Part XII: Establishment, maintenance or acquisition for use in Canada of automated banking machines

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised:  October 2017
  • Index A No: 7.6
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

  • Paragraph 522.22(1)(i) of the Bank Act (the “Act”).

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the name of the applicant, the address of its head office and its jurisdiction of incorporation;

  2. an analysis in support of the applicant’s conclusion that it is required to seek this approval, including an analysis supporting applicant’s position that it is an entity to which Part XII appliesFootnote 1 (a “Part XII Entity”); and

  3. a confirmation that the applicant is:

    1. a Canadian entity, other than an entity referred to in any of paragraphs 468(1)(g) to (i) of the Act or a limited commercial entityFootnote 2, held by a foreign bank or entity associated with a foreign bank in accordance with Divisions 4 and 5 of Part XII of the Act (together with details in support of the confirmation)Footnote 3; or

    2. a foreign securities dealerFootnote 4 that has received (or has requested) the Minister’s approvalFootnote 5 to engage in or carry on the business in Canada of dealing in securities or providing investment counselling and portfolio management services (and where this is the case, a confirmation that the activities referred to in subsection 510(1)(c) of the Act relate to such business).Footnote 6

Administrative Guidance

  1. No approval under this Legislative Authority is required for a Part XII Entity to:

    1. provide its customers who are natural persons not ordinarily resident in Canada with access in Canada to accounts located outside Canada through the use of automated banking machines located in Canada,Footnote 7 or

    2. establish, maintain or use a private telephone service or similar facility for the purpose of quoting to customers in Canada, or entering with customers in Canada into verbal agreements relating to, foreign exchange, deposit or loan rates if there is no accounting or information processing involved in the private telephone service or similar facility.Footnote 8

  2. For further guidance on Part XII of the Act, refer to the Advisory No. 2006-01-R1 – Legislative Framework for Foreign Banks.

  3. This approval is subject to a service charge.Footnote 9   A wire transfer, cheque or bank draft should be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

  4. The following email address should be used for the initial submission of documents in support of requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Once the initial submission has been received, a case officer will be assigned to the matter. Thereafter, all case-related documents and correspondence should be directed to the case officer.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications.  They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications.  Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications.  As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings..

Footnotes

Footnote 1

By virtue of section 508 of the Act.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

As defined in subsection 507(1) of the Act.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

See paragraph 513(2)(c) of the Act.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

As defined in subsection 507(1) of the Act.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

Pursuant to paragraph 522.22(1)(f) of the Act.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

See paragraph 513(1)(a) of the Act.

Return to footnote 6

Footnote 7

See section 511 of the Act.

Return to footnote 7

Footnote 8

See section 512 of the Act.

Return to footnote 8

Footnote 9

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 9

Partie XII: Établissement, maintien ou acquisition pour utilisation au Canada de guichets automatiques

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : Octobre 2017
  • Index A No : 7.6
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. le nom du demandeur, l’adresse de son siège et l’instance de sa constitution;

  2. une analyse à l’appui de la conclusion du demandeur qu’il est tenu de demander cet agrément, y compris une analyse appuyant la position du demandeur selon laquelle il est une entité visée par la partie XIINote de bas de page 1 (une « entité visée »);

  3. une confirmation à l’effet que le demandeur est :

    1. une entité canadienne, autre qu’une entité enumérée à l’un des alinéas 468(1)g) à i) de la Loi ou une entité à activités commerciales restreintesNote de bas de page 2, détenue par une banque étrangère ou une entité liée à une banque étrangère en conformité avec les sections 4 et 5 de la partie XII de la Loi (y compris les détails à l’appui de la confirmation)Note de bas de page 3;

    2. un courtier de valeurs mobilières étrangerNote de bas de page 4 qui a reçu (ou demandé) l’agrémentNote de bas de page 5 du ministre pour faire au Canada le commerce des activités de commerce de valeurs mobilières ou fournir au Canada des services de conseil en placement et de gestion de portefeuille (et, le cas échéant, que les activités visées à l’alinéa 510(1)c) de la Loi sont liées à ces activités).

Directives administratives

  1. Aucun agrément en vertu de ce fondement législatif n’est requis pour une entité visée qui souhaite :

    1. fournir à ses clients qui sont des personnes physiques ne résidant pas habituellement au Canada l’accès à leurs comptes situés à l’étranger au moyen des guichets automatiques situés au CanadaNote de bas de page 6, ou

    2. établir, maintenir ou utiliser un service téléphonique privé ou une installation semblable pour proposer un prix à un client se trouvant au Canada ou pour conclure des ententes verbales avec des clients se trouvant au Canada concernant les taux du change, des dépôts ou des prêts, à condition que ces communications téléphoniques ne servent pas à la comptabilité ou au traitement de l’informationNote de bas de page 7.

  2. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le concept d’« établissement financier au Canada » et d’autres éléments de la partie XII de la Loi, se reporter au préavis no 2006-01-R1, Cadre législatif des banques étrangères.

  3. Cet agrément est assujetti à un droit à payer Note de bas de page 8. Un virement électronique, un chèque ou une traite bancaire doit être fait à l’ordre du Receveur général du Canada.

  4. Les documents présentés initialement à l’appui d’une demande d’agrément dont il est question dans le présent document devraient être envoyés à l’adresse courriel suivante : approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Après réception des documents, un chargé de dossier sera nommé, après quoi les documents et la correspondance portant sur la demande devraient lui être adressés.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives sont conçues en fonction des demandes types. Elles découlent de l’expérience du BSIF dans l’étude de telles demandes. Les demandes qui réunissent tous les renseignements et toutes les pièces nécessaires pourraient être traitées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

En vertu de l’article 508 de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Au sens du paragraphe 507(1) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Voir l’alinéa 513(2)c) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Au sens du paragraphe 507(1) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

En vertu de l’alinéa 522.22(1)f) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Voir l’article 511 de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Voir l’article 512 de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8