Securities Lending

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Date: September 1996
  • No: B-4
  • Audiences: Banks / FBBs / T&L / Co-op

This guideline sets out prudential considerations relating to the lending of securities by federally regulated banks, authorized foreign banks in respect of their business in Canada (foreign bank branches - FBBs), trust and loan companies and cooperative credit associations ("financial institutions").

Introduction

Traditionally, security loans have been short term transactions designed to assist the liquidity of securities markets by enabling dealers/brokers to cover failed deliveries or short sales. However, some security loans may also have been undertaken for longer terms in which liquidity is a secondary consideration. Financial institutions should be fully cognizant of the additional risks stemming from such longer term transactions and should ensure that they have the systems and controls in place to identify and control these risks.

Financial institutions should ensure that securities lending activities are conducted in a safe and prudent manner and they should seek appropriate professional advice to ensure that controls and procedures are comprehensive and sound.

Collateral

Financial institutions should at all times hold adequate collateral to protect themselves against the risks associated with securities lending.

The amount of collateral taken for securities lending should reflect best practices in local markets. In Canada, the current market practice is to obtain collateral of at least 102Footnote 1 per cent of the market value of the securities lent. Management is expected to ensure that the margin of collateral in excess of market value of securities lent is appropriate at all times. This margin should provide adequate protection against volatility and liquidity problems that may arise for securities lent and for securities held as collateral. Both loaned and collateral securities should be "marked to market" at least daily. Shortfalls in the amount of collateral should be rectified immediately.

A financial institution's policy on acceptable collateral should be consistent with the financial institution's overall investment policies as established by the board of directors. Accordingly, financial institutions should only take securities as collateral that are acceptable as a direct investment.

For securities lending within North America, eligible collateral should be readily marketable and would normally be restricted to the following assets, denominated in Canadian or U.S. dollars:

  • cash;

  • widely-traded debt instruments having a rating of single A (or the equivalent) or higher from a recognized, widely followed North American credit rating agency;

  • commercial paper rated A-1 or R-1 or the equivalent by a recognized, widely followed North American credit rating agency;

  • acceptances of banks and trust and loan companies whose short-term deposits are rated A-1 or R-1 or the equivalent by a recognized, widely followed North American credit rating agency; and

  • high quality common and preferred shares.

Eligible collateral also includes:

  • unconditional, irrevocable letters of credit that comply with the standards of the International Chamber of Commerce and which are issued by banks and trust and loan companies whose short-term deposits are rated A-1 or R-1 or the equivalent by a recognized, widely followed North American credit rating agency; and

  • unconditional and irrevocable guarantees of banks and trust and loan companies whose short-term deposits are rated A-1 or R-1 or the equivalent by a recognized, widely followed North American credit rating agency.

Convertible preferred shares and convertible debt instruments may be taken as collateral when they are immediately convertible into the underlying security lent.

Securities lending activities in Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) countries other than Canada and the U.S. should be in accordance with the above criteria, but financial institutions may also accept collateral denominated in the currency of the country in which the lending occurs, and debt instruments issued by that country's central government.

Controls and Records

Financial institutions should ensure that they have appropriate internal controls, procedures and records in place. Controls should include a list of approved borrowers, consistent with the financial institution's lending policies that are based on generally accepted credit worthiness standards with specified lending limits for each borrower. The list should be:

  • available at all times to the personnel responsible for administering the securities lending program; and

  • reviewed regularly by appropriate senior management.

The financial institution's board of directors (or a committee designated by the board and reporting to the board)Footnote 2 should, at least annually, review and approve:

  • the general credit worthiness standards used in establishing the list of approved borrowers which should be consistent with the financial institution's overall lending policies as established by the board; and

  • overall and individual securities lending limits. These limits should take into account other exposures established by the board.

External or internal auditors should verify at appropriate intervals:

  • that the list of borrowers conforms to the criteria established by the board (or a committee designated by the board and reporting to the board);

  • that securities accepted as collateral are consistent with the overall investment policies established by the board of directors; and

  • the existence of securities lent and taken as collateral.

A designated senior manager of the financial institution should receive regular, comprehensive and timely reports summarizing the financial institution's securities lending activities to allow the manager to judge whether the activities are being properly administered.

Use of an Agent

A financial institution may employ an agent for the administration of its securities lending program. The financial institution's board of directors (or a committee designated by the board and reporting to the board) should approve the choice of an agent. The agent selected should be an institution that can demonstrate an ability to perform the required duties in a competent and responsible manner. Administrative and reporting arrangements satisfactory to the financial institution should be clearly set out and agreed to in writing.

Other Considerations

A financial institution should enter into a legally binding master agreement with each borrower establishing the basis for all security loans between the two parties. When an agent is involved, there should be a master agreement between the financial institution and agent as well as a master agreement between borrower and agent. The agreement(s) should set out the rights and obligations of all parties including the right to immediate set-off for the financial institution (or agent acting for the financial institution) in the event of the borrower's failure to return the securities as specified in contractual arrangements.

Financial institutions should ensure that they are in compliance with applicable Protection of Assets Regulations.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Revised in April 2007 from 105% to reflect current market practice at that time. Since this figure is subject to local market conditions, it fluctuates over time. As such, institutions are expected to monitor current market practice and adjust their policies to at least meet current market practice.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

In the case of an FBB, the role of the Board shall be discharged by a senior officer or committee of the authorized foreign bank that has been delegated responsibility for the Canadian operations and that has the authority to approve the policies developed to comply with OSFI guidelines.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Prêts de titres

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Date : Septembre 1996
  • No : B-4
  • Public : Banques / SBE / F&P / Coop

La présente ligne directrice énonce les considérations de prudence relativement aux prêts de titres consentis par les banques, les banques étrangères autorisées en ce qui a trait à leurs affaires au Canada (succursales de banques étrangères, ou SBE), les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt et les associations coopératives de crédit réglementées par le gouvernement fédéral («institutions financières»).

Introduction

Les prêts de titres sont habituellement des opérations à court terme servant à assurer la liquidité des marchés des valeurs mobilières en permettant aux courtiers de couvrir les défauts de livraison et les ventes à découvert. Il semble que certains prêts de titres ont été consentis à plus longue échéance et que la liquidité des marchés n'ait été qu'une considération secondaire dans ces cas-là. Les institutions financières doivent avoir pleinement conscience des risques supplémentaires que comportent pareilles opérations à long terme et s'assurer qu'ils disposent des systèmes et des contrôles requis pour déterminer et maîtriser ces risques.

Les institutions financières doivent s'assurer que ces activités sont menées de façon sûre et prudente et obtenir des avis professionnels appropriés afin d'assurer des contrôles et méthodes exhaustifs et solides.

Biens donnés en nantissement

Les institutions financières doivent toujours détenir des biens en nantissement satisfaisants pour se protéger contre les risques que comportent les prêts de titres.

Le montant des biens donnés en nantissement pour les titres prêtés doit être conforme aux meilleures pratiques observées sur les marchés locaux. Au Canada, la pratique observée actuellement est d'obtenir en nantissement des biens valant au moins 102 p. 100Note de bas de page 1 de la valeur marchande des titres prêtés. Les gestionnaires doivent veiller à ce que la marge excédentaire de la valeur des biens donnés en nantissement par rapport à la valeur des titres prêtés soit suffisante en tout temps. Cette marge doit fournir une protection suffisante contre les problèmes de volatilité et de liquidité qui pourraient toucher les titres prêtés et les titres donnés en nantissement. Les titres prêtés et ceux donnés en nantissement doivent être «évalués au marché» au moins à tous les jours. Les écarts des marges doivent être rectifiés immédiatement.

La politique d'une institution financière en ce qui touche la suffisance des biens donnés en nantissement doit être compatible avec l'ensemble des politiques d'investissement établies par le conseil d'administration. En conséquence, les institutions financières ne doivent accepter en nantissement que des biens convenables à titre d'investissements directs.

En ce qui concerne les prêts de titres consentis en Amérique du Nord, les biens donnés en nantissement admissibles doivent être facilement négociables et normalement être restreints aux éléments d'actif suivants, en devise canadienne ou américaine :

  • l'argent comptant;

  • les titres de créance cotés A ou plus ou l'équivalent par une agence de notation largement reconnue de l'Amérique du Nord;

  • les effets commerciaux cotés A-1 ou R-1 ou l'équivalent par une agence de notation largement reconnue de l'Amérique du Nord;

  • les acceptations des banques et des sociétés de fiducie et de prêt dont les dépôts à court terme sont cotés A-1 ou R-1 ou l'équivalent par une agence de notation largement reconnue de l'Amérique du Nord;

  • les actions ordinaires et privilégiées de grande qualité.

Sont également acceptés en nantissement :

  • les lettres de crédit absolues et irrévocables qui sont conformes aux normes de la Chambre de commerce internationale et qui sont émises par des banques et des sociétés de fiducie et de prêt dont les dépôts à court terme sont cotés A-1 ou R-1 ou l'équivalent par une agence de notation largement reconnue de l'Amérique du Nord;

  • les garanties absolues et irrévocables des banques et des sociétés de fiducie et de prêt dont les dépôts à court terme sont cotés A-1 ou R-1 ou l'équivalent par une agence de notation largement reconnue de l'Amérique du Nord.

Les actions privilégiées convertibles et les titres de créance convertibles peuvent également être donnés en nantissement lorsqu'ils peuvent être immédiatement échangés contre des titres sous- jacents qui font l'objet du prêt.

Les activités de prêts de titres au sein des pays membres de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDÉ) autres que le Canada et les États-Unis doivent être effectuées selon les mêmes critères énoncés ci-haut. Cependant, les institutions financières peuvent également accepter des biens en nantissement dans les devises des pays hôtes de même que les titres de créance émis par le gouvernement central de chaque pays hôte.

Contrôles et registres

Les institutions financières doivent s'assurer qu'ils disposent des contrôles internes, des dossiers, et des méthodes appropriés. Les contrôles doivent comprendre une liste des emprunteurs approuvés qui soit compatible avec les politiques de prêt de l'institution financière, lesquelles sont fondées sur les normes de solvabilité généralement admises et précisent les limites d'emprunt de chaque emprunteur. La liste doit :

  • être mise à la disposition en tout temps du personnel chargé de l'administration du programme de prêts de titres;

  • être examinée régulièrement par les gestionnaires supérieurs compétents.

Le conseil d'administration de l'institution financière (ou un comité désigné par le conseil et relevant de ce dernier)Note de bas de page 2 doit, au moins une fois par année, examiner et approuver :

  • les normes de solvabilité généralement admises utilisées pour établir la liste des emprunteurs approuvés, qui doit être compatible avec les politiques globales de l'institution financière en matière de prêts établies par le conseil d'administration;

  • les limites globales et individuelles des prêts. Ces limites doivent tenir compte d'autres risques déterminés par le conseil.

Des vérificateurs internes ou externes doivent vérifier à des intervalles réguliers :

  • si la liste des emprunteurs est conforme aux critères établis par le conseil (ou un comité désigné par le conseil et relevant de ce dernier);

  • si les titres acceptés en nantissement sont compatibles avec les politiques globales d'investissement établies par le conseil d'administration;

  • l'existence des titres prêtés et acceptés en nantissement.

Un gestionnaire supérieur désigné de l'institution financière doit recevoir régulièrement des rapports exhaustifs et opportuns résumant les activités de prêts de titres de l'institution financière afin de pouvoir déterminer si les activités sont administrées convenablement.

Recours à un mandataire

Une institution financière peut choisir de retenir les services d'un mandataire afin d'administrer son programme de prêts de titres. Le conseil d'administration (ou un comité désigné par le conseil et relevant de ce dernier) doit approuver le choix du mandataire. Le mandataire choisi doit être une institution qui peut démontrer qu'elle est capable de s'acquitter des fonctions dans les délais impartis et de façon exacte. Des ententes concernant l'administration et la présentation des rapports qui satisfont l'institution financière doivent être clairement exposées et convenues par écrit.

Autres considérations

Les institutions financières doivent conclure une entente cadre irrévocable avec chaque emprunteur, établissant le fondement de tous les prêts de titres entre les deux parties. Lorsqu'un mandataire est embauché, une entente cadre doit être conclue entre l'institution financière et le mandataire ainsi qu'entre l'emprunteur et le mandataire. L'entente doit exposer les droits et les obligations de toutes les parties, dont le droit à une compensation immédiate pour l'institution financière (ou le mandataire représentant l'institution financière) si l'emprunteur omet de retourner les titres de la façon précisée dans les ententes contractuelles.

Les institutions financières doivent s'assurer qu'ils observent le Règlement sur la protection de l'actif.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Était de 105 % à l’origine. En avril 2007, a été réduit à 102 p. 100 pour refléter les conditions du marché qui prévalaient alors. Étant assujetti aux conditions locales, ce chiffre peut fluctuer avec le temps. On s’attend par conséquent à ce que les institutions suivent de près l’évolution des conditions et rajustent leurs politiques de façon à se conformer à tout le moins aux pratiques courantes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Dans le cas d’une SBE, le rôle de la direction doit être confié à l’administrateur principal au Canada et le rôle du conseil d’administration, au mandant principal ou au comité de l’IFF étrangère responsable des activités au Canada et ayant l’autorité nécessaire pour approuver les politiques élaborées en vue d’assurer la conformité aux lignes directrices du BSIF.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2