Part XII: Acquisition of control of a provincially regulated financial institution or other financial intermediary

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: October 2017
  • Index A No: 7.1
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

  • Paragraph 522.22(1)(a) or (b) of the Bank Act (the “Act”).

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the name of the applicant, the address of its head office and its jurisdiction of incorporation;

  2. an analysis in support of the applicant’s conclusion that it is required to seek this approval, including an analysis supporting the applicant’s position that it is an entity to which Part XII appliesFootnote 1 (a “Part XII Entity”);

  3. a confirmation of whether:

    1. the applicant currently has, or is currently deemed to have, a financial establishment in Canada (and where this is the case, details in support of the confirmation),Footnote 2 or

    2. the transaction will cause the applicant to have a financial establishment in Canada;

  4. the name of the provincially regulated financial institution (PRFI) or other financial intermediary (OFI) being acquired, the identity of the person(s) from whom the ownership interests in the PRFI or OFI are being acquired, and in the case of a PRFI, the identity of its primary regulator;

  5. description of each of the PRFI’s or OFI’s business activities and, in the case of an OFI, an analysis setting out why each of its business activities are authorizedFootnote 3 and not restrictedFootnote 4;

  6. description of the transaction that will result in the applicant acquiring control of the PRFI or OFI, including:

    1. the rationale for the transaction, and

    2. the names of the parties to the transaction; and

  7. details regarding whether the applicant (or the PRFI, where applicable) requires any regulatory approval, other than under the Act, in connection with the transaction or is required to notify any regulator about the transaction, and where any of these requirements apply, confirmation that they have been met.

Administrative Guidance

  1. For further guidance on the concept of “financial establishment in Canada” and other elements of Part XII of the Act, refer to Advisory No. 2006-01-R1 – Legislative Framework for Foreign Banks.

  2. A PRFI is an entity referred to in paragraphs 468(1)(g) to (i) of the Act (i.e., a provincially established trust, loan or insurance corporation, a provincially established and regulated cooperative credit society, or a federally or provincially established securities dealer).

  3. An OFI is a Canadian entity that engages in any financial intermediary activity that exposes it to material market or credit risk. The following types of entities are not OFIs: a federally regulated entity, a factoring entity, a financial leasing entity, a mutual fund entity or a closed-end fund.

  4. The acquisition of control of a PRFI or OFI by a Part XII Entity generally causes the Part XII Entity and all entities associated with it to have a financial establishment in Canada (where this is not already the case). If the applicant does not currently have a financial establishment in Canada, it will require an approval from the Minister to have one prior to acquiring control of the PRFI or OFI.

  5. Where the acquisition will result in more than one person directly or indirectly acquiring control of the PRFI or OFI, any one of those persons may submit the application for approval on behalf of all others. That person is expected to provide the name, head office address and jurisdiction of incorporation of all persons who will be acquiring control of the PRFI or OFI.

  6. No approval under the Legislative Authorities is required to:

    1. incorporate a PRFI or an OFI;

    2. acquire control of a PRFI or an OFI from a person who is a member of the applicant’s
      groupFootnote 5;

    3. acquire a substantial investment in (but not control of) a PRFI or an OFI; or

    4. acquire control of an OFI whose financial intermediary activities are limited to providing
      services to the applicant or a member of its groupFootnote 6.

    For further guidance regarding the acquisition of a PRFI or an OFI (or another type of Canadian entity), refer to Table II of Appendix A to Advisory No. 2006-01-R1 – Legislative Framework for Foreign Banks.

  7. This approval is subject to a service charge.Footnote 7 A wire transfer, cheque or bank draft should be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

  8. The following email address should be used for the initial submission of documents in support of requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Once the initial submission has been received, a case officer will be assigned to the matter. Thereafter, all case-related documents and correspondence should be directed to the case officer.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications.  They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications.  Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications.  As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

By virtue of section 508 of the Act.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

See subsections 507(15) and (16) of the Act.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Business activities that are authorized are listed in subsection 522.08(1) of the Act.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Business activities that are restricted are generally listed in subsection 522.08(2) of the Act.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

A member of the applicant’s group for this purpose and for the purpose of item 6(d) below is a “member of foreign bank’s group”, as defined in subsection 507(14) of the Act.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

See section 2 of the Exemption from Approval for Certain Investments in Intragroup Service Entities Regulations.

Return to footnote 6

Footnote 7

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 7

Partie XII: Acquisition du contrôle d’une institution financière provinciale ou d’un autre intermédiaire financier

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : Octobre 2017
  • Index A No : 7.1
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. le nom du demandeur, l’adresse de son siège et l’instance de sa constitution;

  2. une analyse à l’appui de la conclusion du demandeur qu’il est tenu de demander cet agrément, y compris une analyse appuyant la position du demandeur selon laquelle il est une entité visée par la partie XIINote de bas de page 1 (une « entité visée »);

  3. une confirmation indiquant si :

    1. le demandeur a ou est réputé avoir un établissement financier au Canada (et dans l’affirmative, les détails à l’appui de la confirmation)Note de bas de page 2;

    2. l’opération fera en sorte que le demandeur aura un établissement financier au Canada;

  4. le nom de l’institution financière provinciale (IFP) ou de l’autre intermédiaire financier (AIF) faisant l’objet de l’acquisition, le nom de la ou des personnes de qui les titres de participation dans l’IFP ou l’AIF sont acquises et, dans le cas d’une IFP, le nom du principal organisme de réglementation;

  5. une description de chacune des activités commerciales de l’IFP ou de l’AIF et, dans le cas d’une IFP, une analyse expliquant la raison pour laquelle chacune des activités commerciales est autoriséeNote de bas de page 3 et non restreinteNote de bas de page 4;

  6. une description de l’opération qui fera en sorte que le demandeur acquiert le contrôle de l’IFP ou de l’AIF, y compris :

    1. les motifs justifiant l’opération;

    2. les noms des parties à l’opération;

  7. des précisions indiquant si le demandeur (ou l’IFP, s’il y a lieu) doit obtenir un agrément réglementaire, en plus de l’agrément prévu par la Loi, en rapport avec l’opération ou s’il est tenu d’informer un organisme de réglementation de l’opération et, lorsqu’une ou l’autre de ces exigences s’applique, de l’information sur la mesure dans laquelle elle est respectée.  

Directives administratives

  1. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le concept d’« établissement financier au Canada » et d’autres éléments de la partie XII de la Loi, se reporter au préavis no 2006-01-R1, Cadre législatif des banques étrangères.

  2. Une IFP s’entend d’une entité énumérée aux alinéas 468(1)g) à i) de la Loi (c.-à-d. une société de fiducie, de prêt ou d’assurances à charte provinciale, une société coopérative de crédit à charte provinciale et réglementée sous le régime d’une loi provinciale, ou un courtier de valeurs mobilières à charte provinciale ou fédérale).

  3. Un AIF est une entité canadienne qui exerce des activités d’intermédiaire financier comportant des risques importants de crédit ou de marché. Les types d’entité suivants ne sont pas des AIF : une entité règlementée au fédéral, une entité s’occupant d’affacturage, une entité s’occupant de crédit‑bail, une entité s’occupant de fonds mutuels ou un fonds d’investissement à capital fixe.

  4. L’acquisition du contrôle d’une IFP ou d’un AIF par une entité visée fait généralement en sorte que l’entité visée et toutes les entités qui y sont associées ont un établissement financier au Canada (lorsque ce n’est pas déjà le cas). Le demandeur qui n’a pas encore d’établissement financier au Canada doit obtenir l’agrément du ministre pour en avoir un avant d’acquérir le contrôle de l’IFP ou de l’AIF.

  5. Lorsque l’acquisition fait en sorte que plus d’une personne acquiert, directement ou indirectement, le contrôle de l’IFP ou de l’AIF, n’importe laquelle de ces personnes peut présenter la demande d’agrément au nom de toutes les autres. On s’attend à ce que cette personne fournisse le nom, l’adresse du siège et l’instance de la constitution de toutes les personnes qui acquerront le contrôle de l’IFP ou de l’AIF.

  6. Aucun agrément en vertu du fondement législatif n’est requis pour :

    1. constituer une IFP ou un AIF;

    2. acquérir le contrôle d’une IFP ou d’un AIF auprès d’une personne membre du groupe du demandeurNote de bas de page 5;

    3. acquérir un intérêt de groupe financier dans une IFP ou un AIF (mais non le contrôle d’une telle entité);

    4. acquérir le contrôle d’une IFP dont les activités d’intermédiaire financier se limitent à la prestation de services au demandeur ou à un membre du groupe du demandeurNote de bas de page 6.

  7. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’acquisition d’une IFP ou d’un AIF (ou d’un autre type d’entité canadienne), se reporter au tableau II de l’Annexe A du préavis no 2006-01-R1, Cadre législatif des banques étrangères.

  8. Cet agrément est assujetti à un droit à payerNote de bas de page 7. Un virement électronique, un chèque ou une traite bancaire doit être fait à l’ordre du Receveur général du Canada.

  9. Les documents présentés initialement à l’appui d’une demande d’agrément dont il est question dans le présent document devraient être envoyés à l’adresse courriel suivante : approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Après réception des documents, un chargé de dossier sera nommé, après quoi les documents et la correspondance portant sur la demande devraient lui être adressés.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives sont conçues en fonction des demandes types. Elles découlent de l’expérience du BSIF dans l’étude de telles demandes. Les demandes qui réunissent tous les renseignements et toutes les pièces nécessaires pourraient être traitées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

En vertu de l’article 508 de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Voir les paragraphes 507(15) et (16) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Les activités commerciales autorisées sont énumérées au paragraphe 522.08(1) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Les activités commerciales qui sont restreintes sont généralement énumérées au paragraphe 522.08(2) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Un membre du groupe du demandeur à cette fin et aux fins du point 6(d) ci-après s’entend d’un « membre du groupe d’une banque étrangère » au sens du paragraphe 507(14) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Voir l’article 2 du Règlement sur la dispense d’agrément pour certains placements dans des entités de services intragroupes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7