Revised Life Insurance Capital Framework - Standard Approach

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: January 5, 2015
  • To: Federally Regulated Life Insurance Companies & Fraternal Benefit Societies

The Standard Approach Advisory Group (SAAG), consisting of representatives from the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) and Assuris, was formed to review and provide input on some aspects of a revised Canadian solvency framework for life insurers. In November 2008, the working group published the paper Framework for a New Standard Approach to Setting Capital Requirements, which set the stage for a review of the entire capital and solvency regime for life insurers. OSFI’s paper, Life Insurance Regulatory Framework, published in 2012 and updated in 2013, provides an overview and an update of, among other things, the in-depth review of the standard approach.

As part of the process for developing potential methods for determining requirements for specific risks, a series of Quantitative Impact Studies (QIS) have been issued.

The paper titled Life Insurance Capital Framework – Standard Approach describes the principles and, in summary, the concepts supporting the development of some key components of the potential new life insurance capital framework standard approach. The aim of the paper is to communicate with a broad audience of stakeholders who wish to gain a high level understanding of some of the potential underpinning principles and concepts of the framework.

The paper reflects the current stage of development, up to and including QIS6, and should not be viewed as OSFI final positions.

OSFI remains committed to developing an appropriate risk-based capital framework and we appreciate the collaboration and support of the industry. Should you have any questions on the direction of the capital framework, please contact me at or by telephone at (613) 998-7478.

Yours truly,

Henri Boudreau
Managing Director, Insurance Capital, Capital Division

Révision du Cadre de capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie – Approche standard

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date: 5 janvier 2015
  • Destinataires : Sociétés d’assurance-vie

Le Groupe consultatif sur l’approche standard (GCAS), formé de représentants de l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) et de la société Assuris, a été mis sur pied dans le but d’apporter son expertise sur différents aspects au nouveau cadre canadien de solvabilité des sociétés d’assurance-vie. En novembre 2008, le groupe de travail avait publié le Cadre conceptuel d’une nouvelle approche standard d’établissement des exigences de capital, qui a ouvert la voie à un examen exhaustif du régime d’adéquation du capital et de la solvabilité des sociétés d’assurance-vie. Puis, en 2012, le BSIF a publié le Cadre de réglementation des sociétés d’assurance-vie, qu’il a modifié en 2013 et dans lequel il donnait une vue d’ensemble d’initiatives telles que l’examen approfondi de l’approche standard, et faisait le point sur leur déroulement.

Des études d’impact quantitatives (EIQ) ont été réalisées dans le cadre du processus visant l’élaboration de méthodes qui pourraient être utilisées pour déterminer les exigences liées à des risques spécifiques.

Le Cadre de capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie – Approche standard décrit les principes et résume les concepts ayant mené à l’élaboration de certaines des principales composantes du nouveau cadre visant l’approche standard. Il s’adresse à l’ensemble des intéressés qui souhaitent saisir les grandes lignes de certains des principes et concepts sur lesquels le nouveau cadre pourrait prendre appui.

À noter que le texte reflète l’état du développement au terme de la sixième EIQ; il ne faut pas l’interpréter comme l’approche définitive du BSIF.

Le BSIF maintient son engagement à élaborer un cadre pertinent sur le capital fondé sur le risque, et apprécie grandement la collaboration de tous ses interlocuteurs du secteur, le temps qu’ils lui consacrent et l’appui qu’ils lui témoignent. Si vous avez des questions sur le cadre de capital, je vous invite à m’écrire à henri.boudreau@osfi-bsif.gc.ca, ou à m’appeler, au 613-998-7478.

Veuillez agréer l’expression de nos meilleurs sentiments.

Le directeur général,
Capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie, Division des fonds propres,

Henri Boudreau