EXTENSION OF THE HOLDING PERIOD OF A TEMPORARY INVESTMENT OF A FOREIGN BANK OR AN ENTITY ASSOCIATED WITH A FOREIGN BANK

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: April 2009
  • Index A No: 19
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

  • subsections 522.14(2) and 522.14(3) and paragraph 522.14(4)(a) of the Bank Act

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. where the request for the proposed extension is for a specified period:

    1. details of the temporary investment, including date of, and business rationale for, the acquisition, list of majority shareholders, description of current and proposed business activities of the entity, and most recent financial statements of the entity, and

    2. business rationale for requesting the extension and the plan for divestiture;

  2. where the application is for a further extension period, the reasons the plan for divestiture did not occur and a revised plan for divestiture;

  3. where the proposed extension is for an indeterminate period, refer to the information requirements set out in the documents A No. 7.0 to 7.3 and 7.5, which can be found in this series of Instruction Guides.

Administrative Guidance

This guidance note is applicable to a foreign bank or entity associated with a foreign bank to which Part XII of the Bank Act applies, pursuant to section 508, and that has a financial establishment in Canada.

An extension may be subject to terms and conditions that the Minister considers necessary.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

PROLONGATION DE LA PÉRIODE DE DÉTENTION D’UN PLACEMENT PROVISOIRE D’UNE BANQUE ÉTRANGÈRE OU D’UNE ENTITÉ QUI LUI EST ASSOCIÉE

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : avril 2009
  • Index No : 19
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. si la demande de prolongation proposée est pour une période déterminée :

    1. des détails concernant le placement provisoire, y compris la date et la justification commerciale de l’acquisition, la liste des actionnaires majoritaires, une description des activités commerciales actuelles et proposées, et les plus récents états financiers de l’entité, et

    2. la justification commerciale de la demande de prolongation et le plan d’aliénation;

  2. si la demande porte sur une nouvelle période de prolongation, des détails de toutes les mesures prises pour aliéner le placement, les motifs pour lequel le plan d’aliénation n’a pas été appliqué et un plan d’aliénation révisé;

  3. si la période de prolongation est pour une période indéterminée, référer aux exigences en matière d’information énoncées dans les documents A n° 7.0 à 7.3 et 7.5, qui se trouvent dans la présente série de guides d’instructions.

Directives administratives

La présente note s’applique à une banque étrangère ou une entité qui lui est associée à laquelle la Partie XII de la Loi sur les banques s’applique, en vertu de l’article 508, et qui a un établissement financier au Canada.

Une prolongation peut être assujettie aux modalités que le Ministre juge nécessaires.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l’évaluation des demandes. Les demandeurs qui auront fourni toute l'information et tous les documents nécessaires pourront s'attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.