Liquidity Principles

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: July 2019
  • No: B-6

I. Background

Guideline B-6 sets out OSFI's expectations related to the management of liquidity risk for banks, bank holding companies and federally regulated trust and loan companies (hereafter "institutions"). Together with the Liquidity Adequacy Requirements (LAR) Guideline, which outlines a set of quantitative liquidity standards and metrics, it forms the framework under which OSFI assesses the liquidity adequacy of the institutions it supervises.

II. Problem Identification

Guideline B-6 was last updated in 2012. Since then, market practices have evolved and the complexity of both measuring and managing liquidity risk has increased. In addition, OSFI's detailed supervisory assessments over time have revealed that select liquidity risk management practices at certain institutions necessitated improvement and that OSFI's related expectations could benefit from further clarity and guidance. Finally, new liquidity risk measurement tools have been introduced in the LAR Guideline in recent years – such as the Liquidity Coverage Ratio and the Net Stable Funding Ratio minimum standards, as well as the Net Cumulative Cash Flow metric – that are not currently referenced in Guideline B-6.

III. Objectives

OSFI's objective with the proposed changes to Guideline B-6 is to ensure that the expectations contained in the guideline for managing liquidity risk at institutions remain sound and current as well as appropriate for the scale and complexity of institutions.

IV. Consultations

OSFI is issuing the draft Guideline revisions for public consultation. Questions, comments, and feedback related to implementation challenges concerning the guideline should be directed to Robert Belanger, Senior Analyst, Capital Division by email at robert.belanger@osfi-bsif.gc.ca by September 13, 2019.

V. Recommendations

OSFI recommends that Guideline B-6 be updated to ensure it remains current, relevant, and continues to contribute to the overall resilience of deposit-taking institutions and the Canadian banking sector as a whole.

VI. Implementation & Evaluation

The guideline will be effective January 1, 2020. OSFI will monitor adherence to the guideline through ongoing supervision of institutions.

Principes de liquidité

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date : Juillet 2019
  • No : B-6

I. Contexte

La ligne directrice B-6 énonce les attentes du BSIF au sujet de la gestion du risque de liquidité pour les banques, les sociétés de portefeuille bancaire et les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt fédérales (ci‑après, les institutions). De concert avec la ligne directrice Normes de liquidité (LAR), qui énonce un ensemble de normes et de mesures quantitatives de liquidité, elle constitue le cadre en vertu duquel le BSIF évalue la suffisance des liquidités des institutions qu'il surveille.

II. Définition du problème

La dernière révision de la ligne directrice B-6 remonte à 2012. Depuis, les pratiques de marché ont évolué et la mesure et la gestion du risque de liquidité ont continuellement augmenté en complexité. En outre, les évaluations de surveillance détaillées effectuées par le BSIF ont révélé au fil du temps que certaines pratiques de gestion du risque de liquidité dans certaines institutions devaient être améliorées, et que les attentes du BSIF à cet égard pourraient bénéficier de précisions et de consignes. Enfin, de nouveaux outils de mesure du risque de liquidité ont été instaurés ces dernières années dans la ligne directrice sur les normes de liquidité, notamment le ratio de liquidité à court terme, le ratio de liquidité à long terme, de même que la mesure des flux de trésorerie nets cumulatifs, dont la ligne directrice B-6 ne traite pas à l'heure actuelle.

III. Objectifs

L'objectif du BSIF à l'égard des modifications proposées de la ligne directrice B-6 est de veiller à ce que les attentes sur la gestion du risque de liquidité dans les institutions qui y sont formulées demeurent saines et à jour et qu'elles soient adaptées à l'ampleur et à la complexité des institutions.

IV. Consultations

Le BSIF publie une nouvelle version à l'étude de sa ligne directrice aux fins de consultation publique. Les questions, les commentaires et la rétroaction au sujet des problèmes de mise en œuvre en lien avec la ligne directrice peuvent être transmis à Robert Bélanger, analyste principal, Division des fonds propres, par courriel (robert.belanger@osfi-bsif.gc.ca) au plus tard le 13 septembre 2019.

V. Recommandations

Le BSIF recommande de réviser la ligne directrice B-6 pour s'assurer qu'elle demeure à jour et pertinente et qu'elle continue de contribuer à la résilience globale des institutions de dépôts et du secteur bancaire canadien dans son ensemble.

VI. Mise en œuvre et évaluation

La ligne directrice entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020. Le BSIF en surveillera le respect au moyen d'une surveillance permanente des institutions.