82(5) de la LACC, selon le cas. Pour plus de précisions, voir aussi les points 1 et 2 des Directives administratives ci-dessous.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le demandeur peut soumettre au BSIF une partie des renseignements exigés avant l'adoption de la résolution extraordinaire, mais une demande officielle ne peut être présentée avant l'adoption de la résolution extraordinaire, la publication de l'avis et la fourniture de la confirmation visée au point 5. Pour plus de précisions, voir le point 2 des Directives administratives.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Le BSIF s'attend à ce qu'une analyse de la liquidité ne soit fournie que si le demandeur est une institution de dépôts.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Pour plus de précisions, voir le point 2 des Directives administratives.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Voir les paragraphes 75(5) de la LB, 78(5) de la LSFP, 79(5) de la LSA ou 82(5) de la LACC, selon le cas.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Voir les paragraphes 485(1) de la LB, 473(1) de la LSFP, 515(1) de la LSA ou 409(1) de la LACC, selon le cas.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Il est interdit aux entités fédérales réglementées de réduire leur capital déclaré si de telles mesures les amèneraient à contrevenir aux exigences en matière de capital et de liquidités ou à toute directive visant à augmenter ou à maintenir le capital et les liquidités. Voir les paragraphes 75(2) de la LB, 78(2) de la LSFP, 79(2) de la LSA ou 82(2) de la LACC, selon le cas.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières .

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8