Regulatory Capital and Internal Capital Targets - Draft

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Category: Capital Management
  • No: A-4
  • Date: November 2015 September 2017
  • Effective Date: January 1, 2018

This guideline sets out OSFI’s expectations with regard to the capital and solvency assessment of federally regulated insurers (FRI or insurer)Footnote 1, within the context of OSFI’s Supervisory FrameworkFootnote 2.

I. The Role of Capital in OSFI’s Risk Assessment Process

OSFI’s risk assessment process begins with an evaluation of the inherent risk within each significant activity of a FRI and the quality of risk management applied to mitigate these risks. After considering this information, OSFI determines the level of net risk and direction (i.e., whether it is decreasing, stable, or increasing) of the rating for each significant activity.

The net risks of the significant activities are combined, by considering their relative importance, to arrive at the Overall Net Risk (ONR) of the insurer. The ONR is a consolidated rating or assessment of the potential adverse impact that the significant activities collectively could have on the insurer’s earnings performance and adequacy of capital. OSFI then develops a Composite Risk Rating (and its direction) for the insurer, after considering the assessments of its earnings and capital in relation to the ONR, and the assessment of liquidity.

While regulatory capital is an important factor in OSFI’s capital assessment, other factors are also considered. OSFI’s Capital Assessment Criteria include, for example:

  • the adequacy of capital to support the insurer’s risk profile and business plan, including risks that are not fully captured in the regulatory capital guidelines;
  • the ability to access capital at reasonable rates to meet projected needs;
  • the quality of capital;
  • the quality or strength of the insurer’s capital management policy, including its capital management processes; and
  • Senior Management’s and the Board of Directors’Footnote 3 (Board) roles, responsibilities and effectiveness with respect to the insurer’s capital management processes.

Capital considerations should include elements of capital that contribute to financial strength through periods when an insurer is under stress (e.g., common shares) as well as elements that contribute to policyholder and creditor protection during wind-up (e.g., subordinated debt). Some elements may contribute to both, while others are less likely to do so.

OSFI expects the level and quality of an insurer’s capital and its capital management to be commensurate with its circumstances, including its risk profile, appetite for risk and operating environment. Past and emerging trends, including the outlook for capital, earnings and liquidity, as well as the insurer’s preparedness to deal with potential capital deficiencies, are relevant in assessing the adequacy of an insurer’s capital position. In this regard, the number, severity and overall quality of the stress scenarios used by an insurer to assess its capital adequacy in relation to all relevant regulatory and internal capital expectations are important considerations for OSFI when it assesses the strength of an insurer’s capital.

Insurers should have risk and capital management processes that take into account their risk profile and business strategy, potential stress situations and future changes to enable them to effectively monitor and manage their ability to meet, on a continuous basis, regulatory as well as internal capital expectations.

II. Regulatory Capital

The Insurance Companies Act requires federally regulated insurance companies and fraternal benefit societies to maintain adequate capital and companies operating in Canada on a branch basis to maintain an adequate margin of assets in Canada over liabilities in Canada. Guidelines A: Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test (LICAT) Minimum Continuing Capital and Surplus Requirements (MCCSR) and Minimum Capital Test (MCT) (together referred to as Capital Guidelines) provide the framework within which the Superintendent assesses whether a life insurer or a P&C insurer, respectively, maintains adequate capital or margin of assets over liabilitiesFootnote 4.

The Capital Guidelines establish standards for measuring specific insurer risks and for aggregating these results to calculate the amount of an insurer’s regulatory capital needed to support these risks (capital requirement) (Base Required Capital). For life insurers, the capital requirement amount is referred to as the Base Solvency Buffer, while for P&C insurers it is the minimum capital requiredFootnote 5. In relation to these is capital requirements Base Required Capital, OSFI has determined industry minimum and target capital levelsFootnote 6. These serve as a gauge of a financial institution’s regulatory capital adequacy and can trigger interventionFootnote 7 actions.

The Capital Guidelines also define and establish criteria and limits for determining the amount of an insurer’s qualifying regulatory available capital; (Capital Available Capital)Footnote 8 . For life insurers, the MCCSR LICAT includes additional criteria for determining the amount that qualifies as adjusted net tier 1 available capital (Tier 1), which is comprised of only the highest quality capital elements.

Minimum Capital

The Capital Guidelines address specific insurer risks and determine minimum capital levels (Minimums) to support these risks.

Minimums: The minimum levels of capital necessary for an insurer to cover the risks specified in the Capital Guidelines.

If an insurer’s Capital Available Capital approached, or were to fall below, the Minimums, OSFI would be very concerned about the ongoing viability of the insurer and/or the level of risk to policyholders and creditors.

Supervisory Target Capital

OSFI’s mandate includes an early intervention approach. This is partly addressed by establishing supervisory target capital levels (Supervisory TargetsFootnote 9) above the Minimums that provide an early signal so that intervention will be timely and for there to be a reasonable expectation that actions can successfully address difficulties.

Supervisory Targets: The target levels of capital necessary for an insurer to cover the risks specified in the Capital Guidelines as well as to provide a margin for other risks.

From a supervisory perspective, an insurer’s failure to maintain its Capital Available Capital above the Supervisory Targets is indicative of material safety and soundness concerns and a vulnerability to adverse business and economic conditions that require immediate attention. An insurer whose Capital Available Capital approaches or falls below the Supervisory Targets will attract increased supervisory attention, which would generally include an early warning intervention status (i.e. stage 1). The intensity and nature of supervisory intervention would depend on the circumstances of the particular insurer.

Regulatory Capital Levels

OSFI has set the following capital levels expressed as a percentage of the amount of an insurer’s capital requirements Base Required Capital:

Regulatory Capital Levels
MCT / BAAT LICAT / LIMAT MCCSR / TAAM
Total Capital Total Capital Core Tier 1 Capital
Minimums 100% 90 120% 55 Footnote 10 60%
Supervisory Targets 150% 100 150% 70 105%

For monitoring purposes and in OSFI supervisory and other documentation, the amount of Capital Available Capital is generally expressed as a percentage of the amount of an insurer’s capital requirements Base Required Capital and compared to the above capital levels.

III. Internal Capital Targets

All risks specific to an individual insurer cannot be explicitly addressed by industry-wide Capital Guidelines alone. The Minimums and Supervisory Targets are based upon simplifying assumptions applicable on an industry-wide basis, and are not tailored to individual insurers’ risk profiles. Accordingly, an insurer should not unduly rely on these regulatory capital measures but should conduct its Own Risk and Solvency Assessment (ORSA) and, based on this process, determine its own capital needs and establish Internal Capital Targets (Internal Targets)Footnote 11.

Internal Targets: The target levels of capital, determined as part of an insurer’s Own Risk and Solvency Assessment ORSA, needed to cover all the risks of the insurer, including the risks specified in the Capital Guidelines.

Insurers are expected to determine an Internal Target of total capital needed to protect policyholders and creditors in a wind-up. Life insurers are expected to determine, in addition to the Internal Target of total capital, an Internal Target of core capital that should only include very high quality capital elements. OSFI should be notified when an insurer changes its Internal Targets.

Internal Targets should be set above Supervisory Targets. To determine whether Internal Targets are above Supervisory Targets, insurers should compare their total and core capital Internal Targets to the tTotal and core Tier 1 Supervisory Targets, respectivelyFootnote 12.

Parent/head office guarantees, potential future injections of capital or other potential management actions that change the insurer’s business or risk profile are not assumed in the determination of the Supervisory TargetsFootnote 13 and should therefore not be assumed in the setting of Internal TargetsFootnote 14. These factors should only be considered when determining the level at which the insurer will operate above the Internal Targets.

Insurers are expected to operate at Capital Available Capital levels above the Internal TargetsFootnote 15. OSFI understands that an insurer’s Capital Available Capital levels may fall below its Internal Targets on unusual and infrequent occasions. If this happens, or is anticipated to happen within two yearsFootnote 16, the insurer should inform OSFI promptly and provide plans on how it expects to manage the risks and/or restore its Capital Available Capital levels to its Internal Targets within a relatively short period of time.

IV. Capital Management Policy

Capital management is the on-going process of determining and maintaining the quantity and quality of capital appropriate to support an insurer’s planned operations. Capital should be managed to maintain financial strength, absorb losses so as to withstand adverse economic conditions, allow for growth opportunities and meet other risk management and business objectives. It should also be managed in order to provide, in extreme cases such as imminent failure or insolvency, sufficient assets to transfer or run-off policyholder obligations and pay creditor claims.

The insurer’s ORSA and its strategic and business plans should support Senior Management and the Board in establishing capital management policies and procedures that include, among other thingsFootnote 17 :

  • Clearly defined roles and responsibilities with respect to the design and execution of relevant policies and procedures;
  • A policy that states capital adequacy goals relative to risk, taking into account the insurer’s strategic focus and business plan, and that sets its Internal Targets;
  • A policy with respect to the Board’s regular reviewFootnote 18 and discussion of the insurer’s capital management policy and ORSA.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

FRI or insurer refers The current version of this guideline was originally dated January 2014 and, effective as of that date, applies to federally regulated insurers including Canadian branches of foreign life and property and casualty companies, as well as to fraternal benefit societies, except regulated insurance holding companies and non-operating insurance companies. Effective January 1, 2016, the application of this guideline is expanded to regulated insurance holding companies and non-operating insurance companies.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Consult OSFI’s website (www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca) for more information regarding OSFI’s Supervisory Framework, including related Assessment Criteria documents.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

For foreign company branch operations in Canada, OSFI looks to the Chief Agent to oversee the management of the branch. Throughout this document, a reference to a Board of Directors’ role and function is meant to refer to a Chief Agent’s role and function with respect to foreign company branch operations in Canada.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

In this guideline, the use of concepts applicable to companies and societies also includes the equivalent concepts applicable to foreign companies’ and societies’ branch operations in Canada. For example, the concept “capital” includes the equivalent concept of “margin” as it applies to branches; “Base Required Capital” includes “Required Margin”; “Available Capital” includes “Available Margin” and “Tier 1” includes “Core” and “Available Margin excluding Other Admitted Assets”.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

The Base Solvency Buffer and the minimum capital required are defined in the Capital Guidelines.

Return to footnote 5

Footnote 6

For life insurers, regulatory minimum and target capital levels are calculated on the basis of both total and core tier 1 capital, while P&C insurers base theirs solely on total capital.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

The Guide to Intervention for Federally Regulated Life Insurance Companies and Supervisory Guide Applicable to Federally Regulated Insurance Companiescan be found on OSFI’s website.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

In this guideline, references made to Capital Available include Available Capital as well as Surplus Allowance and Eligible Deposits, for life insurers. For life insurers, the LICAT guideline defines Available Capital, Surplus Allowance and Eligible Deposits and outlines the extent to which these may be used to assess capital adequacy. For P&C insurers, Capital Available is as defined in the MCT Guideline and includes the equivalent concept of Net assets available.

Return to footnote 8

Footnote 9

Supervisory Targets are not applicable to regulated insurance holding companies and non-operating insurance companies.

Return to footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

Regulated life insurance holding companies and non-operating life insurance companies are required to maintain a minimum Core level of 50%.

Return to footnote 10

Footnote 11

Guideline E-19: Own Risk and Solvency Assessment outlines OSFI expectations and principles with respect to setting Internal Targets, based on an insurer’s ORSA.

Return to footnote 11 referrer

Footnote 12

To determine For monitoring whether Internal Targets are above Supervisory Targets, Internal Targets should be expressed as a percentage of the amount of an insurer’s capital requirements Base Required Capital and compared to the Regulatory Capital Levels.

Return to footnote 12 referrer

Footnote 13

Parent/head office guarantees, potential future injections and other potential management actions that change the insurer’s business or risk profile are also not considered in the calculation of the Minimums. For P&C insurers, Regulatory Capital Levels include financial resources used to calculate earthquake reserves. P&C insurers may therefore include such amounts in the determination of Internal Targets.

Return to footnote 13 referrer

Footnote 14

Consistent with Canadian P&C insurers, Canadian branches of foreign P&C insurers use a specified amount of the company’s worldwide capital and surplus in the calculation of their capital requirements for earthquake risk, a component of the Supervisory Target. Both Canadian P&C insurers and Canadian branches of foreign P&C insurers may therefore include such amounts, to the extent permitted in the MCT, in the determination of their Internal Target.

Return to footnote 14

Footnote 15

For monitoring purposes, an insurer’s capital ratios, calculated per the Capital Guidelines, are used to determine whether an insurer is operating above its Internal Targets.

Return to footnote 15

Footnote 16

As may be contained in financial forecasts or other reports (e.g. projections of very likely scenarios) prepared for Senior Management, the Board, investors or the public.

Return to footnote 16 referrer

Footnote 17

For additional guidance on how an insurer’s ORSA links risk management, capital management and other management processes, please refer to OSFI’s Guideline E-19: Own Risk and Solvency Assessment.

Return to footnote 17 referrer

Footnote 18

The review should be conducted at least annually or more frequently if conditions warrant. 

Return to footnote 18 referrer

Capital réglementaire et cibles internes de capital

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Catégorie : Gestion du capital
  • No : A-4
  • Date : Décembre 2017
  • Date d’entrée en vigueur : 1er janvier 2018

Cette ligne directrice énonce les attentes du BSIF en ce qui a trait à l’évaluation du capital et de la solvabilité d’un assureur fédéral (« assureur »)Note de bas de page 1, dans le contexte de son Cadre de surveillanceNote de bas de page 2.

I. Importance du niveau de capital dans le processus d’évaluation des risques

Le processus d’évaluation des risques s’amorce par une évaluation du risque inhérent à l’intérieur de chaque activité d’envergure de l’assureur fédéral et un examen de la qualité de la gestion visant à atténuer ces risques. À partir de ces renseignements, le BSIF détermine le niveau de risque net et l’évolution de la cote de chaque activité d’envergure (c’est-à-dire si elle est à la baisse, si elle est stable ou si elle à la hausse).

Puis, les risques nets des activités d’envergure sont combinés, selon leur importance relative, pour établir le risque net global (RNG) de l’assureur. Le RNG constitue une cote ou évaluation consolidée des éventuels effets défavorables que les activités d’envergure pourraient collectivement avoir sur les bénéfices de l’assureur et sur l’adéquation de son capital. Le BSIF établit ensuite une cote de risque composite de l’assureur (et en détermine l’évolution) en tenant compte de son évaluation des bénéfices de l’assureur et de son capital par rapport au RNG, ainsi que de l’évaluation de la liquidité.

Bien que le capital réglementaire constitue un facteur important de l’évaluation du capital, d’autres facteurs sont aussi pris en compte. Les critères d'évaluation du capital du BSIF comprennent les suivants :

  • Adéquation du capital de l’assureur pour ce qui est d’appuyer son profil de risque et son plan d’activités, y compris les risques qui ne sont pas entièrement saisis dans les lignes directrices sur le capital réglementaire;
  • capacité d’obtenir du capital à un coût raisonnable pour satisfaire aux besoins prévus;
  • qualité du capital;
  • qualité ou robustesse de la politique de gestion du capital de l’assureur, y compris ses méthodes de gestion du capital;
  • attributions de la haute direction et du conseil d’administrationNote de bas de page 3 (le « conseil ») et leur efficacité en ce qui a trait aux méthodes de gestion du capital de l’assureur.

Les facteurs relatifs au capital doivent comprendre des éléments du capital qui contribuent à la santé financière de l’assureur pendant les périodes de crise (tel que les actions ordinaires) et des éléments qui contribuent à la protection des souscripteurs et des créanciers en cas de liquidation (tel qu’une dette subordonnée). Certains éléments peuvent contribuer aux deux, d’autres probablement pas.

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que le niveau et la qualité du capital des assureurs reflètent leur situation particulière, notamment leur profil de risque, leur propension à prendre des risques et leur contexte opérationnel. Les tendances antérieures et nouvelles, y compris les perspectives concernant le capital, les bénéfices et les liquidités, ainsi que la mesure dans laquelle l’assureur est prêt à faire face à d’éventuelles insuffisances du capital, revêtent de l’importance lorsqu’il s’agit d’évaluer la suffisance du niveau de capital des assureurs. À ce propos, le nombre, la gravité et la qualité d’ensemble des scénarios de crise utilisés par un assureur pour évaluer la suffisance de son capital au regard de toutes les attentes pertinentes à l’égard du capital réglementaire et des cibles internes de capital sont des facteurs importants dont le BSIF tient compte pour évaluer la solidité du capital d’un assureur.

L’assureur devrait mettre en place des processus de gestion des risques et du capital qui tiennent compte de son profil de risque et de sa stratégie d’affaires, des situations de crise potentielles et des changements futurs afin de lui permettre de surveiller et de gérer efficacement sa capacité de répondre aux normes de capital réglementaire et de respecter les cibles internes en permanence.

II. Capital réglementaire

Aux termes de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances, les sociétés d’assurances et les sociétés de secours mutuels fédérales sont tenues de maintenir un capital suffisant, alors qu’une société étrangère qui exploite une succursale au Canada est tenue de maintenir au Canada un excédent suffisant de l’actif sur le passif de son bilan canadien. Les lignes directrices A, Test du capital minimal (TCM) et Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie (TSAV) (désignées ci-après « lignes directrices sur le capital »), établissent le cadre en fonction duquel le surintendant évalue si une société d’assurances multirisques ou une société d’assurance-vie maintient un capital suffisant ou un excédent suffisantNote de bas de page 4.

Les lignes directrices sur le capital établissent des normes afin de mesurer les risques spécifiques et de les agréger pour calculer le montant de capital réglementaire qu’un assureur doit maintenir afin de couvrir ces risques (exigences de capital). Dans le cas des assureurs multirisques, le TCM fixe l’exigence de capital au montant du capital minimal requis alors que, dans le cas des assureurs-vie, le TSAV fait correspondre cette exigence au coussin de solvabilité de base. Le BSIF a établi, par rapport à ces exigences en matière de capital, des niveaux minimaux de capital et des niveaux cibles de capitalNote de bas de page 5. Ces niveaux servent à déterminer si le capital réglementaire d’une société donnée est adéquat et peuvent donner lieu à des mesures d’interventionNote de bas de page 6.

Les lignes directrices sur le capital définissent et établissent en outre des critères et des limites pour déterminer le montant de capital réglementaire disponible admissible (ressources en capital). Dans le cas des assureurs multirisques, il s’agit du capital disponible décrit dans le TCM alors que, s’agissant des assureurs-vie, le TSAV le fait correspondre à la somme du capital disponible, de la provision d’excédent (PE) et des dépôts admissibles (DA).

Éléments du capital réglementaireNote de bas de page 7
 

TCM / TSAS
Total

TSAV / TSMAV
Total

TSAV / TSMAV
Noyau de capital

Ressources en capital Capital disponible Capital disponible + PE + DA Capital de catégorie 1Note de bas de page 8 + 70 % de la PE + 70 % des DA
Exigences de capital Capital minimal requis Coussin de solvabilité de base Coussin de solvabilité de base

Capital minimal

Les lignes directrices sur le capital traitent des risques propres à un assureur et fixent les niveaux minimaux de capital (minima) nécessaires pour les couvrir.

Minima : Niveaux minimaux de capital requis pour qu’un assureur couvre les risques visés par les lignes directrices sur le capital.

La viabilité d’un assureur et le niveau de risque pour les souscripteurs et les créanciers sont jugés très préoccupants lorsque les ressources en capital s’approchent du ratio minimal de capital ou descend au-dessous de celui-ci.

Cibles de capital aux fins de la surveillance

Le mandat du BSIF prévoit une intervention précoce. L’organisme s’acquitte de sa responsabilité notamment en définissant des niveaux cibles de capital aux fins de la surveillance (les « cibles de surveillance ») supérieurs aux minima, ce qui permet de déceler rapidement les problèmes, d’intervenir en temps opportun et d’être raisonnablement certain que les mesures prises corrigeront entièrement les problèmes.Note de bas de page 9

Cibles de surveillance : Niveaux cibles de capital requis pour qu’un assureur couvre les risques visés par les lignes directrices sur le capital et dispose d’une marge à l’égard d’autres risques.

Sur le plan de la surveillance, si un assureur ne parvient pas à maintenir ses ressources en capital à un niveau supérieur aux cibles de surveillance, sa sécurité et sa stabilité seront jugées préoccupantes et il risquera de subir les contrecoups de conditions commerciales et économiques négatives, ce qui nécessitera une attention immédiate. L’assureur dont le niveau des ressources en capital s’approche des cibles de surveillance ou y est inférieur fera l’objet d’un suivi plus attentif et, dans bien des cas, l’institution sera classée au stade d’intervention 1 (préalerte). L’assiduité et la nature des mesures d’intervention dépendront des circonstances de l’assureur en question.

Niveaux de capital réglementaire

Le BSIF a fixé les niveaux de capital suivants en pourcentage des exigences en matière de capital que l’assureur doit satisfaire :

Niveaux de capital réglementaire
TCM / TSAS TSAV / TSMAV
Total Total Noyau de capital
Minima 100 % 90 % 55Note de bas de page 10 %
Cibles de surveillance 150 % 100 % 70 %

Aux fins de suivi – et dans les documents du BSIF, dont ceux traitant de la surveillance –, le montant des ressources en capital est généralement exprimé en pourcentage des exigences en matière de capital et comparé aux niveaux de capital indiqués ci-dessus.

III. Cibles internes de capital

Les risques propres à un assureur ne peuvent pas tous être expressément couverts uniquement par des lignes directrices sectorielles sur le capital. Les minimums et les cibles de surveillance reposent sur des hypothèses de simplification applicables à l’ensemble du secteur; ils ne sont pas adaptés aux profils de risque de chaque assureur. L’assureur devrait donc éviter de s’appuyer excessivement sur ces mesures du capital réglementaire et devrait effectuer une évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité (au moyen du « dispositif ORSA ») à partir de laquelle il déterminera ses propres besoins en capital et fixera ses cibles internes de capital (les « cibles internes »)Note de bas de page 11.

Cibles internes : Niveaux cibles de capital, déterminés dans le cadre de l’évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité de l’assureur, requis pour couvrir tous les risques de l’assureur, y compris ceux visés par les lignes directrices sur le capital.

Les assureurs doivent établir une cible interne de capital total. En plus de cette cible interne de capital total, les assureurs-vie doivent établir une cible interne de noyau de capital. L’assureur doit prévenir le BSIF lorsqu’il modifie ses cibles internes.

Les cibles internes devraient être supérieures aux cibles de surveillance. Afin de déterminer si tel est le cas, les assureurs devraient comparer leurs cibles internes de capital total et de noyau de capital aux cibles de surveillance pour le capital total et le noyau de capital, respectivementNote de bas de page 12.

Les garanties consenties par la société mère ou le siège social, les possibilités d’injections de capitaux dans l’avenir et les autres mesures susceptibles de modifier le profil commercial ou le profil de risque de l’assureur que pourrait prendre la direction n’interviennent pas dans l’établissement des cibles de surveillanceNote de bas de page 13 et ne devraient donc pas influer sur l’établissement des cibles internes Note de bas de page 14. Ces facteurs ne devraient être considérés que pour déterminer le niveau auquel l’assureur exerce ses activités au-delà de ses cibles internes.

L’assureur est censé maintenir des niveaux de ressources en capital supérieurs aux cibles internes.Note de bas de page 15 Le BSIF reconnaît que le niveau des ressources en capital d’un assureur peut parfois reculer en deçà de ses cibles internes dans des circonstances exceptionnelles et peu fréquentes. Si cela se produit, ou si l’assureur prévoit que ce sera le cas d’ici deux ansNote de bas de page 16, il doit en aviser promptement le BSIF et expliquer comment il entend gérer les risques et/ou ramener ses niveaux de ressources en capital à ceux de ses cibles internes, à échéance relativement brève.

IV. Politique de gestion du capital

La gestion du capital est un processus continu permettant d’établir, sur les plans quantitatif et qualitatif, le capital nécessaire à la réalisation des activités prévues de l’assureur. Le capital doit être administré de manière à pouvoir assurer la santé financière de l’institution, à éponger les pertes pour qu’elle puisse faire face à des situations économiques défavorables, à lui donner les moyens de saisir les possibilités de croissance et à satisfaire aux autres objectifs qui ont trait à la gestion des risques et au déroulement des opérations. Le capital doit aussi être géré de façon à fournir, dans des cas extrêmes comme la faillite ou l’insolvabilité imminente, suffisamment d’actif pour que l’assureur puisse céder ou liquider ses engagements envers les souscripteurs et s’acquitter de ses obligations envers les créanciers.

Le dispositif ORSA de l’assureur, de même que ses plans stratégiques et opérationnels, devraient appuyer la haute direction et le conseil d’administration lors de l’établissement de politiques et de procédures de gestion du capital comprenant, entre autresNote de bas de page 17 :

  • des rôles et des responsabilités clairement définis en ce qui touche la conception et l’exécution des politiques et des procédures;
  • une politique stipulant des objectifs de suffisance du capital en regard des risques, compte tenu de l’orientation stratégique et du plan d’affaires de l’assureur, et fixant les cibles internes de ce dernier;
  • une politique concernant la revue et la discussion périodique du conseil d’administration de la politique de gestion du capital et du dispositif ORSA de l’assureurNote de bas de page 18.

- FIN -

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le terme assureur désigne les assureurs fédéraux, y compris les succursales au Canada de sociétés étrangères d’assurance-vie et d’assurances multirisques, les sociétés de secours mutuels, les sociétés de portefeuille d’assurances réglementées et les sociétés d’assurances inactives.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Voir le site Web du BSIF (www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca) pour de plus amples renseignements à propos de son Cadre desurveillance, y compris les documents relatifs aux critères d'évaluation.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Le BSIF s’en remet à l’agent principal pour superviser la direction des succursales de sociétés étrangères qui exercent des activités au Canada. Dans le présent document, toute référence à une fonction du conseil d’administration d’une société étrangère qui exploite des succursales au Canada est réputée désigner une fonction de l’agent principal.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Dans la présente ligne directrice, les concepts applicables aux sociétés d’assurances et aux sociétés de secours mutuels englobent les concepts équivalents qui s’appliquent aux sociétés étrangères qui exercent des activités au Canada par l’entremise de succursales. Ainsi, par exemple, le concept de capital englobe la marge et l’actif net disponible pour ce qui est des succursales, le capital disponible englobe la marge disponible et le capital de catégorie 1 englobe la marge disponible, à l’exclusion des autres actifs admissibles.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Les niveaux minimaux et les niveaux cibles de capital réglementaire des assureurs-vie sont calculés en fonction du capital total et en fonction du noyau de capital, alors que pour les assureurs multirisques, ils sont calculés uniquement en fonction du capital total.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Le Guide en matière d’intervention à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance-vie  fédérales et le Guide de surveillances’appliquant aux sociétés d’assurances fédéralesse trouvent sur le site Web du BSIF.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Les lignes directrices sur le capital définissent les termes « capital disponible », « provision d’excédent », « dépôts admissibles », « capital minimal requis » et « coussin de solvabilité de base ».

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

Dans le cas des assureurs-vie, le TSAV prévoit des critères additionnels pour déterminer la composition du capital de catégorie 1, lequel n’englobe que les éléments de capital de la plus haute qualité.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8

Note de bas de page 9

Les cibles de surveillance ne s’appliquent pas aux sociétés de portefeuille d’assurances et aux sociétés d’assurances inactives.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 9

Note de bas de page 10

Le niveau minimum du noyau de capital des sociétés de portefeuille d’assurances d’assurance-vie et des sociétés d’assurance-vie inactives réglementées est de 50 %.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 10

Note de bas de page 11

La ligne directrice E-19, Évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité, énonce les principes et les attentes du BSIF à l’égard des cibles internes, déterminées dans le cadre du dispositif ORSA d’un assureur.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 11

Note de bas de page 12

Pour déterminer si les cibles internes dépassent les cibles de surveillance, les cibles internes devraient être exprimées en pourcentage du montant des exigences en matière de capital, puis comparées aux niveaux de capital réglementaire.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 12

Note de bas de page 13

Les garanties consenties par la société mère ou le siège social, les possibilités d’injections de capitaux dans l’avenir et les autres mesures susceptibles de modifier le profil commercial ou le profil de risque de l’assureur que pourrait prendre la direction n’interviennent pas, elles non plus dans le calcul des minima.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 13

Note de bas de page 14

Les succursales canadiennes de sociétés d’assurances multirisques doivent, au même titre que les assureurs multirisques canadiens, utiliser une fraction précise du capital et de l’excédent mondial de leur société mère pour calculer leurs exigences en matière de capital au titre du risque de tremblement de terre, qui fait partie des composantes de la cible de surveillance. Par conséquent, tant les assureurs multirisques canadiens que les succursales canadiennes de sociétés d’assurances multirisques étrangères peuvent inclure ces montants, dans la mesure prévue par le TCM, dans l’établissement de leurs cibles internes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 14

Note de bas de page 15

Dans un contexte de supervision, les ratios de capital d’un assureur, calculés conformément aux lignes directrices sur le capital, sont utilisés pour déterminer si ce dernier exerce ses activités à un niveau de capital d’exploitation au-delà de ses cibles internes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 15

Note de bas de page 16

D’après les prévisions financières ou d’autres rapports (p. ex., les projections de scénarios hautement probables) destinés à la haute direction, au conseil d’administration, aux investisseurs ou au public.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 16

Note de bas de page 17

Pour obtenir des précisions sur les liens entre le dispositif ORSA et la gestion des risques, la gestion du capital et les autres processus de gestion de l’assureur, prière de consulter la ligne directrice E-19, Évaluation interne desrisques et de la solvabilité, du BSIF.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 17

Note de bas de page 18

Cet examen devrait être effectué au moins chaque année, et plus fréquemment lorsque la situation le justifie.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 18