TERMINATION OF BUSINESS IN CANADA OF AN AUTHORIZED FOREIGN BANK

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: December 2017
  • Index A No: 9.1
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

  • Section 599 of the Bank Act (the “Act”)

Definitions

In this document,

“liabilities” means any actual or contingent liabilities of the applicant in respect of its business in Canada.  These include, without limitation, amounts owing to vendors, service providers and landlords in Canada, salary and employment obligations in Canada, legal expenses and outstanding litigation in Canada, expenses incurred in connection with the termination of the applicant’s business in Canada, Canadian regulatory expenses, tax liabilities in Canada, and unfunded retirement benefits provided by the applicant to its former employees in Canada. These do not include, however, amounts due to head office appearing on an applicant’s balance sheet in respect of its business in Canada.

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. proof of publication of the notice described in paragraph 599(2)(b) of the Act (the “Notice”);

  2. details regarding the level of internal approval required to make application for the release of the applicant’s assets in CanadaFootnote 1 (e.g., senior management), based on the applicant’s policies, as well as a confirmation that the application was approved at that level;

  3. details regarding whether the applicant requires approval from its home regulator for, or must notify its home regulator about, the proposed termination of the applicant’s business in Canada (and where any such requirement applies, confirmation that it has been met, together with the details of any related response);

  4. audited financial statements in respect of the applicant’s business in Canada, as at a date no more than three months prior to the application for the release of its assets in Canada, showing nominal or no liabilities, together with the related report from the auditor of the applicant for its business in Canada confirming that the statements present fairly the financial position of the applicant’s business in Canada (the “Audited Statements”);

  5. where the Audited Statements show nominal liabilities:

    1. a description of the nature and amount of each of these liabilities (where this description is not contained in the Audited Statements), and

    2. a confirmation from the principal officer that the applicant has discharged, or provided for the discharge of, the liabilities – or has transferred the liabilities to a bank, another authorized foreign bank in respect of its business in Canada, or a company to which theTrust and Loan Companies Act applies – together with a description of how it has done so;

  6. confirmations from the principal officer that:

    1. the applicant will promptly inform OSFI of the nature and amount of any liabilities that arise after the date of the Audited Statements, until the Superintendent has authorized the release of the applicant’s assets in Canada (the “Release Order”)Footnote 2,

    2. in the period since the applicant has ceased to carry on business in Canada, no liabilities have been removed from the applicant’s records in respect of its business in Canada due to having become, without the written consent of the relevant creditor(s), liabilities in respect of the applicant’s business outside Canada, and

    3. the applicant has not received any objections related to the Notice or otherwise with regard to the proposed release of its assets in Canada, or has addressed any objection received (together with a description of the objection and the manner in which it was addressed); and

  7. where liabilities referred to in item 6(a) above arise, a confirmation from the principal officer that the applicant has discharged, or provided for the discharge of, the liabilities – or has transferred the liabilities to a bank, another authorized foreign bank in respect of its business in Canada, or a company to which the Trust and Loan Companies Act applies – together with a description of how it has done so.

Administrative Guidance

  1. An applicant must continue to comply with the Act (e.g., record keeping, reporting, appointment of principal officer and auditor) until the Release Order is made.

  2. Subsection 599(3) of the Act states that the Superintendent must be satisfied that an applicant has discharged, provided for the discharge of, or transferred, all of its liabilities.  The Superintendent is generally satisfied that an applicant has:

    1. discharged a liability where it has carried out its obligations in respect of the liability (e.g., where the applicant has prepaid a future payment obligation);

    2. provided for the discharge of a liability where it has:

      1. entered into a written agreement with a person in Canada acceptable to OSFI whereby that person has undertaken to discharge, or has guaranteed the discharge of, the liability; or

      2. established a trust in Canada acceptable to OSFI for the benefit of the creditor where the amount vested is equal to the amount owed to that creditor.
    3. transferred a liability to a bank, another authorized foreign bank in respect of its business in Canada, or a company to which the Trust and Loan Companies Act applies where where the applicant has, with the written consent of the relevant creditor(s), assigned the liability to that entity.

  3. The applicant must provide a completed OSFI 298 Form to OSFI’s Securities Administration Unit to obtain the release of its remaining assets in Canada.

  4. The following is an example of a Notice (a French language example of this Notice is available in the French language version of this document):

    [Name of the applicant and, if applicable, other name under which it is authorized to carry on business in Canada]

    RELEASE OF ASSETS

    Pursuant to section 599 of the Bank Act (Canada) (the “Act”), notice is hereby given that [name of the applicant] intends to apply to the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (Canada) on [date that is at least six weeks after the date of the notice] for an order authorizing the release of the assets that it maintains in Canada in accordance with the Act.

    Any depositor or creditor in respect of [name of the applicant]’s business in Canada opposing that release is invited to file an opposition by mail to the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (Canada), Legislation and Approvals Division, 255 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H2, or by email at approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, on or before [same date as above].

    [Date of the notice (note: for the four consecutive weeks, the date remains the date of the first publication)]

  5. The following email address should be used for the initial submission of documents in support of requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Once the initial submission has been received, a case officer will be assigned to the matter. Thereafter, all case-related documents and correspondence should be directed to the case officer.

  6. This request for approval is not subject to a user pay fee.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

These are assets maintained under paragraph 534(3)(a) or subsection 582(1) of the Act.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Pursuant to subsection 599(5) of the Act, the orders permitting the applicant to establish a branch in Canada and approving the applicant’s commencement and carrying on of business in Canada are deemed to be revoked when the Release Order is made.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

CESSATION DES ACTIVITÉS AU CANADA D’UNE BANQUE ÉTRANGÈRE AUTORISÉE

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication: Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : Décembre 2017
  • Index A No: 9.1
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Définitions

Aux fins des présentes,

« dette » désigne toute obligation financière, réelle ou éventuelle, du demandeur relative à ses activités au Canada. Les dettes comprennent, sans s’y limiter, les sommes dues à des vendeurs, à des fournisseurs de services et à des locateurs au Canada, les obligations salariales et liées à l’emploi au Canada, les frais juridiques et les litiges en cours au Canada, les frais engagés relativement à la cessation des activités du demandeur au Canada, les frais de réglementation au Canada, l’impôt payable au Canada et les prestations de retraite non capitalisées versées par le demandeur à ses anciens employés au Canada. Toutefois, elles ne comprennent pas les sommes dues au siège qui figurent sur le bilan du demandeur à l’égard de ses activités au Canada.

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir : 

  1. une preuve de la publication de l’avis visé à l’alinéa 599(2)b) de la Loi (l’« avis »);

  2. des précisions sur le niveau d’approbation interne requis pour déposer la demande de libération de l’actif au CanadaNote de bas de page 1 du demandeur (p. ex., haute direction), conformément aux politiques et procédures du demandeur, ainsi qu’une confirmation de l’obtention de cette approbation;

  3. des détails indiquant si le demandeur requiert l’approbation de l’organisme de réglementation de son pays d’attache pour la cessation de ses activités au Canada ou s’il doit l’en informer (et, si l’une de ces exigences s’applique, une confirmation qu’elle a été respectée et, le cas échéant, les détails de la réponse réglementaire connexe);

  4. des états financiers audités portant sur les activités du demandeur au Canada, dont la date est antérieure d’au plus trois mois à la demande de libération de ses éléments d’actif au Canada, n’indiquant aucune dette, ou des dettes de valeur peu importante, de même que le rapport connexe de l’auditeur du demandeur pour ses activités au Canada confirmant que les états financiers présentent fidèlement la situation financière des activités du demandeur au Canada (les « états financiers audités »);

  5. lorsque les états financiers audités indiquent des dettes de valeur peu importante : 

    1. une description de la nature et du montant de chacune de ces dettes (si cette description ne figure pas dans les états financiers audités),

    2. une confirmation du dirigeant principal indiquant que le demandeur s’est acquitté de ces dettes ou a pris des dispositions pour leur acquittement ou qu’il a cédé ces dettes à une banque, à une autre banque étrangère autorisée, dans le cadre de l’exercice de ses activités au Canada, ou à une société régie par la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, accompagnée d’une description de la façon dont il l’a fait;

  6. une confirmation de la part du dirigeant principal : 

    1. que le demandeur informera promptement le BSIF de la nature et du montant des dettes qui surviendront après la date des états financiers audités jusqu’à ce que le surintendant autorise la libération des éléments d’actif du demandeur au Canada (l’« ordonnance de libération »),Note de bas de page 2

    2. qu’au cours de la période écoulée depuis que le demandeur a cessé d’exercer des activités au Canada, aucune dette du demandeur relative à ses activités au Canada n’a été radiée de ses dossiers canadiens du fait d’être devenues des dettes à l’égard des activités du demandeur à l’extérieur du Canada sans le consentement écrit du créancier concerné,

    3. que le demandeur n’a reçu aucune objection à l’encontre de l’avis ni autrement à l’égard de la libération proposée de ses éléments d’actif au Canada ou qu’il a donné suite à toute objection reçue (avec une description des objections et de la façon dont il leur a donné suite);

  7. si des dettes visées au point 6a) ci-dessus surviennent, une confirmation de la part du dirigeant principal selon laquelle le demandeur s’est acquitté de ces dettes, a pris des dispositions pour leur acquittement ou a cédé ces dettes à une banque, à une autre banque étrangère autorisée dans le cadre de l’exercice de ses activités au Canada, ou à une personne morale régie par la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, accompagnée d’une description de la façon dont il l’a fait.

Directives administratives

  1. Le demandeur doit continuer de se conformer à la Loi (p. ex., tenue de documents, établissement de rapports et nomination d’un dirigeant principal et d’un auditeur) jusqu’à ce que l’ordonnance de libération soit émise.  

  2. Le paragraphe 599(3) de la Loi stipule que le surintendant doit être convaincu que le demandeur s’est acquitté de ses dettes ou les a cédé, ou a pris des dispositions pour leur acquittement. Dans l’ensemble, le surintendant est d’avis que le demandeur :

    1. s’est acquitté d’une dette s’il a exécuté ses obligations aux termes de la dette (p. ex., en devançant un paiement futur);

    2. a cédé une dette à une banque, à une autre banque étrangère autorisée, dans le cadre de l’exercice de ses activités au Canada, ou à une société régie par la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, lorsque le demandeur a cédé la dette à cette entité avec le consentement écrit du créancier concerné;

    3. a pris des dispositions pour l’acquittement d’une dette si le demandeur :

      1. soit a conclu une convention écrite, que le BSIF juge acceptable, avec une personne au Canada aux termes de laquelle cette personne s’est engagée à s’acquitter de la dette ou à en garantir l’acquittement,

      2. soit a établi une fiducie, que le BSIF juge acceptable, au profit du créancier de cette dette lorsque le montant placé est égal au montant payable à ce créancier.

  3. Le demandeur doit remplir le Formulaire BSIF-298 et le soumettre à la Sous-section de l’administration des valeurs mobilières du BSIF pour obtenir la libération de son actif au Canada.

  4. Suit un exemple d’avis (on trouvera la version anglaise de cet avis dans la version anglaise des présentes) :

    [Nom du demandeur et, le cas échéant, autre nom sous lequel il est autorisé à exercer ses activités au Canada]

    LIBÉRATION DE L’ACTIF

    Conformément à l’article 599 de la Loi sur les banques (Canada) (la « Loi »), avis est par les présentes donné que [nom du demandeur] a l’intention de faire une demande auprès du surintendant des institutions financières (Canada), le [date postérieure d’au moins six semaines à celle de l’avis], afin de libérer l’actif qu’elle maintient au Canada conformément à la Loi.

    Tout déposant ou créancier visé par les activités au Canada de [nom du demandeur] qui s’oppose à cette libération est invité à faire acte d’opposition auprès de la Division de la législation et des approbations du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (Canada), soit par la poste au 255, rue Albert, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H2, soit par courriel à l’adresse approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, au plus tard le [même date que ci-dessus].

    [Date de l’avis (nota : la date demeure celle de la publication initiale pour les quatre semaines consécutives)]

  5. L’adresse courriel suivante doit être utilisée pour déposer la soumission initiale des documents à l’appui des demandes d’approbation visées aux présentes : approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.  Une fois la soumission initiale reçue, un agent du groupe des approbations sera assigné pour traiter la demande.  Par la suite, toute correspondance et document relatifs à la demande devraient être adressés directement à cet agent.

  6. Cette demande d’approbation n’est assujettie à aucun droit d’utilisateur.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives sont conçues en fonction des demandes types. Elles découlent de l’expérience du BSIF dans l’étude de telles demandes. Les demandes qui réunissent tous les renseignements et toutes les pièces nécessaires pourraient être traitées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Il s’agit des éléments d’actif déposés en application de l’alinéa 534(3)a) ou du paragraphe 582(1) de la Loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Conformément au paragraphe 599(5) de la Loi, les ordonnances permettant au demandeur d’établir une succursale au Canada et lui permettant de commencer à exercer des activités au Canada sont réputées annulées quand l’ordonnance de libération est émise.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2