Derivatives Disclosure

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Category: Accounting
  • Date: October 1995
  • Revised: July 2010
  • No: D-6
  • Audiences: Banks / BHC / FBB / T&L / Co-op / Life / P&C / IHC

This guideline provides all federally regulated financial institutions and bank and insurance holding companies with guidance that is consistent with that in International Financial Reporting Standard 7 Financial Instruments: Disclosures (IFRS 7) as issued by the International Accounting Standards Board.

This guideline takes effect for fiscal years commencing on or after January 1, 2011.

Introduction

IFRS 7 provides comprehensive disclosure requirements relating to all financial instruments.

This guideline supplements the guidance contained in IFRS 7. It includes further disclosure requirements for derivative financial instruments as well as disclosure requirements for derivative non-financial instruments such as commodities contracts. In addition, it requires banks, bank holding companies, trust and loan companies, life insurance companies and insurance holding companies to disclose certain derivatives related amounts that are reported to OSFI in accordance with the capital requirements guidelines. This guideline outlines minimum disclosure requirements and institutions are encouraged to make additional disclosures that they consider to be appropriate.

The annexes to this guideline summarize the information that should be presented in the institution's annual report, or OSFI annual return for institutions that do not produce annual reports, to conform with the requirements of this guideline.

Notional Amounts

These disclosures should be made either in the body of the financial statements or in the accompanying notes. Institutions that do not produce annual financial statements should make these disclosures in their OSFI annual return.

The notional amounts and other information about the extent and nature of all derivative instruments should be disclosed, including those instruments that are excluded from the reports to OSFI for capital adequacy purposes. The remaining term to maturity of all derivative instruments should be disclosed, as a minimum, for the following three time bands: 1 year or less, over 1 year through 5 years, and over 5 years.

Notional amounts and other information about the extent and nature of derivative financial instruments should be disclosed by class (e.g., interest rate contract or foreign exchange contract) and by type (e.g., forwards, futures, credit default swaps, total return swaps and options). Interest rate cross currency swaps should be included under foreign exchange contracts.

The notional amounts of over-the-counter (OTC) derivative instruments should be disclosed separately from the notional amounts of those derivative instruments that are exchange traded or that are completed through a central counterparty (e.g. a clearinghouse)Footnote 1.

The notional amounts and other information about the extent and nature of derivative instruments held for trading purposes should be disclosed separately from the information relating to derivative instruments that are held for other than trading purposes.

The notional amounts of other derivative instruments held for trading purposes should be disclosed and presented with the notional amounts of derivative financial instruments held for trading purposes.

See Annex A for information on notional amount disclosures.

Other Derivatives Disclosure

These disclosures should be made in the notes to the financial statements. Institutions that do not prepare an annual report should make these disclosures either in the notes to the financial statements or in a supplementary management report. Institutions that do not produce annual financial statements should make these disclosures in the notes to the OSFI annual return.

In disclosing information about management's policies for controlling or mitigating risks, information should be included about management's policies on matters such as hedging risk exposures, avoidance of undue concentrations of risk and requirements for collateral to mitigate credit risks.

Positive Replacement Cost, Credit Equivalent Amount, and the Risk-weighted Equivalent

Banks, authorized foreign banks in respect of their business in Canada – foreign bank branches (FBBs), bank holding companies, trust and loan companies, life insurance companies and insurance holding companies should disclose the positive replacement cost, credit equivalent amount and the risk-weighted equivalent by class of derivative instrument. Further categorization within each class of derivative financial instrument by type of contract (e.g. credit default swap, total return swap, option) is strongly encouraged. The credit equivalent amount is the positive replacement cost plus an amount representing the potential future credit exposure as outlined in OSFI's Capital Requirements Guidelines. Institutions should provide an explanation of these disclosures and indicate how the amounts are calculated.

Banks, bank holding companies, FBBs, and trust and loan companies should calculate the positive replacement cost, the credit equivalent amount and the risk-weighted equivalent in accordance with the Capital Adequacy Requirements Guidelines.

Life insurance companies and insurance holding companies should calculate the positive replacement cost and the credit equivalent amount in accordance with the MCCSR Guideline. Life insurance companies and insurance holding companies should calculate the risk-weighted equivalent by multiplying the credit equivalent amount by a risk-weighted factor. This risk- weighted factor is determined by dividing the counterparty factor by 8%.

See Annex B for Disclosure of Positive Replacement Cost, Credit Equivalent Amount and Risk-Weighted Equivalent.

Annex A - Disclosure of Notional Amounts

Below is a summary of the information that should be disclosed relating to notional amounts for each class and type of derivative instrument and an illustration of how these disclosures could be integrated with the disclosures relating to other instruments.

A. Recognized Financial Assets - Balance Sheet Amount

Assets to be classified in accordance with industry practice.

B. Recognized Financial Instruments

Derivative Instruments - Notional Amount

Interest Rate ContractsFootnote 2

  • Forward rate agreements
  • Futures contracts
  • Swap contracts
  • Options purchased
  • Options written

Foreign Exchange ContractsFootnote 2

  • Foreign exchange spot and forward contracts
  • Futures contracts
  • Swaps contracts
  • Options purchased
  • Options written

Other Derivative ContractsFootnote 2

  • Equities
  • Commodities
  • Credit derivatives
  • Other

C. Unrecognized Financial Instruments

Credit Instruments - Contract Amount

Credit instruments to be classified in accordance with industry practice.

Annex B - Disclosure of Positive Replacement Cost, Credit Equivalent Amount and Risk-Weighted Equivalent

Below is a summary of the information that should be disclosed relating to the positive replacement cost, the credit equivalent amount and the risk-weighted equivalent for derivative instruments. However, disclosure of derivative financial instruments by type is encouraged but not required.

Derivative Instruments

Interest Rate Contracts

  • Forward rate agreements
  • Futures contracts
  • Swap contracts
  • Options purchased

Foreign Exchange Contracts

  • Foreign exchange spot and forward contracts
  • Futures contracts
  • Swaps contracts
  • Options purchased

Other Derivative Contracts

  • Equities
  • Commodities
  • Credit derivatives
  • Other

Total

Footnotes

Footnote 1

See paragraph 6 Annex 4 of Chapter 3 in OSFI’s Capital Adequacy Requirements Guideline for a description of central counterparties.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Total of notional amounts for each type of derivative instrument should be broken down between (a) those held for trading purposes as defined in IFRSs, and (b) those held for other than trading purposes.

Total of notional amounts for each type of derivative instrument should be broken down between OTC and exchange traded derivatives.

Total of notional amounts for each type of derivative instrument should be broken down by remaining term to maturity.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Déclaration des instruments dérivés

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Catégorie : Comptabilité
  • Version initiale : octobre 1995
  • Révision : juillet 2010
  • No : D-6
  • Public : Banques / SPB / SBE / SFP / SCC / SAV / SPA

La présente ligne directrice s’adresse aux banques, aux sociétés de portefeuille d’assurance (SPA) et aux institutions financières fédérales (IFF). Elle est établie sur la base de la norme internationale d’information financière 7 (IFRS 7), Instruments financiers – Informations à fournir, qui émane du Conseil des normes comptables internationales (CNCI).

Elle s’applique aux exercices ouverts à compter du 1er janvier 2011.

Introduction

La norme IFRS 7 cible les informations à fournir au sujet des instruments financiers.

La présente ligne directrice complète les principes énoncés dans la norme IFRS 7. Elle formule des exigences additionnelles en matière de déclaration d’instruments financiers dérivés, de même qu’en matière de déclaration d’instruments dérivés non financiers tels que les contrats de marchandises. Elle exige en outre des banques, sociétés de portefeuille bancaire(SPB), sociétés de fiducie et de prêt (SFP), sociétés d’assurance-vie (SAV) et sociétés de portefeuille d’assurance qu’elles divulguent certains montants liés aux instruments dérivés, qui sont communiqués au BSIF conformément aux exigences en matière de fonds propres. À noter que qu’elle n’aborde que les points estimés les plus significatifs et que les institutions doivent déclarer tout autre renseignement qu’elles jugent pertinent.

Les annexes de la présente ligne directrice résument les renseignements qui doivent figurer dans le rapport annuel de l’institution ou, en l’absence de rapport annuel, dans la déclaration annuelle présentée au BSIF pour se conformer aux exigences énoncées dans la présente.

Montants nominaux

Ces renseignements doivent être déclarés dans le corps des états financiers ou dans les notes qui les accompagnent. Les institutions qui ne produisent pas d’états financiers annuels doivent divulguer ces renseignements dans la déclaration annuelle présentée au BSIF.

Les montants nominaux et d’autres renseignements concernant l’importance et la nature de tous les instruments dérivés doivent être déclarés, y compris ceux qui sont exclus des relevés sur les fonds propres présentés au BSIF. L’échéance de tous les instruments dérivés doit être déclarée, du moins pour les trois périodes suivantes : au plus un an, plus d’un an jusqu’à cinq ans, et plus de cinq ans.

Les montants nominaux et d’autres renseignements concernant l’importance et la nature des instruments financiers dérivés doivent être déclarés selon la catégorie d’instrument financier dérivé (p. ex., des contrats de taux d’intérêt ou des contrats de change) et le type (p. ex., les contrats à terme (de gré à gré), les contrats à terme normalisés, les swaps sur défaillance, les swaps sur le rendement total ou les contrats d’options). Les échanges de taux d’intérêt dans deux monnaies doivent être pris en compte avec les contrats de change.

Les montants nominaux des instruments dérivés hors-cote doivent être déclarés séparément des montants nominaux des instruments dérivés qui sont cotés en bourse ou transigés auprès d’une contrepartie centrale (p. ex. une chambre de compensation)Note de bas de page 1.

Les montants nominaux et d’autres renseignements concernant l’importance et la nature des instruments dérivés détenus à des fins de transaction doivent être déclarés séparément des renseignements concernant les instruments dérivés détenus à d’autres fins.

Les montants nominaux d’autres instruments dérivés détenus à des fins de transaction doivent être déclarés et présentés avec les montants nominaux des instruments financiers dérivés détenus à des fins de transaction.

Voir l’annexe A pour de plus ample renseignements sur la divulgation des montants nominaux.

Divulgation d’autres produits dérivés

Les renseignements doivent être divulgués dans les notes afférentes aux états financiers annuels. En l’absence de rapport annuel, ils doivent figurer dans les notes afférentes aux états financiers ou dans un rapport complémentaire de la direction. En l’absence d’états financiers annuels, ils seront annexés, sous forme de notes, à la déclaration annuelle présentée au BSIF.

La déclaration concernant les politiques de la direction en matière de contrôle ou de mitigation des risques doit comprendre des renseignements au sujet des politiques de la direction sur des questions comme la couverture de l’exposition au risque, le fait d’éviter la concentration excessive des risques et la nécessité d’obtenir des garanties par nantissement pour atténuer le risque de crédit.

Coût de remplacement positif, montant en équivalent-crédit et équivalent du facteur de pondération des risques / exigence de capital

Les banques, les banques étrangères autorisées en ce qui a trait à leurs affaires au Canada – succursales de banques étrangères, ou SBE, sociétés de portefeuille bancaire, et des sociétés de fiducie et de prêt – doivent déclarer le coût de remplacement positif, le montant en équivalent‑crédit et l’équivalent du facteur de pondération des risques, par catégorie d’instrument dérivé. Les sociétés d’assurance-vie, les sociétés d’assurance multirisques et les sociétés de portefeuille d'assurances devraient divulguer le coût de remplacement, le montant équivalent au crédit et l’exigence de capital par catégorie d’instruments dérivés. Pour chaque catégorie d’instrument dérivé, il est conseillé de divulguer les renseignements par type de contrat (p.ex. swap sur défaillance, swap sur le rendement total, contrat d’options) est fortement encouragé. Le montant en équivalent‑crédit est le coût de remplacement positif auquel s’ajoute un montant représentant le montant du risque de crédit potentiel futur, conformément aux lignes directrices du BSIF établissant des normes de fonds propres. Les institutions doivent fournir une explication relative à ces déclarations et fournir la méthode de calcul des montants.

Les banques, sociétés de portefeuille bancaire, SBE et sociétés de fiducie et de prêt doivent calculer le coût de remplacement positif, le montant en équivalent-crédit et l’équivalent du facteur de pondération des risques conformément aux Normes de fonds propres.

Les sociétés d’assurance-vie et de portefeuille d’assurance doivent calculer le coût de remplacement positif, le montant en équivalent‑crédit et l’exigence de capital conformément à la ligne directrice concernant le test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie (TSAV). Les sociétés d’assurances multirisques doivent calculer le coût de remplacement positif, le montant en équivalent‑crédit et l’exigence de capital conformément à la ligne directrice concernant le test du capital minimal (TCM).

Voir en annexe B la divulgation du coût de remplacement positif,  du montant en équivalent-crédit et de l’équivalent du facteur de pondération des risques / de l’exigence de capital.

Annexe A - Déclaration de montants nominaux

Voici un résumé des renseignements qui doivent être déclarés au sujet des montants nominaux de chaque catégorie et type d’instrument dérivé et un exemple de la façon dont ces renseignements peuvent être intégrés à ceux concernant d’autres instruments.

A. Éléments d’actif comptabilisés - Montant inscrit au bilan

Les actifs doivent être classés selon les méthodes en vigueur dans l’industrie.

B. Instruments comptabilisés

Instruments dérivés - Montant nominal

Contrats de taux d’intérêt Note de bas de page 2 Note de bas de page 3 Note de bas de page 4

  • Contrats à terme (de gré à gré)
  • Contrats à terme normalisés
  • Contrats d’échange
  • Options achetées
  • Options souscrites

Contrats de change Note de bas de page 2 Note de bas de page 3 Note de bas de page 4

  • Contrats de change au comptant et contrats de change à terme (de gré à gré)
  • Contrats à terme normalisés
  • Contrats d’échange
  • Options achetées
  • Options souscrites

Autres contrats d’instruments dérivés Note de bas de page 2 Note de bas de page 3 Note de bas de page 4

  • Actions
  • Marchandises
  • Dérivés de crédit
  • Autres

C. Instruments non comptabilisés

Instruments de crédit - Montant du contrat

Les instruments de crédit doivent être classés selon les méthodes en vigueur dans l’industrie.

Annexe B - Divulgation du coût de remplacement positif,  montant en équivalent-crédit et de l’équivalent du facteur de pondération des risques / de l’exigence de capital

Voici un résumé des renseignements à fournir au sujet du coût de remplacement positif,  du montant en équivalent-crédit et de l’équivalent du facteur de pondération des risques ou de l’exigence de capital pour les instruments dérivés. Les institutions sont encouragées de divulguer les renseignements par type, pour chaque type d’instrument dérivé, sans toutefois être tenues de la faire.

Instruments dérivés

Contrats de taux d’intérêt

  • Contrats à terme (de gré à gré)
  • Contrats à terme normalisés
  • Contrats d’échange
  • Options achetées

Contrats de change

  • Contrats de change au comptant et contrats de change à terme (de gré à gré)
  • Contrats à terme normalisés
  • Contrats d’échange
  • Options achetées

Autres contrats d’instruments dérivés

  • Actions
  • Marchandises
  • Dérivés de crédit
  • Autres

Total

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

La notion de contrepartie centrale est définie dans la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres, chapitre 3, annexe 4, paragraphe 6.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le total des montants nominaux pour chaque type d’instrument doit être réparti en dérivés détenus a) à des fins de transaction au sens des normes IFRS et b) à d’autres fins.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Le total des montants nominaux pour chaque type d’instrument doit être réparti en instruments dérivés hors cote et en instruments dérivés inscrits à la bourse.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Le total des montants nominaux pour chaque type d’instrument dérivé doit être ventilé par période à couvrir jusqu’à l’échéance.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4