Transaction Instructions – Part XII: Approval to have a financial establishment in Canada

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: October 2017
  • Index A No: 3
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

  • Subsection 522.21(1) or 522.211(1) of the Bank Act (the “Act”).

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the name of the applicant, the address of its head office and its jurisdiction of incorporation;

  2. the current organizational chart (with percentages owned) of the applicant’s corporate group;

  3. a description of the nature and degree of supervision and regulation to which the applicant and its affiliates are subject, including the name of the primary regulatory organization for the applicant and its affiliates;

  4. an analysis in support of the applicant’s position that it is an entity to which Part XII of the Act appliesFootnote 1 (a “Part XII Entity”);

  5. a description of the current business activities and investments in Canada of the applicant and its affiliates, and a confirmation that these activities currently comply, and after the financial establishment in Canada will continue to comply, with Part XII of the Act;

  6. a description of the proposed business activities or investment that will cause the applicant to have a financial establishment in Canada (the “Transaction”), and an analysis demonstrating that the Transaction will be permitted under Part XII of the Act, subject to receipt of the necessary approvals;

  7. details regarding whether the applicant (or the entity being acquired, where applicable) requires any regulatory approval, other than under the Act, to enter into the Transaction or is required to notify any regulator of such transaction, and where any of these requirements apply, a confirmation that they have been met; and

  8. where the applicant is controlled by an individual or a group of individuals acting in concert, a completed OSFI Security Information Form in respect of that individual or each of the members of the group acting in concert, as the case may be.Footnote 2

Administrative Guidance

  1. For further guidance on the concept of “financial establishment in Canada” and other elements of Part XII of the Act, refer to the Advisory No. 2006-01-R1 – Legislative Framework for Foreign Banks.

  2. No approval under the Legislative Authorities is required where a Part XII Entity or its affiliate:

    1. maintains or establishes a bank branch in Canada under Part XII.1 of the Act;

    2. maintains or establishes an insurance branch in Canada under Part XIII of the Insurance Companies Act;

    3. controls or acquires control of a federally regulated financial institution or owns or acquires more than 20% of its voting shares or 30% of its non-voting shares; or

    4. has already received, or is deemed to have received, the approval of the Minister to have a financial establishment in Canada.Footnote 3

  3. A foreign bank or an entity associated with a foreign bank with a financial establishment in Canada is subject to restrictions on its activities, businesses and investments in Canada similar to those imposed on Canadian banks.  Applicants are reminded to consult Advisory No. 2006-01-R1 – Legislative Framework for Foreign Banks to determine whether additional approvals of the Minister pursuant to section 522.22 of the Act are required.  

  4. The OSFI Security Information Form(s) must be provided to OSFI in the following two formats: (a) a signed and dated original hard-copy, and (b) an electronic version in Excel format. Once OSFI receives the completed forms, they are then forwarded to the relevant Canadian law enforcement and intelligence agencies to carry out the requisite background and security assessments. Please note that the time required by law enforcement and intelligence agencies to complete these assessments is not within OSFI’s control, and the Superintendent will generally not request the Minister’s decision to issue Letters Patent until these assessments are completed without issue. As such, applicants are strongly encouraged to remit the completed OSFI Security Information Form(s) at the earliest possible stage in the application.

  5. Where applicable, OSFI will generally recommend to the Minister that any approval granted under the Legislative Authorities lapse upon the acquisition of the applicant by a person outside of the applicant’s current ownership group or any change to the applicant’s ultimate controlling shareholder.

  6. This approval is subject to a service charge.Footnote 4  A wire transfer, cheque or bank draft should be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

  7. The following email address should be used for the initial submission of documents in support of requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Once the initial submission has been received, a case officer will be assigned to the matter. Thereafter, all case-related documents and correspondence should be directed to the case officer.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications.  They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications.  Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications.  As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

By virtue of section 508 of the Act.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

See item 4 of the Administrative Guidance below for more information.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

See subsections 522.21(2), 522.21(3), 522.211(2) and 522.211(3) of the Act.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 4

Instructions relatives aux opérations – Partie XII: Agrément relatif aux établissements financiers au Canada

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations+
  • Révisé : Octobre 2017
  • Index A No : 3
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. le nom du demandeur, l’adresse de son siège et l’instance de sa constitution;

  2. un organigramme à jour (avec les pourcentages détenus) du groupe de sociétés du demandeur;

  3. une description de la nature et de l’étendue de la réglementation et de la surveillance dont le demandeur et les entités qui lui sont affiliées font l’objet, y compris le nom de l’organisme de réglementation principal du demandeur et de ses entités affiliées;

  4. une analyse appuyant la position du demandeur selon laquelle il est une entité visée par la partie XII de la LoiNote de bas de page 1 (une « entité visée »);

  5. une description des activités commerciales et des investissements actuels du demandeur et de ses entités affiliées au Canada, et une confirmation selon laquelle ces activités sont actuellement conformes à la partie XII de la Loi et continueront de l’être après l’établissement financier au Canada;

  6. une description des activités commerciales ou des investissements proposés qui feront en sorte que le demandeur aura un établissement financier au Canada (l’« opération »), ainsi qu’une analyse montrant que l’opération sera conforme à la partie XII de la Loi, sous réserve de l’obtention des approbations nécessaires;

  7. des précisions indiquant si le demandeur (ou l’entité acquise, s’il y a lieu) doit obtenir une approbation, autre qu’en vertu de la Loi, en rapport avec l’opération ou s’il est tenu d’informer un organisme de réglementation de l’opération et, lorsqu’une ou l’autre de ces exigences s’applique, de l’information sur la mesure dans laquelle elle est respectée;

  8. lorsque le demandeur est contrôlé par un particulier ou un groupe de particuliers agissant de concert, un Formulaire de renseignements de sécurité du BSIF dûment rempli pour ce particulier ou chacun des membres du groupe, selon le cas.Note de bas de page 2

Directives administratives

  1. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le concept d’« établissement financier au Canada » et d’autres éléments de la partie XII de la Loi, se reporter au préavis no 2006-01-R1, Cadre législatif des banques étrangères.

  2. Aucun agrément en vertu du fondement législatif n’est requis lorsqu’une entité visée ou une de ses entités affiliées :

    1. maintient ou établit une succursale au Canada en vertu de la partie XII.1 de la Loi;

    2. maintient ou établit une succursale au Canada en vertu de la partie XIII de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances;

    3. contrôle ou acquiert le contrôle d’une institution financière fédérale ou détient ou acquiert plus de 20 % de ses actions avec droit de vote ou 30 % de ses actions sans droit de vote;

    4. a déjà reçu, ou est réputée avoir reçu, l’agrément du ministre pour avoir un établissement financier au Canada.Note de bas de page 3

  3. Une banque étrangère ou une entité associée à une banque étrangère qui a un établissement financier au Canada est assujettie à des restrictions quant à ses activités et investissements au Canada comparables à celles qui sont imposées aux banques canadiennes. On rappelle aux demandeurs de consulter le préavis no 2006-01-R1, Cadre législatif des banques étrangèrespour déterminer s’il est nécessaire d’obtenir d’autres agréments du ministre en vertu de l’article 522.22 de la Loi.

  4. Le Formulaire de renseignements de sécurité du BSIF doit être remis au BSIF dans les deux formats suivants : a) un original imprimé, signé et daté, et b) une version électronique en format Excel. Le BSIF acheminera ces documents aux organismes canadiens de renseignements et d’application de la loi pertinents pour procéder aux vérifications requises des antécédents et de sécurité. Le temps requis par ces organismes pour mener à bien ces vérifications échappe au contrôle du BSIF. En général, le surintendant ne demandera au ministre de se prononcer sur la délivrance des lettres patentes jusqu’à ce que ces vérifications soient effectuées sans qu’aucun problème soit mis au jour. Les demandeurs ont donc tout intérêt à soumettre le Formulaire de renseignements de sécurité du BSIF rempli le plus tôt possible dans le processus de la demande.

  5. Le cas échéant, le BSIF recommande en règle générale au ministre que tout agrément accordé en vertu des pouvoirs législatifs devienne caduc à l’acquisition du demandeur par une personne n’appartenant pas au même groupe que le demandeur ou si le principal actionnaire majoritaire du demandeur change.

  6. Cet agrément est assujetti à un droit à payerNote de bas de page 4. Un virement électronique, un chèque ou une traite bancaire doit être fait à l’ordre du Receveur général du Canada.

  7. Les documents présentés initialement à l’appui d’une demande d’agrément dont il est question dans le présent document devraient être envoyés à l’adresse courriel suivante : approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Après réception des documents, un chargé de dossier sera nommé, après quoi les documents et la correspondance portant sur la demande devraient lui être adressés.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives  sont conçues en fonction des demandes types. Elles découlent de l’expérience du BSIF dans l’étude de telles demandes. Les demandes qui réunissent tous les renseignements et toutes les pièces nécessaires pourraient être traitées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

En vertu de l’article 508 de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Pour plus de précisions, consulter le paragraphe 4 des directives administratives ci-après.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Voir les paragraphes 522.21(2), 522.21(3), 522.211(2) et 522.211(3) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4