Business and Powers – Ownership Interests in Commodities

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Advisory
  • Category: Regulatory & LegislativeFootnote 1
  • Issued: January 2013
  • No: 2013 – 01

Introduction

Federally regulated financial institutions (FRFI) statutes provide that FRFIsFootnote 2 shall not deal in goods, wares or merchandise or engage in any trade or other business, except as authorized under the statutes. FRFIs are authorized to engage in the business of providing financial servicesFootnote 3 and such business generally as appertains thereto, as well as other specified business activities.

In Ruling 2004-05 – Physically Settled Commodity Trading (Ruling 2004-05), OSFI concluded that when a FRFI engages in the particular form of transaction described therein that involves the FRFI taking an ownership interest in commodities, the FRFI is providing a financial service.

OSFI identified a need for further guidance on the circumstances in which taking an ownership interest in commodities may generally appertain to the business of providing financial services, mainly due to the following:

  1. Some FRFIs have engaged in transactions that involve taking an ownership interest in commodities that differ from the types of transactions that were contemplated in Ruling 2004-05.

  2. Some foreign financial institutions have substantially increased their activities in the international commodity trading market. In this regard, it should be noted that these financial institutions are generally not subject to the same restrictions on business and powers in other jurisdictions as those that apply to FRFIs pursuant to the FRFI statutes. Despite these differences in regulatory regimes, there remains a concern that FRFIs may seek to expand their activities to a similar extent.

  3. Taking an ownership interest in commodities can expose FRFIs to risks that are different in nature (e.g., property, environmental and resulting reputational risks) from those that arise from traditional financial activities.

The purposes of this Advisory are to provide OSFI’s views on: (i) the circumstances in which taking an ownership interest in commodities generally appertains to the business of providing financial services; and (ii) the minimum prudential standards that FRFIs that engage in activities of that nature are expected to adhere to.

Where a particular activity is specifically authorized by the FRFI statutes - other than an activity that falls within the business of providing financial services or such business generally as appertains thereto - that activity is outside the scope of this Advisory.

Legislative References:

Sections 409 and 410 of the Bank Act, sections 440 and 441 of the Insurance Companies Act, sections 409 and 410 of the Trust and Loan Companies Act and sections 375 and 376 of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act.

Background:

  1. Since the publication of Ruling 2004-05, OSFI has received further inquiries as to whether other types of transactions that involve FRFIs taking ownership interests in commodities satisfy the considerations set out in the Ruling. Some of the inquiries related to transactions under which the FRFI takes an ownership interest in the commodity for periods that can extend to several months. Some of these transactions are used as an alternative to an inventory financing arrangement and not to provide credit enhancement, as was the case in the Ruling. Footnote 4

Interpretation:

  1. FRFI statutes include a general prohibition on dealing in goods, wares or merchandise or engaging in any trade or other business, except as authorized under the statutes. Based on this prohibition, FRFIs may not buy and sell goods for commercial purposes. Buying and selling goods entails taking an ownership interest in the goods for a period of time and subsequently transferring this ownership interest to a third party. A FRFI is not “dealing in goods” where it takes an ownership interest in goods in the ordinary course of its business and subsequently disposes of these goods when they are no longer needed (i.e., where it buys and sells equipment necessary to carry on its business as opposed to being in the business of buying and selling such goods). The disposition in such a situation would not be for a commercial purpose.

  2. This general prohibition does not apply in respect of activities that are authorized under the FRFI statutes. As a result, FRFIs are authorized to take ownership interests in goods (including commodities), if they do so in the context of an activity that generally appertains to the business of providing financial services. For example, when a FRFI engages in financial leasing of personal property or realizes on a security interest, taking an ownership interest in the property that is the subject of the transaction is necessarily incidental to the provision of the financial service. In contrast, taking an ownership interest in goods in the context of a transaction that does not serve a financial purpose (e.g., accumulating an inventory of commodities – either directly or through an affiliate – for the purpose of making a profit from an increase in the price of that commodity or its by-product, owning storage or processing facilities or other similar operations, or engaging in the business of extracting, processing, refining or distributing commodities or other similar operations) would clearly not appertain to the business of providing financial services.

  3. Where a FRFI acquires an ownership interest in goods in the context of an activity that generally appertains to the business of providing financial services, the FRFI can also subsequently dispose of that interest, notwithstanding the prohibition on dealing in goods, wares and merchandise.

  4. OSFI acknowledges that taking ownership interests in precious metals (i.e., gold, silver, platinum and palladium) should generally be considered in a different light from transactions involving other types of commodities, given the historical “special status” afforded to precious metals.Footnote 5

  5. OSFI recognizes that the distinction between taking an ownership interest in commodities in the context of a transaction that is financial in nature versus taking an ownership interest in commodities in the context of a transaction that is commercial in nature is not always evident. This distinction is particularly challenging for transactions under which the ownership interest in the commodity is maintained for longer periods. In determining whether a transaction that involves a FRFI taking an ownership interest in commodities generally appertains to the business of providing financial services or whether such transaction is of a commercial nature, consideration must be given to the true nature and substance of the transaction.

  6. Having regard to the above, OSFI generally considers the principles outlined below to be relevant to determining whether a transaction that involves a FRFI taking an ownership interest in commodities generally appertains to the business of providing financial services. These principles do not apply in respect of transactions referred to in paragraph 5 and to ownership interests that arise from the realization of a security interest.

    1. Purpose of transaction: The ownership interest in commodities should arise from a transaction that the FRFI has entered into as an alternative to providing a traditional financial service to the customer (e.g., inventory financing, guarantee, letter of credit or risk management service).

    2. Duration of ownership: The FRFI should only retain ownership interests in commodities for a commercially reasonable period of time, having regard to the nature of the financial service that the transaction is intended to provide. For example, in the context of a transaction that provides an alternative to a guarantee or letter of credit, the FRFI would generally own the commodity only for the period of time that actual title passes to it from the seller and then passes from it to the purchaser. In the context of a transaction that is used as an alternative to an inventory financing arrangement, the period during which the FRFI takes an ownership interest in the commodity should generally be consistent with the term of traditional inventory financing arrangements in respect of the commodityFootnote 6.

    3. Exposure: The FRFI should not, in the normal course of its business, be exposed to fluctuations in the price of the commodity as a result of the transaction. The FRFI’s exposure in this regard should not be fundamentally different in nature and degree from such exposures that arise from the provision of comparable traditional forms of financial services. On this basis, OSFI expects FRFIs to enter into an agreement to dispose of their ownership interest in commodities promptly after agreeing to acquire that ownership interest. This aligns with the provision of traditional financial services since the FRFI’s exposure to commodity price becomes indirect, through the risk that the counterparty will default.

    4. Return: The return that is generated by a transaction that is an alternative to a traditional financial service and that involves a FRFI taking an ownership interest in commodities should not be based on fluctuations in the price of commodities but should rather have a close correlation to the return that would normally be generated by the comparable traditional financial service. For example, the fee charged by the FRFI for its participation in a transaction that is an alternative to an inventory financing arrangement should be substantially similar to the amount of interest that the FRFI would have earned had it provided a secured loan.

Minimum Prudential Standards:

  1. Consistent with OSFI’s expectations regarding all trading businesses, and given the risks associated with highly complex and volatile instruments, FRFIs that engage in activities that involve taking an ownership interest in commodities in the circumstances described in paragraph 7 are expected to, at a minimumFootnote 7:

    1. Have the appropriate expertise to engage in such activities and appropriate policies and procedures to identify, assess and manage all risks that arise from such activities (e.g., counterparty credit risk, market risk, basis risk, property risk and environmental risk). These policies and procedures should generally include:

      1. adequate strategies to off-set any market risk exposures associated with such transactions;

      2. internal limits on trading in, and ownership of, the commodity as well as programs to monitor compliance with those limits;

      3. reasonable measures to limit or reduce any property and environmental risks that could arise from the activity (e.g., obtaining adequate insurance coverage and including indemnity clauses in agreements as appropriate); and

      4. a requirement that: (i) any transaction that involves the FRFI taking an ownership interest in commodities be promptly reported to the appropriate functional area within the FRFI; and (ii) reports provided to senior management related to commodity activities distinguish between transactions that involve the FRFI taking ownership interests in commodities from other transactions that involve commodities (e.g., cash settled commodity derivatives).

    2. Conduct a level of due diligence in respect of all counterparties to such transactions and any intermediary that participates in the transaction that is at least commensurate with that conducted in connection with the offering of the corresponding traditional financial products.

  2. Activities that involve taking an ownership interest in certain types of commodities (e.g., oil) can give rise to increased prudential concerns due to the environmental and resulting reputational risks associated with such commodities. As a result, before engaging in any new activity that involves these types of commodities, FRFIs should provide their Relationship Manager with their assessment of the risks associated with the activity as well as their risk mitigation strategy.

  3. Similarly, a FRFI should consult with OSFI before engaging in an activity that would involve the FRFI becoming a participant in a market in which FRFIs have not previously participated, so that any prudential or policy issues that may arise from the FRFI’s participation in this market (for example, due to the nature of the product or customer characteristics) can be addressed.

  4. In addition, given the considerations outlined in this Advisory, where there may be uncertainty as to whether a particular transaction that involves the FRFI taking an ownership interest in commodities generally appertains to the business of providing financial services, FRFIs are encouraged to consult with OSFI before engaging in the activity.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Advisories describe how OSFI administers and interprets provisions of existing legislation, regulations or guidelines, or provide OSFI’s position regarding certain policy issues. Advisories are not law; readers should refer to the relevant provisions of the legislation, regulation or guideline, including any amendments that came into effect subsequent to the Advisory’s publication, when considering the relevancy of the Advisory.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

For the purposes of this Advisory, FRFI refers collectively to banks, authorized foreign banks, associations incorporated or formed under the Cooperative Credit Associations Act and companies incorporated or formed under the Insurance Companies Act or the Trust and Loan Companies Act.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The business and powers of banks are mostly confined to the business of banking and such business generally as appertains to the business of banking. The business of banking includes the provision of any financial service.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

By way of example, in a “park and loan transaction”, rather than making a secured loan to a natural gas storage facility operator, a FRFI purchases a specific amount of natural gas (as agreed to with the storage facility operator) from third parties and arranges to have the gas injected into the storage facility on a given date (e.g., April 15). Shortly after entering into the purchase agreement, but prior to the date on which the gas is to be injected in the storage facility, the FRFI sells the gas to third parties for forward delivery at a specified date (e.g., October 15). During the storage period (e.g., April 15 – October 15), the FRFI has an ownership interest in the “co-mingled” gas contained in the storage facility. The FRFI does not withdraw the gas, or otherwise deal with it (e.g., by selling it to another party and subsequently replenishing it), until the specified delivery date. The storage facility operator, however, is not precluded from selling the natural gas to a third party during the storage period, but would have to replace it with an equivalent amount of gas by the date of the forward sale.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Historically, the Bank Act (“Act”) provided an explicit authority for banks to deal in gold and silver coin and bullion. The reference to this and other core business powers (such as lending and accepting deposits) have since been removed from the Act because such activities are included in the concept of “business of banking”.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

We understand that an inventory financing arrangement in respect of a commodity for which there is a seasonal cycle (e.g., natural gas) typically has a term ranging between six months to one year.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

FRFIs should be mindful that other statutes, regulations and regulatory guidance may also be applicable, depending on the specific type of activities.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Activité et pouvoirs – Titres de participation dans des marchandises

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : PréavisNote de bas de page 1
  • Catégorie: Réglementaire et législatif
  • Date de publication : Janvier 2013
  • No : 2013 - 01

Introduction :

Les lois régissant les institutions financières fédérales (IFF)Note de bas de page 2 leur interdisent de se livrer à quelque activité commerciale, notamment de faire le commerce d’articles ou de marchandises, sauf indications contraires prévues sous le régime de ces lois. Cependant, elles sont autorisées à fournir des services financiersNote de bas de page 3, à se livrer à des activités qui s’y rattachent et à mener d’autres activités précisées.

Dans la décision ayant valeur de précédent 2004-05, Opérations réglées par la livraison de marchandises, le BSIF a conclu qu’une IFF fournit un service financier si elle exécute une opération qui appartient à la catégorie dont traite la décision et qui a pour effet pour l’IFF d’acquérir des titres de participation dans des marchandises.

Les situations suivantes, notamment, ont incité le BSIF à offrir des consignes supplémentaires sur les circonstances dans lesquelles l’acquisition de titres de participation dans des marchandises se rattache à la prestation de services financiers.

  1. Des IFF ont conclu des opérations qui les ont amenées à acquérir des titres de participation dans des marchandises, mais les opérations en question différaient de celles que vise la décision ayant valeur de précédent 2004-05.

  2. Des institutions financières étrangères ont augmenté considérablement leur activité sur le marché international des marchandises. Fait à noter, les restrictions auxquelles sont assujettis l’activité et les pouvoirs de ces institutions financières dans d’autres pays diffèrent généralement de celles que prévoient les lois régissant les IFF. Malgré les différences entre le régime de réglementation de ces institutions financières et celui des IFF, celles-ci pourraient chercher à étendre leur activité dans une mesure comparable.

  3. L’acquisition de titres de participation dans des marchandises est susceptible d’exposer une IFF à des risques (risque de propriété, risque environnemental, risque d’atteinte à la réputation consécutif à ce dernier) différents de ceux que présentent les activités financières traditionnelles.

Le présent préavis expose le point de vue du BSIF sur (i) les circonstances dans lesquelles l’acquisition de titres de participation dans des marchandises se rattache à la prestation de services financiers; (ii) les normes prudentielles minimales que doivent respecter les IFF qui acquièrent de tels titres.

Le présent préavis ne s’applique pas à l’égard d’une activité quelconque qui est expressément autorisée par la législation régissant les IFF, sauf si cette activité s’inscrit dans le cadre de la prestation de services financiers et d’activités qui s’y rattachent.

Fondement législatif :

Articles 409 et 410 de la Loi sur les banques; articles 440 et 441 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances; articles 409 et 410 de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt; articles 375 et 376 de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit.

Contexte :

  1. Depuis la publication de la décision ayant valeur de précédent 2004-05, le BSIF a été invité à trancher la question de savoir si d’autres types d’opérations qui amènent des IFF à acquérir des titres de participation dans des marchandises répondent aux critères qu’établit cette décision. Certaines des demandes de renseignements reçues portent sur des opérations aux termes desquelles une IFF détient des titres de participation durant plusieurs mois. Des opérations de cette nature remplacent parfois une opération de financement sur stocks et ne visent pas à rehausser la solvabilité d’une partie comme le faisaient les opérations sur lesquelles porte la décision. Note de bas de page 4

Interprétation :

  1. Les lois les régissant interdisent généralement aux IFF d’exercer quelque activité commerciale, notamment de faire le commerce d’articles ou de marchandises, sauf indications contraires dans leurs dispositions. Cela signifie qu’il est proscrit aux IFF d’acheter et de vendre des biens à des fins commerciales. L’achat et la vente de biens consistent à acquérir provisoirement des titres de participation dans ces biens puis à les céder à une tierce partie. Par contre, une IFF ne fait pas le « commerce d’articles » si elle acquiert des titres de participation dans des biens dans le cours normal de ses affaires et qu’elle cède ensuite ces biens lorsqu’elle n’en a plus besoin (p. ex., si elle achète et vend du matériel nécessaire à son activité plutôt que de pratiquer une activité qui consiste à acheter et à vendre de tel matériel). En pareil cas, les biens ne seraient pas cédés à des fins commerciales.

  2. Cette interdiction générale ne s’applique pas aux activités autorisées sous le régime des lois. En l’espèce, les IFF sont autorisées à acquérir des titres de participation dans des biens (y compris des marchandises) dans le cadre d’activités qui se rattachent à la prestation de services financiers. À titre d’exemple, lorsqu’une IFF exerce l’activité de crédit-bail mobilier ou réalise une sûreté, l’acquisition de titres de participation dans les biens visés est nécessairement accessoire à la prestation d’un service financier. Par contre, acquérir des titres de participation dans des biens dans le contexte d’une opération exécutée à des fins non financières (p. ex., accumuler des stocks de marchandises, directement ou par l’intermédiaire d’une société liée, afin de réaliser des bénéfices grâce à la hausse du prix de la marchandise ou d’un sous-produit, posséder des installations de stockage, de traitement ou autres, exploiter une entreprise d’extraction, de traitement, de raffinage ou de distribution de marchandises, ou mener des activités comparables) ne se rattacherait manifestement pas à la prestation de services financiers.

  3. Lorsqu’une IFF acquiert des titres de participation dans le contexte d’une activité qui se rattache à la prestation de services financiers, elle peut ensuite s’en départir malgré l’interdiction de faire le commerce d’articles ou de marchandises.

  4. Le BSIF reconnaît que l’acquisition de titres de participation dans des métaux précieux (c.-à- d. l’or, l’argent, la platine et le palladium) doit généralement être envisagée sous un jour différent des opérations sur d’autres types de marchandises, eu égard au « statut spécial » historique accordé aux métaux précieuxNote de bas de page 5.

  5. Le BSIF reconnaît que la distinction n’est pas toujours évidente entre l’acquisition de titres de participation dans le contexte d’une opération de nature financière plutôt que commerciale. Elle est particulièrement difficile à faire lorsque la propriété des titres de participation est de longue durée. Pour déterminer si l’acquisition de titres de participation dans des marchandises par une IFF se rattache à la prestation de services financiers ou est de nature commerciale, la nature et la substance réelles de l’opération doivent être considérées.

  6. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le BSIF estime généralement qu’il est utile de se référer aux principes suivants pour déterminer si une opération aux termes de laquelle une IFF acquiert des titres de participation dans des marchandises se rattache à la prestation de services financiers. Ces principes ne s’appliquent pas aux opérations mentionnées au paragraphe 7 ni aux titres de participation engendrés par la réalisation d’une sûreté.

    1. Raison de l’opération : Les titres de participation dans des marchandises doivent procéder d’une opération conclue par l’IFF en remplacement de la prestation d’un service financier traditionnel à un client (p. ex., financement sur stocks, garantie, lettre de crédit, service de gestion du risque).

    2. Durée de la propriété : L’IFF ne doit conserver des titres de participation dans des marchandises que durant une période jugée raisonnable du point de vue commercial, compte tenu de la nature du service financier que l’opération est censée procurer. À titre d’exemple, lorsque la transaction se substitue à une garantie ou à une lettre de crédit, l’IFF ne détient le titre de participation dans les marchandises que pendant l’instant où ce dernier lui est cédé par le vendeur et est cédé par elle à l’acheteur. Là où l’opération remplace une convention de financement sur stocks, l’IFF détiendrait les titres de participation dans les marchandises pour une durée qui correspond généralement à la durée de conventions de financement sur stocks traditionnels visant ces marchandisesNote de bas de page 6.

    3. Exposition : Dans le cours normal des affaires, l’IFF ne devrait pas être exposée à la variation de prix des marchandises en raison de l’opération. La nature et l’ampleur de l’exposition de l’IFF à ce chapitre ne doivent pas différer essentiellement de celles de l’exposition occasionnée par la prestation de services financiers traditionnels comparables. Ainsi, le BSIF s’attend à ce que les IFF concluent une entente en vue de se départir de leur participation dans des marchandises sans délai après avoir consenti à acquérir une telle participation. Cette façon de faire s’inscrit dans l’esprit de la prestation de services financiers traditionnels, car l’exposition de l’IFF au prix des marchandises est indirecte et découle du risque de défaut de la contrepartie.

    4. Rendement : Le rendement d’une opération qui remplace un service financier traditionnel et qui prévoit l’acquisition par une IFF de titres de participation dans des marchandises ne doit pas être calculé en fonction de la variation de prix de ces marchandises, mais il doit plutôt être en corrélation étroite avec le rendement attendu normalement d’un service financier traditionnel comparable. Dans cette optique, les droits perçus par l’IFF en contrepartie de sa participation à une opération qui remplace une convention de financement sur stocks doivent être sensiblement comparables aux intérêts que l’IFF aurait gagnés si elle avait consenti un prêt garanti.

Normes prudentielles minimales :

  1. Conformément aux attentes du BSIF relatives à toutes opérations de négociation, et compte tenu des risques qui accompagnent des instruments extrêmement complexes et volatils, les IFF qui acquièrent des titres de participation dans des marchandises tel qu’il est décrit au paragraphe 9 doivent respecter les normes minimales suivantesNote de bas de page 7 :

    1. Les IFF doivent posséder les compétences nécessaires pour se livrer aux activités décrites plus haut, et elles doivent adopter des politiques et des procédures qui leur permettent d’identifier, d’évaluer et de gérer tous les risques occasionnés par ces activités (p. ex., risque de contrepartie, risque de marché, risque de base, risque de propriété, risque environnemental). Les politiques et les procédures de cette nature comprennent généralement :

      1. des stratégies qui compensent toute exposition au risque de marché occasionnée par les opérations;

      2. des limites internes à la négociation et à la propriété de marchandises particulières, et des programmes de contrôle du respect de ces limites;

      3. des mesures raisonnables visant à limiter ou à réduire tous risques de propriété et risques environnementaux qu’une activité est susceptible d’entraîner (p. ex., la souscription de couvertures d’assurance suffisantes et, au besoin, l’ajout aux conventions de clauses d’indemnisation);

      4. l’obligation (i) de déclarer sans attendre à l’unité fonctionnelle compétente de l’IFF toute opération aux termes de laquelle l’IFF acquiert des titres de participation dans des marchandises; (ii) de faire la distinction, dans les rapports à la haute direction, entre les opérations aux termes desquelles l’IFF acquiert des titres de participation dans des marchandises et les autres opérations sur marchandises (p. ex., contrats dérivés sur marchandises réglés en espèces).

    2. Les IFF doivent faire preuve, à l’égard de toutes contreparties à de telles opérations et de tous intermédiaires, d’une diligence raisonnable au moins égale à celle qui est exercée à l’égard de produits financiers traditionnels correspondants.

  2. L’acquisition de titres de participation dans certaines catégories de marchandises (p. ex., le pétrole) peut susciter des inquiétudes prudentielles accrues à cause du risque environnemental et du risque consécutif d’atteinte à la réputation qui accompagnent ces marchandises. Par conséquent, avant d’entreprendre une activité portant sur des marchandises des catégories précitées, une IFF doit communiquer au gestionnaire des relations qui lui est affecté les résultats de son évaluation des risques que présente cette activité ainsi que la stratégie d’atténuation des risques qu’elle entend adopter.

  3. Dans le même esprit, il est conseillé à une IFF de consulter le BSIF avant de participer à un marché dans lequel les IFF n’ont pas auparavant participé. De cette façon, toute question de nature prudentielle ou de politique publique que cette participation soulève (par exemple en raison de la nature du produit dont il s’agit ou des caractéristiques de la clientèle) pourront être traitées.

  4. De plus, à la lumière de ce qui précède, les IFF qui voudront déterminer si une opération donnée qui consiste à acquérir des titres de participation dans des marchandises se rattache à la prestation de services financiers sont invitées à consulter le BSIF avant de la conclure.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les préavis exposent la façon dont le BSIF administre et interprète les dispositions des lois, des règlements et des lignes directrices en vigueur, ou sa position sur des questions stratégiques précises. Ils ne sont pas juridiquement contraignants. Le lecteur en établira la pertinence à la lumière des dispositions des lois, des règlements et des lignes directrices qui y sont traitées, ainsi que des modifications qui auront pu leur être apportées après la parution du préavis.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Aux fins du présent préavis, une IFF s’entend à la fois d’une banque, d’une banque étrangère autorisée, d’une association constituée ou formée sous la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit et d’une société constituée ou formée sous la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances ou la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

L’activité et les pouvoirs des banques sont en grande partie limités aux activités qui se rattachent aux opérations bancaires, lesquelles englobent la prestation de services financiers.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Citons l’exemple d’une « opération d’entreposage et de prêt ». Dans ce dernier cas, plutôt que d’octroyer un prêt garanti à l’exploitant d’une installation de stockage de gaz naturel, une IFF achète un volume donné de gaz naturel (dont elle a convenu avec l’exploitant) de tiers et fait le nécessaire pour qu’il soit injecté dans les réservoirs de stockage à une date précise (disons le 15 avril). Peu après avoir conclu le contrat d’achat, mais avant la date à laquelle le gaz doit être injecté dans les réservoirs de stockage, l’IFF vend le gaz à des tiers en vue de sa livraison future à une date en particulier (disons le 15 octobre). Au cours de la période de stockage (entre le 15 avril et le 15 octobre), l’IFF détient des titres de participation dans le gaz mélangé contenu dans les réservoirs de stockage. L’IFF ne retire pas le gaz des réservoirs et n’en fait pas le commerce (p. ex., en le vendant à un tiers et en le remplaçant par la suite) avant la date de livraison prévue. L’exploitant de l’installation ne peut toutefois pas être empêché de vendre le gaz à un tiers au cours de la période de stockage, mais, le cas échéant, il sera tenu de le remplacer par un volume équivalent avant la date de la vente à terme.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Historiquement, la Loi sur les banques permettait expressément aux banques de faire le commerce de pièces et de lingots d’or et d’argent. La mention de cette activité ainsi que d’autres activités essentielles (telles les opérations de prêt et l’acceptation de dépôts) a été révoquée puisque la notion d’opérations bancaires englobe ces activités.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

La durée d’une convention de financement sur stocks visant des marchandises (tel le gaz naturel) qui suivent un cycle saisonnier varierait de six mois à un an.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Les IFF se rappelleront que des activités particulières peuvent aussi être assujetties à des lois, à des règlements et à des consignes réglementaires autres que le présent préavis.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7