Insurance Companies

Subscribe to Insurance News

AML/ATF Compliance

Notes: Canadian and Foreign Insurance Companies and Fraternal Benefits Societies

Financial Data for Life Insurance Companies

Financial Data for Fraternal Benefit Societies

OSFI regulates and supervises federally regulated life insurance companies (including branches, foreign subsidiaries, fraternal and mutual companies) and their subsidiaries, and federally regulated property and casualty insurance companies (including branches, foreign subsidiaries, and mutual companies) and their subsidiaries.

The Canadian life insurance industry comprises three large conglomerates, whose international operations are an important component of their business, and a number of smaller life insurers, which tend to be less diversified than the conglomerates. A number of Canadian life insurers are part of the global operations of foreign financial institutions. The Canadian life and health insurance industry provides a wide range of products including individual and group life insurance, individual and group annuities, and supplementary health insurance.

The vast majority of the property and casualty (P&C) industry is federally regulated. Unlike the Canadian banking and life insurance industries, there has historically been a significant degree of foreign ownership in the P&C industry (nearly half of the Canadian industry, by premium volume, is foreign owned). It is also less concentrated than the banking or life insurance industries, with 10 companies controlling roughly 60 percent of the market share. The Canadian P&C insurance industry provides a range of private home, car and business insurance.

Guidance

Sociétés d’assurances

Le BSIF réglemente et surveille les sociétés d’assurance-vie fédérales (y compris leurs succursales, les filiales de sociétés étrangères et les sociétés de secours mutuel et d’assurances mutuelles) et leurs filiales aussi bien que les sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales (y compris leurs succursales, les filiales de sociétés étrangères et les sociétés d’assurances mutuelles) et leurs filiales.

Le secteur canadien de l’assurance-vie est composé de trois grands conglomérats dont l’activité internationale représente une part importante de leurs affaires ainsi que d’un certain nombre de petites sociétés généralement moins diversifiées. Plusieurs assureurs-vie canadiens s’inscrivent dans le portefeuille mondial d’institutions financières étrangères. Le secteur canadien de l’assurance-vie et de l’assurance santé propose un large éventail de produits, dont de l’assurance-vie individuelle et collective, des rentes individuelles et collectives aussi bien que des régimes d’assurance santé complémentaire.

La grande majorité du secteur des assurances multirisques est assujettie à la réglementation fédérale. Contrairement aux secteurs canadiens des banques et de l’assurance-vie, le secteur des assurances multirisques a toujours appartenu dans une large mesure à des propriétaires étrangers (en effet, c’est le cas de près de la moitié du secteur selon le critère du volume des primes). En outre, ce secteur est beaucoup moins concentré que ceux des banques et de l’assurance-vie, comme dix sociétés ont une part de marché de quelque 60 %. Le secteur canadien des assurances multirisques offre un assortiment de produits d’assurance habitation, automobile et commerciale.

Orientation