Role of the Independent Actuary

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Category: Sound Business and Financial Practices
  • Date: February 2002
  • Revised: January 2004
  • Revised: January 2010
  • No: E-14
  • Audiences: Life

Introduction

This guideline provides guidance with respect to the responsibilities and duties of the Independent Actuary (IA) in the preparation of a report in support of an approval of an amalgamation agreement, an approval of the sale of all or substantially all the assets or an agreement to reinsure, on an assumption basis, policies; or a valuation report required by the Superintendent under subsections 365.1(1) or 629.1(1).

Application

The guidance provided in this guideline applies to federally regulated life insurance companies and fraternal benefit societies under the situations noted below.

Subsection 247(2) of the ICA requires that an amalgamation agreement submitted to the Superintendent for approval be accompanied by an IA’s Report.

With respect to applications for approval of the sale of all or substantially all of the assets under subsection 254(2) or the reinsurance of policies on an assumption basis under subsections 254(2), 254(2.01) or 587.1 (2), the Superintendent considers that a report of an IA is necessary, as it provides vital information with respect to these transactions.

Under subsections 365.1(1) and 629.1(1), the Superintendent may appoint an actuary to value the matters to be valued by the actuary of the company or foreign company under subsection 365(1) and 629(1) respectively, namely, the actuarial and other policy liabilities of the company or foreign company and any other matter specified in any direction that may be made by the Superintendent.

The Role of the Independent Actuary

Although the consent of the policyholders may not be required for all transactions, the ICA requires, or permits the Superintendent to request, that an IA’s Report be prepared. The purpose of requiring this report is to ensure that an independent party assesses the effects of the proposed transaction on policyholders’ interests. The report to the Superintendent should identify the effects on policyholders and opine on the fairness of the transaction to the policyholders.

Appointment of the Independent Actuary

The ICA does not prescribe which party to the proposed transaction engages the services of the IA; however, in practice, the company seeking the approval of the Minister or the Superintendent usually engages the IA. In any event, an independent opinion should be given without influence from either company. In general, the IA should be one who has not done any work over the past two years for the companies involved and who does not work for a company that provided services to these companies for that period of time. Before accepting the assignment to prepare a report, the IA should confirm to OSFI in writing that those criteria have been met. The IA may proceed with the assignment once OSFI has given permission to do so. Any work done as a professional external reviewer or as an IA is not considered to impair the IA’s independence.

Although OSFI often receives requests for names of potential IAs, OSFI does not publish a list of these names. Companies should refer to a list of actuarial membership that identifies consulting actuaries.

If, for any reason, other than the abandonment of the transaction, the IA’s appointment is revoked or the IA resigns prior to the report being submitted to OSFI, the IA must consider whether the circumstances are such that they should be made known to OSFI. An example of such a circumstance is where the IA found evidence that the transaction is not in the best interest of some or all of the parties. In addition, any actuary offered an appointment as an IA should ask whether the appointment has previously been accepted and subsequently vacated by another actuary. If such is the case, the new actuary should take all reasonable steps to establish the circumstances under which the previous IA’s appointment was revoked or the previous IA resigned.

Considerations for the Independent Actuary

OSFI expects the IA to perform the following key tasks:

  • review the effect of the transaction on all the policyholders, as it relates to:
    • their current and future rights, security, interests and benefits;
    • their reasonable benefit, cost and dividend expectations (e.g., effect on the dividends to participating policyholders, or on the cost of insurance of non-fully guaranteed policies);
    • continuing service to all policyholders;
  • review the strategic and business plans and ensure that these plans will not adversely affect the companies’ policyholders;
  • review the tax consequences of the agreement, in so far as these could affect policyholders;
  • recommend enhanced protection and/or remuneration of the policyholders to the companies, if so warranted;
  • submit formal opinions on the basis of the review (described later).

Extent of the Independent Actuary’s Involvement

The amount of investigative work that the IA will need to undertake will depend on the circumstances of the case. In carrying out the assignment, the IA should review all documents judged necessary for the purpose of reaching his or her opinion. As a minimum, some of the more critical documents to review would include:

  • the Appointed Actuary’s Report (or equivalent) for both companies;
  • the Dynamic Capital Adequacy Testing Reports for both companies;
  • financial statements for both companies;
  • any significant correspondence with regulators for both companies;
  • MCCSR, TAAM or other capital ratio calculations (where applicable), before and after the effective date of the proposed transaction, for both companies;
  • the rules governing any closed block of business;
  • any supplemental documentation, as may be required in the circumstances, for both companies;
  • in particular, a description of the policies being ceded as well as the rights attached to those policies;
  • pro forma financial statements, business plan and three-year financial projections, including MCCSR, TAAM or other capital ratio calculations and projections (where applicable) for the company to which the policies are being ceded;
  • the reinsurance, sale or amalgamation agreements;
  • ancillary agreements, such as shareholder agreements, management agreements, outsourcing agreements, investment management agreements, service agreements, custodial agreements; and
  • any other independent expert opinion that could help to assess the reasonableness of the purchase price, if necessary.

In addition to reviewing these documents, the IA should meet with senior officers of the companies, in particular the appointed actuary (or chief actuary where not so designated), the chief financial officer, and some or all of the following: CEO, president, COO, CFO, chair of the audit committee, general counsel, secretary, relevant vice-presidents, internal auditor, and external auditors.

The companies should provide the IA with a copy of their most recent actuarial and DCAT reports, any significant correspondence with regulators, and any supplemental documentation on the assets and liabilities, as may be required. The IA must, however, form his or her own judgment on the quality of the information supplied, the appropriateness of the work of company actuaries, and therefore, the extent of any investigation or verification that needs to be done.

When a foreign entity reinsures the risks undertaken outside Canada by the company or society, the IA should be aware of the rules and supervision practices in effect in the country where the foreign entity is incorporated and where the policies subject to the reinsurance were issued. If the IA is unsure of the rules and practices, he or she should contact the foreign regulators to discuss the transaction in terms of current and future supervision practices, and any issues that could help the IA in coming to an opinion.

The IA should discuss with OSFI information or documentation that the actuary requires and that is either not available, or has not been made available by the companies.

Timing Differences

When the report and opinion of the IA are produced and submitted with a time lag after the date of the agreement under consideration or the after date of the calculation of the values supporting the agreement, the IA should consider any adjustment that may be made to maintain fairness and to protect the interests or positions of the policyholders.

The Report

A copy of the IA report (or a summary) is usually provided to the members or the policyholders of the companies concerned. Although OSFI has permitted a summary of the report to be provided instead of the entire report, the full report must be available for inspection by policyholders, members or shareholders at the time the notices of the company’s intention to amalgamate or cause itself to be reinsured, on an assumption basis, are published. It is the IA’s responsibility to ensure that the contents of the summary are appropriate given the context in which it is being circulated, and that neither it nor any accompanying document gives a misleading impression of the findings in the full report. Any information supporting the actuary’s conclusions that, for sound business reasons, the parties to the transaction wish to keep confidential may be submitted to OSFI in a technical memorandum.

The IA needs to consider and, as appropriate, report the effect of the transaction on all policyholders. OSFI is seeking assurance that the position and interests of all policyholders of the parties to the transaction are preserved, and that the security of their benefits will be maintained. The IA should consider the business plans of the companies involved, as the plans may adversely affect policyholders including those who become policyholders on or after the effective date of the agreement.

In summary, the contents of the IA’s report will be influenced by the circumstances of each case. The following are some of the matters the report should address:

  • the name of the company (companies) that has (have) appointed the IA;

  • a statement of the IA’s professional qualifications;

  • whether the IA has a direct or indirect interest in any of the companies involved that could be perceived as influencing the actuary’s independence;

  • the purpose of the transaction;

  • a summary of the terms of the agreements, in so far as they are relevant to the contents of the report;

  • a list of documents and reports the IA has considered in relation to each of the companies involved in the “agreement” transaction, and a statement that the IA can rely on this information;

  • the reasonableness of the purchase price and tax consequences of the agreement, in so far as these may affect policyholders;

  • the appropriateness of the assets to be transferred to support the transferred liabilities;

  • the effect of the agreement on the security of policyholders’ contractual benefits;

  • the effect of the transaction on the quality and extent of service that will be provided to the policyholders;

  • the effect of the proposal on the nature and value of any rights of policyholders to participate in future profits;

  • the likely effects of the agreement on matters such as investment management, new business strategy, administration, expense levels and valuation bases, in so far as they may affect the ability of the companies to meet the contractual obligations to the policyholders throughout the lifetime of the existing policies;

  • in cases where participating policyholders are involved, the effect of the agreement or transaction on the proprietary rights of such policyholders and in particular, the significance of any loss or dilution of the rights of those persons to secure or prevent further constitutional changes which could affect their expectations as policyholders (for example, conversion to a closed fund, the loss of the right to vote, etc.). The actuary should state whether, and to what extent, members will receive compensation under the agreement for any diminution of their proprietary rights, and comment on its appropriateness;

  • when commenting on the fairness of the proposal, any differences in treatment between policyholders with voting rights and those without;

  • the overall assessment of the effect of the transaction on the reasonable expectations of policyholders and whether the actuary is satisfied that the transaction is equitable to all classes and existing generations of its policyholders. In the case of participating policyholders, the cost of maintaining the current dividend scale and/or dividend policy, premium scale, cost of insurance rates, or benefit level of existing policyholders, should have been considered in the current proposal. Each class of policyholder should not receive fewer benefits, or pay more than they expected to pay at the time of the transaction, unless such changes are justified by unexpected and unfavourable conditions or experience in the coming years;

  • in cases where the legal requirements of the jurisdiction of incorporation, or of the incorporating instrument, of the company, provide for voting and/or other proprietary rights that extend to non-participating policyholders, the effect of the transaction on the rights of these policyholders;

  • in cases where closed blocks of business are part of the transaction, the effect of the transaction on the operating rules of these blocks and on the policyholders’ benefits and expectations. The actuary should ensure that current and future rules for the closed blocks are not changed or if they are, that they are appropriately converted, with initial and future monitoring, certifications and approvals remaining in place to adequately protect the interests of the policyholders concerned;

  • wherever the IA expresses an opinion in the report, an outline of the rationale for such an opinion;

  • a summary table, submitted to OSFI, that discloses the major financial aspects of the transaction and the financial position, including pro formas of each company before and after the transaction; and

  • any matters the IA has not taken into account or evaluated in the report that might be relevant to the policyholders’ consideration of the amalgamation.

The Opinion

The opinion of the IA should cover all the items of the review. Although there is no specified wording for the opinion (other than the statement on objectivity, below), a satisfactory opinion would include the following components:

  • with regard to the rights of policyholders, a statement that policyholders’ rights will be unaffected or protected by the transaction or will be cancelled in exchange for appropriate consideration;

  • in the event of the sale of all or substantially all the assets or the reinsurance of policies, on an assumption basis, with regard to the security of policyholders’ benefits, a statement that, based on the current and projected future financial conditions of the transacting companies, the security of benefits for policies being ceded between companies will remain satisfactory or be improved after implementation of the transaction, and that the security of benefits with respect to those policies in either company that are not being moved will be unaffected or improved by the transaction;

  • in the event of an amalgamation of companies, with regard to the security of policyholders’ benefits, a statement that, based on the current financial condition of the transacting companies and the pro forma projected condition of the amalgamated company, the security of benefits for all policies in the companies will remain satisfactory or be improved after implementation of the transaction;

  • with regard to the interests of participating policyholders and policyholders with non-fully guaranteed policies and to the service that will be provided to them, a statement that the amount(s) to be allocated to the appropriate participating account(s) is (are) calculated on an appropriate basis consistent with methods used by the ceding company, and that the reasonable benefit and service expectations of participating policyholders and policyholders with non-fully guaranteed policies are not diminished by the transaction; and

  • with regard to the interests of non-participating policyholders with fully guaranteed policies and to the service that will be provided to them, a statement that the transaction will preserve their benefit and service expectations.

Declaration of Objectivity

The following statement of objectivity should be included in each opinion:

  • I declare that I have carried out my work objectively, in accordance with generally accepted actuarial practice and without regard for potential gain other than compensation for the work undertaken.

Signature

The IA Report required under subsections 247(2), 254(4.1) and 587.1(6) of the ICA must be signed by only the responsible IA. The signature should be followed by the IA’s name and qualification written in full.

Review of the Report

A draft version of the report should be submitted to OSFI for review.

OSFI expects that the IA will discuss his or her work and the report with another actuary (within the firm or not).

When more than one actuary worked on the report of the IA, the report should disclose the name and the contribution of each actuary involved.

Conclusion

Should any issues arise with respect to preparation of a report, please consult with OSFI.

Other instruction guides set out the rules and procedures relating to amalgamations and to reinsurance. Copies are available on OSFI’s Web site at www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Additional enquiries may be addressed to:

  • Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
  • Legislation and Approvals Division
  • Regulation Sector
  • 255 Albert Street, 15th Floor
  • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • K1A 0H2
  • Telephone: (613) 990-3590, Fax: (613) 991-0325

Rôle de l’actuaire indépendant

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Catégorie : Saines pratiques commerciales et financières
  • Date : Février 2002
  • Révisé : Janvier 2004
  • Révisé : Janvier 2010
  • No : E-14
  • Public : SAV

Introduction

La présente ligne directrice énonce les charges et attributions de l’actuaire indépendant (AI) dans le cadre de la préparation du rapport exigé à l’appui de l’approbation d’une convention de fusion, de l’approbation de la vente de la totalité ou quasi-totalité des éléments d'actif, de l’approbation de la réassurance aux fins de prise en charge de polices, ou d’un rapport d’évaluation exigé par le surintendant aux termes des paragraphes 365.1(1) ou 629.1(1).

Application

Les consignes énoncées dans la présente ligne directrice s’appliquent aux sociétés d’assurance-vie et de secours mutuels fédérales dans les situations décrites ci-après.

Le paragraphe 247(2) de la LSA stipule que la convention de fusion soumise à l’approbation du surintendant doit être accompagnée du rapport d’un AI.

En ce qui a trait aux demandes d’approbation de la vente de la totalité ou quasi-totalité des éléments d’actif aux termes du paragraphe 254(2) ou de la réassurance aux fins de prise en charge de polices conformément aux paragraphe 254(2), 254(2.01) ou 587.1(2), le surintendant estime qu’un rapport d’un AI est requis, puisqu’il fournit des renseignements essentiels à l’égard de ces opérations.

En outre, en application des paragraphes 365.1(1) et 629.1(1), le surintendant peut nommer un actuaire pour faire évaluer les questions visées au paragraphe 365(1) et 629(1) qui doivent être évaluées par l’actuaire de la société ou de la société étrangère, respectivement, à savoir les engagements, actuariels et autres de la société ou de la société étrangère, et toute autre question précisée par instruction du surintendant.

Rôle de l’actuaire indépendant

Bien qu’il ne soit pas nécessaire d’obtenir le consentement des souscripteurs pour toutes les opérations, la LSA oblige ou autorise le surintendant à demander qu’un AI prépare un rapport, de manière à garantir qu’un tiers indépendant évalue les répercussions de l’opération proposée sur les intérêts des souscripteurs. Le rapport au surintendant précise les effets sur les souscripteurs et renferme un jugement sur l’équité de l’opération pour les souscripteurs.

Nomination de l’actuaire indépendant

La LSA ne stipule pas laquelle des parties à l’opération proposée fait appel aux services de l’AI; or, en pratique, c’est habituellement la société qui demande l’agrément du ministre ou du surintendant qui retient les services de l’actuaire en question. De toute manière, l’opinion indépendante ne doit faire l’objet d’aucune influence de la part de l’une ou l’autre société. En règle générale, l’AI ne doit pas, au cours des deux dernières années, avoir effectué de travaux ni pour les sociétés en cause ni pour une société qui a offert des services à celles-ci pendant cette période. Avant d’accepter la tâche de préparer le rapport, l’AI doit confirmer par écrit au BSIF que ces critères ont été respectés. L’AI peut amorcer ses travaux dès que le BSIF lui en a donné l’autorisation. Les travaux effectués à titre d’examinateur externe ou d’AI sont réputés ne pas miner l’indépendance de l’AI.

Bien que le BSIF reçoive souvent des demandes de noms d’éventuels actuaires indépendants, il n’en publie pas la liste. Les sociétés doivent consulter une liste des membres de la profession actuarielle renfermant les noms d’actuaires-conseils.

Si, pour une raison ou pour une autre, sauf si l’opération est interrompue, la nomination de l’AI est annulée ou si l’AI démissionne avant d’avoir déposé son rapport au BSIF, l’AI doit déterminer si la situation est telle qu’il convient d’en aviser le BSIF. Par exemple, si l’AI recueille des preuves indiquant que l’opération n’est pas effectuée aux mieux des intérêts de certaines ou de toutes les parties en cause. De plus, un actuaire qui se voit offrir une nomination à titre d’AI doit se renseigner pour déterminer si un autre actuaire a déjà accepté la nomination et a par la suite démissionné. Le cas échéant, le nouvel actuaire doit appliquer toutes les mesures raisonnables pour établir les circonstances qui ont conduit à l’annulation de la nomination ou à la démission de l’AI précédent.

Points dont l’actuaire indépendant doit tenir compte

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’AI s’acquitte des principales tâches suivantes :

  • examiner l’effet de l’opération sur l’ensemble des souscripteurs, compte tenu de:
    • leurs droits actuels et futurs, leur protection, leur intérêt et leurs prestations;
    • leurs attentes raisonnables au titre des prestations, des coûts et des participations (p. ex., l’effet sur les participations des souscripteurs avec participation ou sur le coût de l’assurance des polices qui ne sont pas entièrement garanties);
    • le maintien du service destiné à tous les souscripteurs;
  • examiner les plans stratégique et d’entreprise et s’assurer qu’ils n’auront pas de conséquences négatives pour les souscripteurs des sociétés;
  • examiner les conséquences fiscales de la convention, dans la mesure où elles sont susceptibles d’influer sur les souscripteurs;
  • le cas échéant, recommander aux sociétés d’améliorer la protection ou la rémunération des souscripteurs;
  • formuler des opinions officielles en s’appuyant sur les résultats de l’examen (voir la description ci-dessous).

Portée de la participation de l’actuaire indépendant

L’ampleur des travaux de recherche de l’AI est fonction des circonstances propres du cas à l’étude. Pour s’acquitter de sa tâche, l’AI examine tous les documents jugés nécessaires pour formuler son opinion. À tout le moins, il se penche sur les documents essentiels suivants :

  • le rapport de l’actuaire désigné (ou son équivalent) visant les sociétés en cause;
  • les rapports sur l’examen dynamique de suffisance du capital visant les sociétés en cause;
  • les états financiers des sociétés en cause;
  • toute correspondance importante avec les organismes de réglementation des sociétés en cause;
  • le test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie (TSAV) , le test de suffisance de la marge d’assurance-vie (TSAM) ou d’autres calculs du ratio du capital (s’il y a lieu) des sociétés en cause avant et après l’entrée en vigueur de l’opération proposée;
  • les règles applicables aux blocs fermés de polices;
  • les renseignements supplémentaires sur les sociétés en cause que la situation peut exiger;
  • une description des polices cédées et des droits qui s’y rattachent;
  • les états financiers pro forma, le plan d’entreprise et les projections financières triennales, y compris le TSAV, le TSMAV ou d’autres calculs et projections (s’il y a lieu) du ratio du capital de la société qui accepte les polices cédées;
  • les conventions de réassurance, de vente ou de fusion;
  • les conventions auxiliaires, par exemple les conventions des actionnaires, les conventions de gestion, d’impartition, de gestion des placements, de service et de garde;
  • toute autre opinion d’un spécialiste indépendant qui pourrait permettre de déterminer le caractère raisonnable du prix d’achat, s’il y a lieu.

En plus d’examiner ces documents, l’AI devrait rencontrer les cadres supérieurs des sociétés, en particulier l’actuaire désigné (ou l’actuaire en chef s’il n’est pas désigné), le chef des finances et toutes les personnes suivantes ou certaines d’entre elles : le chef de la direction, le président du conseil, le chef de l’exploitation, le président du comité de vérification, le chef du contentieux, le secrétaire, les vice-présidents pertinents, le vérificateur interne et les vérificateurs externes.

Les sociétés doivent fournir à l’AI un exemplaire des rapports actuariels et sur l’EDSC les plus récents, toute correspondance importante avec les organismes de réglementation et les documents complémentaires sur l’actif et le passif qui pourraient être requis. L’AI doit toutefois former son propre jugement sur la qualité de l’information fournie, sur le bien-fondé des travaux des actuaires des sociétés, et par conséquent sur la portée des enquêtes ou des vérifications à effectuer.

Si une entité étrangère réassure les risques assumés à l’extérieur du Canada par la compagnie ou la société, l’AI doit être au courant des règles et les pratiques de surveillance en vigueur dans le pays où ladite entité est constituée et où les polices visées par la réassurance ont été émises. S’il a des doutes au sujet de ces règles et pratiques, l’AI doit communiquer avec les organismes étrangers de réglementation pour discuter de l’opération au plan des méthodes de surveillance actuelles et futures et de toute autre question susceptible d’aider l’AI à formuler son opinion.

L’AI doit discuter avec le BSIF de l’information ou de la documentation dont il a besoin et que les sociétés ne possèdent pas ou ne mettent pas à sa disposition.

Écarts de dates

Lorsque l’AI produit et soumet son rapport et son opinion après la date d’entrée en vigueur de la convention ou après la date du calcul des valeurs sur lesquelles s’appuie la convention, il doit tenir compte de tout rajustement éventuel pour préserver l’équité et les intérêts ou positions des souscripteurs.

Rapport

Un exemplaire du rapport de l’AI (ou un résumé) est habituellement remis aux membres ou souscripteurs des sociétés en cause. Même si le BSIF a autorisé la remise d’un résumé du rapport plutôt que le rapport complet, la version intégrale doit être soumise à l’inspection des souscripteurs, des membres et des actionnaires à la date de publication des avis de l’intention de la société de fusionner ou de limiter la réassurance aux fins de prise en charge. Il incombe à l’AI de s’assurer que le contenu du résumé est approprié compte tenu du contexte de diffusion et que ni le résumé ni un document qui l’accompagne ne donne une fausse impression des constatations qui figurent dans la version intégrale du rapport. L’information appuyant les conclusions de l’actuaire et dont les parties à l’opération souhaitent, pour de saines raisons commerciales, préserver la nature confidentielle peut être soumise au BSIF sous forme de note technique.

L’AI doit examiner l’effet de l’opération sur l’ensemble des souscripteurs et, s’il y a lieu, en rendre compte. Le BSIF cherche à s’assurer que la position et les intérêts de tous les souscripteurs des parties à l’opération seront protégés, et à garantir la sûreté de leurs prestations. L’AI doit examiner les plans d’entreprise des sociétés en cause, car ces derniers peuvent affecter les souscripteurs, y compris ceux qui ont acquis ce statut à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la convention ou par la suite.

Pour résumer, le contenu du rapport de l’AI est fonction des circonstances propres à chaque cas. Voici certains des points qui doivent figurer dans le rapport :

  • la dénomination sociale de la société (des sociétés) qui a (qui ont) nommé l’AI;
  • une attestation des compétences professionnelles de l’AI;
  • une déclaration à savoir si l’AI participe directement ou indirectement aux activités de l’une ou l’autre des sociétés, ce qui pourrait être perçu comme influant sur l’indépendance de l’actuaire;
  • le but de la transaction;
  • un résumé des modalités des conventions dans la mesure où elles se rapportent au contenu du rapport;
  • une liste des documents et des rapports que l’AI a examinés relativement à chacune des sociétés ayant pris part à l’opération faisant l’objet de la convention et une déclaration à l’effet que l’AI peut se fier à cette information;
  • le caractère raisonnable du prix d’achat et des conséquences fiscales de la convention, dans la mesure où ils peuvent influer sur les souscripteurs;
  • la suffisance de l’actif transféré pour appuyer le passif transféré;
  • l’effet de la convention sur la protection des prestations contractuelles des souscripteurs;
  • l’effet de l’opération sur la qualité et la nature du service qui sera offert aux souscripteurs;
  • l’effet de la proposition sur la nature et les droits des souscripteurs de participer aux bénéfices futurs;
  • les effets probables de la convention sur divers éléments, par exemple, la gestion des placements, la stratégie à l’égard des nouvelles affaires, l’administration, le niveau des dépenses et les bases d’évaluation, dans la mesure où ils peuvent influer sur la capacité des sociétés de s’acquitter de leurs obligations contractuelles auprès des souscripteurs pendant toute la durée des polices en vigueur;
  • dans le cas de polices avec participation, l’effet de la convention ou de l’opération sur les droits de propriété des souscripteurs de ces polices, et plus particulièrement l’importance de la perte ou la diminution des droits de ces personnes pour faire approuver ou éviter d’autres changements au titre de la constitution qui pourraient influer sur leurs attentes à titre de souscripteurs (par exemple, la conversion à un groupe fermé et la perte du droit de vote). L’actuaire doit indiquer si et dans quelle mesure les membres recevront aux termes de la convention un dédommagement pour toute diminution de leurs droits de propriété, et s’il est approprié;
  • relativement à l’équité de la proposition, les écarts, s’il y en a, au chapitre du traitement réservé aux souscripteurs habiles à voter et ceux qui ne le sont pas;
  • l’évaluation générale de l’effet de l’opération sur les attentes raisonnables des souscripteurs et une indication à savoir si l’actuaire est persuadé que l’opération est équitable pour toutes les catégories et les générations actuelles de ses souscripteurs. Dans le cas de souscripteurs avec participation, le coût du maintien du barème des participations ou de la politique des participations en vigueur, du barème des primes, des taux de coût d’assurance ou du niveau des prestations des souscripteurs actuels doit avoir été pris en compte dans le cadre de la proposition. Chaque catégorie de souscripteurs ne doit pas toucher des prestations moindres ou payer davantage que prévu à l’époque de l’opération, à moins que les changements ne soient justifiés par des conditions ou des résultats imprévus et non favorables au cours des prochaines années;
  • lorsque les lois de l’instance ou de l’instrument de constitution en société prévoient des droits de vote ou de propriété à l’intention des souscripteurs sans participation, l’effet de l’opération sur les droits de ces souscripteurs;
  • lorsque l’opération porte sur des blocs fermés de polices, les effets de l’opération sur le fonctionnement de ces blocs, de même que sur les prestations et les attentes des souscripteurs. L’actuaire doit veiller à ce que les règles actuelles et futures des blocs de polices ne soient pas modifiées ou, si elles le sont, à ce qu’elles aient été converties de façon appropriée et que les mesures de contrôle, d’attestation et d’agrément actuels et futurs demeurent en place pour protéger adéquatement les intérêts des souscripteurs visés;
  • chaque fois que l’AI formule une opinion dans le cadre du rapport, une explication de son bien-fondé;
  • un tableau récapitulatif à l’intention du BSIF au sujet des principaux aspects financiers de l’opération et la situation financière, y compris les états financiers pro forma, de chacune des sociétés avant et après l’opération;
  • toute question que l’AI n’a pas prise en compte ou évaluée dans le cadre du rapport et qui pourrait être utile aux fins de l’examen de la fusion par les souscripteurs.

Opinion

L’opinion de l’AI doit porter sur toutes les composantes de l’examen. Bien qu’aucun libellé ne soit précisé en ce qui concerne l’opinion (si ce n’est que de la déclaration d’objectivité, ci-dessous), une opinion satisfaisante comprend les éléments suivants :

  • en ce qui a trait aux droits des souscripteurs, une déclaration à l’effet que les droits des souscripteurs ne seront pas touchés ou seront préservés dans le cadre de l’opération, ou seront annulés en échange d’une contrepartie adéquate;
  • en cas de la vente de la totalité ou quasi-totalité des éléments d'actif ou de la réassurance aux fins de prise en charge de polices, en ce qui a trait à la protection des prestations des souscripteurs, une déclaration à l’effet que d’après la situation financière actuelle et projetée des sociétés participantes, l’opération permettra de maintenir ou d’améliorer la protection des prestations au titre des polices cédées entre les sociétés après l’exécution de l’opération, et que l’opération ne touchera en rien ou améliorera la protection des prestations à l’égard des polices de l’une ou l’autre des sociétés qui ne sont pas transférées;
  • en cas de fusion de sociétés, en ce qui a trait à la protection des prestations des souscripteurs, une déclaration à l’effet qu’en fonction de la situation financière actuelle des sociétés en cause et la situation pro forma projetée de la société issue de la fusion, la protection des prestations aux fins de toutes les polices des sociétés demeurera satisfaisante ou sera améliorée après l’exécution de l’opération;
  • en ce qui a trait aux intérêts des souscripteurs avec participation et des souscripteurs dont les polices ne sont pas entièrement garanties et quant au service qui leur sera offert, une déclaration à l’effet que les montants qui seront affectés aux comptes avec participation approprié(s) sont calculés de manière satisfaisante et conformément aux méthodes utilisées par la société cédante et que l’opération n’influe en rien sur les attentes raisonnables des souscripteurs avec participation et des souscripteurs dont les polices ne sont pas entièrement garanties au chapitre des prestations et du service;
  • en ce qui concerne les intérêts des souscripteurs sans participation et dont les polices sont entièrement garanties et quant au service qui leur sera offert, une déclaration à l’effet que l’opération préservera leurs attentes au chapitre des prestations et du service.

Déclaration d’objectivité

La déclaration d’objectivité suivante doit être incluse dans chacune des opinions :

  • Je déclare m’être acquitté de mon mandat en toute objectivité et conformément aux normes actuarielles reconnues sans égard à un gain éventuel autre que la rémunération prévue pour le travail accompli.

Signature

Le rapport de l’AI exigé en vertu des paragraphes 247(2), 254(4.1) et 587.1(6) de la LSA ne doit être signé que par l’AI compétent. Le nom et le titre de l’AI doivent être inscrits en toutes lettres après la signature.

Examen du rapport

Une ébauche du rapport doit être soumise à l’examen du BSIF.

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’AI discute de son travail et du rapport avec un autre actuaire (au sein de la société ou à l’extérieur).

Si plus d’un actuaire a collaboré à la préparation du rapport de l’AI, il convient d’indiquer le nom et la participation de chacun des actuaires en cause.

Conclusion

Si la préparation d’un rapport soulève des problèmes, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec le BSIF.

D’autres guides d’instructions énoncent les règles et les procédures relatives aux fusions et à la réassurance de polices. Pour en obtenir des exemplaires, veuillez consulter le site Web du BSIF, à l’adresse www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Toute autre demande de renseignements peut être transmise à l’adresse que voici :

  • Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
  • Division de la législation et des approbations
  • Secteur de la réglementation
  • 255, rue Albert, 15e étage
  • Ottawa (Ontario), Canada
  • K1A 0H2
  • Téléphone : (613) 990-3590. Télécopieur : (613) 991-0325