TERMINATION OF INSURANCE BUSINESS IN CANADA OF FOREIGN INSURANCE COMPANIES

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: July, 2012
  • Index A No: 9
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Definitions

In this document,

“non-policy financial obligation”

means any actual or contingent financial obligation of the applicant in respect of its insurance business in Canada, other than a policy liability. It includes, without limitation, chief agency rent obligations, salaries to the chief agent, legal expenses incurred in connection with the discontinuance of the applicant’s insurance business in Canada, Canadian regulatory expenses, tax liabilities on income from an applicant’s assets vested in Canada, and unfunded retirement benefits provided by the applicant to its former employees in Canada.

“policy liability”

means any actuarial and other liability, whether actual or contingent, of the applicant in respect of its insurance business in Canada, that arises from the terms and conditions of a policy, including, where applicable, any declared and unpaid policy dividends.

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. audited financial statements in respect of the applicant’s insurance business in Canada, as at a date no more than three months prior to the application for the release of its assets in Canada, showing no policy liabilities, and nominal or no non-policy financial obligations, together with the related report from the auditor of the applicant for its insurance business in Canada confirming that the statements present fairly the financial position of the applicant’s insurance business in Canada (collectively, the “Audited Statements”);

  2. a report from the actuary of the applicant for its insurance business in Canada supporting the valuation of the policy liabilities reported in the Audited Statements;

  3. where the Audited Statements show non-policy financial obligations, in the form of commitments described in the notes to the statements or otherwise:

    1. a written description of the nature and amount of each of these obligations (where this description is not contained in the Audited Statements), and

    2. a written confirmation from a senior officer (who, by virtue of his or her duties and responsibilities, has knowledge of the applicant’s insurance business in Canada) that the applicant has discharged them or provided for them, together with a description of how it has done so;

  4. proof of publication of the notice described in paragraph 651(c) of the Act;

  5. written confirmations from the senior officer that:

    1. the applicant will promptly inform OSFI of the nature and amount of any policy liabilities and non-policy financial obligations that arise after the date of the Audited Statements, until the Superintendent has, by order, authorized the release of the applicant’s assets in Canada (the “Release Order”)Footnote 1,

    2. in the period since the applicant has ceased to issue and renew policies in respect of its insurance business in Canada, no policy liabilities or non-policy financial obligations have been removed from the applicant’s records in respect of its insurance business in Canada on account of having been transferred to the head office,Footnote 2

    3. Assuris or PACICC, as applicable, and the insurance regulators of all provinces and territories in which the applicant is licensed, have each been directly notified in writing, concurrently with the first publication of the notice referred to in item 4 above, of the applicant’s intention to seek the release of its assets in Canada, and

    4. the applicant has not received any objections related to the notices referred to in items 4 and 5(c), Text for screen readers: 5(c) = 5(3), above, or has addressed any objection received (together with a description of the manner in which the objection was addressed); and

  6. where liabilities or obligations referred to in item 5(a), Text for screen readers: 5(a) = 5(1), above arise or have arisen (including during the course of the application process), a written confirmation from the senior officer that the applicant has:

    1. in the case of policy liabilities, discharged them or provided for their discharge (together with a description of how it has done so), and

    2. in the case of non-policy financial obligations, discharged them or provided for them (together with a description of how it has done so).

Administrative Guidance

  1. This Transaction Instruction relates solely to the Act and does not address any provincial or territorial requirements, or Assuris or PACICC requirements, that may apply to the termination of an applicant’s insurance business in Canada. Accordingly, and in addition to item 5(c), Text for screen readers: 5(c) = 5(3), above, OSFI recommends that

    1. applicable provincial and territorial insurance statutes be reviewed, and the agencies that administer them be consulted, in connection with such proposed termination. Please note that the Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators has published a document setting out information requirements for foreign insurers wishing to withdraw from Canada (see: www.ccir-ccrra.org); and

    2. the applicable requirements of Assuris or PACICC in respect of termination of membership be reviewed, and that compensation fund officials be consulted accordingly.

  2. An applicant must continue to comply with the Act (e.g., record keeping, reporting, and appointment of chief agent, actuary and auditor) until the Release Order is made.

  3. The Superintendent has the discretion to make a Release Order if the Superintendent is satisfied that an applicant’s policy liabilities and non-policy financial obligations have been dealt with in accordance with paragraphs 651(a) and (b) of the Act, and that the publication requirement in paragraph 651(c) has been met.

  4. Subparagraphs 651(a)(i) to (iii) of the Act list the following specific ways of dealing with policy liabilities:

    1. obtaining the surrender of the related policies;

    2. transferring (i.e., novating) the related policies; or

    3. causing the risks undertaken under the related policies to be reinsured, on an assumption basis.

  5. Subparagraph 651(a)(iv) of the Act allows an applicant to deal with policy liabilities in ways not contemplated by subparagraphs 651(a)(i) to (iii). In such a case, the applicant must discharge, or provide for the discharge of, the policy liabilities in a manner satisfactory to the Superintendent.

    The Superintendent is generally satisfied that an applicant has discharged its policy liabilities for the purpose of subparagraph 651(a)(iv) where:

    1. the Audited Statements show no policy liabilities; and

    2. if the applicant has issued “claims occurring” policiesFootnote 3, the applicant has satisfied the Superintendent that it is reasonable to believe that no claims will be made under those policies, having regard to, among other things, the types of risks insured and the history of claims made under those policies.

    The Superintendent is generally satisfied that an applicant has provided for the discharge of a policy liability for the purpose of subparagraph 651(a)(iv) where it has either:

    1. entered into a written agreement with another financial institution in Canada whereby that institution has undertaken to discharge, or has guaranteed the discharge of, the liability; or

    2. in the exceptional case where the applicant demonstrates that (c), Text for screen readers: (c) = (5)(3), above is not commercially reasonable in the circumstances, established a trust in Canada acceptable to OSFI for the benefit of a prospective claimant under the policy where the amount vested is equal to the maximum liability amount under the policy.

  6. Paragraph 651(b) of the Act states that the Superintendent must be satisfied that an applicant has discharged, or provided for, its non-policy financial obligations.

    The Superintendent is generally satisfied that an applicant has discharged a non-policy financial obligation where it has carried out, or has otherwise put an end to, the obligation (e.g., where the applicant has prepaid a future payment obligation).

    The Superintendent is generally satisfied that an applicant has provided for a non-policy financial obligation where it has carried out one of the following four measures in regards to that obligation:

    1. entered into a written agreement with a person in Canada acceptable to OSFI whereby that person has undertaken to discharge, or has guaranteed the discharge of, the obligation;

    2. established a trust in Canada acceptable to OSFI for the benefit of the creditor where the amount vested is equal to the amount owed to that creditor;

    3. obtained, in writing, the creditor’s

      1. acknowledgement of the applicant’s intention to request the Release Order, and acknowledgement that following the making of the Release Order, the applicant will no longer have any assets in Canada under the Superintendent’s oversight in support of its obligation to the creditor, and

      2. consent to the measures that the applicant proposes to implement to provide for its obligation to the creditor following the making of the Release Order; or

    4. in the exceptional case where the applicant demonstrates that neither (a), (b) nor (c), Text for screen readers: (a), (b) nor (c) = (6)(1), (6)(2) nor (6)(3), above is commercially reasonable in the circumstance, the applicant has sent to the creditor, at his/her/its last known address, a notice of the applicant’s intention to request the Release Order together with:

      1. a statement to the effect that following the making of the Release Order, the applicant will no longer have any assets in Canada under the Superintendent’s oversight in support of its obligation to the creditor, but the applicant will nonetheless continue to honour its obligation to the creditor,

      2. a description of the measures that the applicant proposes to implement to provide for its obligation to the creditor following the making of the Release Order, and

      3. information on how the creditor may contact the applicant in the event that the creditor has questions about these proposed measures, and

      the applicant has either received no objections related to the creditor notification in a period of at least six weeks following the date of the notification, or has addressed any objection received (together with a written description provided to OSFI of the manner in which the objection was addressed).

  7. The applicant must provide a completed OSFI 298 Form to OSFI’s Securities
    Administration Unit to obtain the release of its remaining assets in Canada.

  8. The following is an example of a notice referred to in item 4 of the Information Requirements above (a French language example of this notice is available in the French language version of this document):

    [Name of the applicant and, if applicable, other name under which it is authorized to insure in Canada risks]

    RELEASE OF ASSETS

    Pursuant to section 651of the Insurance Companies Act (Canada) (the “Act”), notice is hereby given that [name of the applicant] intends to apply to the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (Canada) on [date that is at least six weeks after the date of the notice] for an order authorizing the release of the assets that it maintains in Canada in accordance with the Act.

    Any policyholder or creditor in respect of [name of the applicant]’s insurance business in Canada opposing that release is invited to file an opposition by mail to the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (Canada), Legislation and Approvals Division, 255 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H2, or by email at approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, on or before [same date as above].

    [Date of the notice (note: for the four consecutive weeks, the date remains the date of the first publication)]

  9. This request for approval is not subject to a user pay fee.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Pursuant to section 654 of the Act, the order authorizing the applicant to insure in Canada risks is deemed to be revoked when the Release Order is made.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

For certainty, the written confirmation does not apply in respect of any policy liabilities that were removed from the applicant’s records in respect of its insurance business in Canada where the applicant had satisfied OSFI that these liabilities were in respect of the applicant’s insurance business outside Canada.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

These are generally “long tail” liability policies that provide coverage based on when the event occurs and that allow claims to be made for a considerable period of time.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

CESSATION DES OPÉRATIONS D’ASSURANCE AU CANADA DES SOCIÉTÉS D’ASSURANCES ÉTRANGÈRES

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : juillet 2012
  • Index No : 9
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Définitions

Aux fins des présentes :

« obligations financières non liées aux polices »

désigne toutes obligations financières, réelles ou éventuelles, du demandeur relatives à ses opérations d’assurance au Canada, mais non des engagements liés aux polices. Ces obligations comprennent, sans s’y limiter, les obligations locatives concernant l’agence principale, les salaires versés à l’agent principal, les frais juridiques engagés relativement à la cessation des opérations d’assurance au Canada, les frais de réglementation au Canada, l’impôt à payer sur le revenu tiré de son actif placé en fiducie aux termes de la partie XIII de la Loi, de même que les prestations de retraite non capitalisées versées aux anciens employés au Canada.

« engagements liés aux polices »

désigne tous engagements actuariels et autres, réels ou éventuels, du demandeur relatifs à ses opérations d’assurance au Canada qui découlent des modalités de ses polices, y compris, le cas échéant, toute participation aux bénéfices déclarée et non payée.

Exigences en matière d’information

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. des états financiers vérifiés portant sur ses opérations d’assurance au Canada, dont la date est antérieure d’au plus trois mois à la demande de libération de son actif au Canada, n’indiquant aucun engagement lié aux polices et aucune obligation financière non liée aux polices, sinon indiquant de telles obligations de valeur peu importante, de même que le rapport connexe du vérificateur du demandeur pour ses opérations d’assurance au Canada confirmant que les états financiers présentent fidèlement la situation financière de ces opérations (appelés collectivement ci-après les « états financiers vérifiés »);

  2. un rapport de l’actuaire du demandeur pour ses opérations d’assurance au Canada à l’appui de l’évaluation des engagements liés aux polices présentée dans les états financiers vérifiés;

  3. lorsque les états financiers vérifiés indiquent des obligations financières non liées aux polices sous forme de notes afférentes aux états financiers ou autrement :

    1. une description écrite de la nature et du montant de chacune de ces obligations (si cette description ne figure pas dans les états financiers vérifiés);

    2. une confirmation écrite d’un cadre dirigeant (qui, de par ses fonctions et obligations, est au fait des opérations d’assurance au Canada du demandeur) indiquant que le demandeur s’est acquitté de ces obligations ou a pris des mesures suffisantes à leur égard (la confirmation doit être accompagnée d’une description des mesures que le demandeur a prises pour satisfaire aux obligations);

  4. une preuve de publication de l’avis visé à l’alinéa 651(c) de la Loi;

  5. une confirmation écrite de la part du cadre dirigeant selon laquelle :

    1. le demandeur informera promptement le BSIF de la nature et du montant de tout engagement lié aux polices ou de toute obligation financière non liée aux polices qui survient après la date des états financiers vérifiés jusqu’à ce que le surintendant autorise, par voie d’ordonnance, la libération de l’actif au Canada du demandeur (l’« ordonnance de libération »)Note de bas de page 1;

    2. au cours de la période écoulée depuis que le demandeur a cessé d’émettre et de renouveler des polices à l’égard de ses opérations d’assurance au Canada, aucun des engagements liés aux polices et aucune des obligations financières non liées aux polices n’a été radié des dossiers du demandeur relatifs à ses opérations d’assurance au Canada du fait d’avoir été transféré au siègeNote de bas de page 2;

    3. Assuris ou la Société d’indemnisation en matière d’assurances IARD (la « SIMA-IARD »), selon le cas, et les régulateurs d’assurance de chaque province et territoire auprès desquels le demandeur est agréé ont tous été avisés directement par écrit, au moment de la publication initiale de l’avis visé en 4 ci-dessus, de l’intention du demandeur de solliciter la libération de son actif au Canada;

    4. le demandeur n’a reçu aucune objection à l’encontre des avis visés en 4 et en c) ci-dessus, ou a donné suite à toute objection reçue (et a fourni au BSIF une description des suites qu’il y a données);

  6. s’il existe des engagements ou des obligations visés en 5a) ci-dessus (y compris des engagements ou des obligations qui surviennent au cours du traitement de la demande), une confirmation écrite de la part du cadre dirigeant selon laquelle le demandeur :

    1. s’est acquitté de ses engagements ou a constitué une provision suffisante à cette fin (la confirmation doit être accompagnée d’une description des mesures que le demandeur a prises pour satisfaire aux engagements);

    2. s’est acquitté de ses obligations ou a pris des mesures suffisantes à leur égard (la confirmation doit être accompagnée d’une description des mesures que le demandeur a prises pour satisfaire aux obligations).

Consignes administratives

  1. Les présentes instructions relatives aux opérations se rapportent uniquement à la Loi et ne traitent pas des exigences des régulateurs d’assurance provinciaux ou territoriaux, d’Assuris ou de la SIMA-IARD pouvant s’appliquer à la cessation des opérations d’assurance au Canada d’un demandeur. Par conséquent, et en sus des exigences énoncées en 5c), Texte lisible par lecteur d’écran : 5c) = 5(3), ci-dessus, le BSIF recommande :

    1. de passer en revue les lois provinciales et territoriales applicables et de consulter les organismes qui les administrent relativement à la cessation proposée. À noter que le Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d’assurance a publié un document sur les obligations d’information des assureurs étrangers qui souhaitent cesser leurs opérations au Canada (voir www.ccir-ccrra.org);

    2. de passer en revue les exigences d’Assuris ou de la SIMA-IARD en matière de cessation d’adhésion et de consulter les responsables du fonds d’indemnisation.

  2. Le demandeur doit continuer de se conformer à la Loi (y compris en ce qui concerne la tenue de documents, les rapports, et la nomination d’un agent principal, d’un actuaire et d’un vérificateur) jusqu’à ce que l’ordonnance de libération soit prise.

  3. Le surintendant peut, à sa discrétion, prendre une ordonnance de libération s’il est convaincu que le demandeur a respecté ses engagements liés aux polices et ses obligations financières non liées aux polices conformément aux alinéas 651a) et b) de la Loi, et que l’obligation de publication visée à l’alinéa 651c) a été satisfaite.

  4. Aux termes des sous-alinéas 651a)(i) à (iii) de la Loi, les engagements liés aux polices sont réputés respectés si :

    1. les polices en question sont rachetées;

    2. ces polices sont transférées;

    3. les risques acceptés aux termes de ces polices sont réassurés aux fins de prise en charge.

  5. Le sous-alinéa 651a)(iv) de la Loi permet au demandeur de respecter ses engagements liés aux polices autrement que des façons décrites en 4 ci-dessus. Dans ce cas, le demandeur doit s’acquitter de ses engagements liés aux polices d’une façon que le surintendant juge acceptable ou constituer à cette fin une provision que le surintendant estime suffisante.

    De façon générale, le surintendant est d’avis que le demandeur s’est acquitté de ses engagements liés aux polices aux fins du sous-alinéa 651a)(iv) lorsque, à la fois :

    1. les états financiers vérifiés ne font état d’aucun engagement lié aux polices;

    2. si le demandeur a émis des polices qui procurent une couverture en fonction du moment de survenance de l’événement et qui permettent de présenter des demandes d’indemnité pendant une période de durée considérable, il a convaincu le surintendant qu’il est raisonnable de croire qu’aucune demande d’indemnité ne sera présentée au titre de ces polices, compte tenu, notamment, des types de risques garantis et de l’historique des demandes d’indemnité présentées au titre de ces polices.

    De façon générale, le surintendant est d’avis que le demandeur a constitué une provision suffisante aux fins de l’acquittement de ses engagements liés aux polices aux fins du sous-alinéa 651a)(iv) si ce dernier :

    1. soit a conclu une convention écrite avec une autre institution financière au Canada aux termes de laquelle cette dernière s’est engagée à s’acquitter de ces engagements ou en a garanti l’acquittement;

    2. soit, dans le cas exceptionnel où le demandeur démontre que la condition décrite en c), Texte lisible par lecteur d’écran : c = 5(3), ci-dessus n’est pas commercialement viable dans les circonstances, a établi au Canada une fiducie que le BSIF juge acceptable au profit des réclamants potentiels aux termes des polices lorsque le montant placé est égal au montant maximum des engagements prévus aux termes des polices.

  6. L’alinéa 651b) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant doit être d’avis que le demandeur s’est acquitté de ses obligations financières non liées aux polices ou a pris des mesures satisfaisantes à leur égard.

    De façon générale, le surintendant est d’avis que le demandeur s’est acquitté d’une obligation financière non liée aux polices s’il a exécuté ou autrement éteint l’obligation (p. ex., en réglant par anticipation un paiement futur).

    De façon générale, le surintendant est d’avis que le demandeur a pris des mesures satisfaisantes à l’égard d’une obligation financière non liée aux polices si, à l’égard de cette obligation, il a rempli l’une des conditions suivantes :

    1. il a conclu une convention écrite avec une personne que le BSIF juge acceptable, aux termes de laquelle cette personne s’est engagée à s’acquitter de cette obligation ou à en garantir l’acquittement;

    2. il a établi au Canada une fiducie que le BSIF juge acceptable au profit du créancier lorsque le montant placé est égal au montant payable à ce créancier;

    3. il a obtenu, par écrit :

      1. une reconnaissance du créancier quant à l’intention du demandeur de solliciter l’ordonnance de libération et du fait qu’après la prise de cette ordonnance, le demandeur n’aura plus aucun élément d’actif au Canada sous la supervision du surintendant à l’appui de son obligation envers le créancier;

      2. le consentement du créancier à l’égard des mesures que le demandeur entend prendre afin de pourvoir à l’acquittement de ses obligations envers le créancier après la prise de l’ordonnance de libération;

    4. dans le cas exceptionnel où il démontre qu’aucune des conditions décrites en a), b) ou c), Texte lisible par lecteur d’écran : a), b) ou c) = 6(1), 6(2) ou 6(3), ci-dessus n’est commercialement viable dans les circonstances et à condition de n’avoir reçu aucune objection à l’encontre de l’avis prévu au présent alinéa au cours d’une période d’au moins six semaines suivant la date de transmission de l’avis ou d’avoir donné suite à toute objection reçue (et d’avoir fourni au BSIF une description des suites qu’il y a données), le demandeur a expédié au créancier, à la dernière adresse connue de ce dernier, un avis de son intention de solliciter l’ordonnance de libération, de même que :

      1. une déclaration selon laquelle, après la prise de l’ordonnance, le demandeur n’aura plus aucun élément d’actif au Canada sous la supervision du surintendant à l’appui de son obligation envers le créancier mais continuera néanmoins à s’en acquitter;

      2. une description des mesures que le demandeur entend prendre afin de pourvoir à l’acquittement de son obligation envers le créancier après la prise de l’ordonnance;

      3. des renseignements sur la façon dont le créancier peut communiquer avec le demandeur s’il a des questions au sujet des mesures proposées.

  7. Le demandeur doit remplir le formulaire BSIF-298et le soumettre à la Sous-section de l’administration des titres pour obtenir la libération du reliquat de son actif au Canada.

  8. uit un exemple de l’avis visé au point 4 de la rubrique « Exigences en matière d’information » ci-dessus. On trouvera la version anglaise de cet avis dans la version anglaise des présentes:

    [Nom du demandeur et, le cas échéant, autre nom sous lequel il est autorisé à garantir au Canada des risques]

    LIBÉRATION DE L’ACTIF

    Conformément à l’article 651 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (Canada) (la « Loi »), avis est par les présentes donné que [nom du demandeur] a l’intention de faire une demande auprès du surintendant des institutions financières (Canada), le [date postérieure d’au moins six semaines à celle de l’avis], afin de libérer l’actif qu’elle maintient au Canada conformément à la Loi.

    Tout créancier ou souscripteur visé par les opérations d’assurance au Canada de [nom du demandeur] qui s’oppose à cette libération est invité à faire acte d’opposition auprès de la Division de la législation et des approbations du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (Canada), soit par la poste au 255, rue Albert, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H2, soit par courriel à l’adresse approbationsetprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, au plus tard le [même date que ci-dessus].

    [Date de l’avis (nota : La date demeure celle de la publication initiale pendant quatre semaines consécutives.)]

  9. Cette demande d’approbation n’est assujettie à aucun droit d’utilisateur.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l’évaluation des demandes. Les demandeurs qui fournissent toute l’information et tous les documents nécessaires peuvent s’attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Conformément à l’article 654 de la Loi, l’ordonnance autorisant le demandeur à garantir au Canada des risques est réputée révoquée dès la prise de l’ordonnance de libération.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Il est entendu que la confirmation écrite ne s’applique pas à l’égard des engagements liés aux polices qui ont été radiés des dossiers du demandeur relatifs à ses opérations d’assurance au Canada si le demandeur avait convaincu le BSIF que ces engagements étaient des engagements relatifs aux opérations d’assurance du demandeur à l’extérieur du Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2