EXTENSION OF DIVESTITURE PERIOD FOR CONTROL OR HOLDING A SUBSTANTIAL INVESTMENT BY A FOREIGN BANK OR ENTITY ASSOCIATED WITH A FOREIGN BANK OBTAINED AS A RESULT OF REALIZATION OF A SECURITY INTEREST OR A LOAN DEFAULT

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: April 2009
  • Index A No: 15
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

  • subsections 522.15(2) and 522.15(3) of the Bank Act

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. where the request for the proposed extension is for a specified period:

    1. business rationale for requesting the extension and the plan for divestiture,

    2. details relating to the acquisition of control of, or the holding of a substantial investment in, the entity, including the date of the acquisition, a list of the entity’s majority shareholders, a description of the debt restructuring, if applicable, and

    3. a description of the current and proposed business activities, and the most recent financial statements of the entity;

  2. where the application is for a further extension period, the reasons the plan for divestiture did not occur and a revised plan for divestiture; and

  3. where the proposed extension is for an indeterminate period, refer to the information requirements set out in the documents A No. 7.0 to 7.3 and 7.5, which can be found in this series of Instruction Guides.

Administrative Guidance

This guidance note is applicable to a foreign bank or entity associated with a foreign bank to which Part XII of the Bank Act applies, pursuant to section 508, and that has a financial establishment in Canada.

An extension may be subject to terms and conditions that the Minister considers necessary.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

PROLONGATION DE LA PÉRIODE D’ALIÉNATION

Propriétés du document

  • Objet : PROLONGATION DE LA PÉRIODE D’ALIÉNATION RELATIVE AU CONTRÔLE OU À LA DÉTENTION D’UN INTÉRÊT DE GROUPE FINANCIER PAR UNE BANQUE ÉTRANGÈRE OU UNE ENTITÉ QUI LUI EST ASSOCIÉE, ET QUI A ÉTÉ OBTENU À LA SUITE DE LA RÉALISATION D’UNE SÛRETÉ OU D’UN PRÊT EN SOUFFRANCE
  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : avril 2009
  • Index No : 15
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le requérant doit fournir :

  1. si la demande pour la prolongation proposée est pour une période déterminée :

    1. la justification commerciale de la prolongation et le plan d’aliénation,

    2. les détails relatifs à l’acquisition du contrôle ou d’un intérêt de groupe financier dans l’entité, y compris la date de l’acquisition, la liste des actionnaires majoritaires de l’entité, une description du programme de rééchelonnement de la dette, le cas échéant, et

    3. une description des activités commerciales actuelles et proposées, et les plus récents états financiers de l’entité;

  2. si la demande porte sur une nouvelle prolongation, le motif pour lequel le plan d’aliénation n’a pas été appliqué et un plan d’aliénation révisé;

  3. si la période de prolongation est pour une période indéterminée, référer aux exigences en matière d’information énoncées dans les documents A n°7.0 à 7.3 et 7.5, qui se trouvent dans la présente série de guides d’instructions.

Directives administratives

La présente note s’applique à une banque étrangère ou une entité qui lui est associée à laquelle la Partie XII de la Loi sur les banques s’applique, en vertu de l’article 508, et qui a un établissement financier au Canada.

Une prolongation peut être assujettie aux modalités que le Ministre juge nécessaires.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l’évaluation des demandes. Les demandeurs qui auront fourni toute l'information et tous les documents nécessaires pourront s'attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.