CHANGE OF NAME – FOREIGN ENTITY

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Index A No: 6
  • Revised: July 2017

Legislative Authorities

  • Subsection 528(1.1) of the Bank Act (BA)
  • Section 576 of the Insurance Companies Act (ICA)

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the full legal name of the foreign entity (FE)Footnote 1;

  2. the name the FE proposes to use in Canada, in English, French, or both (as required), and a name search reportFootnote 2 accompanied by an analysis in support of the applicant’s conclusion that the proposed name:

    1. is available for use in Canada, and

    2. is not prohibited by the BA or ICA, as applicable, and meets the requirements of any other relevant Canadian legislation, including all pertinent financial institution statutes;

  3. where the proposed name of the FE is substantially the same as that of an affiliated entity:

    1. the consent in writing of that entity, or from the controlling parent of the corporate group on behalf of that entity, to use the name,Footnote 3 and

    2. a description of the mitigants already in place, or mitigating measures that the FE will undertake, to avoid potential confusion in the marketplace; and

  4. where the application is made as a result of a change in the name of the FE in its home jurisdiction, and the FE wishes to use its new name in Canada, a certified copy of a document that, pursuant to the laws of the jurisdiction under which it was incorporated or established, effected the FE’s change of name.

Administrative Guidance

  1. Please note that additional information and/or approvals may be required where an application to change the name of an FE is made as a result of a merger or amalgamation. In such circumstances, applicants are strongly encouraged to contact OSFI’s Legislation and Approvals Division prior to filing an application.

  2. When assessing an application pursuant to the Legislative Authorities, OSFI will generally take into account the factors set out in OSFI Advisory 2002-01-R1 - Corporate Names, Registered Names and Trade Names (Advisory).

  3. With respect to the Information Requirement detailed in item 2 of the "Information Requirements" above, please note that OSFI expects the applicant’s analysis to:

    1. demonstrate that the proposed name complies with each of the factors set out in the Advisory;

    2. identify any names appearing on the submitted name search report(s) that are owned or used by an entity in the applicant’s corporate group; and

    3. identify and describe any other trade names, trade-marks, or any components thereof, from any other entity in the applicant’s corporate group that will be shared with, or form part of, the FE’s proposed name.

  4. Please note that this approval does not in itself confer any rights in respect of corporate names or trade names that may have existed at the time the approval was granted but that did not appear on the name search report, or were not considered likely to cause confusion during the course of the application. Similarly, the approval of a name may not protect the FE from earlier or subsequent trademarks of other persons or entities. Further information on protecting a corporate name can be found on the Industry Canada website at http://www.strategis.ic.gc.ca.

  5. Requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document are not subject to a service charge.Footnote 4

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Provide the complete legal name as it appears in the incorporating documents.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

OSFI will accept a NUANS corporate name search report, which includes a list of business names and trademarks that are similar to the name being proposed. If the FE conducts business in the Province of Québec, a search of the Québec Corporations Database at “Registraire des entreprises” is also required. If the FE will use both an English and French form of the proposed name, a name search report and corresponding analysis must be provided in respect of both forms of that name.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Please refer to paragraph 530(1)(c) of the BA and paragraph 575(1)(c) and ss 575(2) of the ICA.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 4

CHANGEMENT DE DÉNOMINATION — ENTITÉ ÉTRANGÈRE

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Index A No : 6
  • Révisé : juillet 2017

Fondement législatif

  • Paragraphe 528(1.1) de la Loi sur les banques (LB)
  • Article 576 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (LSA)

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le requérant doit fournir :

  1. la dénomination sociale complète de l’entité étrangère (EE);Note de bas de page 1

  2. la dénomination que l’EE entend utiliser au Canada, en français, en anglais, ou dans les deux langues (le cas échéant), accompagnée d’un rapport de recherche de nomsNote de bas de page 2 et d’une analyse pour appuyer la conclusion à l’effet que la dénomination proposée :

    1. est disponible aux fins d’utilisation au Canada;

    2. n’est pas interdite aux termes de la LB ou de la LSA, selon le cas, et qu’elle est conforme aux exigences des autres lois canadiennes pertinentes, y compris les lois pertinentes régissant les institutions financières;

  3. quand la dénomination de l’EE proposée est en grande partie la même que celle d’une entité du même groupe :

    1. le consentement écrit de cette entité ou de la société mère qui contrôle les entités du groupe, au nom de cette entité, pour utiliser la dénomination;Note de bas de page 3
    2. une description des facteurs d’atténuation déjà en place, ou des mesures d’atténuation que l’EE a l’intention d’instaurer, pour éviter une éventuelle confusion sur le marché;

  4. quand la demande est faite suite au changement de dénomination de l’EE dans son territoire d’origine et que l’EE souhaite utiliser sa nouvelle dénomination sociale au Canada, une copie certifiée du document qui a donné effet au changement de nom, conformément aux lois du territoire de constitution ou de création de l’EE.

Consignes administratives

  1. Il convient de souligner que d’autres renseignements et(ou) agréments pourraient être exigés si une demande de changement de dénomination d’une EE est soumise en raison d’une fusion ou d’un regroupement. Dans ce cas, le requérant est fortement encouragé à communiquer avec la Division de la législation et des approbations du BSIF avant de présenter une demande.

  2. Lors de l’évaluation d’une demande en vertu du fondement législatif, le BSIF tiendra habituellement compte des facteurs énoncés dans le préavis 2002-01-R1 Dénominations sociales, noms autorisés et noms commerciaux (le préavis).

  3. En ce qui a trait aux exigences en matière d’information décrites au point 2 des « Exigences en matière d’information » ci-dessus, il convient de souligner que le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’analyse du requérant :

    1. démontre que la dénomination proposée est conforme à chacun des facteurs énoncés dans le préavis;

    2. identifie toutes les dénominations apparaissant dans le rapport de recherche de dénominations soumis qui sont utilisées ou détenues à titre de propriétaire par une entité membre du groupe de sociétés du requérant;
    3. identifie et décrive les autres noms commerciaux, marques de commerce ou leurs composantes, d’une autre entité du même groupe de sociétés que le requérant qui seront partagés avec la dénomination proposée de l’EE ou qui en feront partie.

  4. Veuillez prendre note que l’agrément ne confère pas en lui-même de droit à l’égard des dénominations sociales ou commerciales qui ont pu exister au moment où l’agrément a été accordé, mais qui ne figuraient pas dans le rapport de recherche de dénominations ou qui ne semblaient pas susceptibles d’engendrer de confusion au moment de l’étude de la demande. De même, l’agrément d’une dénomination ne protégera peut-être pas l’EE contre des marques de commerce antérieures ou subséquentes d’autres personnes ou entités. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la protection des dénominations sociales, consulter le site Web d’Industrie Canada à l’adresse http://www.strategis.ic.gc.ca.

  5. Les demandes d’agrément(s) visées dans le présent document ne sont pas assujetties à des frais de service.Note de bas de page 4

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l’évaluation des demandes. Les requérants qui fournissent toute l’information et tous les documents nécessaires peuvent s’attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Fournir la dénomination sociale complète telle qu’elle figure dans les documents constitutifs.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le BSIF acceptera un rapport Nuans de recherche de dénominations comportant une liste de noms d’entreprises et de marques de commerce qui ressemblent à la dénomination proposée. Si l’EE exerce des activités au Québec, l’EE doit également fournir une recherche dans la base de données des sociétés du Québec du Registraire des entreprises. Si l’EE propose d’utiliser une version bilingue française et anglaise de la dénomination sociale, un rapport de recherche de dénominations et une analyse correspondante doivent être fournis à l’égard des deux versions de la dénomination.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Voir l’alinéa 530(1)c) de la LB et l’alinéa 575(1)c) et le paragraphe 575(2) de la LSA.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4