Proposed changes to the Guideline B-6 – Liquidity Principles

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: July 18, 2019
  • No: B-6
  • Reference: Guideline for Banks / BHC / T&L
  • To:
    • Banks
    • Bank Holding Companies
    • Federally Regulated Trust and Loan Companies

OSFI is issuing proposed revisions to its Guideline B-6 – Liquidity principles for consultation. Guideline B-6 sets out OSFI's expectations around the management of liquidity risk for banks, bank holding companies and federally regulated trust and loan companies. Together with the Liquidity Adequacy Requirements (LAR) Guideline, which outlines a set of quantitative liquidity standards and metrics, it forms the framework under which OSFI assesses the liquidity adequacy of the institutions it supervises.

Guideline B-6 was last updated in 2012. The changes proposed aim to ensure that the guideline remains current and relevant as well as appropriate for the scale and complexity of institutions. In addition, as a result of OSFI's supervisory assessments, the updated guidance includes additional clarity on OSFI's expectations regarding institutions' liquidity risk management practices.

OSFI is targeting implementation of the proposed revisions to Guideline B-6 for January 1, 2020.

Questions, comments, and feedback related to implementation challenges, concerning the guideline can be sent to Robert Bélanger, Senior Analyst, Capital Division, by email at robert.belanger@osfi-bsif.gc.ca no later than September 13, 2019. A non-attributed summary of industry comments received along with OSFI's responses will be posted on OSFI's website when the final version of the guideline is released.

Sincerely,

Bernard Dupont
Acting Assistant Superintendent, Regulation Sector

Modifications proposées de la ligne directrice B-6, Principes de liquidité

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 18 juillet 2019
  • No : B-6
  • Référence : Ligne directrice à l'intention des banques/SPB/SFP
  • Destinataires:
    • Banques
    • Sociétés de portefeuille bancaire
    • Sociétés de fiducie et de prêt fédérales

Le BSIF publie des modifications proposées de sa ligne directrice B-6, Principes de liquidité, aux fins de consultation. La ligne directrice B-6 énonce les attentes du BSIF au sujet de la gestion du risque de liquidité pour les banques, les sociétés de portefeuille bancaire et les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt fédérales. De concert avec la ligne directrice Normes de liquidité (LAR), qui énonce un ensemble de normes et de mesures quantitatives de liquidité, elle constitue le cadre en vertu duquel le BSIF évalue la suffisance des liquidités des institutions qu'il surveille.

La dernière révision de la ligne directrice B-6 remonte à 2012. Les modifications proposées visent à faire en sorte que la ligne directrice demeure à jour et pertinente et qu'elle soit adaptée à l'ampleur et à la complexité des institutions. En outre, à la suite des évaluations de surveillance effectuées par le BSIF, les consignes révisées précisent notamment les attentes de ce dernier à l'égard des pratiques de gestion du risque de liquidité des institutions.

Le BSIF prévoit mettre en œuvre les modifications proposées de la ligne directrice B-6 le 1er janvier 2020.

Les questions, les commentaires et la rétroaction au sujet des problèmes de mise en œuvre en lien avec la ligne directrice peuvent être transmis à Robert Bélanger, analyste principal, Division des fonds propres, par courriel (robert.belanger@osfi-bsif.gc.ca) au plus tard le 13 septembre 2019. Un résumé anonyme des commentaires obtenus des instances sectorielles, accompagné des réponses du BSIF, sera publié sur le site Web du BSIF dès la sortie de la version finale de la ligne directrice.

Bernard Dupont
Surintendant auxiliaire par intérim, Secteur de la réglementation