Annual Disclosures (Banks, Foreign Bank Branches, Federally Regulated Trust and Loan Companies, and Cooperative Credit Associations)

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Category: Accounting
  • Date: July 1997
  • Revised: July 2010
  • No: D-1
  • Audiences: Banks / BHC / FBB / T&L / Co-op

Introduction

This guideline outlines the financial disclosures OSFI expects federally regulated deposit-taking institutions to provide in or with their annual financial statements or annual reports in addition to, or in conjunction with, all of the disclosures required by International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRSs) and Basel II Pillar 3Footnote 1.

Institutions that do not prepare an annual report should make these disclosures in the notes to the annual financial statements or in a supplementary management report appended to the annual financial statements. Authorized foreign banks in respect of their business in CanadaFootnote 2 that do not prepare annual financial statements should make these disclosures in the portion of their annual OSFI return that is covered by the auditor's opinion and in a supplementary management report filed with the annual OSFI return.

The guideline applies to banks, bank holding companies, FBBs, and federally regulated trust and loan companies, cooperative credit associations, and to their federally regulated deposit-taking subsidiaries, (collectively referred to as institutions). It does not apply to provincially regulated subsidiaries. It also does not apply to subsidiaries that are federally regulated deposit taking institutions themselves where their:

  • deposit liabilities are fully guaranteed by the parent and the parent is a federally regulated deposit-taking institution that meets the annual disclosure requirements; or

  • liabilities are fully guaranteed by the parent and the parent is a deposit-taking institution whose debt instruments are rated not less than "investment grade" by a widely-recognized rating agency.

Part 1 - Quantitative Disclosure

Part 1 of the guideline sets out minimum levels of quantitative disclosure for certain financial statement items. Institutions are encouraged to develop a level of disclosure that exceeds this guideline's minimum expectations and to provide information in a structure consistent with that used for management or internal reporting purposes. The minimum disclosure would be at a level of detail that makes the data useful to analysts and other readers of the information. Disclosures by category or type need not be met where the amounts are not material.

Investment and Lending Portfolios

Securities

The amounts, by residual term to maturity of the securities held to maturity, available-for-sale and securities designated as held for trading (fair value option) should also be disclosed, including at least the following time bands:

  1. one year or less,
  2. over one year to five years,
  3. over five years, and
  4. no specific maturity.

Separate disclosure is recommended, within the above four categories, (a) to (d), or as read by screen readers, categories 1 to 4, for any type of securities, that constitutes 10% or more of the fair value amount of the entire securities portfolio.

Loans and ReceivablesFootnote 3

Disclosure of the loans and receivables portfolio reported at its statement of financial position value should consist of at least the following categories:

  1. residential mortgages,
  2. non-business loans to individuals,
  3. business and government loans, and
  4. other.

Separate disclosure is recommended for any group of loans with similar characteristics within each of the above categories, such as type of borrower or industrial sector that constitutes 5% or more of the carrying amount of the entire loans and receivables portfolio.

The institution should disclose the fair value and carrying amount of loans and receivables in total, and the fair value and carrying amount relating to Canada and any other country that represents 10% or more of total loans and receivables in the portfolio.

Impairment

The institution should disclose information on impaired loans, the allowance for impairment and the charge for impairment in accordance with IFRSs and OSFI Guideline C-1, Impairment - Sound Credit Risk Assessment and Valuation Practices for Financial Instruments at Amortized Cost, and C-5, Collective Allowances - Sound Credit Risk Assessment and Valuation Practices for Financial Instruments at Amortized Cost.

Taxable Equivalent Basis

When the institution earns tax-exempt income from certain investments, including common and preferred shares, and wishes to disclose this income on a taxable equivalent basis, it should disclose its interest income and net interest income on that basis as supplementary information outside the financial statements. Disclosure should include a narrative description of the nature and magnitude of the gross-up of tax-exempt income.

Interest Rate Sensitivity Position

In disclosing the information required by IFRSs, the institution should present the carrying amounts of financial instruments in tabular form, grouped by those that are contracted to mature or reprice, as a minimum:

  1. within three months of the statement of financial position date,
  2. more than three months to one year from the statement of financial position date,
  3. more than one year to five years from the statement of financial position date, and
  4. more than five years from the statement of financial position date.

The carrying amounts of items at floating interest rates and of items that are not sensitive to interest rates should also be provided.

The institution should disclose the amount of the matching gap between assets and liabilities within each time band and separately disclose the amount of the gap in unrecognized items within each time band.

Part 2 - Risk Management and Control Practices

Part 2 outlines the disclosures OSFI expects regarding the risk management and control practices adopted by the institution.

The institution should provide all IFRSs and Basel II Pillar 3 required disclosures and should provide this qualitative disclosure in a supplementary management report appended to the annual financial statements or in a supplementary management report appended to the audited portion of the annual return in cases where annual financial statements are not prepared.

The institution should discuss the extent of any significant exposures to areas where there recently has been, or there is the potential for, significant loss due to industry specific factors or general industry recession and outline the steps it has taken to contain risks in these areas. Similarly, the institution should identify its major lines of business and describe the controls it has in place to quantify and contain the risks to the institution from exposure to these lines of business.

The institution should also discuss methods of measuring and controlling other market-related risks, such as settlement risk, where they are significant.

Where the institution is a subsidiary of another deposit-taking institution and where one or more of the risks discussed below is managed by the parent as part of a broader risk management system, then a statement to that effect will suffice. However, to the extent that under such a system the subsidiary may still be exposed to risks, including credit risk exposure to the parent, these risks should be disclosed and discussed.

Liquidity RiskFootnote 4

Liquidity risk is the risk that an entity will encounter difficulty in meeting obligations associated with financial liabilities. The institution should identify the committees of the board and management with responsibility for liquidity management, including the development, review, approval and implementation of liquidity management policies, and the procedures in place to effectively monitor and control the function. It should describe the methods used for measuring the institution's current and projected future liquidity.

The institution should include a description of its policies and performance with respect to:

  • controlling the cash flow mismatch between on- and off-balance sheet assets and liabilities;
  • maintaining stable and diversified sources of funding;
  • accessing alternative sources of funding, if required; and
  • ensuring it has sufficient liquid assets on hand in relation to its daily cash flows.

It should also explain other methods it uses for liquidity management, for example, asset securitization.

Interest Rate Risk

Interest rate risk is the risk that the fair value or future cash flows of a financial instrument will fluctuate because of changes in market interest rates. It can arise from trading and non-trading activities. An institution should set out its objectives and associated business strategy in interest rate risk management.

The institution should identify and describe the analytical techniques it uses (e.g., gap analysis, duration analysis, simulation models). It should also set out the key sources of interest rate risk within its portfolio given the level and shape of the yield curve at the time of disclosure.

The institution should explain how it uses derivative instruments to manage interest rate risk and provide quantitative information on the extent to which these instruments are used.

Currency Risk

Currency risk is the risk that the fair value or future cash flows of a financial instrument will fluctuate because of changes in foreign exchange rates.

The institution should explain how it uses derivative instruments to manage currency risk and provide quantitative information on the extent to which these instruments are used.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

See disclosure in Pillar 3 Advisory issued November 2007

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Also referred to as foreign bank branches or FBBs.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Per IAS 39 paragraph 9.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

This section on liquidity risk should, as applicable, be used in conjunction with Guideline B-6 on Liquidity.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Normes de divulgation annuelle (banques, succursales de banques étrangères, sociétés de fiducie et de prêt et associations coopératives de crédit fédérales)

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Catégorie : Comptabilité
  • Version originale : juillet 1997
  • Révision : juillet 2010
  • No : D-1
  • Public : Banques / SPB / SBE / SFP / ACC

Introduction

La présente ligne directrice énonce les attentes du BSIF en ce qui a trait aux renseignements que les institutions de dépôts fédérales doivent intégrer ou annexer à leurs états financiers annuels ou à leur rapport annuel, outre ceux que prévoient les normes internationales d’information financière (les « normes IFRS ») et le troisième pilier de Bâle IINote de bas de page 1.

Les institutions qui n’établissent pas de rapport annuel doivent divulguer ces renseignements dans leurs états financiers ou dans un rapport de gestion annexé aux états financiers. Les banques étrangères autorisées à exercer des activités au CanadaNote de bas de page 2 qui n’établissent pas d’états financiers annuels doivent divulguer ces renseignements dans la section réservée à l’opinion du vérificateur de la déclaration annuelle présentée au BSIF, ainsi que dans le rapport de gestion complémentaire qui accompagne cette déclaration annuelle.

Cette ligne directrice s’adresse aux banques, aux sociétés de portefeuille bancaire (SPB), aux succursales de banques étrangères (SBE), aux sociétés de fiducie et de prêt fédérales (SFP) et aux associations coopératives de crédit (Coops) de même qu’à leurs filiales de dépôts fédérales (collectivement, les institutions), mais non aux filiales assujetties à la réglementation provinciale. Elle ne vise pas non plus les filiales qui sont elles-mêmes des institutions de dépôts fédérales dont, selon le cas :

  • le passif-dépôts est entièrement garanti par la société mère qui est une institution de dépôts fédérale répondant aux normes de divulgation annuelle;

  • le passif est entièrement garanti par la société mère qui est une institution de dépôts fédérale dont les titres de créance constituent au minimum un bon placement selon une agence de notation réputée.

Partie 1 - Information quantitative

La première partie de la ligne directrice établit les normes minimales de divulgation d’information quantitative pour certains postes des états financiers. Les institutions sont invitées à adopter un degré de divulgation supérieur à ces attentes minimales et à fournir des renseignements selon une structure conforme à celle que l’institution utilise déjà pour ses rapports internes ou de gestion et dont le degré de détail les rendra utiles aux analystes et à d’autres lecteurs. Il n’y a pas lieu de se soucier de la catégorie ou du type lorsque les montants en jeu ne sont pas importants.

Portefeuilles de placements et de prêts

Titres

La valeur comptable, selon l’échéance résiduelle, des titres détenus jusqu’à leur échéance, disponibles à la vente ou désignés détenus à des fins de transaction (option de la juste valeur) doit aussi être indiquée en utilisant au minimum les fourchettes que voici :

  1. un an ou moins;
  2. plus d’un an à cinq ans;
  3. plus de cinq ans;
  4. aucune échéance précise.

Il convient également de divulguer, à l’intérieur des quatre catégories a) à d) susmentionnées, les titres qui représentent au moins 10 % de la valeur comptable de l’ensemble du portefeuille.

Prêts et créancesNote de bas de page 3

La divulgation du portefeuille de prêts et créances doit porter sur la valeur à l’état de la situation financière et reposer au minimum sur les catégories que voici.

  1. prêts hypothécaires résidentiels;
  2. prêts non commerciaux aux particuliers;
  3. prêts aux entreprises et administrations publiques;
  4. autres prêts.

Il convient de divulguer séparément tout groupe de prêts présentant des caractéristiques semblables, comme le type d’emprunteur ou le secteur d’activité, et représentant au moins 5 % de la valeur comptable de l’ensemble du portefeuille de prêts et de créances.

L’institution devrait divulguer la juste valeur et la valeur comptable totale des prêts et des créances, de même que la juste valeur et la valeur comptable pour le Canada et pour tout autre pays qui intervient pour au moins 10 % de la valeur totale du portefeuille de prêts et de créances.

Moins-value

L’institution doit documenter la situation de ses prêts douteux, la provision pour prêts douteux et la charge pour prêts douteux conformément aux Normes IFRS et aux lignes directrices C-1, Évaluation des risques de crédit rattachés aux instruments financiers à valeur amortie aux fins du calcul des provisions pour dépréciation, et C-5, Évaluation des risques de crédit rattachés aux instruments financiers à valeur amortie aux fins du calcul des provisions collectives , du BSIF.

Base d’imposition comparable

Lorsque l’institution tire de certains placements, dont des actions ordinaires et des actions privilégiées, un revenu exonéré d’impôt qu’elle souhaite divulguer sur une base d’imposition comparable, elle doit divulguer son revenu d’intérêt et son revenu d’intérêt net sur cette même base à titre de renseignements complémentaires en marge de ses états financiers. Les renseignements divulgués doivent s’accompagner de précisions au sujet de la nature et de l’ampleur de la majoration du revenu exonéré d’impôt.

Exposition au risque de taux d’intérêt

Pour se conformer aux exigences des normes IFRS en matière de production de données, l’institution doit indiquer la valeur comptable des instruments financiers sous forme de tableau, et ces instruments doivent être groupés, au minimum, selon les fourchettes d’échéance ou de révision des taux que voici.

  1. dans les trois mois de la date de l’état de la situation financière
  2. entre plus de trois mois et un an après la date de l’état de la situation financière
  3. entre plus d’un an et cinq ans après la date de l’état de la situation financière
  4. plus de cinq ans après la date de l’état de la situation financière

Il faut aussi indiquer la valeur comptable des effets à taux flottant et des effets insensibles aux taux d’intérêt.

L’institution doit divulguer, pour chaque fourchette, le montant de l’écart entre l’actif et le passif et indiquer séparément le montant de l’écart pour les postes hors bilan.

Partie 2 - Pratiques de gestion et de contrôle des risques

La deuxième partie traite des attentes du BSIF en ce qui a trait aux renseignements que les institutions devraient produire au sujet de leurs pratiques de gestion et de contrôle des risques.

L’institution doit divulguer tous les renseignements que prévoient les normes IFRS et le troisième pilier de Bâle II, et fournir des renseignements de nature qualitative sous forme de rapport complémentaire de la direction annexé aux états financiers ou, en l’absence d’états financiers, à la partie vérifiée de la déclaration annuelle.

Elle doit préciser l’ampleur de toute exposition importante dans un secteur où elle a déjà subi des pertes importantes, ou pourrait subir de telles pertes, en raison de facteurs propres à l’industrie ou d’une récession à l’échelle de cette dernière, et faire état des mesures prises pour contenir ces risques. Elle doit aussi mentionner ses principaux secteurs d’activité et décrire les contrôles qu’elle a adoptés pour quantifier et contenir ces risques sectoriels.

Elle doit aussi traiter des méthodes de mesure et de contrôle d’autres risques de marché comme, par exemple, le risque de règlement, lorsqu’ils sont significatifs.

Lorsque l’institution est une filiale d’une autre institution de dépôts et qu’au moins un des risques mentionnés ci-après est géré par la société mère dans le cadre d’un système plus vaste de gestion des risques, une déclaration à cet effet suffira. Toutefois, dans la mesure où, en dépit d’un tel système, la filiale demeure exposée à des risques et la société mère demeure exposée au risque de crédit, cette situation devra être divulguée et discutée.

Risque d’illiquiditéNote de bas de page 4

Le risque d’illiquidité est le risque qu’une entité éprouve des difficultés à honorer ses engagements liés à des passifs financiers. L’institution doit donner la liste des comités du conseil d’administration et de la haute direction chargés de la gestion des liquidités, ainsi que de l’élaboration, de l’examen, de l’approbation et de la mise en œuvre des politiques de gestion des liquidités. Elle doit aussi décrire ses procédures de surveillance et de contrôle efficaces de cette fonction, ainsi que les méthodes de mesure des liquidités existantes et projetées.

L’institution doit aussi décrire ses politiques et son rendement en matière :

  • de contrôle de l’écart des flux de trésorerie entre les éléments d’actif et de passif figurant ou non au bilan;
  • de maintien d’un financement stable et diversifié;
  • d’accès, au besoin, à d’autres sources de financement;
  • d’accès à des liquidités suffisantes compte tenu de ses flux de trésorerie quotidiens.

Elle doit aussi expliquer ses autres méthodes de gestion des liquidités, comme la titrisation de l’actif.

Risque de taux d’intérêt

Le risque de taux d’intérêt est le risque que la juste valeur ou les flux de trésorerie futurs d’un instrument financier fluctuent en raison des variations des cours des monnaies étrangères. Il peut découler des activités de négociation ou d’autres activités. L’institution doit énoncer ses objectifs et sa stratégie commerciale de gestion du risque de taux d’intérêt.

Elle doit mentionner et décrire ses méthodes d’analyse (p. ex., l’analyse des écarts et des durées et les modèles de simulation). Elle doit également préciser les principales sources de risque de taux d’intérêt à l’intérieur de son portefeuille en tenant compte de l’ampleur et de la forme de la courbe de rendement à la date de divulgation.

Elle doit aussi expliquer comment elle utilise ces instruments pour gérer le risque de taux d’intérêt et quantifier l’ampleur de cette utilisation.

Risque de change

Le risque de change est le risque que la juste valeur ou des flux de trésorerie futurs d’un instrument financier fluctuent en raison de la variation des cours des monnaies étrangères.

L’institution doit expliquer comment elle utilise ces instruments pour gérer le risque de change et quantifier l’ampleur de cette utilisation.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Voir les exigences de communication du troisième pilier dans le préavis de novembre 2007.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Aussi appelées succursales de banques étrangères ou SBE.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

En vertu du paragraphe 9 de la norme IAS 39.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Le cas échéant, la présente section sur le risque d’illiquidité se juxtapose à la ligne directrice B-6 sur les liquidités.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4