Domestic Stability Buffer

The Domestic Stability Buffer contributes to Domestic Systemically Important Banks’ (D-SIBs) resilience to key vulnerabilities and system-wide risks, thereby contributing to financial stability.

OSFI reviews and sets the level of the Domestic Stability Buffer on a semi-annual basis (June and December), based on its ongoing monitoring of federally regulated financial institutions as well as system-wide and sectoral developments.

Decisions on the calibration of the buffer are based on OSFI supervisory judgement, informed by its monitoring and analytical work on a range of vulnerabilities, and are made in consultation with OSFI’s federal financial regulatory partners.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The Domestic Stability Buffer applies only to Domestic Systemically Important Banks (D-SIBs). As of June 2019, the following federally regulated financial institutions are designated as D-SIBs: Bank of Montreal, Bank of Nova Scotia, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, National Bank of Canada, Royal Bank of Canada, and Toronto-Dominion Bank.

Return to footnote 1

Réserve pour stabilité intérieure

Les réserves de fonds propres pour stabilité intérieure réduisent la vulnérabilité des banques d’importance systémique intérieure BISi aux principaux facteurs de risque de même qu’à l’ensemble des risques systémiques, contribuant ainsi à la stabilité du secteur financier.

Le BSIF révise le coefficient de la réserve pour stabilité intérieure deux fois l’an, en juin et en décembre, en fonction des constats découlant du contrôle continu du système financier canadien et du contexte qui prévaut à l’échelle systémique et sectorielle.

La décision de modifier le coefficient de la réserve repose sur le jugement professionnel du BSIF à titre d’organisme de surveillance, lequel s’appuie également sur les résultats de l’analyse de divers facteurs de vulnérabilité et l’avis des autres membres du Comité de surveillance des institutions financières.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

La réserve pour stabilité intérieure ne s’applique qu’aux banques d’importance systémique intérieure (BISi). En date de juin 2019, sont dites d’importance systémique intérieure les institutions financières fédérales que voici : Banque de Montréal, Banque Scotia, Banque canadienne impériale de commerce, Banque nationale du Canada, Banque royale du Canada et Banque Toronto-Dominion.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1