ISSUANCE OF SUBORDINATED DEBT IN CONSIDERATION OF PROPERTY

Document Properties

  • Publication Type: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: April 2009
  • Index DA No: 6
  • Category: Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. a description of the transaction or series of transactions (the transaction), including:

    1. the reason for the transaction,

    2. a description of the property that the applicant would receive, including substantiation of the value of the property (e.g., a report to the board of directors or a report from a qualified independent valuation expert),

    3. the value, terms and conditions of the subordinated debt that would be issued, and the justification supporting the value, terms and conditions of the subordinated debt, and

    4. the name of the person with whom the applicant would be dealing and, if applicable, a description of the nature of the applicant’s affiliation with that person; and

  2. an analysis of the effect the transaction will have on the financial position and risk profile of the applicant, including:

    1. a comparative pro forma balance sheet (pre- and post-transaction) including relevant assumptions,

    2. a comparative pro forma capital position (pre- and post-transaction) confirming compliance with OSFI’s requirements, as applicable to the applicant, together with relevant assumptions and, in the case of:

      1. a deposit-taking institution, a breakdown of all elements used to calculate the Capital Adequacy Requirements, including the risk-based Tier 1 capital ratio, the risk-based total capital ratio and the assets to capital multiple,

      2. a life insurance company or fraternal benefit society, a breakdown of all elements used to calculate the Minimum Continuing Capital and Surplus Requirements, including the Tier 1 capital by component and total capital required, or

      3. a property and casualty insurance company, details of the Minimum Capital Test or the Mortgage Insurer Capital Adequacy Test, as applicable, and

    3. a a confirmation that, following the transaction, the applicant will be in compliance with its liquidity policy.

Administrative Guidance

  1. Generally, OSFI will not approve the issuance of subordinated debt in consideration of a bond, debenture, note or other evidence of indebtedness of the person to whom the subordinated debt would be issued.

  2. When assessing an application pursuant to the legislative authorities, OSFI will generally:

    1. take into account the impact of the transaction on the applicant’s asset mix, capital, income, liquidity position, and risk profile to ensure that the overall solvency of the applicant will not be unduly threatened; and

    2. ascertain whether the applicant has demonstrated that:

      1. it would receive fair consideration for the subordinated debt to be issued,

      2. the transaction is in its best interests, and

      3. the transaction will not adversely affect its business and operations.

  3. If the subordinated debt will be issued to a related party, the applicant may also require an approval under the applicable provisions of the relevant financial institution statute pertaining to selfdealing.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

ÉMISSION DE TITRES DE CRÉANCE SUBORDONNÉE EN CONTREPARTIE D’UN BIEN

Propriétés du Document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : avril 2009
  • Index PA No : 6
  • Catégorie : Présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. une description de l’opération ou de la série d’opérations (« l’opération »), notamment :

    1. le bien-fondé de l’opération;

    2. une description des biens que le requérant recevrait, y compris une preuve de leur valeur (p. ex., un rapport d’évaluation préparé par un spécialiste indépendant ou un rapport à l’intention du conseil d’administration concernant l’évaluation du bien);

    3. la valeur et les modalités des titres de créance subordonnés qui seraient émis, y compris le bien-fondé de la valeur et des modalités de la créance subordonnée;

    4. le nom de la personne avec laquelle le requérant serait appelé à traiter et, le cas échéant, une description de la nature de l’affiliation du requérant avec cette personne;

  2. une analyse de l’effet qu’aura l’opération sur la situation financière et le profil de risque du requérant, y compris :

    1. un bilan pro forma comparatif (avant et après l’opération), y compris les hypothèses pertinentes;

    2. une position de fonds propres pro forma comparative (avant et après l’opération) confirmant le respect des exigences du BSIF applicables au requérant, de même que les hypothèses pertinentes; en outre, s’agissant, selon le cas :

      1. d’une institution de dépôts, une ventilation de tous les éléments entrant dans le calcul des exigences de fonds propres, y compris le ratio des fonds propres à risque de catégorie 1, le ratio total de fonds propres à risque et le ratio actif/fonds propres;

      2. d’une société d’assurance-vie ou d’une société de secours mutuels, une ventilation de tous les éléments utilisés pour calculer le Montant minimal permanent requis pour le capital et l’excédent, y compris les fonds propres de catégorie 1 par élément et le total des fonds propres requis;

      3. d’une société d’assurances multirisques, les détails du Test du capital minimal ou du Test de suffisance du capital des assureurs hypothécaires, selon le cas.

    3. une confirmation à l’effet qu’une fois l’opération effectuée, le requérant se conformera à sa politique sur les liquidités.

Directives administratives

  1. De façon générale, le BSIF n’approuvera pas l’émission de titres de créance subordonnée en contrepartie d’une obligation, d’une débenture ou d’un autre titre de créance de la personne à qui les titres de créance subordonnée seraient émis.

  2. De façon générale, pour évaluer une demande en vertu des dispositions législatives susmentionnées, le BSIF :

    1. tient compte de l’incidence de l’opération sur la composition de l’actif, des fonds propres, des revenus, de la position de liquidité et du profil de risque du requérant pour s’assurer que la solvabilité globale de ce dernier ne sera pas indûment menacée;

    2. détermine si le requérant a prouvé, à la fois :

      1. qu’il recevra une contrepartie équitable pour les titres de créance subordonnée qui doivent être émis;

      2. que l’opération sert au mieux ses intérêts;

      3. que l’opération n’aura pas d’impact négatif sur ses activités et son fonctionnement.

  3. Si les titres de créance subordonnée doivent être émis en faveur d’un apparenté, le requérant pourrait également devoir obtenir un agrément aux termes des dispositions législatives pertinentes régissant les opérations avec apparentés.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les consignes administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles reflètent la vaste expérience du BSIF en matière de traitement des demandes. Les requérants qui fournissent tous les renseignements et documents demandés peuvent généralement s’attendre à ce que leur requête soit étudiée plus rapidement. Compte tenu des circonstances, le BSIF peut demander un complément d’information, tenir compte d’autres éléments, imposer des modalités ou exiger des engagements.