Asset Securitization by Foreign Bank Branches

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Date: January 2000
  • No: B-5A
  • Audiences: FBBs

This guideline outlines the regulatory framework for asset securitization transactions and for other types of asset transfers with recourse. The guideline is derived from the Asset Securitization guideline that applies to all other federally regulated financial institutions. However, the capital requirements of the Asset Securitization guideline have been removed in order to recognize the fact that the capital adequacy requirements for authorized foreign banks in respect of their business in Canada - foreign bank branches (FBBs) are the capital adequacy rules of the authorized foreign bank's home jurisdiction.

The purpose of the guideline is to ensure that FBBs follow sound practices to protect themselves against risks arising as a result of asset securitization transactions and to insulate themselves to the extent possible from any moral recourse obligations. OSFI's accounting requirements for asset securitizations and for other transfers of financial assets with recourse are set out in guideline D-4.

The guideline does not apply to NHA-insured mortgage-backed securities transactions which are the subject of guideline D-3 Accounting for NHA-insured Mortgage-backed Securities.

Roles Performed by an FBB

Asset securitization involves pooling groups of assets, such as mortgages, trade or credit card receivables, automobile leases, and consumer loans, and financing them with securities that are sold to investors.

An FBB may assume one or more functions in an asset securitization transaction. It may:

  • set up or cause to be set up a special purpose vehicle to purchase assets and issue securities;

  • act as a servicing agent - i.e., structure the transaction, analyse the assets, perform due diligence and credit reviews, and monitor the credit quality of the portfolio;

  • collect interest and principal payments on the assets and transmit those funds to investors (or a trustee representing them);

  • be the supplier of the assets that are securitized;

  • provide some form of credit support by such means as a guarantee, asset repurchase agreement, subordinated standby line of credit or subordinated debt; and

  • provide liquidity support to the special purpose vehicle on an unsubordinated basis.

  • Through its own trading and distribution activities or securities subsidiary, an FBB may also act as underwriter. This function is not addressed in this guideline.

Setting up a Special Purpose Vehicle

In a typical securitization transaction a special purpose vehicle is used to purchase assets and issue securities. To minimize its exposure to risk with respect to the special purpose vehicle, an FBB must meet the following conditions.

The FBB may not:

  • own any share capital in a company, or be the beneficiary of a trust, used as a vehicle for purchasing and securitizing financial assets. For this purpose, share capital includes all classes of common and preferred share capital;

  • include the name of the FBB in the name of a company, or trust, used as such a vehicle or imply any connection with the FBB, for example, by using a symbol closely associated with the FBB. If, however, the FBB is performing a specific function for a particular transaction or transactions (e.g., acting as the servicing agent or credit enhancer) this may be indicated in the offering circular (subject to the Name Use Regulations);

  • have any of its directors, officers or employees on the board of a company used as such a vehicle unless the board is made up of at least three members. Where the board consists of three or more members, the FBB may not have more than one director. Where the special purpose vehicle is a trust, the beneficiary and the indenture trustee and/or the issuer trustee must be independent third parties;

  • lend to the vehicle on a subordinated basis, except as otherwise provided herein; or

  • support, except as provided for elsewhere in this guideline, any losses suffered by the asset securitization issue or investors in it or bear any of the recurring expenses of the scheme. However, the FBB may enter into interest or exchange rate swap, cap, floor or similar agreements at market terms with the vehicle.

The terms and conditions of all transactions between the FBB and the vehicle must be approved by the FBB's principal officer in Canada to ensure that such transactions are at least at market terms and conditions (and paid in a timely manner). The principal officer may delegate authority to another senior officer/committee to approve individual transactions within a general arrangement approved by the principal officer.

Acting as a Servicing Agent

An FBB may act as servicing agent to a special purpose vehicle. In this role it structures transactions, analyses the assets, performs due diligence and credit reviews, and monitors the credit quality of the portfolio. An FBB acting as the servicing agent must comply with the conditions specified for an FBB setting up a special purpose vehicle. In addition, the FBB must:

  • have evidence available in its records that its legal advisers are satisfied that the terms of the asset securitization issue protect it from any liability to investors in the scheme or the vehicle (except normal contractual obligations relating to its role as servicing agent);

  • ensure that any offering circular contains a highly visible, unequivocal statement that the FBB, serving in this capacity, does not stand behind the issue or the vehicle and will not make good any losses in the portfolio; and

  • ensure that a fee that is at least at market terms and conditions is charged for the services performed.

Collecting and Transmitting Payments

  • The conditions specified for an FBB acting as a servicing agent also apply to an FBB that collects interest and principal payments on the underlying assets and transmits these funds to investors (or a trustee representing them). In addition, the FBB, in taking on this function, must:

  • be under no obligation to remit funds to the special purpose vehicle or the investors in the securities unless and until they are received from the obligor; and

  • not provide temporary finance to cover cash shortfalls arising from non-performance of loans it administers or delayed payments, except for reasons of mechanical disruptionFootnote 1 in the payment system.

Acting as the Supplier of the Assets

When an FBB transfers its own assets to a special purpose vehicle for securitization, the transfer can be treated as a sale and the assets removed from the balance sheet if the transaction meets the Office's general criteria for sales treatment (See guideline D-4.) An FBB that does not meet the criteria must keep the assets on its books for reporting purposes. In addition, an FBB that is the supplier of the assets may need to finance an increase in assets on its balance sheet as a result of early amortization or maturity events. If OSFI finds the FBB’s planning inadequate, it will bring its concerns to the attention of the principal officer who should take appropriate action to correct the deficiency.

Early amortization cannot be precipitated by regulatory actions affecting the supplier.

Providing First Loss Protection Facilities

First loss protection (first loss facility) is a facility designed to cover the first level of losses or first level of financial support for the underlying assets in the pool, the performance of the vehicle or the instruments issued to investors. Common examples of these facilities include overcollateralization, recourse provisions, senior/subordinated security structures, subordinated standby lines of credit, subordinated loans, third party equity, commitments to purchase assets in default and any arrangement that defers receipt of sales proceeds such as spread accounts. A first loss facility is often provided by the supplier of the assets but may be provided by a third party.

Pursuant to Guideline B-5, banks and trust and loan companies providing first loss facilities are required to deduct the amount of each facility from total capital for capital adequacy purposes to the extent that there has not been a provision, or a deferral of a gain or the recognition of a loss on sale, under guideline D-4. The amount deducted from total capital for banks and trust and loan companies in calculating the risk based capital adequacy and the assets-to-capital multiple requirements, will be limited to the capital that would have been required under each test had the assets remained on the balance sheet, or otherwise been the property, of the institution.

As an FBB does not have its own capital, it is required to adjust its on-balance sheet assets by an amount equivalent to the assets that would have to remain on its balance sheet or otherwise be its property based on the application of the approach described in the previous paragraph.

A first loss facility would be considered significant if it meets the following conditions:

  • there is a documented and reliable credit history of at least a full business cycle for the specific type of assets in each underlying pool;

  • the FBB's credit process properly assesses the credit and other risks in accordance with its standard credit policy for arm's-length counterparties; and

  • the facility adequately covers the expected losses in any foreseeable situation.

Providing Enhancement Facilities

An enhancement facility (enhancement) is a facility that is designed to absorb losses and reduce risks for investors and the liquidity provider. It must explicitly benefit from the protection of the subordinated first loss facility. To explicitly benefit from the protection of a first loss facility, the first loss facility must cover all of the risks to which the credit enhancement is exposed. Enhancements may apply to specific assets of a single seller, pools of assets in a multi-seller vehicle, the performance of a vehicle or the instruments issued to investors. Common examples of these facilities include recourse provisions, senior/subordinated security structures, subordinated standby lines of credit, subordinated loans, third party equity and third party commitments to purchase assets in default. Enhancements may be provided by the supplier of the assets or a third party.

Where the FBB is not the supplier of the assets

Where an FBB that is not the supplier of the assets provides an enhancement, the facility can be considered a direct credit substitute (or an on-balance sheet asset at its face value) if it is protected by a significant first loss facility provided by an independent party. If this facility does not meet this condition it will be considered a first loss facility.

Where the FBB is the supplier of the assets

Where an FBB that is the supplier of the assets, or where a regulated affiliate of the FBB that is the supplier of the assets, provides an enhancement, or both a first loss facility and an enhancement, the facilities will be considered first loss facilities.

Providing Liquidity Facilities

A liquidity facility for the purposes of this guideline must explicitly benefit from the protection of a significant subordinated enhancement and should include a clause that causes it to be reduced or terminated if the quality of the assets deteriorates. Liquidity support to the special purpose vehicle provides investors with assurance of timely payment in case of market disruption. A common example of a liquidity facility is a commitment to lend to the vehicle during the normal course of business. It can be provided by an independent third party or a party that assumes another function in the transaction. An independent party must be involved in the provision of the liquidity facility and/or the enhancement to ensure that there is a clear separation between them.

Where the FBB is not the supplier of the assets

Where an FBB is not the supplier of the assets and there is a significant enhancement provided by a third party that meets the conditions for treatment as an enhancement and protects the liquidity facility from loss, the facility will be recorded based on the definitions for off-balance sheet instrumentsFootnote 2.

Where an FBB is not the supplier and there is no enhancement or it is insignificant, the liquidity facility will be recorded based on the definitions for off-balance sheet instrumentsFootnote 2 if the following conditions are met:

  • at least 25% of the liquidity facility is participated to an independent third party on a pro-rata basis; and

  • the first loss facility provided by an independent third party protects the liquidity facility from the risk of loss in any situation.

If these conditions are not met the liquidity facility will be considered equivalent to an enhancement if it meets the conditions specified above for an FBB providing an enhancement. If it does not meet the conditions for treatment as an enhancement, the liquidity facility will be considered to be a first loss facility.

Where an FBB is not the supplier of the assets and provides both the enhancement and the liquidity under separate facilities, the enhancement will be treated as an enhancement if it meets the conditions for that facility, is significant and it protects the liquidity facility from loss. The liquidity facility will be treated as an off-balance sheet instrumentFootnote 3 under the capital adequacy rules as long as:

  • at least 25% of the liquidity facility or at least 25% of the enhancement is provided by an independent third party; or

  • at least 25% of the liquidity facility is participated to an independent third party on a pro-rata basis (pro-rata participation) and at least 25% of the enhancement is provided by other parties, and the amount of enhancement provided by other parties represents a distinct layer of enhancement, coming after the first loss protection and the lead institution's enhancement.

If this is not done, the liquidity facility may qualify to be an enhancement if it meets the conditions for that facility.

Where an FBB is not the supplier of the assets in a multi-seller vehicle and provides both the enhancement and the liquidity under separate facilities, an enhancement for one pool of assets (direct enhancement) may cross-collateralize other pools of assets in the vehicle. The level of the direct enhancement must be consistent across all pools of assets based on their risk profile and the direct enhancement must be significant and protect the cross-collateralized amount from loss. If these conditions are met, the above pro-rata participation requirements will apply on an individual pool basis exclusive of any cross-collateralization. If these conditions are not met, the cross- collateralized amount will be included in applying the pro-rata participation requirements.

Where the FBB is the supplier of the assets

Where an FBB is the supplier of the assets and an enhancement is provided by a third party, at least 25% of the liquidity facility must be participated to an independent third party on a pro-rata basis to be treated as an off-balance sheet instrument. If there is no pro-rata participation the liquidity facility will be considered to be a first loss facility.

Where an FBB is the supplier of the assets and there is no enhancement and an FBB or regulated affiliate provides liquidity support or where the FBB or affiliate provides both an enhancement and liquidity, these facilities would be considered first loss facilities.

Where an FBB is the supplier of the assets and there is no enhancement the liquidity facility will be recorded based on the definitions for off-balance sheet instrumentsFootnote 2 if the following conditions are met:

  • at least 25% of the liquidity facility is participated to an independent third party on a pro-rata basis; and

  • the first loss facility provided by an independent third party protects the liquidity facility from the risk of loss in any situation.

If these conditions are not all met, the liquidity facility will be considered to be a first loss facility.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

A mechanical disruption is defined as a breakdown resulting from a "force majeure" such as an interruption in the power supply, a computer system failure or an act of nature.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

As defined in the Capital Adequacy Guideline.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Pursuant to the capital adequacy rules set forth in the Capital Adequacy Guideline.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Titrisation de l'actif par les succursales de banques étrangères autorisées

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Date : Janvier 2000
  • No : B-5A
  • Public : SBE

La présente ligne directrice expose le cadre de réglementation régissant les opérations de titrisation de l'actif et d'autres genres de transferts d'actifs avec recours. Elle est issue de la ligne directrice sur la titrisation de l'actif qui s'applique à toutes les autres institutions financières fédérales. Toutefois, les exigences en matière de fonds propres énumérées dans la ligne directrice sur la titrisation de l'actif ont été supprimées, de manière à tenir compte du fait que ces exigences à l égard des banques étrangères autorisées en ce qui a trait à leurs affaires au Canada (succursales des banques étrangères, ou SBE), correspondent à celles qui ont été établies par l'autorité compétente du pays d'origine.

Le présent document a pour but de veiller à ce que les SBE adoptent des méthodes sûres pour se protéger des risques découlant des opérations de titrisation de l actif et, dans la mesure du possible, de toute obligation morale. Les exigences comptables du BSIF au chapitre de la titrisation de l'actif et du transfert d'autres actifs financiers avec recours sont énoncées dans la ligne directrice D-4.

La présente ligne directrice ne traite pas des titres hypothécaires LNH, lesquels sont visés par la ligne directrice D-3, Comptabilisation des titres hypothécaires LNH.

Fonctions d'une SBE

La titrisation de l'actif consiste à former des blocs d'actifs, par exemple des hypothèques, des comptes clients, des comptes débiteurs de cartes de crédit ou de contrats de crédit-bail d'automobiles, ou encore des prêts à la consommation, et à les financer en émettant des titres qui sont achetés par des investisseurs.

Une SBE peut assumer diverses fonctions dans une opération de titrisation de l'actif. Elle peut :

  • constituer ou faire constituer un fonds commun de créances pour acheter des actifs et émettre des titres;

  • faire fonction d'agent, c'est-à-dire structurer l'opération, analyser les actifs, effectuer les examens de diligence raisonnable et de crédit, et contrôler la qualité du portefeuille de créances;

  • percevoir les paiements d'intérêt et de principal sur les actifs et les transmettre aux investisseurs (ou à un fiduciaire les représentant);

  • fournir les actifs faisant l'objet de l'opération de titrisation;

  • fournir une certaine forme de soutien au crédit par le biais, par exemple, d'une garantie, d'un accord de rachat des actifs, d'une ligne de crédit subordonnée ou d'une créance subordonnée;

  • fournir au fonds commun de créances un concours de trésorerie non subordonné.

Une SBE peut également faire fonction de preneur ferme, dans le cadre de ses propres activités de négoce et de distribution ou par l'entremise d'une filiale de courtage, mais cette fonction ne sera pas abordée ici.

Établissement d'un fonds commun de créances

Dans une opération type de titrisation, un fonds commun de créances est mis sur pied afin d'acheter des actifs et d'émettre des titres. Pour réduire au minimum les risques que lui fait courir un fonds commun de créances, la SBE doit répondre aux conditions suivantes.

La SBE ne peut :

  • participer au capital-actions de la société - ou être la bénéficiaire de la fiducie - qui sert à acheter et à titriser les avoirs financiers. Pour l'application de cette règle, le capital- actions s'entend de toutes les catégories d'actions ordinaires et privilégiées;

  • intégrer sa raison sociale à celle de la société ou de la fiducie utilisée pour établir le fonds commun de créances, ou laisser entendre qu'il existe un lien entre elle et la société ou la fiducie en question, par exemple en utilisant un symbole étroitement lié à elle. Si, toutefois, elle joue un rôle précis à l'égard d'une ou de plusieurs opérations particulières (p. ex. en jouant le rôle d'agent ou de soutien au crédit), elle peut l'indiquer dans le prospectus (sous réserve des dispositions du règlement sur l'utilisation des raisons sociales);

  • être représentée par l'un de ses administrateurs, dirigeants ou employés au conseil d'administration d'une société utilisée pour établir le fonds commun, à moins que ledit conseil soit composé d'au moins trois administrateurs. Si le conseil est composé d'au moins trois administrateurs, la SBE ne peut être représentée par plus d'un administrateur. Lorsque le fonds commun de créances est une fiducie, le bénéficiaire, et le fiduciaire lié par contrat ou le fiduciaire émetteur, ou les deux, doivent être des tiers indépendants;

  • consentir un prêt subordonné au fonds commun, sauf dans les conditions prévues dans la présente ligne directrice;

  • assumer, sauf dans les conditions prévues dans la présente ligne directrice, les pertes auxquelles peut donner lieu l'émission de titres de mobilisation des actifs ou les pertes subies par les investisseurs, ou encore prendre en charge les dépenses courantes du fonds. La SBE peut cependant conclure avec le fonds commun de créances un swap de taux d'intérêt ou de devises, un accord plafond ou plancher, ou tout accord semblable aux conditions du marché.

Les conditions régissant toutes les opérations entre la SBE et le fonds commun de créances doivent être approuvées par l'administrateur principal de la SBE au Canada de façon que ces opérations soient conclues au minimum aux conditions du marché (et réglées à temps).

L'administrateur principal peut déléguer ses pouvoirs à un autre administrateur principal ou à un comité, dont la fonction sera d approuver des opérations particulières dans le cadre d'un accord général qu il aura approuvé au préalable.

Fonction d'agent

Une SBE peut faire fonction d'agent d'un fonds commun de créances. À ce titre, elle structure les opérations, analyse les actifs, effectue des examens de diligence raisonnable et de crédit, et contrôle la qualité du portefeuille de créances. La SBE qui fait fonction d'agent doit respecter les conditions prescrites pour une SBE qui établit un fonds commun de créances. Elle doit en outre :

  • conserver dans ses dossiers des preuves que ses conseillers juridiques sont convaincus que les modalités de l'émission de titres de mobilisation d'actifs la protègent contre toute responsabilité à l'égard des investisseurs (à l'exception des obligations contractuelles normales d'un agent);

  • veiller à ce que tout prospectus renferme, bien en vue, une déclaration indiquant très clairement que la SBE n'endosse ni l'émission ni le fonds commun de créances et qu'elle ne prendra pas en charge les pertes éventuelles sur le portefeuille de créances; et

  • veiller à ce que les services fournis soient rémunérés par des frais ou une commission calculés au minimum aux conditions du marché.

Perception et transmission des paiements

Les conditions à respecter par la SBE qui fait fonction d'agent s'appliquent également lorsqu'elle perçoit les paiements d'intérêt et de principal sur les actifs titrisés et les transmet aux investisseurs (ou à un fiduciaire les représentant). La SBE qui assume cette fonction doit en outre :

  • ne pas être tenue de faire un paiement au fonds commun de créances ou aux investisseurs qui ont acheté les titres si elle n'a pas reçu les fonds du débiteur; et

  • ne pas fournir de financement temporaire pour couvrir les insuffisances de trésorerie découlant de l'inexécution de prêts qu'elle administre ou de retards de paiement, sauf en cas de panne mécaniqueNote de bas de page 1 affectant le système de paiement.

Fourniture des actifs titrisés

Lorsqu'une SBE transfère ses propres actifs à un fonds commun de créances à des fins de titrisation, le transfert peut être considéré comme une vente et les actifs peuvent être rayés du bilan de la SBE si le transfert est conforme aux critères généraux du Bureau en matière de vente (voir la ligne directrice D-4). La SBE qui ne répond pas à ces critères doit continuer de comptabiliser les actifs à son bilan dans ses déclarations. De plus, il se peut qu'une SBE qui fournit les actifs titrisés soit obligée de financer une augmentation de l'actif inscrit à son bilan en raison d'un amortissement anticipé ou d'événements liés à l'échéance des titres. Si le BSIF juge que cette planification laisse à désirer, il en avisera l administrateur principal, qui devra prendre les mesures qui s imposent pour redresser la situation.

Un amortissement accéléré ne peut pas être déclenché par des mesures réglementaires touchant le fournisseur des actifs.

Protection de premier niveau

La protection de premier niveau contre les pertes vise à couvrir directement les pertes subies sur les actifs titrisés ou le soutien financier accordé au titre de ces actifs, du rendement du fonds commun de créances ou des titres achetés par les investisseurs. Parmi les exemples courants de ce type de protection, mentionnons les garanties supplémentaires, les dispositions de recours, une structure titres privilégiés - titres subordonnés, les lignes de crédit subordonnées, les prêts subordonnés, les avoirs de tiers, les engagements d'achat d'actifs en défaut et tout accord qui a pour effet de reporter la réception du produit de la vente, comme des comptes d'écart. C'est souvent le fournisseur des actifs qui offre cette protection, mais celle-ci peut également être assurée par un tiers.

En vertu de la ligne directrice B-5, la banque ou la société de fiducie et de prêts qui assure une protection de premier niveau doit déduire le montant de cette protection de ses fonds propres, aux fins du calcul de la suffisance de ses fonds propres, dans la mesure où la protection n'a pas donné lieu à la constitution d'une provision ou au report d'un gain ou à la reconnaissance d'une perte réalisée lors de la vente, conformément à la ligne directrice D-4. Le montant déduit de l'ensemble des fonds propres d'une banque ou d'une société de fiducie et de prêt, aux fins du calcul de la suffisance des fonds propres fondée sur les risques et du respect des exigences relatives au ratio actif/fonds propres, se limite aux fonds propres qui auraient été requis en vertu de chaque critère si l'actif était demeuré au bilan ou si l'institution en avait conservé la propriété.

Comme la SBE ne possède pas de fonds propres, elle doit rajuster les actifs figurant à son bilan d un montant équivalent aux actifs qui doivent être inscrits au bilan ou qui demeurent sa propriété, conformément à la méthode décrite au paragraphe précédent.

Une protection de premier niveau sera considérée comme importante si elle répond aux conditions suivantes :

  • il existe un dossier de crédit étayé et fiable couvrant au moins un cycle économique complet pour le type particulier d'actifs du bloc sous-jacent;

  • la SBE évalue convenablement les risques de crédit et autres, conformément à sa politique normale de crédit à des contreparties indépendantes;

  • la protection couvre les pertes attendues dans toute situation prévisible.

Soutien au crédit

Un mécanisme de soutien au crédit vise à éponger les pertes et à réduire les risques des investisseurs et du fournisseur de liquidités. Il doit bénéficier explicitement de la protection subordonnée de premier niveau. Pour être appliquée explicitement, la protection de premier niveau doit couvrir tous les risques auxquels le soutien au crédit est exposé. Le soutien au crédit peut s'appliquer aux avoirs particuliers d'un vendeur déterminé, aux blocs d'actifs d'un fonds représentant plusieurs vendeurs, au rendement d'un fonds commun de créances ou aux titres achetés par les investisseurs. Parmi les exemples courants de ce type de mécanisme, mentionnons les dispositions de recours, une structure titres prioritaires - titres subordonnés, les lignes de crédit subordonnées, les prêts subordonnés, les avoirs de tiers et les engagements de tiers d'acheter des actifs en défaut. Un soutien au crédit peut être assuré par le fournisseur des actifs ou par un tiers.

La SBE n'est pas le fournisseur des actifs

Si le soutien au crédit est assuré par une SBE qui n'est pas le fournisseur des actifs, le soutien peut être considéré comme un substitut direct de crédit (ou comme un actif inscrit au bilan à sa valeur nominale) s'il est couvert par une importante protection de premier niveau offerte par un tiers indépendant. S'il ne répond pas à cette condition, il sera considéré comme une protection de premier niveau.

La SBE est le fournisseur des actifs

Lorsque la SBE - ou une société réglementée affiliée à la SBE - qui est le fournisseur des actifs offre un soutien au crédit ou à la fois une protection de premier niveau et un soutien au crédit, les deux mécanismes seront considérés comme une protection de premier niveau.

Concours de trésorerie

Un concours de trésorerie, pour l'application de la présente ligne directrice, doit bénéficier explicitement de la protection d'un important soutien au crédit subordonné et doit être assortie d'une clause prévoyant sa réduction ou son annulation si la qualité des actifs se détériore. Un concours de trésorerie permet aux investisseurs d'être assurés de paiements réguliers en cas de perturbation du marché. Parmi les exemples courants de ce type de concours, mentionnons l'engagement d'accorder des prêts au fonds commun de créances dans le cours normal des activités. Le concours peut être offert par un tiers indépendant ou par un tiers qui joue un autre rôle dans l'opération de titrisation. Un tiers indépendant doit participer au soutien au crédit ou au concours de trésorerie pour que les deux soient clairement séparés.

La SBE n'est pas le fournisseur des actifs

Lorsque la SBE n'est pas le fournisseur des actifs et qu'un tiers fournit un important soutien au crédit qui répond aux conditions voulues pour être considéré comme un soutien au crédit et protège le concours de trésorerie contre les pertes, celui-ci sera comptabilisé en fonction des définitions des postes hors bilanNote de bas de page 2.

Lorsque la SBE n'est pas le fournisseur des actifs et que le soutien au crédit est inexistant ou négligeable, le concours de trésorerie est comptabilisé d'après les définitions des postes hors bilanNote de bas de page 2 si les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  • au moins 25 p. 100 du concours de trésorerie fait l'objet d'une participation proportionnelle de la part d'un tiers indépendant;

  • la protection de premier niveau fournie par le tiers indépendant protège le concours de trésorerie contre le risque de perte dans toute situation.

Si ces conditions ne sont pas respectées, le concours de trésorerie est considéré comme équivalant à un soutien au crédit s'il répond aux conditions énoncées précédemment dans le cas d'une SBE qui fournit un soutien au crédit. Si ces conditions ne sont pas respectées, le concours de trésorerie est considéré comme une protection de premier niveau.

Lorsque la SBE n'est pas le fournisseur des actifs et assure à la fois le soutien au crédit et le concours de trésorerie dans le cadre de mécanismes distincts, le soutien au crédit sera considéré comme tel s'il répond aux conditions prévues dans ce cas, s'il est important et s'il protège le concours de trésorerie contre les pertes. Le concours de trésorerie sera considéré comme un poste hors bilan, aux fins de la suffisance des fonds propres, tant que :

  • au moins 25 p. 100 du concours de trésorerie ou au moins 25 p. 100 du soutien au crédit sont fournis par un tiers indépendants; ou

  • au moins 25 p. 100 du concours de trésorerie fait l'objet d'une participation proportionnelle de la part d'un tiers indépendant ou au moins 25 p. 100 du soutien au crédit est fourni par des tiers et le montant du soutien au crédit fourni par ces derniers représente une tranche distincte qui entre en vigueur après la protection de premier niveau et le soutien au crédit de l'institution chef de file.

Si ces conditions ne sont pas respectées, le concours de trésorerie peut être considéré comme un soutien au crédit s'il répond aux conditions prévues dans ce cas.

Lorsque la SBE n'est pas le fournisseur des actifs d'un fonds représentant plusieurs vendeurs et assure à la fois le soutien au crédit et le concours de trésorerie dans le cadre de mécanismes distincts, un soutien d'un bloc d'actifs (soutien direct) peut servir à protéger d'autres blocs d'actifs du fonds commun. Le degré de soutien direct doit être uniforme pour tous les blocs, compte tenu du profil des risques de chacun, il doit être important et doit protéger l'ensemble des actifs contre les pertes. Si ces conditions sont respectées, les exigences énoncées précédemment relativement à la participation proportionnelle s'appliqueront à un bloc d'actifs particuliers sans tenir compte des autres blocs d'actifs du fonds commun. Si ces conditions ne sont pas respectées, le montant prévu pour protéger les autres blocs d'actifs sera pris en compte pour déterminer les conditions de la participation proportionnelle.

La SBE est le fournisseur des actifs

Lorsqu'une SBE est le fournisseur des actifs et qu'un soutien au crédit est fourni par un tiers, au moins 25 p. 100 du concours de trésorerie doit faire l'objet d'une participation proportionnelle de la part d'un tiers indépendant pour être considéré comme un poste hors bilan. À défaut de participation proportionnelle, le concours de trésorerie est considéré comme une protection de premier niveau.

Lorsque la SBE est le fournisseur des actifs, qu'il n'existe aucun soutien au crédit et que la SBE ou une société affiliée réglementée fournit un concours de trésorerie, ou que la SBE ou la société affiliée fournit à la fois un soutien au crédit et un concours de trésorerie, ces derniers seront considérés comme une protection de premier niveau.

Lorsque la SBE est le fournisseur des actifs et qu'il n'existe aucun soutien au crédit, le concours de trésorerie sera comptabilisé en fonction des définitions des postes hors bilanNote de bas de page 2 si les conditions suivantes sont respectées :

  • au moins 25 p. 100 du concours de trésorerie fait l'objet d'une participation proportionnelle de la part d'un tiers indépendant;

  • la protection de premier niveau offerte par un tiers indépendant protège le concours de trésorerie contre le risque de perte dans toute situation.

Si ces conditions ne sont pas toutes respectées, le concours de trésorerie est considéré comme une protection de premier niveau.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Une panne mécanique s'entend d'une panne résultant d'un cas de force majeure, par exemple une panne d'électricité, une défaillance du système informatique ou un cas imprévu.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Voir la définition de la ligne directrice sur la suffisance du capital.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2