Net Stable Funding Ratio Disclosure Requirements

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: April 2019
  • Audiences: Domestic Systemically Important Banks (D-SIBs)

I. Background

OSFI supports relevant disclosures regarding key risk information as a way to allow stakeholders to gain a thorough understanding of a deposit-taking institution’s (DTI’s) activities. As part of its Liquidity Adequacy Requirements (LAR) guideline,Footnote 1 OSFI introduced in December 2018 a Net Stable Funding Ratio (NSFR) requirement.

II. Problem Identification

Canadian federally regulated DTIs lack guidance on the public disclosure of their NSFR positions. The absence of robust NSFR disclosure reduces transparency and may inhibit public confidence with respect to their funding risks.

III. Objective

The objective of the guideline is to complement the NSFR requirement with an NSFR disclosure requirement that will provide transparency over DTIs’ funding risk, thereby encouraging comparability and market discipline over this key metric.

IV. Options and Assessment

OSFI believes that issuing an NSFR disclosure guideline is the best way to achieve consistent and comparable NSFR disclosure. OSFI’s key considerations relate to the scope and implementation date of NSFR disclosure.

1. Scope

Canadian Domestic Systemically Important Banks (D-SIBs)Footnote 2 are internationally active and systemically important in Canada. Given their nature, size and complexity, OSFI believes it is in the public interest that these institutions are transparent regarding their funding risk.

2. Implementation Date

In determining the implementation date for the NSFR disclosure, OSFI considered whether to:

  • Require disclosure at the same time as OSFI’s NSFR liquidity requirements,
  • Defer disclosure to a period after compliance with the NSFR liquidity requirements to allow D-SIBs additional time to operationalize the process, or
  • Set an implementation date when peer jurisdictions’ implementation timelines are known.

Option 1 - Require disclosure at the same time as OSFI’s NSFR liquidity requirements

NSFR disclosure complements D-SIBs’ compliance with the NSFR requirements. As such, D-SIBs could provide the NSFR disclosure at the same time as they implement the requirement. This would provide useful market information, and would demonstrate that D-SIBs’ regulatory disclosures are amongst the best of their international peers. However, this option would provide D-SIBs with little lead-time to operationalize the disclosure requirements.

Option 2 – Defer disclosure by one year to give D-SIBs time to operationalize the process

A one-year deferral over the NSFR compliance date of January 1, 2020 would provide D-SIBs sufficient time to operationalize the NSFR disclosure subsequent to implementing the NSFR requirement. This option would allow D-SIBs to provide NSFR information to the public in a reasonably timely manner.

Option 3 – Set an implementation date when timelines in peer jurisdictions are known

Deferring disclosure implementation to align with that in other jurisdictions potentially allows D-SIBs the most time to operationalize their NSFR disclosure. However, delaying public disclosure for an indeterminate period does not support OSFI’s objective of promoting transparency and market discipline.

V. Consultation

In February 2019, OSFI published a draft NSFR Disclosure Guideline. All comments received were considered in finalizing the guideline. The cover letter accompanying the final guideline contains a summary of the material comments received and OSFI’s responses.

VI. Recommendation

OSFI recommends that the NSFR disclosure requirements be mandatory for D-SIBs on a quarterly basis.

VII. Implementation

The guideline will be effective beginning with the quarterly reporting period ending January 31, 2021. The location of the NSFR and LCR disclosures should be the same.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

OSFI, December 2018: http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/Eng/fi-if/rg-ro/gdn-ort/gl-ld/Pages/nsfr_gias.aspx.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

OSFI has designated six institutions as D-SIBs: Bank of Montreal, Bank of Nova Scotia, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, National Bank of Canada, Royal Bank of Canada, and Toronto-Dominion Bank of Canada.

Return to footnote 2

Exigences de communication financière du ratio de liquidité à long terme

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date : Avril 2019

I. Contexte

Le BSIF appuie la divulgation de renseignements pertinents sur les principaux risques, car elle permet aux intervenants de bien comprendre les activités des institutions de dépôts (ID). Dans sa ligne directrice Normes de liquiditéNote de bas de page 1, le BSIF a imposé en décembre 2018 un ratio de liquidité à long terme (NSFR).

II. Détermination du problème

Il n’existe aucune consigne demandant aux ID fédérales canadiennes de communiquer publiquement leurs données sur le NSFR. L’absence de communication rigoureuse du NSFR réduit la transparence et peut nuire à la confiance du public à l’égard des risques de financement.

III. Objectif

La ligne directrice ajoute au ratio de liquidité que doivent maintenir les institutions une exigence de communication de ce ratio dans le but d’assurer la transparence du risque de financement des ID, ce qui favorisera la comparabilité et la discipline du marché à l’égard de cette mesure clé.

IV. Options et évaluation

Le BSIF estime que la diffusion d’une ligne directrice sur le NSFR représente la meilleure façon d’obtenir de l’information cohérente et comparable sur ce ratio. Les principales considérations du BSIF ont trait à la portée et à la date de mise en œuvre de la communication du NSFR.

1. Portée

Les banques canadiennes d’importance systémique intérieure (BISi)Note de bas de page 2 sont actives à l’échelle internationale et elles sont d’importance systémique au Canada. Compte tenu de la nature, de la taille et de la complexité de ces institutions, le BSIF estime qu’il est dans l’intérêt public qu’elles soient transparentes en ce qui concerne leur risque de financement.

2. Date de mise en œuvre

Pour déterminer la date de mise en œuvre de la communication du NSFR, le BSIF s’est demandé s’il convenait :

  1. de faire correspondre les dates d’entrée en vigueur des exigences de communication du NSFR et de l’exigence du BSIF au chapitre de la liquidité (soit le ratio lui-même);
  2. de reporter la communication après le moment où l’exigence du ratio aura pris effet pour donner aux BISi plus de temps pour mettre en œuvre le processus;
  3. de fixer une date de mise en œuvre lorsque les calendriers de mise en œuvre de nos homologues seront connus.

Option 1 - Faire correspondre les dates d’entrée en vigueur des exigences de communication et de l’exigence du BSIF au chapitre de la liquidité (NSFR)

L’exigence de communication vient complémenter l’exigence en matière de liquidité (NSFR). Ainsi, les BISi pourraient communiquer les renseignements sur le NSFR à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’exigence de liquidité. Il en découlerait des renseignements utiles sur les marchés et l’exercice permettrait de démontrer que les renseignements réglementaires communiqués par les BISi sont parmi les meilleurs au monde. Toutefois, cette option donnerait peu de temps aux BISi pour mettre en œuvre l’exigence de communication.

Option 2 – Reporter la communication d’un an pour accorder aux BISi du temps pour mettre en œuvre le processus

Un report d’un an des exigences de communication du NSFR, dont la prise d’effet est prévue pour le 1er janvier 2020, accorderait aux BISi suffisamment de temps pour mettre en œuvre les exigences de communication du NSFR à la suite de la mise en œuvre de l’exigence de liquidité (NSFR). Cette option permettrait aux BISi de fournir au public des renseignements sur le NSFR dans un délai raisonnable.

Option 3 – Fixer une date de mise en œuvre lorsque nos homologues feront connaître leurs calendriers de mise en œuvre

Le report de la mise en œuvre de la communication pour l’harmoniser avec celle d’autres administrations accorderait aux BISi le plus de temps possible pour communiquer leurs renseignements sur le NSFR. Toutefois, le report de la communication publique pour une période indéterminée n’appuie pas l’objectif du BSIF, qui consiste à promouvoir la transparence et la discipline du marché.

V. Consultation

En février 2019, le BSIF a publié la version à l’étude de la ligne directrice Exigences de communication financière du ratio de liquidité à long terme (NSFR). Il a pris en considération tous les commentaires reçus avant de parachever le document. La lettre d’accompagnement de la version définitive de la ligne directrice comprend un condensé des commentaires importants reçus et de la réponse du BSIF à ces commentaires.

VI. Recommandation

Le BSIF recommande que les exigences de communication du NSFR soient obligatoires pour les BISi sur une base trimestrielle.

VII. Mise en oeuvre

La ligne directrice entrera en vigueur à la période de déclaration trimestrielle se terminant le 31 janvier 2021. Les renseignements sur le NSFR et le ratio de liquidité à court terme (LCR) devraient être communiqués au même endroit.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

BSIF, décembre 2018 : http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/fra/fi-if/rg-ro/gdn-ort/gl-ld/Pages/nsfr_gias.aspx.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le BSIF a désigné six institutions financières canadiennes comme banques d’importance systémique intérieure (BISi) : la Banque de Montréal, la Banque Scotia, la Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce, la Banque Nationale du Canada, la Banque Royale du Canada et la Banque Toronto‑Dominion.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2