LICAT Public Disclosure Requirements - Draft

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Draft Guideline
  • Category: Accounting & Disclosures
  • Date: July 2017
  • Effective Date: December 31, 2018

Background

The Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test (LICAT) guideline is replacing the Minimum Continuing Capital and Surplus Requirements (MCCSR) Guideline effective January 1, 2018.   The LICAT guideline establishes standards within which OSFI assesses whether a life insurerFootnote 1 maintains adequate capital or an adequate margin to support risks specific to the life insurance business.  The LICAT guideline does not address public solvency risk disclosures by life insurers. 

OSFI’s rationale for recommending relevant public disclosures is consistent with OSFI’s mandate of protecting policyholders.  When disclosure of appropriate information is provided to stakeholders, it gives them an opportunity to assess key risk information.  

OSFI’s desire to improve transparency of Life Insurance Company (Life Insurer) activities was outlined and broadly communicated in OSFI’s Life Insurance Regulatory Framework issued in 2012. To achieve this objective, the Framework stated that OSFI will promote enhancements to the regulatory framework for life insurance companies through information disclosures to support the revised regulatory capital requirement.

The LICAT Public Disclosure Requirements guideline is comprised of the following sections:

  1. Guiding principles
  2. Scope and implementation

The Annexes to this guideline contain minimum quantitative disclosure templates that are intended to supplement qualitative disclosures.

I. Guiding principles

OSFI’s expectations outlined in this guideline are based on the following five guiding principles which aim to provide a foundation for achieving transparent, high-quality disclosures that will enable users to better understand and compare a life insurer’s business and risks. The qualitative and quantitative information will provide stakeholders with a broader picture of the life insurer’s capital and risk position and promote market discipline. Life insurers are expected to produce LICAT public disclosures that reflect the following disclosure principles:

Principle 1 – Disclosures should be clear – Life insurers should communicate in a form that is understandable to key stakeholders and through an accessible medium.

Principle 2 – Disclosures should be meaningful to users – Life insurers should highlight significant current and emerging risks and how they are managed, including information that is likely to be of business value to markets.  Disclosures that do not add value to the users’ understanding or do not communicate useful information should be avoided.

Principle 3 – Disclosures should be consistent over time – Life insurers should provide a consistent level of information over time to enable key stakeholders to identify trends in an insurance company’s risk profile across all significant aspects of its business.

Principle 4 – Disclosures should be comparable across life insurers – The format and level of detail disclosed should enable stakeholders to perform meaningful comparisons with respect to solvency and adequacy of capital or margin for life insurers in Canada.

Principle 5 – Qualitative narrative should accompany the disclosure requirements – Life insurers are expected to supplement the quantitative information reflected in annexes A (LICAT) and B (Life Insurance Margin Requirement and Adequacy of Assets – (LIMAT)) with a narrative commentary explaining, at a minimum, any significant changes between reporting periods and any other issues that management considers to be of interest to stakeholders. The form of disclosure is at the insurer’s discretion.

II. Scope and Implementation

1. Scope of Application

The LICAT Public Disclosure Requirements guideline applies to all activeFootnote 2 federally regulated life insurers.  OSFI expects LICAT public disclosures to be tailored to the nature, size and complexity of the insurer and to include, at a minimum, i) all key quantitative data points outlined in the LICAT/LIMAT Public Disclosure Requirement templates (Annexes A and B); and ii) a narrative description of material LICAT/LIMAT movements from period to period.

2. Implementation date and frequency of reporting

Life insurers are expected to provide LICAT public disclosures at least annually and should be published concurrently with the life insurer’s annual reporting.

For the first LICAT public disclosure reporting period (i.e., December 31, 2018), OSFI expects life insurers to apply the guidance prospectively. Comparative period disclosures should be provided in subsequent reporting periods.

3. Qualitative narrative to accompany the public disclosure requirements

Life insurers are expected to supplement the quantitative information with a qualitative narrative that explains the significant movement between periods for each of the LICAT components as shown in Annexes A and B. Disclosure of quantitative and qualitative information should provide stakeholders with a better understanding of an insurer’s capital and risk position and promote market discipline.

4. Location of disclosures

LICAT public disclosures should be publically available on the life insurer’s website and the insurer should have an ongoing history of LICAT public disclosures relating to prior reporting periods.

5. Compliance with LICAT

OSFI expects life insurers to comply with the LICAT public disclosure requirements stated within this guideline. The LICAT information disclosed must be subject to the same level of internal review and control process as the information provided for financial reporting. This should include a process whereby an internal audit function (or a review function with similar level of authority) reviews compliance with LICAT public disclosure expectations on initial application and, subsequently, on a periodic basis. OSFI will address issues of non-compliance on a case-by-case basis through bilateral discussions with the insurance company.

ANNEX A – LICAT Public Disclosure Requirements

Qualitative Analysis of Solvency Ratio (Period over Period)

  • The Core Ratio period change is primarily attributed to…
LICAT Ratios Public Disclosure Summary Template
(thousands of dollars, except percentages)
Companies are required, at minimum, to maintain a Core Ratio of 55% and a Total Ratio of 90%. OSFI has established supervisory target levels of 70% for Core and 100% for Total capital.
    Current Period Prior Period Change - %
Available Capital (AC1+B) (AC)      
Tier 1 Capital (AC1)    
Tier 2 Capital B    
       
Surplus Allowance and Eligible Deposits (SA+ED)      
         
Base Solvency Buffer (BSB)      
       
Total Ratio (%)  
([AC + SA + ED] / BSB) x 100
       
         
Core Ratio (%)
([AC1 + 70% SA + 70% ED] / BSB) x 100
       

ANNEX B – LIMAT Public Disclosure Requirements

Qualitative Analysis of Solvency Ratio (Period over Period)

  • The LIMAT Total Ratio period change is primarily attributed to…
LIMAT Ratios Public Disclosure Summary Template
(thousands of dollars, except percentages)
Branches are required, at minimum, to maintain a Core Ratio of 55% and a Total Ratio of 90%. OSFI has established supervisory target levels of 70% for Core and 100% for Total margin.
    Current Period Prior Period Change - %
Available Margin (A-B) C      
       
Assets Available A    
Assets Required B    
       
Surplus Allowance and Eligible Deposits D      
         
Required Margin E      
       
LIMAT Total Ratio:  ([C + D] / E) x 100        

Footnotes

Footnote 1

For purposes of this guideline, “life insurers” or “insurers” refer to all federally regulated life insurers, including Canadian branches of foreign life companies, fraternal benefit societies, regulated insurance holding companies and non-operating life insurance companies.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Active FRFI Life Insurers describes life insurers issuing new life and health policies / contracts in Canada

Return to footnote 2

Exigences de communication publique afférente au TSAV - Projet de ligne directrice

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Projet de ligne directrice
  • Catégorie : Comptabilité et communication de renseignements
  • Date : Juillet 2017
  • Date d’entrée en vigueur : 31 décembre 2018

Contexte

Le 1er janvier 2018, la ligne directrice sur le Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie (TSAV) viendra remplacer la ligne directrice du montant minimal permanent requis pour le capital et l’excédent (MMPRCE). Le TSAV énonce les normes sur lesquelles se fonde le BSIF pour déterminer si le capital ou l’excédent de l’actif sur le passif, aussi appelé la marge, d’une société d’assurance-vieNote de bas de page 1 sont proportionnels aux risques propres au secteur de l’assurance-vie. La ligne directrice sur le TSAV ne porte pas sur la communication publique afférente au risque de solvabilité des assureurs-vie. 

La justification invoquée par le BSIF pour recommander la communication publique de renseignements pertinents est une prolongation de son mandat de protection des souscripteurs. Lorsque les intéressés ont toute l’information en main, ils peuvent évaluer les renseignements sur les principaux risques.  

Le BSIF avait annoncé et largement diffusé son intention d’améliorer la transparence des activités des sociétés d’assurance-vie (assureurs-vie) dans son Cadre de réglementation des sociétés d’assurance-vie, publié en 2012. On pouvait notamment y lire que le BSIF cherchera à améliorer le cadre réglementaire balisant les activités des sociétés d’assurance-vie en exigeant que ces dernières communiquent publiquement certaines informations à l’appui des nouvelles normes de capital réglementaire.

Le présent document comporte deux sections :

  1. Principes directeurs
  2. Champ d’application et mise en œuvre

Les annexes de la ligne directrice proposent des modèles de relevés destinés à consigner les renseignements quantitatifs à communiquer à l’appui de renseignements qualitatifs.

I. Principes directeurs

Les attentes exprimées dans la présente ligne directrice reposent sur cinq principes directeurs destinés à servir d’assise à des communications publiques transparentes et de qualité qui permettront aux utilisateurs de mieux comprendre les activités et les risques d’une société d’assurance-vie et de comparer ces données avec celles d’autres assureurs. L’information qualitative et quantitative offre une meilleure vue d’ensemble de la situation de l’assureur en termes de capital et de risque, et renforce la discipline financière. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les communications publiques afférentes au TSAV respectent les critères que voici :  

Principe 1 – L’information doit être claire – L’information doit pouvoir être comprise par les principaux intéressés et être diffusée sur une plateforme de communication accessible.

Principe 2 – L’information doit être pertinente pour l’utilisateur – L’information doit rendre compte des principaux risques, actuels et émergents, de la société d’assurance-vie, ainsi que de la manière dont ils sont gérés, et inclure des renseignements qui revêtent une valeur pratique pour le marché. On évitera l’information qui ne contribue pas à la compréhension ou qui n’est pas utile.

Principe 3 – L’information doit être cohérente dans le temps – L’assureur doit être cohérent dans la nature et l’étendue de l’information qu’il communique d’une période à l’autre, afin de permettre aux principaux intéressés de suivre l’évolution de son profil de risque à l’échelle de tous les principaux volets de ses activités.

Principe 4 – L’information doit être comparable d’un assureur-vie à l’autre – La mise en page et la granularité des détails doivent permettre aux intéressés d’établir des comparaisons utiles en ce qui a trait à la solvabilité et aux capitaux ou à la marge des sociétés d’assurance-vie au Canada.

Principe 5 – L’information doit s’accompagner d’une description qualitative – L’assureur doit à tout le moins compléter l’information quantitative qu’il communique dans les annexes A (TSAV) et B Test de suffisance de la marge d’assurance-vie (TSMAV) d’une explication narrative des fluctuations importantes d’une période à l’autre et de toute autre question que la direction juge utile pour les intéressés. L’assureur peut choisir le modèle de relevé qui lui convient.  

II. Champ d’application et mise en œuvre

1. Champ d’application

Toutes les sociétés d’assurance-vie fédérales activesNote de bas de page 2 doivent satisfaire aux exigences de communication publique afférente au TSAV. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les renseignements communiqués dans le but de satisfaire à ces exigences soient adaptés à la nature, la taille et la complexité de la société d’assurances et à ce qu’on y retrouve, à tout le moins, i) tous les principaux points de données quantitatifs qui figurent dans les modèles de relevé pour le TSAV et le TSMAV (voir les annexes A et B); et ii) l’explication de toute fluctuation importante des ratios du TSAV ou du TSMAV d’une période sur l’autre.

2. Date de mise en œuvre et fréquence de production des relevés

Les sociétés d’assurance-vie doivent produire au moins une fois l’an les renseignements requis pour satisfaire aux exigences de communication publique afférente au TSAV. Cette information doit être publiée en même temps que la déclaration annuelle.

Pour la première période de communication publique afférente au TSAV (soit au 31 décembre 2018), le BSIF s’attend à ce que les sociétés d’assurance-vie appliquent les consignes prospectivement. Les communications subséquentes devront établir des comparaisons avec les données antérieures.

3. L’information communiquée publiquement doit s’accompagner d’une explication qualitative

L’assureur-vie doit assortir l’information qu’il communique d’une explication qualitative des fluctuations importantes, d’une période à l’autre, de tout volet du TSAV, comme le montrent les annexes A et B. Les renseignements quantitatifs et qualitatifs dont ils disposeront ainsi permettront aux intéressés d’avoir une meilleure vue d’ensemble de la situation de l’assureur en termes de capital et de risque et renforceront la discipline financière.

4. Plateforme de diffusion

Les communications afférentes au TSAV doivent être affichées sur le site Web de l’assureur-vie de façon à pouvoir être consultées par le grand public. L’assureur doit également tenir un registre de toute communication afférente au TSAV qui se rapporte aux exercices précédents.

5. Observation des exigences

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les sociétés d’assurance-vie satisfassent aux exigences de communication publique afférente au TSAV qui sont énoncées dans la présente ligne directrice. Les communications afférentes au TSAV doivent être produites au terme d’examens internes et de processus de contrôle aussi rigoureux que ceux imposés pour la production de renseignements financiers. À cette fin, l’assureur doit notamment établir un processus lui permettant d’obtenir l’assurance que la fonction d’audit interne (ou une fonction d’examen ayant un pouvoir analogue) veille à ce que la communication publique afférente au TSAV visant la première période de production satisfasse aux exigences en vigueur, et que cette démarche soit reprise périodiquement. Le BSIF traitera des questions de dérogation au cas par cas, au moyen de discussions bilatérales avec l’assureur.

ANNEXE A – Exigences de communication publique afférente au TSAV

Analyse qualitative du ratio de solvabilité (d’une période à l’autre)

  • Les fluctuations d’une période à l’autre du ratio du noyau de base s’expliquent principalement par…
Relevé des ratios afférents au TSAV
(en milliers de dollars, sauf les pourcentages)
Un assureur doit maintenir un ratio du noyau de capital minimal de 55 % et un ratio total de 90 %. Le BSIF a établi un ratio du noyau de capital cible de surveillance de 70 % et un ratio total cible de surveillance de 100 %.
    Exercice en cours Exercice précédent Variation - %
Capital disponible (CD1+B) (CD)      
Capital de catégorie 1 (CD1)    
Capital de catégorie 2 B    
       
Provision d’excédent et dépôts admissibles (PE+DA)      
         
Coussin de solvabilité de base (CSB)      
       
Ratio total (%)  
([CD +PE + DA] / CSB) x 100
       
         
Ratio du noyau (%)
([CD1 + 70% PE + 70% DA] / CSB) x 100
       

ANNEXE B – Exigences de communication publique afférente au TSMAV

Analyse qualitative du ratio de solvabilité (d’une période à l’autre)

  • Les fluctuations d’une période à l’autre du ratio total du TSMAV s’expliquent principalement par…
Relevé des ratios afférents au TSMAV
(en milliers de dollars, sauf les pourcentages)
Une succursale doit maintenir un ratio du noyau de capital minimal de 55 % et un ratio total de 90 %. Le BSIF a établi un ratio cible de surveillance du noyau de capital de 70 % et un ratio total cible de surveillance de 100 %.
    Exercice en cours Exercice précédent Exercice précédent Variation - %
Marge disponible (A-B) C      
       
Actif disponible A    
Actif requis B    
       
Provision d’excédent et dépôts admissibles D      
         
Marge requise E      
       
Ratio total – TSMAV :
([C + D] / E) x 100
       

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Aux fins de la présente ligne directrice, société d’assurance-vie et assureur s’entendent des sociétés d’assurance‑vie fédérales, dont les succursales canadiennes de sociétés étrangères d’assurance-vie, les sociétés de secours mutuels, les sociétés de portefeuille d’assurance réglementées et les sociétés d’assurance-vie inactives.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Est dite active une société d’assurance-vie fédérale qui souscrit des polices et des contrats d’assurance-vie et d’assurance-santé au Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2