Part XII: Acquisition of control of, or a substantial investment in, a non-financial services entity

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised:  October 2017
  • Index A No: 7.2
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

  • Paragraph 522.22(1)(c), (d), (d.1) or (e) of the Bank Act (the “Act”).

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the name of the applicant, the address of its head office and its jurisdiction of incorporation;

  2. an analysis in support of the applicant’s conclusion that it is required to seek this approval, including an analysis supporting the applicant’s position that it is an entity to which Part XII appliesFootnote 1;

  3. a confirmation that the applicant currently has, or is currently deemed to have, a financial establishment in Canada (together with details in support of the confirmation);Footnote 2

  4. the name, or proposed name, of the non-financial services entity (NFSE) being acquired, together with a detailed description of the NFSE’s current or proposed business activities, including an analysis setting out why each of its business activities are authorizedFootnote 3 and not restrictedFootnote 4;

  5. details regarding whether the applicant (or the NFSE) requires any regulatory approval, other than under the Act, in connection with the transaction or is required to notify any regulator about the transaction, and where any of these requirements apply, information regarding the status of meeting them; and

  6. a description of the transaction that will result in the applicant acquiring control of, or a substantial investment in, the NFSE, including the rationale for the transaction.

Administrative Guidance

  1. For further guidance on Part XII of the Act, refer to the Advisory No. 2006-01-R1 – Legislative Framework for Foreign Banks.

  2. An NFSE is an entity referred to in paragraphs 522.22(1)(c) to (e) of the Act (i.e. a “permitted Canadian entity” that is not a “financial services entity” or a “limited commercial entity”, as defined by subsection 507(1) of the Act).

  3. Where the acquisition will result in more than one person, directly or indirectly, acquiring control of the NFSE, any one of those persons may submit the application for approval on behalf of all others.  That person is expected to provide the name, head office address and jurisdiction of incorporation of all persons who will be acquiring control of the NFSE.

  4. Where an NFSE engages only in information technology activities, no approval is required where the conditions in sections 2 of the Information Technology Activities (Foreign Banks) Regulations are met.

  5. This approval is subject to a service charge.Footnote 5 A wire transfer, cheque or bank draft should be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

  6. The following email address should be used for the initial submission of documents in support of requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Once the initial submission has been received, a case officer will be assigned to the matter. Thereafter, all case-related documents and correspondence should be directed to the case officer.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications.  They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications.  Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications.  As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

By virtue of section 508 of the Act.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

See subsections 507(15) and (16) of the Act.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Business activities that are authorized are listed in subsection 522.08(1) of the Act.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Business activities that are restricted are generally listed in subsection 522.08(2) of the Act.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 5

Partie XII: Acquisition du contrôle d’une entité ne s’occupant pas de services financiers (autre qu’une entité à activités commerciales restreintes) ou d’un intérêt de groupe financier dans une telle entité

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : Octobre 2017
  • Index A No : 7.2
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. le nom du demandeur, l’adresse de son siège et l’instance de sa constitution;

  2. une analyse à l’appui de la conclusion du demandeur qu’il est tenu de demander cet agrément, y compris une analyse appuyant la position du demandeur selon laquelle il est une entité visée par la partie XIINote de bas de page 1;

  3. une confirmation à l’effet que le demandeur a, ou est réputé avoir, un établissement financier au Canada (et les détails à l’appui de la confirmation)Note de bas de page 2;

  4. le nom ou le nom proposé de l’entité ne s’occupant pas de services financiers
    (l’« entité » ) acquise, ainsi qu’une description détaillée des activités commerciales actuelles ou proposées de l’entité, y compris une analyse expliquant la raison pour laquelle chacune des activités commerciales est autoriséeNote de bas de page 3 et non restreinteNote de bas de page 4;

  5. des précisions indiquant si le demandeur (ou l’entité) doit obtenir un agrément réglementaire, autre que l’agrément prévu par la Loi, en rapport avec l’opération ou s’il est tenu d’informer un organisme de réglementation de l’opération et, lorsqu’une ou l’autre de ces exigences s’applique, de l’information sur la mesure dans laquelle elle est respectée;

  6. une description de l’opération qui fera en sorte que le demandeur acquiert le contrôle de l’entité ou un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle‑ci, y compris les motifs justifiant l’opération.

Directives administratives

  1. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le concept d’« établissement financier au Canada » et d’autres éléments de la partie XII de la Loi, se reporter au préavis no 2006-01-R1, Cadre législatif des banques étrangères.

  2. Une entité ne s’occupant pas de services financiers s’entend d’une entité énumérée aux alinéas 522.22(1)c) à e) de la Loi (c.‑à‑d. une « entité canadienne admissible » qui n’est ni une « entité s’occupant de services financiers » ni une « entité à activités commerciales restreintes » selon les définitions du paragraphe 507(1) de la Loi).

  3. Lorsque l’acquisition fait en sorte que plus d’une personne acquiert, directement ou indirectement, le contrôle d’une entité, n’importe laquelle de ces personnes peut présenter la demande d’agrément au nom de toutes les autres. On s’attend à ce que cette personne fournisse le nom, l’adresse du siège et l’instance de la constitution de toutes les personnes qui acquerront le contrôle de l’entité.

  4. Si l’entité n’exerce que des activités liées à la technologie de l’information, aucun agrément n’est requis si les conditions énumérées à l’article 2 du Règlement sur les activités en matière de technologie de l’information (banques étrangères) sont satisfaites.

  5. Cet agrément est assujetti à un droit à payerNote de bas de page 5. Un virement électronique, un chèque ou une traite bancaire doit être fait à l’ordre du Receveur général du Canada.

  6. Les documents présentés initialement à l’appui d’une demande d’agrément dont il est question dans le présent document devraient être envoyés à l’adresse courriel suivante : approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Après réception des documents, un chargé de dossier sera nommé, après quoi les documents et la correspondance portant sur la demande devraient lui être adressés.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives sont conçues en fonction des demandes types. Elles découlent de l’expérience du BSIF dans l’étude de telles demandes. Les demandes qui réunissent tous les renseignements et toutes les pièces nécessaires pourraient être traitées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

En vertu de l’article 508 de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Voir les paragraphes 507(15) et (16) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Les activités commerciales autorisées sont énumérées au paragraphe 522.08(1) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Les activités commerciales restreintes sont généralement énumérées au paragraphe 522.08(2) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5