Large Exposure Limits

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Date: December 1994
  • No: B-2
  • Audiences: Banks / FBBs / T&L

This guideline addresses the issue of large credit risk exposures of banks, authorized foreign banks in respect of their business in Canada – foreign bank branches (FBBs), and federal trust and loan companies and sets out OSFI's policy with respect to limits on these exposures. In this guideline, the term "company" means banks and all federally regulated trust and loan companies. It applies individually to each company on a consolidated basis and to FBBs.

OSFI is concerned about concentrations of credit risk exposure to a person or a group of associated persons because if these loans cannot be recovered, the financial condition of the lender could be seriously affected.

Large exposures are subject to limits, notwithstanding the quality of security that underlies individual transactions. It is extremely difficult to establish, in all cases, with certainty and over time, the availability and value of security that underlies an exposure until the need to call upon it arises.

Limits on Large Exposures

All companies and authorized foreign banks are to set out in writing their internal policies on large exposures, including exposures to individual customers, financial institutions, and countries. These policies are also a requirement of the Prudent Person Approach, guideline B-1. Companies are also to have in place the management information and control systems necessary to give effect to their written policies on large exposures.

In addition, the following limits apply:

Banks, Authorized Foreign Banks, and Trust and Loan Companies

  • The aggregate exposure of a consolidated company or authorized foreign bank to any entity or a connection shall not exceed 25 per cent of total capital. Notwithstanding this limit, it is expected that companies and authorized foreign banks will establish lower internal limits and that the 25 per cent regulatory limit will be employed only on an exceptional basis. Total capital, as used in this and subsequent paragraphs, means the total capital of the company as defined in this guideline. In addition, OSFI expects that an authorized foreign bank will comply, at all times and on a consolidated basis, with the large exposure limits established by the regulator in its home jurisdiction.

Subsidiaries in Canada

  • A Canadian resident company that is the subsidiary of a parent bank, or a subsidiary of a regulated parent trust or loan company may have an exposure to any entity or connection that is no greater than 100 per cent of the total capital of the subsidiary. Notwithstanding this limit, it is expected subsidiary companies will establish lower internal limits and that the 100 per cent regulatory limit will be employed only on an exceptional basis.

  • These subsidiaries must notify the Superintendent of any exposure to one entity or connection that exceeds 50 per cent of their total capital no later than 10 working days after the exposure has been incurred. Exposures that increase to an amount greater than 50 per cent of capital because of changes in exchange rates need not be reported upon that occurrence, but will be reviewed as part of the examination process.

  • The 100 per cent of the total capital limit is contingent upon the following criteria being met:

    • the parent company is made aware of and has sanctioned exposures greater than 50 per cent of the total capital of the bank subsidiary or trust or loan company subsidiary;

    • the parent and the subsidiary are adequately supervised consistent with the minimum standards for supervision published by the Basle Committee on Banking Supervision in June 1992;

    • the parent company is, in the opinion of the Superintendent, a continuing source of financial strength for the subsidiary; and

    • there are no legal, regulatory, statutory or fiscal restrictions in the parent's home jurisdiction to obtaining capital from the parent in the event of losses.

Failure to meet all of the above conditions will result in the Superintendent reducing the limit to not lower than 25 per cent of the total capital of the company subsidiary.

Parent Guarantees

A company may not use a guarantee from its parent or an affiliate to reduce an exposure to an amount within the limits prescribed in this guideline.

Definitions

Total Capital

For the purposes of this guideline, total capital is the consolidated total capital of a company as defined for the purpose of calculating its risk-based capital adequacy ratio. In the case of FBBs, total capital is the BIS capital of the authorized foreign bank as defined by (reported to) the home country regulator.

Exposure

An exposure includes claims on an entity or connection comprising:

  • any draw-downs on arrangements for providing funds or credit including loans and advances, debt and equity securities, loan substitute securities, and financial leases;

    • all undrawn amounts of irrevocable advised credit commitments including, but not limited to:

      • standby letters of credit;
      • financial guarantees;
      • conditional sales contracts;
      • repurchase agreements;
      • fully underwritten lending commitments;
      • note issuance facilities; and
      • revolving underwriting facilities;
    • the credit equivalent amount of foreign exchange, interest rate, equity and commodity contracts calculated in accordance with the OSFI capital adequacy guideline, recognizing the net amount where transactions are subject to a legally valid contractual right of set-off.

An exposure excludes:

  • any deposits with, and debt obligations (including acceptances) of, banks, FBBs, trust and loan companies and cooperative credit associations that have a residual maturity of less than one year;

  • any deposits with a federally regulated Canadian parent bank, trust company or loan company;

  • foreign exchange, interest rate, equity and commodity contracts with banks, FBBs, trust and loan companies and cooperative credit associations with a residual maturity of less than one year;

  • all foreign exchange, interest rate, equity and commodity contracts with the regulated parent, regulated affiliate bank, or regulated affiliate trust or loan company in the normal course of business;

  • direct obligations of and that portion of obligations fully and unconditionally guaranteed by the Government of Canada, a Canadian province, OECD central governments, and bodies designated as public sector entities for capital adequacy ssessment purposes;

  • exposures to an entity that occur while a transaction is in the course of settlement, including daylight overdrafts;

  • exposures to an entity arising from purchases of Government of Canada securities, securities issued by a province of Canada or an OECD central government subject to an agreement that the seller will repurchase at the end of a stated period, provided that the purchasing bank, FBB, trust or loan company has obtained control of the securities that are to be repurchased;

  • loans of securities made in accordance with OSFI guidelines on securities lending and loans made to securities brokers and dealers that are fully collateralized by securities issued by the Government of Canada or by a province of Canada; and

  • commitments pursuant to an underwriting agreement to purchase a new issue of securities or a secondary issue of securities by a subsidiary that is a member of the Investment Dealers Association of Canada or regulated by a provincial securities commission and subject to the capital requirements for such underwriting agreements.

Exclusions from the definition of exposure must continue to be monitored by the company or FBB and be subjected to internal credit exposure limits defined by the company's or authorized foreign bank’s managementFootnote 1 and approved by the board of directors. In addition, any market risks associated with these exposures should also be incorporated into the company's over-all market risk measurement and control framework.

Control of Securities

Control of securities may be effected by a company or an FBB through the following methods:

  • acquiring possession of physical securities by direct delivery to the purchasing bank, trust or loan company of the certificates representing the securities;

  • delivery of either physical securities or book-entry securities to a third-party custodian designated by the purchasing company under a written custodial agreement that explicitly recognizes the purchasing company's interest in the securities as superior to that of any other person;

  • appropriate entry on the books of a third-party custodian acting pursuant to a tripartite agreement with the purchasing company and the seller, thereby ensuring adequate segregation and identification of either physical or book-entry securities; or

  • a substantially equivalent method.

Entity

An entity is a natural person, a body corporate, trust, partnership, fund, unincorporated association or organization, an agency of the Crown in right of Canada or of a province, and any agency of a foreign government.

Connection

A connection exists where two or more entities are a common risk. The exposures to the entities comprising a connection shall be aggregated for the purpose of applying limits on a company's large exposures.

Common Risk

Common risk is to be determined on a case-by-case basis, with reference to the material facts of the situation. The presence of either of the following conditions indicates a common risk:

  • the expected source of repayment is the same for each entity; or

  • the entities are part of a corporate group and there is material financial interdependence between the entities.

Expected Source of Repayment

The obligations of a partnership or joint venture and the obligations of each member of a partnership or joint venture shall be deemed to have the same source of repayment and will be aggregated as follows:

  • the exposure to each member of a general partnership shall include the obligations of the general partnership; and

  • the exposure to each member of a limited partnership or joint venture shall include their pro rata share of the obligations of the limited partnership or joint venture.

Corporate Group

Corporate group is defined to include an entity and all of its subsidiaries, whether they are owned directly or indirectly.

Financial Interdependence

Financial interdependence is to be assessed by companies or FBBs on a case-by-case basis taking into consideration intercompany funds movement and contractual agreements, including common security arrangements, guarantees and letters of comfort. An example of intercompany funds movements that indicate financial interdependence would be the reliance arising from a company in a corporate group obtaining more than 50 per cent of its gross receipts for the most recent 12 month period from another company in the corporate group.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

In the case of an FBB, the role of management shall be discharged by the principal officer in Canada and the role of the Board shall be discharged by a senior officer or committee of the foreign FRFI that has been delegated responsibility for the Canadian operations and that has the authority to approve the policies developed to comply with OSFI guidelines.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Limites régissant les engagements importants

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Date : Décembre 1994
  • No : B-2
  • Public : Banques / SBE / F&P

La présente ligne directrice traite des risques de crédit importants assumés par les banques, les banques étrangères autorisées en ce qui a trait à leurs affaires au Canada (succursales de banques étrangères, ou SBE) et les sociétés fédérales de fiducie et de prêt et de la politique du BSIF quant aux limites régissant ces engagements. Aux fins de la ligne directrice, le terme «société» s'entend d'une banque et de toute société de fiducie ou de prêt assujettie à la réglementation fédérale. La ligne directrice s'applique aux opérations consolidées de chacune d'entre elles, et aux SBE.

La concentration des engagements auprès d'une personne ou d'entités associées préoccupe le BSIF parce que si ces prêts devenaient irrécouvrables, la situation financière du prêteur pourrait être gravement compromise.

Les engagements importants sont assujettis à des limites, quelle que soit la qualité des biens donnés en nantissement dans chaque cas. Il est extrêmement difficile de toujours établir avec certitude et au fil du temps l'accès et la valeur des garanties qui sous-tendent un prêt au cas où son remboursement serait exigible.

Limites à l'égard des engagements importants

Toutes les sociétés doivent énoncer par écrit leur politique à l'égard des engagements importants, y compris en ce qui touche les prêts consentis aux particuliers, à d'autres institutions financières et à des pays. L'établissement de cette politique fait aussi partie des exigences de la Ligne directrice sur la méthode de la gestion prudente (B-1). Les sociétés doivent aussi instaurer les systèmes de gestion de l'information et de contrôle nécessaires pour l'application de leur politique.

En outre, les limites suivantes s'appliquent :

Banques, banques étrangères et sociétés de fiducie et de prêt

  • Le total des engagements d'une société consolidée ou d'une banque étrangère autorisée à l'égard d'une même entité ou d'entités associées ne peut excéder 25 p. 100 de l'ensemble des fonds propres. Nonobstant cette limite, le BSIF s'attend à ce que les sociétés et les banques étrangères autorisées établissent une limite inférieure et que la limite réglementaire de 25 p. 100 soit appliquée seulement exceptionnellement. L'expression «ensemble des fonds propres» utilisée ici correspond aux fonds propres tels que définis dans la présente ligne directrice. De plus, le BSIF s'attend à ce que les banques étrangères autorisées respectent, en tout temps et de manière consolidée, les limites régissant les engagements importants établies par l'organisme de réglementation compétent du pays d'origine.

Filiales au Canada

  • Les engagements d'une société résidant au Canada qui est la filiale d'une banque mère ou d'une société mère de fiducie ou de prêt réglementée, à l'égard d'une entité ou d'entités associées, ne peuvent excéder 100 p. 100 de l'ensemble des fonds propres de la filiale. Nonobstant cette limite, le BSIF s'attend à ce que les filiales établissent des limites internes moins élevées et qu'elles ne recourent à la limite réglementaire de 100 p. 100 que de façon exceptionnelle.

  • Lorsque les engagements à l'égard d'une entité ou d'entités associées dépassent 50 p. 100 de l'ensemble de leurs fonds propres, ces filiales doivent en aviser le surintendant dans les 10 jours ouvrables suivant la prise des engagements en question. Lorsque les engagements dépassent 50 p. 100 des fonds propres en raison d'une fluctuation des taux de change, il n'y a pas lieu de les déclarer sur-le- champ mais ces montants seront examinés dans le cadre du processus d'inspection.

  • La limite de 100 p. 100 s'applique si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

    • la société mère a été informée et a autorisé des engagements représentant plus de 50 p. 100 de l'ensemble des fonds propres de sa filiale;

    • la société mère et sa filiale font l'objet d'une surveillance adéquate en vertu des normes minimales de supervision établies par le Comité de Bâle des règles et pratiques de contrôle des opérations bancaires en juin 1992;

    • de l'avis du surintendant, la société mère demeure une source de stabilité financière pour sa filiale; et

    • aucune disposition d'ordre légal, réglementaire ou fiscal en vigueur dans le pays où se trouve le siège social de la société mère n'interdit à cette dernière d'avancer des fonds à sa filiale en cas de pertes.

Si toutes les conditions qui précèdent ne sont pas réunies, le surintendant réduira la limite, jusqu'à concurrence d'un seuil minimal de 25 p. 100 de l'ensemble des fonds propres de la filiale.

Garanties fournies par la société mère

Une société ne peut utiliser une garantie fournie par sa société mère ou une société du même groupe pour réduire ses engagements afin de les rendre conformes à la présente ligne directrice.

Définitions

Fonds propres

Pour l'application de cette ligne directrice, les fonds propres correspondent aux fonds propres consolidés d'une société tels que définis aux fins du calcul de son ratio de la suffisance des fonds propres à risque. Dans le cas d'une SBE, les fonds propres correspondent aux fonds BRI de la banque étrangère autorisée, selon la définition établie ou acceptée par l'organisme de réglementation compétent du pays d'origine.

Engagements

Les engagements englobent les créances à l'endroit d'une entité ou d'entités associées, notamment :

  • tout tirage visant à fournir des fonds ou une marge de crédit, y compris les prêts et les avances, les titres de créance et les titres de participation, les titres de substitut de prêt et les contrats de crédit-bail financier;

  • le solde inutilisé des engagements irrévocables, notamment :

    • les lettres de crédit de soutien;
    • les garanties de crédit financier;
    • les contrats de vente conditionnelle;
    • les accords de rachat;
    • les engagements relatifs aux prêts entièrement garantis;
    • les facilités d'émission d'effets; et
    • les facilités renouvelables à prise ferme;
  • le montant d'équivalent-crédit des contrats sur devises et sur taux d'intérêt, des contrats de titres et des contrats de marchandises calculé en application de la ligne directrice du BSIF sur les normes de fonds propres et reconnaissant le montant net lorsque les opérations sont assujetties à un droit contractuel de compensation prévu par la loi.

Les engagements excluent :

  • les dépôts ou les titres de créance (y compris les acceptations), dont l'échéance résiduelle est inférieure à un an, auprès de ou pris à l'égard d'une banque, d’une SBE, d'une société de fiducie ou de prêt, ou d'une association coopérative de crédit;

  • les dépôts auprès d'une banque, d'une société de prêt ou d'une société de fiducie mère canadienne assujettie à la réglementation fédérale;

  • les contrats sur devises et sur taux d'intérêt, les contrats de titres et les contrats de marchandises, dont l'échéance résiduelle est inférieure à un an, conclus avec une banque, une SBE, une société de fiducie ou de prêt ou une association coopérative de crédit;

  • les contrats sur devises et sur taux d'intérêt, les contrats de titres et les contrats de marchandises passés dans le cours normal des affaires avec la société mère réglementée, ou une banque ou société de fiducie ou de prêt réglementée faisant partie du même groupe;

  • les engagements directs du gouvernement du Canada ou d'une province, des administrations centrales des pays de l'OCDE et des organismes publics au sens des normes de fonds propres, de même que la fraction des engagements entièrement garantie par ces derniers;

  • les engagements pris à l'égard d'une entité lorsqu'une transaction est en cours de règlement, y compris les découverts d'un jour;

  • les engagements auprès d'une entité découlant de l'achat de titres du gouvernement du Canada, d'une province ou d'une administration centrale d'un pays membre de l'OCDE en vertu d'un accord prévoyant le rachat par le vendeur à la fin d'une période déterminée, à la condition que la banque, la SBE ou la société de fiducie ou de prêt acheteuse ait pris le contrôle des titres devant être rachetés;

  • les prêts de titres conformes aux lignes directrices du BSIF à cet égard, de même que les prêts consentis aux courtiers et aux négociants entièrement garantis par des titres émis par le gouvernement du Canada ou par une province; et

  • les engagements relatifs à un accord de souscription prévoyant l'achat d'une nouvelle émission de titres ou d'une deuxième émission par une filiale membre de l'Association canadienne des courtiers en valeurs mobilières, ou assujettie à la réglementation d'une commission des valeurs mobilières provinciale, sous réserve des modalités de capitalisation des accords de souscription.

Les exclusions de la définition des engagements doivent être surveillées par la société ou la SBE et sont assujetties à des limites internes en matière de crédit établies par ses dirigeantsNote de bas de page 1 et approuvées par son conseil d'administrationNote de bas de page 1. En outre, tout risque de marché lié à ces engagements doit être intégré au cadre global d'évaluation et de contrôle des risques de marché de la société.

Contrôle des titres

La société ou la SBE peut utiliser l'une des méthodes suivantes pour effectuer le contrôle des titres :

  • prendre possession des titres en livrant directement à la société acheteuse les certificats représentant les titres;

  • confier les titres ou un certificat attestant de leur existence à un tiers désigné par la société acheteuse aux termes d'un accord écrit de prise en dépôt stipulant expressément que la participation de la société acheteuse dans les titres prime sur celle de toute autre personne;

  • consigner adéquatement les titres dans les livres d'un tiers agissant comme dépositaire dans le cadre d'un accord tripartite signé avec la société acheteuse et le vendeur, garantissant ainsi la ségrégation et l'identification adéquates des titres eux-mêmes ou des certificats attestant de leur existence; ou

  • toute autre méthode essentiellement équivalente.

Entité

Une entité désigne une personne physique ou morale, une fiducie, une société de personnes, un fonds, une association ou un organisme non constitué en société, un mandataire de Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou d'une province et toute agence d'un gouvernement étranger.

Associées

Deux ou plusieurs entités sont dites associées lorsqu'elles sont réputées constituer un même risque (mise en commun des risques). Les engagements en faveur d'entités associées doivent être groupés pour l'application des limites visant les engagements importants d'une société.

Mise en commun des risques

La mise en commun des risques doit être déterminée cas par cas en fonction des circonstances. Il y a mise en commun des risques dès que l'une des conditions suivantes est remplie :

  • la source prévue de remboursement est la même pour chaque entité; et

  • les entités relèvent d'un groupe de sociétés et sont essentiellement interdépendantes sur le plan financier.

Source prévue de remboursement

Les obligations d'une société de personnes ou d'une coentreprise et celles de chacun des associés de la société de personne ou des membres de la coentreprise sont réputées avoir la même source prévue de remboursement et sont regroupées comme suit :

  • les engagements en faveur de chacun des associés d'une société en nom collectif comprennent ceux de la société en nom collectif; et

  • les engagements en faveur de chacun des associés d'une société en commandite et des membres d'une coentreprise comprennent leur part, calculée au prorata, de ceux de la société en commandite ou de la coentreprise.

Groupe de sociétés

Un groupe de sociétés s'entend d'une entité et de toutes ses filiales en propriété directe ou indirecte.

Interdépendance financière

Les sociétés et des SBE doivent évaluer l'interdépendance financière cas par cas en fonction des mouvements de fonds interentreprises et des ententes contractuelles, y compris les ententes de garanties communes, les garanties et les lettres de confort. À titre d'exemple d'un mouvement de fonds interentreprises dénotant l'interdépendance financière, citons le cas d'une société faisant partie d'un groupe de sociétés qui tire plus de 50 p. 100 de ses recettes brutes pour la période de 12 mois la plus récente d'une autre société appartenant au même groupe.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Dans le cas d'une SBE, le rôle de la direction doit être confié à l'administrateur principal au Canada et le rôle du conseil d'administration, au mandant principal ou au comité de l'IFF étrangère responsable des activités au Canada et ayant l'autorité nécessaire pour approuver les politiques élaborées en vue d'assurer la conformité aux lignes directrices du BSIF.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1