Participating Account Management and Disclosure to Participating Policyholders and Adjustable Policyholders

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline Impact Analysis Statement
  • Date: November 2011
  • No: E-16
  • Audiences: Life

1. Background

The Insurance Companies Act (ICA) makes specific reference to participating policies in a number of sections. These sections are intended to provide a minimum level of protection for participating policyholders. However, management of these policies is subject to significant discretion by the company with respect to the management of the business and the level of policyholder dividends.

In 2005, the ICA was amended to require each company with participating policies to have a policy for the management of the participating policies. In addition, new requirements for the management of adjustable policies were added.

In 2010, the Policyholders Disclosure Regulations (Regulations), which supports the ICA on the subject of par and adjustable policies, was enacted after consultation with industry.

II. Problem Identification

There are a number of missing components in the current guidance for participating policies and adjustable policies:

  • The changes to the ICA introduced new requirements for Appointed Actuary (AA) opinions respecting participating and adjustable policies. A key requirement is that the AA is required to opine on the “fairness” of the policies regarding the administration of participating accounts, the setting of participating dividends and any adjustments to adjustable policies. However, the ICA and the Regulations do not explicitly specify how fairness is to be determined. There is also no guidance on fairness from the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA).
  • The management and disclosure requirements of the Regulations are quite succinct, as it was expected that OSFI would develop guidance that would provide more detailed direction.
  • Some sections of the ICA related to such participating policies have been the subject of inconsistent interpretation and application by companies in the past.
  • Large mutual insurance companies demutualized in 1999, 2000, and 2006. While there was some guidance at the time concerning the requirements governing participating policies subject to demutualization, this was never formalized by OSFI. Companies that demutualized are subject to continuing management and reporting requirements with respect to such policies, but these requirements have yet to be explicitly and formally documented.

III. Objectives

This new guideline addresses the above issues by giving direction to companies on how best to comply with the revised requirements for participating and adjustable policies.

IV. Identification and Assessment of Objectives

Option 1 – Rely solely on the ICA and the Regulations

The advantage of this option is that OSFI would not have to devote resources to developing its own guidance on participating and adjustable policies. However, the resources and costs to produce the guidance are not material.

As previously noted, the Regulations were developed with the understanding by industry that OSFI would develop additional guidance. As it currently stands, there is also a lack of any official guidance on the continuing requirements for companies that have previously demutualized. Without additional guidance from OSFI, practice could vary between companies in how they meet the requirements of the ICA and the Regulations.

Option 2 – Let the CIA develop any additional guidance.

As under option 1 above, OSFI would not have to devote resources to the development of guidance.

While the CIA has authority over the professional responsibilities of AAs, it has no authority over the companies themselves. As such, this option could result in variation in practice between companies, with the potential for unequal treatment of policyholders.

Option 3 – Develop OSFI guidance on the revised ICA and Regulations requirements as they affect the companies, but have the CIA develop professional guidance for the AAs.

The advantage of this option is that it results in consistent expectations for companies in how they interpret the ICA and the Regulations.

While there are costs for OSFI related to the development of guidance, they are relatively minor compared to having to supervise a variety of company approaches to the management of participating and adjustable policies.

V. Consultations

OSFI issued a draft guideline for comment in June 2011. A number of organizations and individuals provided valuable input, a significant portion of which has been reflected in the final version of the guideline.

VI. Recommendation

OSFI is of the view that the creation of guidance is the most appropriate option for ensuring that institutions consistently meet the requirements of the ICA and the Regulation. The guidance should be developed in cooperation with the CIA developing appropriate professional guidance for the AA in how to fulfill the AA’s obligations in the ICA and the Regulation.

Gestion des comptes de participation et information à communiquer aux souscripteurs de polices à participation et aux souscripteurs de polices ajustables

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la ligne directrice
  • Date : Novembre 2011
  • No : E-16
  • Public : SAV

1. Contexte

Un certain nombre d’articles de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (LSA) mentionnent expressément les polices à participation. Les articles en question ont pour but d’assurer une protection minimale aux souscripteurs avec participation. Toutefois, les sociétés gèrent en grande partie à leur discrétion ce volet de leur activité et le niveau des participations servies aux souscripteurs.

Des modifications apportées à la LSA en 2005 obligent chaque société qui émet des polices à participation à adopter une politique régissant leur gestion. De nouvelles exigences visant la gestion des polices ajustables ont également été ajoutées à la LSA.

Le Règlement sur les communications aux souscripteurs (le Règlement) qui soutient la LSA en ce qu’elle a trait aux polices à participation et aux polices ajustables, a été adopté en 2010 à la suite de la consultation du secteur.

II. Constatation de problèmes

Il manque un certain nombre d’éléments aux directives actuelles sur les polices à participation et les polices ajustables.

  • Les changements apportés à la LSA ont établi de nouvelles exigences relatives aux opinions des actuaires désignés sur les polices à participation et les polices ajustables. Les actuaires désignés doivent, par exemple, se prononcer sur l’équité envers les souscripteurs en ce qui a trait à l’administration des comptes de participation, à l’établissement des participations et au rajustement des polices ajustables. Cela dit, ni la LSA ni le Règlement ne précisent comment déterminer l’équité. En outre, l’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) passe cette question sous silence.
  • Les exigences du Règlement relatives à la gestion des polices et aux communications connexes sont plutôt brèves, car le législateur s’attendait à ce que le BSIF établisse des consignes détaillées à ce propos.
  • Dans le passé, les sociétés d’assurances ont interprétés et appliqués chacune à leur façon certains articles de la LSA qui traitent des polices à participation.
  • Les grandes sociétés mutuelles d’assurances ont été démutualisées en 1999, 2000 et 2006.

Bien que certaines consignes aient été données à l’époque concernant les exigences relatives aux polices avec participation visées par la démutualisation, le BSIF ne les a jamais entérinées. Des exigences permanentes s’appliquent à la gestion des sociétés démutualisées et aux renseignements qu’elles doivent communiquer au sujet de ces polices, mais elles n’ont jamais été consignées et adoptées officiellement.

III. Objectifs

La présente ligne directrice apporte des solutions aux problèmes susmentionnés en indiquant aux sociétés comment se conformer aux nouvelles exigences portant sur les polices à participation et les polices ajustables.

IV. Choix et évaluation des objectifs

Option 1 – Compter seulement sur la LSA et le Règlement

Cette option a ceci d’avantageux que le BSIF n’aurait pas à affecter de ressources à l’élaboration de ses propres consignes sur les polices à participation et les polices ajustables. Par contre, les ressources nécessaires à la production de directives et les coûts que cette activité occasionnerait ne sont pas d’une grande importance relative.

Comme nous l’avons mentionné, lorsque le Règlement a été établi, le secteur d’activité avait été informé que le BSIF fournirait des consignes complémentaires. À l’heure qu’il est, il n’existe pas non plus de consignes officielles sur les obligations permanentes auxquelles doivent satisfaire les sociétés démutualisées. À défaut de lignes de conduite publiées par le BSIF, les sociétés pourraient adopter diverses méthodes pour répondre aux exigences de la LSA et du Règlement.

Option 2 – Laisser à l’ICA le soin d’élaborer des consignes supplémentaires

À l’instar de la première option proposée, le BSIF n’aurait pas à consacrer de ressources à l’élaboration de consignes.

Bien que l’ICA régisse l’activité professionnelle des actuaires désignés, elle n’a pas autorité sur les sociétés mêmes. Cette option aurait donc pour conséquence l’adoption d’approches variées par les sociétés, et les souscripteurs risqueraient d’être traités inégalement.

Option 3 – Confier au BSIF la responsabilité d’établir des consignes sur les exigences révisées de la LSA et du Règlement en ce qu’elles touchent les sociétés, mais charger l’ICA d’élaborer des lignes de conduite professionnelle à l’intention des actuaires désignés.

Cette option est avantageuse en ce sens que les sociétés interpréteraient toutes de façon comparable la LSA et le Règlement.

L’établissement de consignes occasionnerait des coûts pour le BSIF, mais ils seraient relativement modestes en comparaison de ceux qui découleraient de l’obligation de surveiller un éventail d’approches adoptées par les sociétés pour gérer les polices à participation et les polices ajustables.

V. Consultations

Le BSIF a fait circuler un projet de ligne directrice en juin 2011 en vue de recueillir des commentaires. Un certain nombre d’organismes et de particuliers lui ont communiqué des observations utiles, dont bon nombre ont été intégrées à la version finale du document.

VI. Recommandation

Le BSIF estime que l’établissement de lignes directrices est l’option optimale à adopter pour que les institutions répondent de façon cohérente aux exigences de la LSA et du Règlement. De telles lignes directrices devraient être élaborées de concert avec l’ICA, qui établirait parallèlement des lignes de conduite professionnelle énonçant la façon dont les actuaires désignés doivent s’acquitter des obligations que leur imposent la LSA et le Règlement.