Revised Advisory - Insurance in Canada of Risks

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Posted: May 29, 2009
  • Reference: Foreign Insurance Companies
  • Our File: P2873-6-9
  • To:
    • Foreign life insurance companies (including foreign fraternal benefit societies),
    • Foreign property and casualty companies

In late 2008, OSFI began the process of revising Advisory 2007-01 - Insurance in Canada of Risks (the “Initial Advisory”) largely as a result of requests from stakeholders to make it easier to use and to provide more certainty around OSFI’s interpretation and application of the concept “insuring in Canada a risk”. This process has led to the posting today of Advisory 2007-01-R1 - Insurance in Canada of Risks (the “Revised Advisory”).

The core principles underlying the Initial Advisory remain unchanged. It must be noted, however, that in providing greater certainty about OSFI’s views, the Revised Advisory is also balanced with slightly more cautious positions compared to the Initial Advisory. Attached to this letter is a summary of the key revisions contained in the Revised Advisory.

I also wish to take this opportunity to thank all stakeholders who provided comments and feedback leading to the Revised Advisory. I believe that this document will provide greater clarity and certainty for all stakeholders.

For additional information or if you have any questions related to the contents of this letter, please contact Stéphane Fournier, Manager, Precedents by phone at (613) 991-0813 or by email at stephane.fournier@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

  • Robert Hanna
  • Assistant Superintendent
  • Regulation Sector

Attachment: Summary of Key Revisions Contained in Revised Advisory

Revisions Contained in Revised Advisory Explanations
Introduction

Addition of a paragraph clarifying that the Advisory may also be used to determine whether a foreign insurer is “issuing annuities in Canada” and/or “issuing policies of endowment insurance in Canada”.

Definition of “agent” deleted

The definition of “agent” has been deleted to avoid confusion with an “insurance agent” under provincial laws, as the two may not have the same legal status in regards to a foreign insurer. For certainty, however, the principles of agency remain applicable in determining whether a foreign insurer insures in Canada a risk (see Preamble to Paragraph 2 below).

Definition of “policy” deleted

The definition of “policy” has been deleted to alleviate the text. The term “insurance coverage” is used mostly instead.

Paragraph 1

Revised to emphasize the ties of “insuring in Canada a risk” to the concept of “carrying on business in Canada” and to emphasize the importance of the location of the foreign insurer’s operations in determining whether it is “insuring in Canada a risk”.

Paragraph 2 Generally

In response to requests for more clarity and certainty around OSFI’s interpretation and applications of the concept “insuring in Canada a risk”, the indicia to determine whether a risk has been insured in Canada have been revised to focus on the location of the foreign insurer’s operations. Also, all the indicia are now contained in one paragraph, rather than four subparagraphs as was the case in the Initial Advisory.

Preamble in Paragraph 2

Revised to recognize the fact that a foreign insurer only acts through persons, including agents. The footnote to the text notes that to determine whether someone acts as agent for purposes of “insuring in Canada a risk”, reference should be made to the Canadian common law principles of agency, and where applicable, the Civil Code of Québec.

Subparagraph 2(a) (promotes in Canada)

Activity referred to in subparagraph 2(d) of the Initial Advisory.

Subparagraph 2(b) (solicits in Canada)

Activity referred to in clause 2(a)(i) of the Initial Advisory.

Subparagraph 2(c) (receives in Canada requests)

Activity referred to in clause 2(a)(ii) of the Initial Advisory. Revised to make the indicia more clearly applicable in the reinsurance context.

Subparagraph 2(d) (negotiates in Canada)

Activity referred to in clause 2(a)(iii) of the Initial Advisory.

Subparagraph 2(e) (decides in Canada to bind)

Activity referred to in clause 2(c)(iii) of the Initial Advisory. This activity is a key indicia of where operations are carried on, but the rest of subparagraph 2(c) of the Initial Advisory, which focused on the jurisdiction with which a policy is most closely connected (i.e., indicia to determine the law applicable to the policy in the absence of a governing law provision), has been deleted since it has little or no correlation with the location of a foreign insurer’s operations.

Subparagraph 2(f) (communicates from Canada an offer or acceptance)

Activity referred to in clause 2(a)(iv) of the Initial Advisory.

Subparagraph 2(g) (receives in Canada an acceptance)

Activity referred to in clause 2(a)(v) of the Initial Advisory.

Subparagraph 2(h) (receives in Canada premiums)

One of the activities referred to in clause 2(b)(i) of the Initial Advisory. Since the reception of premiums (including the related maintenance of a bank account) is a key operational activity, and in some cases, may be necessary for the coverage to take effect and/or to remain in effect, this indicia has been given more weight than in the Initial Advisory.

The representations regarding where a foreign insurer will receive the premiums contained in the Initial Advisory have been deleted. As an indication of the location where operational activities are carried on, the focus has instead been shifted to the location where premiums are received.

Subparagraph 2(i) (services in Canada the policy)

Remainder of the activities referred to in clause 2(b)(i) of the Initial Advisory. Since it references activities occurring always after a risk has been insured, has less weight than the reception in Canada of premiums.

Location where policy is received is deleted

Clause 2(a)(vi) of the Initial Advisory has been deleted since it has little or no correlation with the location of a foreign insurer’s operations.

Paragraph 3

Revised to make the paragraph more concise. Subparagraph 3(a) continues to remind that since the concept “insuring in Canada a risk” is a question of fact and law, indicia other than those listed in paragraph 2 may be relevant to the analysis. Subparagraph 3(d) of the Initial Advisory is now Scenario 3 in paragraph 4 of the Revised Advisory.

Paragraphs 4 & 5

Revised to provide firm (rather than general) views in regards to the application of the indicia to factual situations. It is likely that these scenarios address the vast majority of possible factual situations.

Other Guidance

Revised to provide greater transparency in regards to the clarified scope of Part XIII of the Insurance Companies Act, and to provide additional guidance relating to federal, provincial and territorial insurance legislation.

Préavis révisé – Garantie au Canada de risques

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Affichée : le 29 mai 2009
  • Référence : Sociétés d'assurances étrangères
  • Notre référence : P2873-6-9
  • Destinataires :
    • Sociétés d’assurance-vie étrangères (y compris les sociétés de secours étrangères),
    • Sociétés d'assurances multirisques étrangères

À la fin de 2008, le BSIF a amorcé le processus de révision du Préavis 2007-01 – Garantie au Canada de risques (le « préavis initial »), en grande partie pour satisfaire aux demandes d’intervenants qui souhaitaient qu’il soit plus simple d’utilisation et qu’il explique plus clairement l’interprétation et l’application par le BSIF du concept de « garantir au Canada des risques ». Ce processus se traduit par la publication du Préavis 2007-01-R1 – Garantie au Canada de risques (le « préavis révisé ») aujourd’hui.

Les principes de base qui sous-tendaient le préavis initial demeurent inchangés. Il convient toutefois de noter que tout en clarifiant le point de vue du BSIF, les positions énoncées dans le préavis révisé sont légèrement plus prudentes que dans le préavis initial. Nous joignons à la présente un résumé des principales révisions contenues dans le préavis révisé.

Je profite également de cet envoi pour remercier tous les intervenants qui nous ont fait part des commentaires qui ont mené au préavis révisé. Je crois que ce nouveau document sera encore plus clair et simple d’utilisation que le préavis initial.

Pour de plus amples informations ou pour toute question concernant le contenu de la présente, communiquez avec Stéphane Fournier, Gestionnaire, Précédents par téléphone au 613-991-0813 ou par courriel (stephane.fournier@osfi-bsif.gc.ca).

  • Le surintendant auxiliaire,
  • Secteur de la réglementation
  • Robert Hanna

Résumé des principales révisions contenues dans le préavis révisé

Révisions contenues dans le préavis révisé Explications
Introduction

Ajout d’un paragraphe pour clarifier le fait que le préavis peut également être utilisé pour déterminer si un assureur étranger « conclut au Canada des contrats de rentes» et/ou « conclut au Canada des contrats d’assurance mixte ».

Suppression de la définition de «mandataire »

La définition de « mandataire » a été supprimée pour éviter la confusion, en langue anglaise, entre les termes « agent » et « insurance agent », les deux pouvant ne pas avoir le même statut juridique à l’égard d’un assureur étranger. Pour plus de certitude, toutefois, les principes en matière de mandat continuent de servir à déterminer si un assureur étranger garantit au Canada des risques (voir Préambule au paragraphe 2 ci-dessous).

Suppression de la définition de « police »

La définition de « police » a été supprimée pour alléger le texte. Dans la plupart des cas, ce terme a été remplacé par le terme « assurance ».

Paragraphe 1

Le paragraphe a été révisé pour souligner les liens entre la « garantie au Canada de risques » et le concept d’« exercer des opérations au Canada » et pour souligner l’importance du lieu des opérations de l’assureur étranger pour déterminer s’il « garantit au Canada des risques ».

Paragraphe 2, dans l’ensemble

En réponse aux demandes que le document explique plus clairement l’interprétation et l’application par le BSIF du concept de « garantir au Canada des risques », les éléments à prendre en compte pour déterminer si un risque a été garantit au Canada ont été révisés pour mettre l’accent sur le lieu des opérations de l’assureur étranger. En outre, tous les éléments énoncés ont été regroupés dans un seul paragraphe, plutôt que quatre alinéas comme dans le préavis initial.

Préambule au paragraphe 2

Le préambule a été révisé pour tenir compte du fait que l’assureur étranger exerce ses activités par l’entremise de personnes, y compris des mandataires. La note de bas de page renvoie aux principes en matière de mandat de la common law canadienne et, le cas échéant, du Code civil du Québec pour déterminer si une personne agit à titre de mandataire aux fins de la « garantie au Canada de risques ».

Alinéa 2(a) (promotion au Canada)

Activité mentionnée à l’alinéa 2(d) du préavis initial.

Alinéa 2(b) (sollicitation au Canada)

Activité mentionnée au sous-alinéa 2(a)(i) du préavis initial.

Alinéa 2(c) (réception au Canada de demandes)

Activité mentionnée au sous-alinéa 2(a)(ii) du préavis initial. La formulation a été révisée pour faire en sorte que les éléments soient plus clairement applicables au contexte de la réassurance.

Alinéa 2(d) (négociation au Canada)

Activité mentionnée au sous-alinéa 2(a)(iii) du préavis initial.

Alinéa 2(e) (décision au Canada de lier)

Activité mentionnée au sous-alinéa 2(c)(iii) du préavis initial. Celle-ci constitue une activité opérationnelle clé, mais le reste de l’alinéa 2(c) du préavis initial, qui portait sur la juridiction avec laquelle la police a le lien le plus étroit et le plus réel (c.-à-d., les éléments permettant de déterminer la loi qui régit la police en l’absence d’une disposition d’une loi applicable), a été supprimé en raison du manque de lien avec le lieu des opérations d’un assureur étranger.

Alinéa 2(f) (communication à partir du Canada d’une offre ou d’une acceptation)

Activité mentionnée au sous-alinéa 2(a)(iv) du préavis initial.

Alinéa 2(g) (réception au Canada d’une acceptation)

Activité mentionnée au sous-alinéa 2(a)(v) du préavis initial.

Alinéa 2(h) (réception au Canada de paiements de primes)

L’une des activités mentionnées au sous-alinéa 2(b)(i) du préavis initial. Comme la réception des primes (ainsi que la gestion d’un compte bancaire qui en découle) constitue une activité opérationnelle clé et, dans certains cas, pouvant être nécessaire pour que l’assurance entre ou demeure en vigueur, cet élément est accordé plus de poids par rapport au préavis initial.

Les déclarations relatives au lieu où l’assureur étranger reçoit les primes énoncées dans le préavis initial ont été supprimées. Pour indiquer le lieu où les activités opérationnelles sont exécutées, le préavis révisé mentionne le lieu où les paiements de primes sont reçus.

Alinéa 2(i) (prestations au Canada de services relatifs à l’assurance)

Autres activités mentionnées au sous-alinéa 2(b)(i) du préavis initial. Comme ces activités sont exécutées, dans tous les cas, seulement après qu’un risque a été garanti, elles sont accordées moins de poids que la réception au Canada de paiements de primes dans le préavis révisé.

Suppression du lieu où la police est reçue

Le sous-alinéa 2(a)(vi) du préavis initial a été supprimé en raison du manque de lien avec le lieu des opérations d’un assureur étranger.

Paragraphe 3

Le paragraphe a été révisé pour plus de concision. Comme le concept de « garantir au Canada un risque » se fonde sur le droit et les faits, l’alinéa 3(a) rappel que des éléments autres que ceux énoncés au paragraphe 2 peuvent s’avérer pertinents à l’analyse. L’alinéa 3(d) du préavis initial correspond désormais au scénario 3 du paragraphe 4 du préavis révisé.

Paragraphes 4 et 5

Le paragraphe a été révisé pour fournir des renseignements précis (plutôt que des généralités) sur l’application des éléments aux situations factuelles. Il est probable que ces scénarios couvrent la grande majorité des situations de fait possibles.

Autres consignes

Les autres consignes ont été révisées pour assurer une plus grande transparence à l’égard de la portée clarifiée de la partie XIII de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances et pour donner des directives additionnelles au sujet des lois fédérales, provinciales et territoriales en matière d'assurance.