VOLUNTARY LIQUIDATION AND DISSOLUTION

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised:  December 2017
  • Index A No: 11
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Definitions

In this document,

“obligations” means any actual or contingent financial obligations of the applicant. These include, without limitation, amounts owing to vendors and service providers, rent obligations, salary and employment obligations, legal expenses, outstanding litigation, Canadian regulatory expenses, tax liabilities, and unfunded retirement benefits provided by the applicant to its former employees. For greater certainty, these do not include actual or contingent financial obligatons that have, with the written consent of the relevant creditor(s), been transferred to another party.

Information Requirements

In the circumstances underlying most requests for approval under the Legislative Authorities above, these authorities provide two regulatory steps for an applicant to obtain letters patent of dissolution (i.e., the two-step process). The first requires obtaining the Minister’s approval of an application for letters patent dissolving the applicant (the “Initial Approval”), which is based on a detailed plan for the voluntary liquidation provided by the applicant. The second requires obtaining from the Minister letters patent dissolving the applicant (“Letters Patent”), after the applicant has carried out the liquidation process.

In limited cases where the applicant has no property or obligations, the Legislative Authorities above provide that an applicant may apply to the Minister for the issuance of Letters Patent without obtaining the Initial Approval (i.e., the one-step process).

The information requirements that follow are set out accordingly.

1. Information in Support of the Two-step Process

A. Initial Approval

The applicant is generally expected to provide the following information in support of its application for the Initial Approval:

  1. a certified copy of the special resolution authorizing the applicant to apply to the Minister for Letters PatentFootnote 1;

  2. a detailed plan for the voluntary liquidation of the applicant, including information on the proposed:

    1. notification of the Initial Approval to be sent to each of the applicant’s known claimants (except policyholders where the applicant is governed by the ICA) and creditors,

    2. collection of its assets, where applicable,

    3. disposition of its assets that are not to be distributed in kind to its shareholders and/or members,

    4. discharge, or provision for the payment or discharge, of its obligations,

    5. distribution of its remaining property, either in money or in kind, to its shareholders and/or members, after it has satisfied the Superintendent that it is appropriate to do so, and

    6. management of the liquidation process, and the resources required to do so; and

  3. where the applicant is a company governed by the ICA, a confirmation from the applicant that (a) it is not a mutual company, and (b) it does not have participating policyholders or policyholders who are entitled to vote at annual meetings of shareholders and policyholdersFootnote 2.

B. Letters Patent

Following receipt of the Initial Approval, and after it has substantially carried out its voluntary liquidation, the applicant is generally expected to provide the following information in support of its application to the Minister for the issuance of Letters Patent:

  1. confirmation that notice of the Initial Approval was sent to each of the applicant’s known claimants (except policyholders where the applicant is governed by the ICA) and creditorsFootnote 3;

  2. proof of publication of the notice described in the applicable Legislative Authority (“Notice”)Footnote 4;

  3. confirmation from the applicant that it has not received any objections related to the Notice or otherwise with regard to the proposed liquidation and dissolution, or has addressed any objection received (together with a description of the manner in which each objection has been addressed);

  4. details regarding whether completion of the liquidation or the proposed dissolution is subject to or will trigger any regulatory approval or notification requirement, other than under the Legislative Authorities (and where any of these requirements apply, confirmation that they have been met, together with the details of the related regulatory response, if any);

  5. a description of the outcome of the liquidation process, including any remaining steps to be taken;

  6. audited financial statements of the applicant, as at a date no more than three months prior to the application for Letters Patent showing nominal or no obligations, together with the related report from the auditor of the applicant confirming that the statements present fairly the financial position of the applicant (the “Audited Statements”);

  7. where the applicant is governed by the ICA, a report of the actuary supporting the valuation of the policy liabilities reported in the Audited Statements;

  8. where the Audited Statements show nominal obligations:

    1. a description of the nature and amount of each of these obligations (where this description is not contained in the Audited Statements), and

    2. confirmation that the applicant has discharged, or provided for the payment or discharge of, the obligations, together with a description of how it has done so;

  9. confirmation that the applicant will promptly inform OSFI of the nature and amount of any obligations that arise after the date of the Audited Statements until Letters Patent are issued (and where such obligations arise, a confirmation that the applicant has discharged them, or has provided for their payment or discharge);

  10. where the Audited Statements show assets:

    1. a description of the nature and amount of each of these assets (where this description is not contained in the Audited Statements), and

    2. confirmation that the applicant has distributed them, in money or in kind, among its shareholders and/or members according to their respective rights; and

  11. if the applicant is a trust company (a “Federal Trust Company”), confirmation that the applicant has transferred all money and other assets held in trust by the applicant to another Federal Trust Company (other than assets held in respect of guaranteed trust money)Footnote 5, together with a description of how it has done so.

2. Information in Support of the One-step Process (Where an Applicant has no Assets or Obligations)

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. a certified copy of the special resolutionFootnote 6 authorizing it to apply to the Minister for Letters Patent; and

  2. confirmation that the applicant has:

    1. never conducted any business, and

    2. no assets or obligations.

Administrative Guidance regarding the Two-Step Process

  1. This Transaction Instruction relates solely to the Legislative Authorities and does not address any provincial or territorial requirements (or Assuris, PACICC or Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (“CDIC”) requirements, as applicable) that may apply to the liquidation of an applicant. Accordingly, OSFI recommends that (a) applicable provincial and territorial statutes be reviewed, and the agencies that administer them be consulted, in connection with such proposed liquidation, and (b) applicable requirements of Assuris, PACICC or CDIC in respect of termination of membership be reviewed, and that officials of these organizations be consulted accordingly.

  2. An applicant must continue to comply with the requirements of its governing statute (e.g., record keeping, reporting) until Letters Patent are issued. For greater certainty, if carrying out the voluntary liquidiation requires the applicant to obtain approvals from the Superintendent, or additional approvals from the Minister, under its governing statute, those additional approvals must be obtained.

  3. OSFI generally expects the Notice to set out, among other things:

    1. the name of the applicant;

    2. the fact that the Minister has granted the Initial Approval, and the date on which the Initial Approval was granted; and

    3. the statute and related provision under which the Notice is given.

  4. An applicant is encouraged to provide OSFI with a draft version of the Notice and the notification referred to in Item 2(a) of the Information Requirements, with a view to obtain OSFI’s comments regarding these documents.

  5. The Legislative Authorities require an applicant to discharge, or provide for the payment or discharge of, its obligations.

    OSFI is generally satisfied that an applicant has discharged:

    1. an obligation where it has carried out the obligation (e.g., where the applicant has prepaid a future payment obligation); and

    2. “claims occurring” policyFootnote 7 obligations, in the case of an applicant that is a property and casualty company, where the Audited Statements show no policy liabilities and the applicant has satisfied the Superintendent that it is reasonable to believe that no claims will be made under those policies, having regard to, among other things, the types of risks insured and the history of claims made under those policies.

    OSFI is generally satisfied that an applicant governed by the ICA has provided for the payment or discharge of a policy obligation where it has caused the risks undertaken under the related policy to be reinsured, on an assumption basis.

  6. An applicant with unclaimed deposit liabilities following implementation of its plan to discharge its obligations may wish to refer to Ruling 2003-02: Voluntary liquidation – Outstanding deposit liabilities.

Administrative Guidance regarding the One-Step and Two-Step Processes

  1. The following email address should be used for the initial submission of documents in support of requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Once the initial submission has been received, a case officer will be assigned to the matter. Thereafter, all case-related documents and correspondence should be directed to the case officer.

  2. This request for approval is not subject to a user pay fee.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

See section 344 of the BA, 349 of the TLCA, 382 of the ICA and 328 of the CCAA.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

See section 378 of the ICA.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

See paragraphs 345(4)(a) of the BA,  350(4)(a) of the TLCA, 383(4)(a) of the ICA and 328(4)(a) of the CCAA.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

The Notice is described in paragraphs 345(4)(b) of the BA, 383(4)(b) and 923(4)(b) of the ICA, 350(4)(b) of the TLCA, and 329(4)(b) of the CCAA. See also item 3 of the Administrative Guidance below for more information.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

See paragraph 350(4)(d) of the TLCA.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

Or where no shareholders exist, a resolution of all the directors. See paragraph 342(1)(a) of the BA, subsection 347(1) of the TLCA, subsection 380(1) of the ICA and subsection 326(1) of the CCAA.

Return to footnote 6

Footnote 7

These are generally “long tail” liability policies that provide coverage based on when the event occurs and that allow claims to be made for a considerable period of time.

Return to footnote 7

LIQUIDATION ET DISSOLUTION VOLONTAIRES

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : Décembre 2017
  • Index No : 11
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Définitions

Aux fins des présentes,

« obligation » désigne tout engagement financier, réel ou éventuel, du demandeur. Ces engagements comprennent, sans s’y limiter, les sommes dues à des vendeurs et à des fournisseurs de services, les obligations locatives, les obligations salariales et liées à l’emploi, les frais juridiques, les litiges en cours, les frais de réglementation au Canada, l’impôt à payer et les prestations de retraite non capitalisées versées par le demandeur à ses anciens employés au Canada. Il est entendu que cela ne comprend pas les obligations financières réelles ou éventuelles qui ont été cédées à une tierce partie avec le consentement des créanciers concernés.

Exigences en matière d’information

Dans les circonstances qui sous-tendent la plupart des demandes d’approbation déposées en vertu du fondement législatif, celui-ci prévoit deux étapes pour l’obtention de lettres patentes de dissolution par un demandeur (c.-à-d., le processus en deux étapes). La première exige que le ministre approuve une demande de lettres patentes de dissolution du demandeur qui s’appuie sur un plan détaillé de liquidation volontaire fourni par le demandeur (l’ « agrément initial »). La deuxième exige d’obtenir des lettres patentes de dissolution du demandeur auprès du ministre (les « lettres patentes ») après que le demandeur ait effectué le processus de liquidation.

Dans les rares cas, où le demandeur n’a pas de biens ni d’obligations, le fondement législatif ci-dessus prévoit qu’il peut demander au ministre de délivrer les lettres patentes sans préalablement obtenir l’agrément initial (c.-à-d., le processus en une étape).

Les renseignements à fournir sont indiqués selon ces deux cas.

1. Information à l’appui du processus en deux étapes

A. Agrément initial

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir les renseignements qui suivent à l’appui de sa demande d’agrément initial : 

  1. une copie certifiée de la résolution extraordinaire autorisant le demandeur à présenter au ministre une demande visant les lettres patentes;Note de bas de page 1

  2. un plan détaillé de liquidation volontaire du demandeur, notamment de l’information sur les mesures proposées qui suivent :

    1. l’avis de l’agrément initial à envoyer à chaque réclamant (sauf pour les souscripteurs quand le demandeur est régi par la LSA) et créancier connus,

    2. la récupération de ses actifs, s’il y a lieu,

    3. la disposition de ses actifs qui ne seront pas destinés à être répartis en nature entre ses actionnaires ou ses membres,

    4. les mesures pour honorer ses obligations (ou pour constituer une provision suffisante à cet effet),

    5. la répartition du reliquat de son actif, en numéraire ou en nature, entre ses actionnaires ou ses membres après avoir convaincu le surintendant qu’il est approprié de le faire,

    6. la gestion du processus de liquidation, ainsi que les ressources nécessaires à cette fin;

  3. quand le demandeur est une société régie par la LSA, une confirmation de la part du demandeur a) qu’il n’est pas une société mutuelle et b) qu’il n’a pas de souscripteurs avec participation ni de souscripteurs qui sont habilités à voter aux assemblées annuelles des actionnaires et des souscripteurs.Note de bas de page 2

B. Lettres patentes

Après réception de l’agrément initial et une fois que le demandeur a en grande partie effectué sa liquidation volontaire, il doit généralement fournir l’information suivante à l’appui de sa demande de délivrance de lettres patentes auprès du ministre : 

  1. une confirmation qu’un avis de l’agrément initial a été envoyé à chaque réclamant (sauf les souscripteurs quand le demandeur est régi par la LSA) et créancier connus du demandeur;Note de bas de page 3

  2. une preuve de la publication de l’avis décrit dans le fondement législatif applicable (l’« avis »);Note de bas de page 4

  3. une confirmation du demandeur selon laquelle il n’a reçu aucune objection à l’encontre de l’avis ou autrement à l’égard de la liquidation et de la dissolution proposées, ou qu’il a donné suite à toute objection reçue (avec une description de la façon dont il a donné suite à chacune d’elles);

  4. des détails indiquant si la réalisation de la liquidation ou de la dissolution est assujettie à l’approbation d’un organisme de réglementation ou à une obligation d’aviser un tel organisme, autrement que ce qui est prévu aux termes du fondement législatif (et dans cette éventualité, une confirmation que ces exigences ont été remplies, ainsi que des détails sur la réponse de l’organisme, le cas échéant);

  5. une description du résultat du processus de liquidation, y compris des autres mesures à prendre;

  6. les états financiers audités du demandeur, dont la date est antérieure d’au plus trois mois à la demande visant la délivrance des lettres patentes, n’indiquant aucune obligation ou des obligations de valeur peu importante, de même que le rapport connexe de l’auditeur du demandeur confirmant que les états financiers présentent fidèlement la situation financière du demandeur (les « états financiers audités »);

  7. quand le demandeur est régi par la LSA, un rapport de l’actuaire à l’appui de l’évaluation des engagements liés aux polices déclarés dans les états financiers audités;

  8. quand les états financiers audités font état d’obligations de valeur peu importante :

    1. une description de la nature et du montant de chacune de ces obligations (si cette description ne figure pas dans les états financiers audités),

    2. une confirmation que le demandeur a honoré ces obligations ou qu’il a constitué une provision suffisante à cet effet, accompagnée d’une description des mesures que le demandeur a prises à cet égard;

  9. une confirmation que le demandeur informera promptement le BSIF de la nature et du montant des obligations qui surviennent après la date des états financiers audités jusqu’à ce que les lettres patentes soient délivrées (et s’il existe de telles obligations, une confirmation que le demandeur les a honorés ou a constitué une provision suffisante à cette effet);

  10. quand les états financiers audités font état d’actifs :

    1. une description de la nature et du montant de chacun de ces actifs (si cette description ne figure pas dans les états financiers audités),

    2. une confirmation que le demandeur les a répartis, en numéraire ou en nature, entre ses actionnaires et ses membres selon leurs droits respectifs;

  11. si le demandeur est une société de fiducie (une « société de fiducie fédérale »), une confirmation que le demandeur a transféré tous les fonds et les autres actifs qu’il détenait en fiducie à une autre société de fiducie fédérale (autres que les actifs détenus à l’égard des fonds en fiducie garantis)Note de bas de page 5 et une description des mesures prises pour le faire.

2. Information à l’appui du processus en une étape (quand le demandeur n’a aucun actif ni aucune obligation)

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir : 

  1. une copie certifiée de la résolution extraordinaireNote de bas de page 6 l’autorisant à demander les lettres patentes auprès du ministre;

  2. une confirmation selon laquelle le demandeur : 

    1. n’a jamais exercé d’activités,

    2. n’a aucun bien, ni aucune obligation.

Directives administratives concernant le processus en deux étapes

  1. Les présentes instructions relatives aux opérations se rapportent uniquement au fondement législatif et ne traitent pas des exigences provinciales ou territoriales (ni de celles d’Assuris, de la SIMA ou de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada (la « SADC »), le cas échéant) pouvant s’appliquer à la liquidation du demandeur. Par conséquent, le BSIF recommande a) de passer en revue les lois provinciales et territoriales applicables et de consulter les organismes qui les administrent au sujet de la liquidation proposée et b) de passer en revue les exigences pertinentes d’Assuris, de la SIMA ou de la SADC au sujet de la cessation d’adhésion et de consulter les responsables de ces organismes.

  2. Le demandeur doit continuer à se conformer aux exigences de la loi qui le régit (p. ex., tenue de documents et établissement de rapports) jusqu’à la délivrance des lettres patentes. Il est entendu que si l’exécution de la liquidation volontaire exige que le demandeur obtienne des approbations du surintendant ou des approbations supplémentaires de la part du ministre, en vertu de la loi qui le régit, il doit obtenir ces approbations supplémentaires.

  3. De façon générale, le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’avis énonce notamment ce qui suit :

    1. le nom du demandeur;

    2. le fait que le ministre a accordé l’agrément initial et la date à laquelle il l’a été;

    3. la loi et la disposition en vertu desquelles l’avis est donné.

  4. Le demandeur est invité à fournir au BSIF une version provisoire de l’avis et de la notification dont il est question au point 2a) des exigences en matière d’information afin de recueillir les commentaires du BSIF à propos de ces documents.

  5. Le fondement législatif oblige le demandeur à honorer ses obligations ou à constituer une provision suffisante à cet effet.

    De façon générale, le BSIF estime que le demandeur : 

    1. s’est acquitté d’une obligation s’il a exécuté ou autrement éteint l’obligation (p. ex., en devançant un paiement futur),

    2. qui est une société d’assurances multirisques s’est acquitté de ses obligations relatives à des polices qui procurent une couverture en fonction du moment de survenance de l’événement – et qui permettent de présenter des demandes d’indemnité pendant une période de durée considérable – quand les états financiers audités ne font état d’aucun engagement lié aux polices et que le demandeur a convaincu le surintendant qu’il est raisonnable de croire qu’aucune demande d’indemnité ne sera présentée au titre de ces polices compte tenu, notamment, des types de risques garantis et de l’historique des demandes d’indemnité faites aux termes de ces polices.

    De façon générale, le BSIF estime qu’un demandeur régi par la LSA a constitué une provision suffisante pour honorer une obligation liée à une police s’il a fait en sorte que les risques qu’il a acceptés aux termes de la police soient réassurés aux fins de prise en charge.

  6. Un demandeur avec des dépôts non réclamés après la mise en œuvre de son plan pour s’acquitter de ses obligations voudra peut-être consulter la décision ayant valeur de précédent 2003-02 – Liquidation volontaire – Dépôts non réclamés.

Directives administratives concernant le processus en une et en deux étapes

  1. L’adresse courriel suivante doit être utilisée pour déposer la soumission initiale des documents à l’appui des demandes d’approbation visées aux présentes : approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Une fois la soumission initiale reçue, un agent du groupe des approbations sera assigné pour traiter la demande. Par la suite, toute correspondance et document relatifs à la demande devraient être adressés directement à cet agent.
  2. Cette demande d’approbation n’est assujettie

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives sont conçues en fonction des demandes types. Elles découlent de l’expérience du BSIF dans l’étude de telles demandes. Les demandes qui réunissent tous les renseignements et toutes les pièces nécessaires pourraient être traitées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Se reporter aux articles 344 de la LB, 349 de la LSFP, 382 de la LSA et 328 de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Se reporter à l’article 378 de la LSA.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Se reporter aux alinéas 345(4)a) de la LB, 350(4)a) de la LSFP, 383(4)a) de la LSA et 328(4)a) de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

L’avis est décrit aux alinéas 345(4)b) de la LB, 383(4)b) et 923(4)b) de la LSA, 350(4)b) de la LSFP et 329(4)b) de la LACC. Se reporter également au point 3 des Directives administratives ci-dessous pour plus de renseignements.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Se reporter à l’alinéa 350(4)d) de la LSFP.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Ou, en l’absence d’actionnaires, une résolution de tous les administrateurs. Se reporter à l’alinéa 342(1)a) de la LB et aux paragraphes 347(1) de la LSFP, 380(1) de la LSA et 326(1) de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6