DISCONTINUANCE – CONTINUANCE UNDER THE CANADA BUSINESS CORPORATIONS ACT OR THE CANADA NOT-FOR-PROFIT CORPORATIONS ACT

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: December 2017
  • Index A No: 14
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Definitions

In this document,

“policy liability” means, in respect of an applicant governed by the ICA, any actuarial and other liability, whether actual or contingent, of the applicant that arises from the terms and conditions of a policy, including, where applicable, any declared and unpaid policy dividends. For greater certainty, this does not include any liability arising from the terms and conditions of a policy that has, with the written consent of the relevant policyholder, been transferred to another party.

“obligations” means any actual or contingent financial obligations of the applicant that are not policy liabilities or deposit liabilities.  These include, without limitation: amounts owing to vendors and service providers, rent obligations, salary and employment obligations, legal expenses, outstanding litigation, Canadian regulatory expenses, tax liabilities, and unfunded retirement benefits provided by the applicant to its former employees.  For greater certainty, these do not include actual or contingent financial obligatons that have, with the written consent of the relevant creditor(s), been transferred to another party.

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the proposed name of the corporation to be continued and the name of the statute under which it will be continued (the “Continuing Statute”);

  2. details regarding whether the proposed continuance is subject to or will trigger any regulatory approval or notification requirement, other than under the Legislative Authorities and the Continuing Statute (and where any of these requirements apply, confirmation that they have been met, together with the details of the related regulatory response, if any);

  3. a certified copy of the special resolution authorizing the applicant to apply to the Minister for approval to apply for a certificate of continuance as a corporation under the Continuing Statute;Footnote 1

  4. proof of publication of the notice described in the applicable Legislative Authority (“Notice”);Footnote 2

  5. a confirmation from the applicant that it has not received any objections related to the Notice or otherwise with regard to the proposed continuance, or has addressed any objection received (together with a description of the manner in which each objection has been addressed);

  6. audited financial statements of the applicant, as at a date no more than three months prior to the application to the Minister, showing no policy liabilities, no assets held in trust and no deposits (other than deposits of a person who controls the applicant or has a significant interest in a class of shares of the applicant and that are not insured by the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (“CDIC”)), together with the related report from the auditor of the applicant confirming that the statements present fairly the financial position of the applicant (the “Audited Statements”);

  7. where the applicant is governed by the ICA:

    1. a report of the actuary of the applicant supporting the valuation of the policy liabilities reported in the Audited Statements,

    2. confirmations that:

      1. the applicant will promptly inform OSFI of the nature and amount of any policy liabilities that arise after the date of the Audited Statements until a certificate of continuance as a corporation under the Continuing Statute is issued and in force, and

      2. Assuris or PACICC, as applicable, and the insurance regulators of all provinces and territories in which the applicant is licensed, have each been directly notified in writing, concurrently with the first publication of the Notice, of the proposed continuance,

    3. where policy liabilities referred to in item 7(b)(i) above arise, confirmation that the applicant has discharged them or provided for their discharge (together with a description of how it has done so), and

    4. confirmation that the applicant shall not use the word “assurance”, “assurances”, “insurance” or “lifeco” or any word or words of import equivalent to any of those words in its name after a certificate of continuance as a corporation under the Continuing Statute is issued and in force (unless it will be an entity referred to in paragraph 47(2)(b) or (c) or section 48 of the ICA);Footnote 3

  8. where the applicant is a trust company, confirmations that the applicant:

    1. is not carrying on any fiduciary activities referred to in section 412 of the TLCA, and

    2. will not use the word “fiduciaire”, “fiduciary”, “fiducie”, “trust”, “trustco”, “loan”, “loanco” or “prêt” or any word or words of import equivalent to any of those words in its name after a certificate of continuance as a corporation under the Continuing Statute is issued and in force (unless it will be an entity referred to in paragraph 47(3)(a) or section 48 of the TLCA);Footnote 4

  9. where the applicant is governed by the BA, the TLCA or the CCAA:

    1. a confirmation that the applicant will promptly inform OSFI of the nature and amount of any deposits (other than deposits of a person who controls the applicant or has a significant interest in a class of shares of the applicant and that are not insured by the CDIC) that arise after the date of the Audited Statements until a certificate of continuance as a corporation under the Continuing Statute is issued and in force, and

    2. where deposits referred to in item 9(a) above arise, a confirmation that the applicant has discharged them, together with a description of how it has done so; and

  10. where the Audited Statements show obligations, in the form of commitments described in the notes to the statements or otherwise:

    1. a description of the nature and amount of each obligation (where a description is not contained in the Audited Statements), and

    2. a confirmation that the applicant will have sufficient assets to satisfy these obligations after a certificate of continuance as a corporation under the Continuing Statute is issued and in force.

Administrative Guidance

  1. This Transaction Instruction relates solely to the Legislative Authorities and does not address any provincial or territorial requirements (or Assuris, PACICC or CDIC requirements, as applicable) that may apply to the continuation of an applicant under a Continuing Statute. Accordingly, OSFI recommends that (a) applicable provincial and territorial statutes be reviewed, and the agencies that administer them be consulted, in connection with such proposed continuation, and (b) the applicable requirements of Assuris, PACICC or CDIC in respect of termination of membership be reviewed, and that officials of these organizations be consulted accordingly.

  2. An applicant must continue to comply with the requirements of its governing statute (e.g., record keeping, reporting, business activity restrictions, capital requirements) until a certificate of continuance as a corporation under the Contining Statute is issued and in force.

  3. OSFI generally expects the Notice to set out, among other things:

    1. the name of the applicant;

    2. the date on or after which the applicant intends to apply to the Minister for approval to apply for a certificate of continuance as a corporation under the Continuing Statute;

    3. the proposed name (in English and French languages, where applicable) of the applicant after a certificate of continuance as a corporation under the Continuing Statute is issued and in force; and

    4. the statute and related provision under which the Notice is given.

  4. An applicant is encouraged to provide OSFI with a draft version of the Notice, with a view to obtain OSFI’s comments regarding this document.

  5. The ICA requires an applicant to discharge, or provide for the discharge of, its policy liabilities.Footnote 5

    OSFI is generally satisfied that an applicant governed by the ICA has discharged its policy liabilities where:

    1. the Audited Statements show no policy liabilities; and

    2. if the applicant has issued “claims occurring” policiesFootnote 6, the applicant has satisfied the Superintendent that it is reasonable to believe that no claims will be made under those policies, having regard to, among other things, the types of risks insured and the history of claims made under those policies.

    OSFI  is generally satisfied that an applicant governed by the ICA has provided for the discharge of a policy liability where it has caused the risks undertaken under the related policy to be reinsured, on an assumption basis.

  6. The following email address should be used for the initial submission of documents in support of requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.  Once the initial submission has been received, a case officer will be assigned to the matter. Thereafter, all case-related documents and correspondence should be directed to the case officer.

  7. This request for approval is not subject to a user pay fee.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

See paragraphs 39.1(2)(b) of the BA, 39(3)(d) of the ICA, 38(2)(e) of the TLCA and 32(2)(b) of the CCAA.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

The Notice is described in paragraphs 39.1(2)(a) of the BA, 39(3)(a) of the ICA, 38(2)(a) of the TLCA and 32(2)(a) of the CCAA. See also items 3 and 4 of the Administrative Guidance below for more information.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

See section 47 of the ICA for more details regarding restrictions on the use of name.

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

See section 47 of the TLCA for more details regarding restrictions on the use of name.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

See paragraph 39(3)(b) of the ICA.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

These are generally “long tail” liability policies that provide coverage based on when the event occurs and that allow claims to be made for a considerable period of time.

Return to footnote 6

CESSATION – PROROGATION SOUS LA LOI CANADIENNE SUR LES SOCIÉTÉS PAR ACTIONS OU LA LOI CANADIENNE SUR LES ORGANISATIONS À BUT NON LUCRATIF

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : Décembre 2017
  • Index No : 14
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Définitions

Aux fins des présentes,

« engagement lié aux polices » désigne, à l’égard d’un demandeur régi par la LSA, tout engagement, actuariel et autre, réel ou éventuel, du demandeur qui découle des modalités de ses polices, y compris, le cas échéant, toute participation déclarée et non payée. Il est entendu que cela ne comprend pas les engagements découlant de conditions de polices ayant été transférées à une tiers partie avec le consentement des souscripteurs.

« obligation » désigne toute obligation financière, réelle ou éventuelle, du demandeur autre que des engagements liés aux polices ou à des dépôts. Les obligations comprennent, sans s’y limiter, les sommes dues à des vendeurs et à des fournisseurs de services, les obligations locatives, les obligations salariales et liées à l’emploi, les frais juridiques, les litiges en cours, les frais de réglementation au Canada, l’impôt à payer de même que les prestations de retraite non capitalisées versées par le demandeur aux anciens employés au Canada. Il est entendu que les obligations ne comprennent pas les obligations financières effectives ou éventuelles ayant été transférées à une tiers partie avec le consentement des créanciers.

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir : 

  1. le nom proposé de la société à proroger et la loi sous le régime de laquelle elle le sera (la « loi de prorogation »);

  2. des précisions sur les exigences d’approbation ou d’avis réglementaire auxquelles la prorogation proposée est ou sera éventuellement assujettie, autres qu’au titre du fondement législatif et de la loi de prorogation (et, le cas échéant, une confirmation que l’exigence a été satisfaite, ainsi que les détails de la réponse réglementaire connexe, le cas échéant);

  3. une copie certifiée de la résolution extraordinaire habilitant le demandeur à solliciter l’autorisation du ministre pour demander un certificat de prorogation en tant que société en vertu de la loi de prorogation;Note de bas de page 1

  4. une preuve de la publication de l’avis prévu par le fondement législatif pertinent (l’« avis »);Note de bas de page 2

  5. une confirmation du demandeur qu’il n’a reçu aucune objection à l’encontre de l’avis ou autrement à l’égard de la prorogation proposée ou qu’il a donné suite à toute objection reçue (avec une description de la façon dont il a donné suite à chacune d’elles);

  6. les états financiers audités du demandeur, dont la date est antérieure d’au plus trois mois à la demande soumise au ministre, n’indiquant aucun engagement lié aux polices, aucun actif détenu en fiducie et aucun dépôt (autre que les dépôts d’une personne qui contrôle le demandeur ou qui a un intérêt substantiel dans une catégorie d’actions du demandeur et qui ne sont pas assurés par la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada (« SADC »)), de même que le rapport connexe de l’auditeur du demandeur confirmant que les états financiers présentent fidèlement la situation financière du demandeur (les « états financiers audités » );

  7. quand le demandeur est régi par la LSA : 

    1. un rapport de l’actuaire du demandeur à l’appui de l’évaluation des engagements liés aux polices présentée dans les états financiers audités;

    2. une confirmation selon laquelle : 

      1. le demandeur informera promptement le BSIF de la nature et du montant des engagements liés aux polices après la date des états financiers audités jusqu’à la délivrance et à l’entrée en vigueur d’un certificat de prorogation en tant que société aux termes de la loi de prorogation,

      2. Assuris ou la SIMA, selon le cas, et les régulateurs d’assurance de chaque province et territoire auprès desquels le demandeur est agréé ont tous été avisés directement par écrit, au moment de la publication initiale de l’avis, de la prorogation proposée,

    3. s’il existe des engagements liés aux polices visés en 7(b)(i) ci-dessus, une confirmation selon laquelle le demandeur s’en est acquitté ou qu’il a constitué une provision suffisante à cette fin (accompagné d’une description de la façon dont il l’a fait),

    4. une confirmation que le demandeur n’utilisera pas, dans sa dénomination sociale, les mots « assurance », « assurances », « insurance » ou « lifeco » ou tout autre mot ayant un sens équivalent après la délivrance et l’entrée en vigueur d’un certificat de prorogation en tant que société aux termes de la loi de prorogation(à moins que le demandeur propose d’être prorogé en tant qu’entité visée à l’alinéa 47(2)b) ou c), ou à l’article 48 de la LSA);Note de bas de page 3

  8. quand le demandeur est une société de fiducie, une confirmation que le demandeur : 

    1. n’exerce pas les activités fiduciaires visées à l’article 412 de la LSFP,

    2. n’utilisera pas, dans sa dénomination sociale, les mots « fiduciaire », « fiduciary », « fiducie », « trust », « trustco », « prêt », « loan », ou « loanco » ou tout autre mot ayant un sens équivalent, après la délivrance et l’entrée en vigueur du certificat de prorogation en tant que société aux termes de la loi de prorogation (à moins que le demandeur propose d’être prorogé en tant qu’entité visée à l’alinéa 47(2)b) de la LSFP);Note de bas de page 4

  9. quand le demandeur est régi par la LB, la LSFP ou la LACC : 

    1. une confirmation que le demandeur informera promptement le BSIF de la nature et du montant des dépôts (autres que les dépôts d’une personne qui contrôle le demandeur ou qui a un intérêt substantiel dans une catégorie d’actions du demandeur et qui ne sont pas assurés par la SADC), qui surviennent après la date des états financiers audités jusqu’à la délivrance et à l’entrée en vigueur d’un certificat de prorogation en tant que société aux termes de la loi de prorogation,

    2. s’il existe des dépôts visés en 9a) ci-dessus, une confirmation selon laquelle le demandeur s’en est acquitté, accompagnée d’une description de la façon dont il l’a fait;

  10. quand les états financiers audités font état d’obligations, sous forme de notes afférentes aux états financiers ou autrement : 

    1. une description de la nature et du montant de chaque obligation (si cette description ne figure pas dans les états financiers audités),

    2. une confirmation que les actifs du demandeur seront suffisants pour qu’il puisse s’acquitter de ces obligations après la délivrance et l’entrée en vigueur du certificat de prorogation en tant que société aux termes de la loi de prorogation.

Directives administratives

  1. Les présentes instructions relatives aux opérations se rapportent uniquement au fondement législatif et ne traitent pas des exigences provinciales ou territoriales (ni de celles d’Assuris, de la SIMA ou de la SADC, le cas échéant) pouvant s’appliquer à la prorogation du demandeur sous le régime d’une loi de prorogation. Par conséquent, le BSIF recommande de passer en revue a) les lois provinciales et territoriales applicables et de consulter les organismes qui les administrent à l’égard de la prorogation proposée et b) les exigences pertinentes d’Assuris, de la SIMA ou de la SADC au sujet de la cessation d’adhésion et de consulter les responsables de ces organismes.

  2. le demandeur doit continuer de se conformer aux exigences de la loi qui le régit (p. ex., tenue de documents, établissement de rapports, restrictions relatives aux activités commerciales et exigences de capital) jusqu’à la délivrance et à l’entrée en vigueur d’un certificat de prorogation en tant que société aux termes de la loi de prorogation.

  3. De façon générale, le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’avis énonce notamment ce qui suit :

    1. le nom du demandeur;

    2. la date à laquelle ou après laquelle le demandeur a l’intention de solliciter l’agrément du ministre pour demander un certificat de prorogation en tant que société aux termes de la loi de prorogation;

    3. le nom proposé (en anglais et en français, s’il y a lieu) du demandeur une fois un certificat de prorogation en tant que société délivré aux termes de la loi de prorogation et en vigueur;

    4. la loi et la disposition pertinente en vertu desquelles l’avis est donné.

  4. Le demandeur est invité à fournir au BSIF une version provisoire de l’avis afin de recueillir les commentaires du BSIF à propos de ce document.

  5. En vertu de la LSA, un demandeur doit avoir acquitté les engagements qu’il a pris aux termes de ses polices ou avoir constitué une provision suffisante à cette fin.Note de bas de page 5

    De façon générale, le BSIF estime qu’un demandeur régi par la LSA s’est acquitté de ses engagements liés aux polices lorsque, à la fois:

    1. les états financiers vérifiés ne font état d’aucun engagement lié aux polices;

    2. si le demandeur a émis des polices qui procurent une couverture en fonction du moment de survenance de l’événement et qui permettent de présenter des demandes d’indemnité pendant une période de durée considérable, il a convaincu le surintendant qu’il est raisonnable de croire qu’aucune demande d’indemnité ne sera présentée au titre de ces polices, compte tenu, notamment, des types de risques garantis et de l’historique des demandes d’indemnité présentées au titre de ces polices.

    De façon générale, le BSIF estime qu’un demandeur régi par la LSA a constitué une provision suffisante pour acquitter les engagements liés aux polices lorsqu’il se réassure, aux fins de prise en charge, contre les risques qu’il accepte aux termes des polices en question.

  6. Les documents présentés initialement à l’appui d’une demande d’approbation dont il est question dans le présent document devraient être envoyés à l’adresse courriel suivante: approvalsandprecedents@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Après réception des documents, un chargé de dossier sera nommé, après quoi les documents et la correspondance portant sur la demande devraient lui être adressés.

  7. Cette demande d’autorisation n’est assujettie à aucun droit d’utilisateur.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives sont conçues en fonction des demandes types. Elles découlent de l’expérience du BSIF dans l’étude de telles demandes. Les demandes qui réunissent tous les renseignements et toutes les pièces nécessaires pourraient être traitées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Se reporter aux alinéas 39.1(2)b) de la LB, 39(3)d) de la LSA, 38(2)e) de la LSFP et 32(2)b) de la LACC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

L’avis est décrit aux alinéas 39.1(2)a) de la LB, 39(3)a) de la LSA, 38(2)a) de la LSFP et 32(2)a) de la LACC. Se reporter aussi aux points 3 et 4 des Directives administratives ci-dessous pour plus de renseignements.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Se reporter à l’article 47 de la LSA pour des précisions concernant les restrictions relatives à l’utilisation d’une dénomination sociale.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Se reporter à l’article 47 de la LSFP pour des précisions concernant les restrictions relatives à l’utilisation d’une dénomination sociale.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Se reporter à l’alinéa 39(3)b) de la LSA.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5