Part XII: Acquisition of control of, or a substantial investment in, a limited commercial entity

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised:  October 2017
  • Index A No: 7.4
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

  • Section 522.09 and paragraph 522.22(1)(g) of the Bank Act (the “Act”).

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the name of the applicant, the address of its head office and its jurisdiction of incorporation;

  2. an analysis in support of the applicant’s conclusion that it is required to seek this approval, including an analysis supporting the applicant’s position that it is an entity to which Part XII appliesFootnote 1;

  3. a confirmation that the applicant currently has, or is currently deemed to have, a financial establishment in Canada (together with details in support of the confirmation)Footnote 2;

  4. the name or proposed name of the limited commercial entity (LCE);Footnote 3

  5. a detailed description of the LCE’s current or proposed business activities, including confirmation that:

    1. activities referred to in paragraphs 522.08(1)(a) to (f) of the Act and paragraphs (a) to (h) of the definition “financial services entity”Footnote 4 do not and will not exceed 10% of the business (i.e. total assets or revenues) of the LCE, calculated in accordance with the requirements of section 5 of the Manner of Calculation (Foreign Banks) Regulations,

    2. the LCE is not engaged in, and will not engage in, any leasing activitiesFootnote 5, and

    3. the LCE engages in or carries on business that is the same as, or similar, related or incidental to, the business outside Canada of the applicant or an entity associated with the applicant;

  6. details regarding whether the applicant (or the LCE) requires any regulatory approval, other than under the Act, in connection with the transaction or is required to notify any regulator about the transaction, and where any of these requirements apply, information regarding the status of meeting them; and

  7. a description of the transaction that will result in the applicant acquiring control of, or a substantial investment in, the LCE, including the rationale for the transaction.

Administrative Guidance

  1. For further guidance on the concept of “financial establishment in Canada” and other elements of Part XII of the Act, refer to the Advisory No. 2006-01-R1 – Legislative Framework for Foreign Banks.

  2. Where the acquisition will result in more than one person, directly or indirectly, acquiring control of the LCE, any one of those persons may submit the application for approval on behalf of all others.  That person is expected to provide the name, head office address and jurisdiction of incorporation of all persons who will be acquiring control of the LCE.

  3. This approval is subject to a service charge.Footnote 6  A wire transfer, cheque or bank draft should be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

  4. The following email address should be used for the initial submission of documents in support of requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Once the initial submission has been received, a case officer will be assigned to the matter. Thereafter, all case-related documents and correspondence should be directed to the case officer.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications.  They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications.  Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications.  As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

By virtue of section 508 of the Act.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

ee subsections 507(15) and (16) of the Act.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

As defined in subsection 507(1) of the Act.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

See subsection 507(1) of the Act.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

As defined in subsection 507(1) of the Act.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 6

Partie XII: Acquisition du contrôle d’une entité à activités commerciales restreintes ou d’un intérêt de groupe financier dans une telle entité

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : Octobre 2017
  • Index A No : 7.4
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. le nom du demandeur, l’adresse de son siège et l’instance de sa constitution;

  2. une analyse à l’appui de la conclusion du demandeur qu’il est tenu de demander cet agrément, y compris une analyse appuyant la position du demandeur selon laquelle il est une entité visée par la partie XIINote de bas de page 1;

  3. une confirmation à l’effet que le demandeur a, ou est réputé avoir, un établissement financier au Canada (et les détails à l’appui de la confirmation)Note de bas de page 2;

  4. le nom ou le nom proposé de l’entité à activités commerciales restreintesNote de bas de page 3 (l’ « entité »);

  5. une description détaillée des activités commerciales actuelles ou proposées de l’entité, y compris une confirmation à l’effet que :

    1. les activités visées aux alinéas 522.08(1)a) à f) de la Loi et aux alinéas a) à h) de la définition d’« entité s’occupant de services financiers »Note de bas de page 4 ne dépassent pas et ne dépasseront pas 10 % des activités (c.-à-d. la valeur de l’actif total ou des recettes d’exploitation totales) de l’entité, calculées conformément aux exigences de l’article 5 du Règlement sur le mode de calcul du pourcentage des activités (banques étrangères),

    2. l’entité n’exerce pas et n’exercera pas d’activités de locationNote de bas de page 5,

    3. l’entité exerce une activité commerciale identique, similaire, liée ou connexe à celle qu’exerce à l’étranger le demandeur ou une entité liée au demandeur;

  6. des précisions indiquant si le demandeur (ou l’entité) doit obtenir un agrément réglementaire, autre que l’agrément prévu par la Loi, en rapport avec l’opération, ou s’il est tenu d’informer un organisme de réglementation de l’opération et, lorsque l’une ou l’autre de ces exigences s’applique, de l’information sur la mesure dans laquelle elle est respectée;

  7. une description de l’opération qui fera en sorte que le demandeur acquiert le contrôle de l’entité ou un intérêt de groupe financier dans celle-ci, y compris les motifs justifiant l’opération.

 Directives administratives

  1. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le concept d’« établissement financier au Canada » et d’autres éléments de la partie XII de la Loi, se reporter au préavis no 2006-01-R1, Cadre législatif des banques étrangères.

  2. Lorsque l’acquisition fait en sorte que plus d’une personne acquiert, directement ou indirectement, le contrôle d’une entité, n’importe laquelle de ces personnes peut présenter la demande d’agrément au nom de toutes les autres. On s’attend à ce que cette personne fournisse le nom, l’adresse du siège et l’instance de constitution de toutes les personnes qui acquerront le contrôle de l’entité.

  3. Cet agrément est assujetti à un droit à payerNote de bas de page 6. Un virement électronique, un chèque ou une traite bancaire doit être fait à l’ordre du Receveur général du Canada.

  4. Les documents présentés initialement à l’appui d’une demande d’agrément dont il est question dans le présent document devraient être envoyés à l’adresse courriel suivante : approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Après réception des documents, un chargé de dossier sera nommé, après quoi les documents et la correspondance portant sur la demande devraient lui être adressés.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives sont conçues en fonction des demandes types. Elles découlent de l’expérience du BSIF dans l’étude de telles demandes. Les demandes qui réunissent tous les renseignements et toutes les pièces nécessaires pourraient être traitées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

En vertu de l’article 508 de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Voir les paragraphes 507(15) et (16) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Au sens du paragraphe 507(1) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Voir le paragraphe 507(1) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Au sens du paragraphe 507(1) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6