Accounting for Financial Instruments Designated as Fair Value Option

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Category: Accounting
  • Date: June 2006
  • Revised: July 2010
  • No: D-10
  • Audiences: Banks / FBB / T&L / BHC / Co-op / Life / P&C / IHC

Introduction

This Guideline provides application guidance to banks, foreign bank branches, bank holding companies, federally regulated trust & loan companies, cooperative credit associations, life insurance companies & fraternal benefit societies, property and casualty insurance companies, and insurance holding companies (collectively referred to as “Federally Regulated Entities” or “FREs”) applying the fair value option in International Accounting Standard 39 Financial Instruments: Recognition and Measurement as issued by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) that allows entities to designate a financial asset or financial liability at fair value through profit or loss upon initial recognition. This option is referred to as the “Fair Value Option.”

Canadian legislation governing FREs allow OSFI to specify accounting principles. OSFI’s ability to make specifications is addressed in International Standard on Auditing 210 and the equivalent Canadian Auditing Standard 210. Given that using the Fair Value Option is a choice, OSFI believes that the specifications made in this Guideline will not impair an FRE’s ability to obtain an audit opinion that states that the financial statements are in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards as issued by the IASB. OSFI believes this Guideline is essential in maintaining the integrity of regulatory capital when applying the Fair Value Option.Footnote 1

I. Basel Committee on Banking Supervision’s Supervisory Guidance on the Fair Value Option

OSFI expects all institutions using the Fair Value Option to meet the supervisory expectations set out in Principles 1 – 4 of the Basel Committee’s Supervisory guidance on the use of the fair value option for financial instruments by banks.Footnote 2 OSFI intends to follow principles 5-7 in assessing risk management, controls and capital adequacy related to all institutions’ use of the Fair Value Option.

II. International Accounting Standard (IAS) 39 Guidance on the Fair Value Option

OSFI understands that institutions using the Fair Value Option will apply IAS 39, as amended from time to time, including IAS 39.9 “Definitions of four categories of financial instruments – A financial asset or financial liability at fair value through profit or loss” paragraph (b).

IAS 39.9 (b)

Upon initial recognition it is designated by the entity as at fair value through profit or loss. An entity may use this designation only when permitted by paragraph 11A, or when doing so results in more relevant information, because either

  1. it eliminates or significantly reduces a measurement or recognition inconsistency (sometimes referred to as ‘an accounting mismatch’) that would otherwise arise from measuring assets or liabilities or recognising the gains and losses on them on different bases; or

  2. a group of financial assets, financial liabilities or both is managed and its performance is evaluated on a fair value basis, in accordance with a documented risk management or investment strategy, and information about the group is provided internally on that basis to the entity’s key management personnel (as defined in IAS 24 Related party Disclosures (as revised in 2003)), for example the entity’s board of directors and chief executive officer.

For IAS 39.9(b)(i), or as read by screen readers, IAS 39.9(b)(1), institutions may apply the Fair Value Option under this criterion if: (a) consistent with a documented risk management strategy, it eliminates or significantly reducesFootnote 3 the measurement or recognition inconsistency of measuring financial assets or liabilities together on a different basisFootnote 4, and (b) the fair values are reliable at inception and throughout the life of the instrument.

For IAS 39.9(b)(ii), or as read by screen readers, IAS 39.9(b)(2), institutions may apply the Fair Value Option under this criterion if: (a) the institution has a documented risk management strategy to manage the group of financial instruments together on a fair value basis and can demonstrate that significant financial risks are eliminated or significantly reduced,Footnote 3 and (b) the fair values are reliable at inception and throughout the life of the instrument.

IAS 39.48A: Reliable Fair Values for the Fair Value Option

OSFI expects institutions to follow the criteria in IAS 39 paragraph 48A and all additional guidance provided by the IASB including the final report of the Expert Advisory Panel Measuring and disclosing the fair value of financial instruments in markets that are no longer active.Footnote 5

Using the Fair Value Option for Loans and Receivables

Generally, the Fair Value Option should not be used for loans and mortgages to companies having annual gross revenue below $62.5 million, for loans and mortgages to individuals, or for portfolios made up of such loans and mortgages.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The capital treatment of these financial instruments designated as Fair Value Option should continue to comply with OSFI’s capital guidelines for determining capital adequacy.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Link: www.bis.org/publ/bcbs127.pdf

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

“Significantly reduce” is to be determined by the institution and subject to internal and external audit review. OSFI does not expect institutions to use effectiveness tests similar to those required for hedge accounting in their assessment of whether the “significantly reduce” criterion is met.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

An institution may satisfy this requirement by a documented and implemented strategy which may include, but is not limited to, the following strategies to eliminate or significantly reduce risk:

  1. asset liability matching in duration and amount;
  2. assets which are approximately matched in amount to the liabilities and have a higher (or lower) duration within a documented range;
  3. assets which are less than the liabilities but have a higher duration within a documented range; or
  4. assets which exceed the liabilities but have a lower duration within a documented range.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

This paper was issued in October 2008 and can be found at the following link: http://www.iasb.org/NR/rdonlyres/0E37D59C-1C74-4D61-A984-8FAC61915010/0/IASB_Expert_Advisory_Panel_October_2008.pdf

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Comptabilisation des instruments financiers désignés en fonction de l’option de la juste valeur

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Catégorie : Comptabilisation
  • Version initiale : juin 2006
  • Révision : juillet 2010
  • No : D-10
  • Public : Banques / SBE / SPB / SFP / ACC / SAV / SAM / SPA

Introduction

La présente ligne directrice énonce des consignes à l’intention des banques, des succursales de banques étrangères, des sociétés de portefeuille bancaire et des sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, des associations coopératives de crédit, des sociétés d’assurance-vie et de secours mutuels, des sociétés d’assurances multirisques et des sociétés de portefeuille d’assurances fédérales, collectivement désignées par le terme « entité fédérale » ou « EF », qui appliquent l’option de la juste valeur de la Norme comptable internationale (IAS) 39, Instruments financiers : comptabilisation et évaluation, diffusée par le Conseil des normes comptables internationales (CNCI), qui permet aux entités financières de désigner un actif financier ou un passif financier à sa juste valeur par le biais du compte de résultat lors de la comptabilisation initiale. Cette option est appelée « l’option de la juste valeur ».

Les lois canadiennes régissant les EF permettent au BSIF de fixer des principes comptables. Sa capacité d’établir des spécifications relève de la Norme internationale d’audit 210 (IAS 210) et de son équivalent canadien, la Norme canadienne d’audit 210 (NCA 210). Puisque l’emploi de l’option de la juste valeur est une question de choix, le BSIF est d’avis que les spécifications établies dans la présente ligne directrice n’empêcheront pas une EF d’obtenir une opinion de vérification selon laquelle les états financiers sont conformes aux normes internationales d’information financières (IFRS) émises par le CNCI. Le BSIF estime que la présente ligne directrice est essentielle au maintien de l’intégrité du capital réglementaire lorsque l’option de la juste valeur est employéeNote de bas de page 1.

I. Consigne du Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire en matière de recours à l’option de la juste valeur

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que toutes les institutions qui ont recours à l’option de la juste valeur respectent les attentes de surveillance énoncées aux principes de 1 à 4 de la consigne Supervisory guidance on the use of the fair value option for financial instruments by banks du Comité de BâleNote de bas de page 2. Il entend appliquer les principes de 5 à 7 pour évaluer la gestion des risques, les mécanismes de contrôle et l’adéquation des fonds propres relativement à l’application par toutes les institutions de l’option de la juste valeur.

II. Norme comptable internationale (IAS) 39 – Directive sur l’option de la juste valeur

Le BSIF croit comprendre que les institutions qui ont recours à l’option de la juste valeur appliqueront la norme IAS 39, dans sa version modifiée de temps à autres, y compris son paragraphe 9, Définition des quatre catégories d’instruments financiers – actif financier ou passif financier à la juste valeur par le biais du compte de résultat – alinéa b).

IAS 39.9 (b)

Lors de la comptabilisation initiale, l’instrument est désigné par l’entité à la juste valeur par le biais du compte de résultat. Une entité ne peut utiliser cette désignation que si le paragraphe 11A le permet ou que si cette utilisation aboutit à des informations plus pertinentes, soit parce que :

  1. une disparité de traitement en matière d'évaluation ou de comptabilisation (qu'on désigne parfois par le terme anglais « accounting mismatch ») qui résulterait autrement du fait que des actifs ou des passifs sont évalués sur des bases différentes, ou que les gains et les pertes sur ces éléments sont comptabilisés sur des bases différentes, s'en trouve éliminée ou sensiblement réduite; ou

  2. la gestion et l'évaluation de la performance d'un groupe d'actifs financiers et/ou de passifs financiers se font sur la base de la juste valeur, en conformité avec une stratégie de placement ou de gestion des risques établie par écrit, et que l'information sur le groupe d'éléments est communiquée sur cette base aux principaux dirigeants de l'entité [tels que définis dans IAS 24 Information relative aux parties liées (révisée en 2003)], comme les administrateurs et le chef de la direction.

À l’égard du paragraphe IAS 39.9(b)(i), French text, les institutions peuvent appliquer l’option de la juste valeur aux termes de ce critère si (a) conformément à une stratégie de gestion des risques documentée, elle permet d’éliminer ou de réduire sensiblementNote de bas de page 3 la disparité de traitement en matière d’évaluation ou de comptabilisation résultant du fait d’évaluer des actifs ou des passifs sur des bases différentesNote de bas de page 4 et (b) les justes valeurs sont fiables dès le départ et tout au long de la durée de l’instrument.

À l’égard du paragraphe IAS 39.9(b)(ii), French text, les institutions peuvent appliquer l’option de la juste valeur aux termes de ce critère si a) l’institution a instauré une stratégie de gestion des risques par écrit pour gérer ensemble le groupe des instruments financiers sur la base de la juste valeur et peut démontrer que des risques financiers importants sont éliminés ou sensiblement réduits, et b) les justes valeurs sont fiables dès le départ et tout au long de la durée de l’instrument.

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les institutions se conforment au paragraphe 48A de IAS 39 et à toutes les autres consignes du CNCI, dont le rapport final du groupe consultatif d’experts intitulé Measuring and disclosing the fair value of financial instruments in markets that are no longer activeNote de bas de page 5.

Application de l’option de la juste valeur aux prêts et aux créances

De façon générale, on ne doit pas appliquer l’option de la juste valeur aux prêts et hypothèques accordés à des entreprises dont le revenu annuel brut est inférieur à 62,5 millions de dollars, aux prêts et hypothèques accordés à des particuliers et aux portefeuilles constitués de prêts et d’hypothèques de cette nature.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le traitement de ces instruments financiers désignés aux fins de l’option de la juste valeur doit demeure conforme aux lignes directrices du BSIF sur les normes de fonds propres.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Lien: www.bis.org/publ/bcbs127.pdf

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Le sens de « réduire sensiblement » sera déterminé par l’institution et fera l’objet d’un examen de vérification interne et externe. Le BSIF ne s’attend pas à ce que les institutions procèdent à des tests d’efficacité aussi rigoureux que ceux qu’il faut appliquer à la comptabilité de couverture aux fins de déterminer si leur interprétation de « réduire sensiblement » correspond aux critères établis.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Une institution peut satisfaire à cette exigence au moyen d’une stratégie documentée et exécutée qui peut inclure, sans s’y limiter, aux stratégies suivantes pour éliminer ou réduire sensiblement le risque :

  1. l’appariement de l’actif et du passif sur le plan de la duration et du montant;
  2. l’appariement approximatif de l’actif et du passif sur le plan du montant, et un actif dont la duration est plus longue (courte) que celle du passif et qui se situe à l’intérieur de limites préétablies;
  3. un actif inférieur au passif, mais qui a une duration plus longue qui se situe à l’intérieur de limites préétablies;
  4. un actif supérieur au passif, mais qui a une duration plus courte qui se situe à l’intérieur de limites préétablies.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Ce document a paru en octobre 2008; il est disponible (en anglais seulement) à l’adresse suivante : http://www.iasb.org/NR/rdonlyres/0E37D59C-1C74-4D61-A984-8FAC61915010/0/CNCI_Expert_Advisory_Panel_October_2008.pdf

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5