EXTENSION OF HOLDING PERIOD OF TEMPORARY INVESTMENTS - MINISTER’S APPROVAL

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: April 2009
  • Index A No: 18
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Information Requirements

  1. where the request for the proposed extension is for a specified period, the applicant is generally expected to provide:

    1. details of the temporary investment, including date of, and business rationale for, the acquisition, list of majority shareholders, nature of current and proposed business activities of the entity, and most recent financial statements of the entity; and

    2. the business rationale for requesting the extension and the plan for divestiture.

  2. where the request for the proposed extension is for an indeterminate period, refer to the information requirements set out in the document, Substantial Investment Requiring Minister’s Approval, A No. 8, which can be found in this series of Transaction Instructions.

Administrative Guidance

An application under any of the legislative authorities may be subject to such terms and conditions as the Minister considers necessary.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

PROLONGATION DE LA PÉRIODE DE DÉTENTION D’UN PLACEMENT PROVISOIRE – AGRÉMENT DU MINISTRE

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : avril 2009
  • Index No : 18
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

  1. si la demande de prolongation proposée est pour une période déterminée, de façon générale, le requérant doit fournir :

    1. des détails relatifs au placement provisoire, y compris la date et la justification commerciale de l’acquisition, la liste des actionnaires majoritaires, la nature des activités commerciales actuelles et proposées de l’entité, et les plus récents états financiers de l’entité;

    2. une justification commerciale de la demande de prolongation, et le plan d’aliénation.

  2. si la demande de prolongation proposée est pour une période indéterminée, se référer aux exigences en matière d’information énoncées dans le document intitulé Intérêt de groupe financier assujetti à l’agrément du Ministre, Annexe A, n°8, qui se trouve dans la présente série de guides d’instructions.

Directives administratives

Une demande produite en vertu de l’un des fondements législatifs précités peut être assujettie aux modalités que le Ministre juge nécessaires.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l’évaluation des demandes. Les demandeurs qui auront fourni toute l'information et tous les documents nécessaires pourront s'attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.