Impairment - Sound Credit Risk Assessment and Valuation of Financial Instruments at Amortized Cost

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Category: Accounting
  • Date: July 2007
  • Revised: July 2010
  • No: C-1
  • Audiences: Banks / BHC / FBB / T&L / Co-op / Life / P&C / IHC

In accordance with the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision’s (BCBS) June 2006 paper Sound Credit Risk Assessment and Valuation for Loans (SCRAVL)Footnote 1 an institution’s board of directors and senior management are responsible for ensuring that the institution has appropriate credit risk assessment processes and effective internal controls to consistently determine provisions in accordance with the institution’s stated policies and procedures, the applicable accounting framework and supervisory guidance.

This Guideline provides federally regulated financial institutions with additional guidance to IAS 39, of the International Accounting Standards Board’s (IASB) International Financial Reporting Standards. This Guideline is intended to supplement, but not contradict, the guidance contained in IAS 39. In addition, OSFI encourages the incorporation of the principles detailed in the BCBS SCRAVL paper in the credit risk assessment process.

This Guideline applies to financial instruments classified at amortized cost under IAS 39. While off balance sheet instrument are not within the scope of this guideline, OSFI expects that an equally robust process would be followed to support provisions for credit losses for off-balance sheet exposures that are not at fair value such as certain guarantees and bankers acceptances, letters of credit, undrawn commitments, and loan substitutes. Provisions for credit losses for off-balance sheet exposures are recorded in accordance with IAS 37 in other liabilities.Footnote 2

The Guideline does not need to be applied to amortized cost financial instruments of immaterial amounts. Refer to the Framework for the Preparation and Presentation of Financial Statements paragraphs 29-30 of the IASB’s International Financial Reporting Standards on materiality.

Recognition of Impairment

Impairment should be recognized in accordance with IAS 39Footnote 3 and should consider the loss events detailed therein. Given the loss events described in IFRS (IAS 39.59a-f), and in particular the impact of significant financial difficulty of the issuer or obligor, a breach of contract, such as a default or delinquency in interest or principal payments, and adverse changes in the payment status of borrowersFootnote 4 , OSFI considers the below listed conditions to be indicative of non performing status. OSFI further recognizes that the below listed conditions should not limit the earlier recognition of impairment losses incurred in accordance with IAS 39:

  • a payment on a deposit with a regulated financial institution or a restructured loan is contractually 90 days in arrears;

  • a payment on any other loan (excluding credit card loans) is contractually 90 days in arrears unless the loan is fully secured, the collection of the debt is in process and the collection efforts are reasonably expected to result in repayment of the debt or in restoring it to a current status within 180 days from the date a payment has become contractually in arrears; or

  • a payment on any loan is contractually 180 days in arrears. Any credit card loan that has a payment 180 days in arrears should be written off.

These conditions are not considered indicative of non performing status for up to 365 days from the date a loan is contractually in arrears where the loan is guaranteed or insured by the Canadian government (federal or provincial) or a Canadian government agency, the validity of the claim is not in dispute, and as a consequence the loss event does not have an impact on the estimated future cash flows of the amortized cost financial instrument or group of amortized cost financial instruments.

Measurement of Impairment

The measurement of impairment of financial instruments at amortized cost is governed by IFRS’s IAS 39 s.58-65 and AG84-AG93.

In reviewing the adequacy of the allowance for impairment of financial instruments held at amortized cost, in each case where the estimated realizable amounts have been measured by discounting the expected future cash flows, OSFI examination staff will want to be able to easily identify the following:

  1. the shortfall between the undiscounted expected future cash flows of the amortized cost financial instrument and the instrument’s carrying value; and

  2. the amount resulting from discounting the expected future cash flows at the effective interest rate inherent in the amortized cost financial instrument.

In addition, OSFI examination staff may elect to obtain information through on site examination, or through information requests, to evaluate whether:

  1. the institution’s internal review function is robust and provides adequate testing and documentation of internal compliance with the institutions credit risk grading criteria;

  2. the quality of the institution’s processes and systems for identifying, classifying and monitoring and addressing amortized cost financial instruments with credit quality problems in a timely manner is adequate;

  3. appropriate information about the credit quality of the portfolio and related allowances and provisions is provided to the board of directors and senior management on a regular and timely basis;

  4. procedures used by the institution to establish allowances on individually impaired amortized cost financial instruments are prudent and take into account criteria such as updated valuation of collateral and cash flow predictions based on current assessment of economic conditions; and

  5. allowances are appropriate in relation to total credit risk exposure in the portfolio.

It is the responsibility of the board of directors and senior management of each institution to oversee and monitor the credit risk assessment and impairment processes. This includes ensuring the appropriateness of credit risk assessment processes and internal controls in place to determine impairments. Institutions should use consistent credit risk assessment and valuation policies and procedures from period to period and consistent measurement concepts and procedures for related items.

Income Recognition

To maintain a complete record of write-offs and recoveries in the allowance for impairment account for financial instruments held at amortized cost, OSFI expects write-offs and recoveries related to impaired financial instruments held at amortized cost to be recorded through this account rather than being recorded directly as a charge or credit for impairment in the income statement. Write-offs and recoveries, that are charged or credited to the allowance account during an accounting period, are reflected as a charge or credit for impairment in the income statement at the end of the period when the ending balance in the allowance account is established.Footnote 5

Where subsequent payments (whether designated as interest or principal) are received on an impaired financial instrument held at amortized cost, OSFI expects this to be recorded as a reduction of the financial instruments’ carrying value.. When the carrying value in the amortized cost financial instrument is completely written off, the subsequent payments are credited to the allowance account.Footnote 6

OSFI expects interest income to be recognized on impaired financial instruments held at amortized cost using the rate of interest used to discount the future cash flows for the purpose of measuring the impairment loss.Footnote 7

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Available on the Bank for International Settlements website at the following location: http://www.bis.org/publ/bcbs126.htm

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Note that this update to Guideline C-1 does not change OSFI policy but is intended to better reflect accounting practices for off-balance sheet exposures and fair value financial instruments.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

See IAS 39.58-62

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

See IAS 39.59 a, b, and f

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Consistent with IAS 39.63 and IAS 39.65.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Consistent with IAS 39.65.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

See IAS 39.AG93.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Évaluation des risques de crédit rattachés aux instruments financiers à valeur amortie aux fins du calcul des provisions pour dépréciation

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Catégorie : Comptabilité
  • Version originale : mars 1995
  • Révision : juillet 2010
  • No : C-1
  • Public : Banques / SBE / SPB / F&P / ACC / SAV / SAM / SPA

Selon la ligne directrice du Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire (CBCB) Sound Credit Risk Assessment and Valuation for LoansNote de bas de page 1 (SCRAVL), diffusée en juin 2006, le conseil d’administration et les dirigeants d’une institution doivent veiller à ce que celle-ci utilise des méthodes adéquates d’évaluation du risque de crédit et des mécanismes efficaces de contrôle interne afin calculer les provisions en se conformant systématiquement aux politiques et aux procédures de l’institution, au régime comptable applicable et aux consignes de l’organisme de surveillance.

La présente ligne directrice fournit aux institutions financières fédérales des directives additionnelles relatives à la norme IAS 39, des Normes internationales d’information financière (IFRS) de l’International Accounting Standards Board (IASB). Elle a pour but de compléter, mais non de contredire, les directives contenues dans la norme IAS 39. En outre, le BSIF encourage l’intégration des principes énoncés en détail dans le document du CBCB sur la SCRAVL au processus d’évaluation du risque de crédit.

Elle s’applique aux instruments financiers classés à leur coût amorti en vertu de la norme IAS 39. Bien que les instruments financiers hors bilan ne soient pas visés par la présente, le BSIF s’attend qu’un processus tout aussi rigoureux soit mis en œuvre pour appuyer les provisions pour pertes sur créances au titre des expositions hors bilan qui ne sont pas calculées à leur juste valeur, notamment certaines garanties et acceptations bancaires, lettres de crédit, lignes de crédit inutilisées et substituts de prêts. Les provisions pour pertes sur créances au titre des expositions hors bilan sont consignées avec les autres passifsNote de bas de page 2, conformément à la norme IAS 37.

Il n’est pas nécessaire d’appliquer la présente ligne directrice aux instruments financiers établis à leur coût amorti dont le montant est négligeable. À ce propos, consulter les paragraphes 29 et 30 du Cadre de préparation et de présentation des états financiers des IFRS, sur l’importance relative.

Constatation de la dépréciation

La dépréciation doit être constatée selon les dispositions de la norme l’IAS 39Note de bas de page 3 et elle doit tenir compte des événements générateurs de pertes qui y sont précisées. Comptes tenu des événements décrits au paragraphe 59 (a-f) de la norme IAS 39 et, plus particulièrement de l’impact d’importantes difficultés financières que pourrait connaître l’émetteur ou le débiteur, le non-respect d’un contrat, notamment un défaut ou un manquement au titre des versements de capital ou d’intérêt, et d’un revirement négatif du dossier des emprunteursNote de bas de page 4, le BSIF estime que les conditions énoncées ci-après sont synonymes d’improductivité. En outre, le BSIF constate que ces conditions ne doivent pas limiter la constatation antérieure des pertes issues de la dépréciation, conformément à la norme IAS 39 :

  • le paiement à l’égard d’un dépôt auprès d’une institution financière réglementée ou d’un prêt restructuré est en retard depuis au moins 90 jours, selon les dispositions du contrat;

  • le paiement afférent à tout autre prêt (à l’exception de prêts sur carte de crédit) est en retard depuis 90 jours, selon les dispositions du contrat, à moins que le prêt soit entièrement garanti, que la créance soit en voie de recouvrement et que les efforts en vue de recouvrer les sommes exigibles permettent, selon toute vraisemblance, de rembourser la créance ou de rétablir la qualité du titre dans les 180 jours suivant le premier jour de retard du paiement, selon les dispositions du contrat; ou

  • le paiement relatif à un prêt est en retard de 180 jours, selon les dispositions du contrat. Les prêts sur carte de crédit pour lesquels on a enregistré un retard de paiement de 180 jours doivent être radiés.

À noter que ces conditions ne sont pas synonymes d’improductivité dans les 365 jours suivant le premier jour de retard du paiement lorsque le prêt est garanti ou assuré par un gouvernement du Canada (fédéral ou provincial) ou un organisme du gouvernement du Canada, ou que la validité de la créance n’est pas contestée et, par conséquent, que l’événement générateur de perte n’influe pas sensiblement sur les flux de trésorerie estimatifs futurs de l’instrument financier ou du groupe d’instruments financiers à leur coût amorti.

Mesure de la dépréciation

La mesure de la dépréciation des instruments financiers détenus à leur coût amorti est régie par les articles 58 à 65 de la norme IAS 39 des IFRS et l’AG84-AG93.

Pour déterminer la suffisance de la provision pour dépréciation des instruments financiers détenus à leur coût amorti, dans chaque cas où les montant estimatifs réalisables ont été mesurés par actualisation des flux de trésorerie futurs prévus, le personnel du BSIF chargé des inspections s’attend d’être en mesure de déterminer sans difficulté les éléments suivants :

  1. le montant qui représente le manque à gagner entre les flux de trésorerie futurs prévus non actualisés de l’instrument financier à son coût amorti et sa valeur comptable;

  2. le montant découlant de l’actualisation des flux de trésorerie futurs prévus à la date de versement de l’intérêt réel inhérent au prêt.

En outre, le personnel du BSIF chargé des inspections pourrait décider d’obtenir des renseignements dans le cadre d’inspections sur place ou au moyen de demandes d’information, pour déterminer si :

  1. la fonction d’examen interne de l’institution est vigoureuse et permet de mettre suffisamment à l’épreuve et de documenter la conformité interne des cotes de risque de crédit de l’institution aux critères d’établissement;

  2. les méthodes et systèmes qui permettent à l’institution de déterminer, de classer, de surveiller et d’examiner sans perdre de temps les instruments financiers à leur coût amorti et qui comportent des problèmes de qualité du crédit sont de qualité adéquate;

  3. des renseignements convenables au sujet de la qualité du crédit du portefeuille et des provisions et réserves connexes sont fournis périodiquement au conseil d’administration et à la haute direction, sans perdre de temps;

  4. les procédures utilisées par l’institution pour établir les provisions au titre de chaque instrument financier à son coût amorti qui est frappé de dépréciation sont prudentes et tiennent compte de critères telle une évaluation à jour des sûretés et des prédictions des flux de trésorerie fondées sur l’évaluation actuelle de la conjoncture économique;

  5. les provisions sont suffisantes par rapport à l’exposition totale au risque de crédit à l’intérieur du portefeuille.

Il incombe au conseil d’administration et à la haute direction de chaque institution de superviser et de surveiller la dépréciation et les méthodes d’évaluation du risque de crédit. Ainsi, ils doivent surveiller le bien fondé des méthodes d’évaluation du risque de crédit et des mécanismes de contrôle interne pour déterminer la dépréciation. Les institutions doivent utiliser des politiques et procédures uniformes d’évaluation du risque de crédit d’une période à l’autre, de même que des notions et procédures de mesure pour les éléments connexes.

Constatation dans les résultats

Pour tenir un relevé complet des montants radiés et recouvrés dans le compte de dépréciation des instruments financiers conservés à leur coût amorti, le BSIF s’attend à ce que ces derniers soient consignés dans ce compte plutôt que déclarés directement dans l’état des résultats à titre de débit ou de crédit de la charge de prêts douteux. Les montants radiés et recouvrés, qui sont imputés ou crédités au compte de dépréciation, sont à déclarer dans l’état des résultats à titre de débit ou de crédit de la charge de dépréciation à la fin de la période pour laquelle le solde de clôture du compte de la provision est établi.Note de bas de page 5

Lorsque des paiements subséquents (relativement aux intérêts ou au principal) sont reçus à l’égard d’instruments financiers conservés à leur coût amorti, le BSIF s’attend à ce qu’ils soient consignés comme une réduction de la valeur comptable de l’instrument financier. Lorsque la valeur comptable d’un instrument financier conservé à son coût amorti est entièrement radié, les paiements subséquents sont portés au crédit de la provision.Note de bas de page 6

Le BSIF s’attend que le revenu d’intérêt soit constaté sur la valeur des instruments financiers douteux après amortissement à l’aide du taux d’intérêt appliqué aux flux de trésorerie futurs aux fins de la mesure de la perte pour instruments douteux.Note de bas de page 7

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

À consulter sur le site Web de la Banque des règlements internationaux, à l’adresse http://www.bis.org/publ/bcbs126.htm

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Il convient de noter que la présente mise à jour de la ligne directrice C-5 ne modifie pas la politique du BSIF, mais a pour but de mieux tenir compte des pratiques comptables relatives aux expositions hors bilan et aux instruments financiers à leur juste valeur.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Voir IAS 39.58-62

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Voir IAS 39.59 a, b et f

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Conforme aux paragraphes .63 et .65 de la norme IAS 39.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Conforme au paragraphe 65 de la norme IAS 39.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Consulter la norme IAS 39.AG93.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7