Role of the Chief Agent and Record Keeping Requirements

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Date: November 1992
  • Revised: November 2005
  • Revised: January 2010
  • No: E-4A
  • Audiences: FCB

Introduction

Section 573 of the Insurance Companies Act (ICA) provides that a foreign entity shall not insure in Canada a risk unless it is authorized by order of the Superintendent to do so and the risk falls within a class of insurance that is specified in the order. Where a foreign entity has been granted such an order, every aspect of the insurance business that it carries on in Canada, including the insurance in Canada of risks, is subject to record keeping, vesting of assets and other requirements imposed by Part XIII of the ICA.

This guideline describes OSFI’s expectations with respect to the role of the Chief Agent (CA) of a foreign companyFootnote 1. The guideline applies to the Canadian insurance branch operations of foreign entitiesFootnote 2. For the purposes of this guideline, these entities will be referred to collectively as foreign company branches (FCBs). It also discusses OSFI’s expectations with respect to records and documents to be maintained at the chief agency. The guideline does not address all legislative and regulatory obligations and requirements; therefore, CAs are expected to refer to relevant provisions in the legislation and regulations. Reference should also be made to a number of other guidelines, advisories and rulings applicable to FCBs.Footnote 3

As part of its risk-based supervisory framework, OSFI evaluates FCBs against legislative and regulatory requirements as well as the expectations of this guideline and other guidance applicable to FCBs.

1. Role of the Chief Agent

Foreign companies establishing a branch in Canada are required to appoint a CAFootnote 4. As noted in the Corporate Governance Guideline, OSFI looks to the CA to oversee the management of the FCB, including matters of a corporate governance nature that relate to the branch. As such, OSFI expects that the CA will be accountable for the FCB’s operations. However, OSFI recognizes the nature, scope, complexity, and risk profile of FCBs may affect how the CA carries out his or her role with respect to the expectations set out in this guideline.

It is recognized that the CA may delegate various branch responsibilities to branch employees. Alternatively, he/she may enter into arrangements with the home office, another entity within the corporate group, or a third party. OSFI would expect all situations where the CA does not have direct responsibility for a significant function (e.g., servicing of policies booked in the Canadian branch) to be documented either in written mandates/policies or service level agreements of the FCB. Such arrangements made with the home office, another entity within the group, or a third party would be considered outsourcing under OSFI’s Guideline B-10 on Outsourcing of Business Activities, Functions, and Processes. OSFI would expect FCBs to consider Guideline B-10 when these activities or functions are outsourced. Guideline B-10 sets out OSFI’s expectations for the management of various types of outsourcing arrangements, including the areas to be addressed by a written outsourcing agreement. Guideline B-10 also includes specific expectations for arrangements where the service provider is a related party of an FCB.

While the CA may not conduct all responsibilities or activities directly, OSFI expects the CA to retain his or her overall accountability for the operations of the FCB. Regardless of who conducts the various functions, OSFI expects the CA to:

  • ensure that the FCB has clearly articulated business objectives, strategies and that they are available for review by OSFI at the chief agency. Recognizing that FCBs are not legal entities but rather an extension of the home office, the CA is expected to consult with and report to the home office regarding the suitability of planned activities for the FCB;
  • be satisfied that appropriate policies and procedures (i.e. control systems) are in place to manage the risks, regardless of where the controls may reside;
  • receive sufficiently comprehensive and frequent reports to understand and monitor the business of the FCB; and
  • undertake or obtain, periodically, an independent assessment of the adequacy and effectiveness of the controls. Independent assessment may be obtained from individuals or groups designated with that role, such as internal audit or risk management (either at the branch or home office), or qualified third parties.

The CA is expected to ensure that there are robust policies and proceduresFootnote 5 to manage the assets and liabilities recorded on the FCB’s books and records and related accounts (e.g. deposit, investment, vested in trust, etc.). For example, OSFI would expect the CA to ensure that all policy premiums that have been received in Canada and that are originating from its insurance business in Canada would be deposited directly into a Canadian bank account of the FCB.

The FCB’s accounts at banks and/or trust companies should only be accessible with the signature of the CA or his/her formally appointed designate(s) who is a Canadian resident.

The CA should ensure the FCB is in compliance with applicable legislation and regulations, and is conducting its business and affairs in a manner consistent with applicable OSFI guidelines. For example, OSFI would expect the CA to have ultimate responsibility for ensuring the FCB has sufficient assets vested in trust to cover the FCB’s liabilities and required margins. Additional information on compliance issues can be found in OSFI’s Guideline E-13: Legislative Compliance Management.

While the CA may delegate responsibility for day-to-day management to others, OSFI expects the CA to be in a position to verify the annual return. Therefore, OSFI would expect the CA to have, or to ensure the individuals undertaking activities with respect to the FCB have, a good understanding of applicable legislation, regulations and guidelines, as well as the activities and related records of the FCB, including its assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses.

2. Record Keeping Requirements

OSFI’s mandate includes the periodic examination of and inquiry into the business and affairs of each FCBFootnote 6. In order to assist this mandate, the ICA requires that FCBs maintain certain records at the chief agencyFootnote 7. The Appendix contains additional guidance with respect to the type and form of records OSFI expects FCBs to maintain in Canada.

Where processing of records related to the FCB’s business occurs at a location other than the chief agency, it is critical that they are backed up as appropriate and provided to the chief agency to ensure that records maintained in Canada are up to date at the end of each business day.Footnote 8 While OSFI recognizes some accounting records may only be available on a monthly or quarterly accounting cycle, this does not override the foregoing requirement with respect to other records.

OSFI expects records maintained in Canada will be of sufficient detail to:

  • enable the CA to fulfill his or her accountabilities with respect to the FCB’s business;
  • enable OSFI to conduct an examination and inquiry into the business and affairs of the FCB; and
  • enable OSFI to administer the FCB’s business should the Superintendent take control of the FCB’s assets.

Where sufficient information is not available, OSFI may request it as necessaryFootnote 9.

Appendix

Records Maintained by FCBs

i) Type of Records

OSFI expects the records maintained by an FCB in Canada would include a complete set of accounting records, ledgers, journals and trial balances related to the FCB’s insurance business in Canada, with sufficient detail to understand and verify the assets, liabilities, revenue and expenditures recorded in the regulatory returns and to enable supervisors to assess the risk profile of the FCB. This would be supported by supervisory access to individuals to whom the CA may have delegated responsibility within the branch or through an arrangement with the home office, another entity within the corporate group, or a third party.

Records in respect of an FCB’s business that should be held pursuant to paragraph 647(1)(b) and (c) of the ICA would include:

  • complete accounting records;
  • policy registers, originals or photocopies of all policies that would cause the FCB to be insuring in Canada risks (including policies that may cover risks located outside of Canada), policy applications, policy change requests; and
  • claims registers, complete claims files including notice and proof of claims, date of settlement, claims payment records, details of unpaid claims and recoverable amounts, adjustors’ reports, and supporting documents;

In support of the above records, OSFI expects the FCB to maintain the following records:

  • details of investments, derivatives, pledged assets, etc;
  • working papers, with properly referenced audit trails, to support the financial statements/ regulatory returns;
  • bank statements, cheque registers, monthly bank reconciliation, vouchers and receipts pertaining to the Canadian operations, and adequate documentation to confirm that amounts due in respect of the insurance business of the FCB flow to the bank account in Canada;
  • records supporting amounts due to or from the home office and affiliated entities (if any);
  • taxation documentation.
  • policy movement reports and reserve amounts;
  • premium registers detailing premiums written, earned, and unearned;
  • listing of policy loans, amounts on deposit by policy, related interest income or expense, and originals or copies of policy loan applications;
  • complete investment records including investment statements, summary of investment income from insurance and other operations, supporting documentation including securities registers (including information regarding securities held by the FCB outside Canada), mortgage register and mortgage documents;
  • supporting documentation for receivables and payables (due to/from agents, brokers, policyholders, others).
  • reinsurance registers for assumptions and cessions showing details of underwriting information by treaty, premiums, losses, commissions, etc., balances due to/from reinsurance companies, and supporting source documents;
  • analysis of home office account.

Additional records that could enable the CA to fulfill his/her accountabilities and/or to facilitate the supervisory process would include:

  • a description of the accounting system;
  • copies of all agreements, including outsourcing agreements with home office and affiliates;
  • signed copies of all contracts, material to the FCB, that relate to the administrative operation of the FCBFootnote 10;
  • copies of policies and practices governing the FCB’s operations in Canada;
  • current organization chart, showing reporting lines within the FCB and to home office and/or other affiliates;
  • an evergreen listing of those responsible (including contact information) for core business functions, including where responsibility lies when at a location other than the chief agency.
  • human resource and payroll information;
  • details of any current litigation matters;
  • identification information obtained at the time each individual became a policyholderFootnote 11 or customer of the FCB and current contact information;
  • signed copies of reinsurance agreements and related amendments, facultative reinsurance certificates, group contracts, and agents’ agreementsFootnote 12;
  • actuarial reports, including valuation reports, external review reports, experience studies, etc., and supporting documentation; and
  • analyses supporting the adequacy of the margin of assets in Canada over liabilities in Canada relative to the FCB’s target level and the supervisory target set out in OSFI Guidelines, including stress and scenario test results.

ii) Form of Records

An FCB has the option of preparing and maintaining records in hard copy or electronically, provided that electronic records can be reproduced, “in intelligible written form within a reasonable period of time”Footnote 13. OSFI would expect to be able to obtain such information without incurring additional costs and using readily available commercial applications. For certain types of information, such as reinsurance arrangements or files on more complex activities, reproduced electronic records may not be sufficient for OSFI’s review. OSFI may request that the hard copy, original information be available at the branch in Canada, as needed. The FCB’s information systems should be capable of providing appropriate reports having adequate, relevant information for management decision-making and to provide and maintain an audit trail to verify regulatory returns.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Pursuant to subsection 2(1) of the Insurance Companies Act (ICA), a foreign company means an entity that is the subject of an order made under subsection 574(1) of the ICA. In respect of an association, the role of the Chief Agent is undertaken by the “Attorney in Fact”.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

A foreign entity is defined in the ICA as an entity incorporated or formed by or under the laws of a country other than Canada, and includes an association and an exchange.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Refer to OSFI’s Internet Web site for guidelines at http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/osfi/index_e.aspx?ArticleID=526, advisories at http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/osfi/index_e.aspx?DetailID=524 and rulings at http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/osfi/index_e.aspx?DetailID=526.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Pursuant to section 571 of the ICA, a CA is the natural person appointed pursuant to subsection 579(3) and named as such in the power of attorney referred to in paragraph 579(1)(b). Pursuant to subsection 579(3), the foreign company shall appoint a CA who is ordinarily resident in Canada. Pursuant to paragraph 579(2), the foreign company shall provide the CA with a power of attorney expressly authorizing the CA to receive all notices under the laws of Canada from the Minister or Superintendent.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

It is recognized that the home office may have established some of these policies and procedures. Where this is the case, OSFI would expect the CA to concur with their appropriateness and to recommend amendments where necessary to suit the FCB's activities.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Pursuant to section 674 of the ICA.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

Pursuant to subsection 647(3) of the ICA.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

Downloading of records to the Canadian operation is only required when the records have changed from the previous day.

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Pursuant to section 664 of the ICA.

Return to footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

OSFI expects that these contracts will bear the signature of the CA or another individual formally appointed by the CA. OSFI recognizes that there may be instances where the home office, on behalf of the FCB, enters into such contracts. In such instances, OSFI would expect the CA to be made aware of these arrangements and for the FCB to maintain a copy of the contract at the chief agency in Canada.

Return to footnote 10 referrer

Footnote 11

Policyholder would include direct policyholders and all certificate holders that could have a claim against the foreign company.

Return to footnote 11 referrer

Footnote 12

OSFI expects that all reinsurance agreements, group contracts and agents’ agreements will bear the signature of the CA or his/her formally appointed designate.

Return to footnote 12 referrer

Footnote 13

Paragraph 266(1)(b) of the ICA (applicable to foreign companies through section 649 of the ICA).

Return to footnote 13 referrer

Rôle de l’agent principal et exigences en matière de tenue de livres

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Version originale : Novembre 1992
  • Refonte : Novembre 2005
  • Refonte : Janvier 2010
  • No : E-4A
  • Public : SSE

Introduction

Aux termes de l’article 573 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (LSA), une entité étrangère ne peut garantir de risques au Canada sans le consentement du surintendant, et sous réserve que les risques en question correspondent aux branches d’assurance précisées dans son ordonnance d’agrément. Lorsqu’elle obtient ce consentement, toutes les activités d’assurance qu’elle exerce au Canada, y compris la garantie de risques au Canada, doivent satisfaire toutes les exigences de la Partie XIII de la LSA, notamment au chapitre de la tenue de livres et de l’acquisition d’éléments d’actif.

La présente ligne directrice décrit les attentes du BSIF à l’égard du rôle de l’agent principal (AP) d’une société étrangère Note de bas de page 1 et s’applique aux activités des succursales canadiennes d’entités étrangèresNote de bas de page 2. Ces entités sont ici désignées collectivement succursales de sociétés étrangères (SSE). Sont également abordées dans la présente les attentes en matière de tenue de livres et de documents à l’agence principale. Il est à noter que, la présente ne reprenant pas toutes les obligations et exigences législatives et réglementaires; le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’agent principal consulte l’ensemble des dispositions pertinentes des lois et règlements. Enfin, il voudra aussi consulter les autres lignes directrices, préavis et décisions ayant valeur de précédent visant les SSE.Note de bas de page 3

Conformément à son cadre de surveillance axée sur les risques, le BSIF évalue les SSE en fonction des attentes énoncées dans la présente ligne directrice et des autres lignes directrices visant les SSE.

1. Rôle de l’agent principal

Les sociétés étrangères qui établissent une succursale au Canada sont tenues de nommer un APNote de bas de page 4. Comme on peut le lire dans la ligne directrice sur la gouvernance d’entreprise, le BSIF s’attend à que l’AP supervise la gestion de la SSE, y compris les questions de régie d’entreprise qui ont trait à la succursale. Ainsi, le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’AP soit tenu responsable des activités de la SSE. Or, le BSIF reconnaît que la nature, la portée, la complexité et le profil de risques des SSE peuvent influer sur la manière dont l’AP s’acquitte de son rôle à l’égard des attentes énoncées dans la présente ligne directrice.

L’AP peut déléguer certaines responsabilités de la succursale aux employés de celle-ci. Par ailleurs, il peut conclure des modalités avec l’établissement principal, une autre entité du groupe ou un tiers. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que toute situation où l’AP n’est pas directement imputable d’une fonction importante (p. ex., la gestion des polices souscrites par la succursale canadienne) soit documentée par écrit sous forme de mandat, de politique ou d’entente sur le niveau de service de la SSE. Les modalités conclues avec l’établissement principal, une autre entité du groupe ou un tiers seraient réputées être de l’impartition en vertu de la ligne directrice B-10 du BSIF Impartition d’activités, de fonctions et de méthodes commerciales. Le BSIF s’attendrait pas conséquent à ce que la SSE respecte les modalités de la ligne directrice B-10 lorsqu’elle impartit des fonctions et activités. La ligne directrice B-10 énonce les attentes du BSIF à l’égard de la gestion de divers types de modalités d’impartition, y compris les domaines visés par une entente d’impartition par écrit. La ligne directrice B-10 comporte aussi des attentes précises à l’égard des modalités où le fournisseur de services est un apparenté d’une SSE.

Même si l’AP ne peut assumer directement toutes les responsabilités ou prendre directement en charge toutes les activités, le BSIF s’attend à ce qu’il soit imputable des activités de la SSE. Donc, quelle que soit la personne ou la société chargée des diverses fonctions, le BSIF s’attend à ce qui suit de la part de l’AP.

  • Veiller à ce que la SSE formule des objectifs, stratégies et plans administratifs clairs et précis et à ce que le BSIF puisse les consulter aux bureaux de l’agence principale. La SSE n’étant pas une entité juridique mais bien une prolongation de l’établissement principal, l’AP devrait soumettre au siège social les projets qu’il envisage pour la SSE, et lui en rendre compte, afin de s’assurer qu’ils correspondent aux objectifs.
  • Être convaincu du caractère adéquat des politiques et des procédures (c.-à-d., systèmes de contrôle) instaurées pour gérer les risques, peu importe l’endroit où peuvent se trouver les mécanismes de contrôle.
  • Recevoir des rapports suffisamment complets et fréquents pour comprendre et surveiller les affaires de la SSE.
  • Entreprendre ou obtenir périodiquement une évaluation indépendante de la pertinence et de l’efficacité des mécanismes de contrôle. L’évaluation indépendante peut être faite par des particuliers ou des groupes à qui ce rôle a été confié, par exemple, vérification interne ou gestion des risques (de la succursale ou de l’établissement principal) ou des tiers compétents.

L’AP devrait s’assurer que les politiques et procédures Note de bas de page 5 visant à gérer les éléments d’actif et de passif figurant dans les livres et registres et les comptes connexes de la SSE (p. ex., dépôts, investissements et placés en fiducie) sont robustes. Par exemple, le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’AP voit à ce que toutes les primes des polices reçues au Canada et émanant d’activités d’assurances au Canada soient déposées directement dans un compte bancaire canadien établit au nom de la SSE.

Il ne devrait être possible d’accéder aux comptes de la SSE dans les banques et(ou) les sociétés de fiducie qu’avec la signature de l’AP ou son remplaçant officiel (ses remplaçants officiels) qui est résident canadien (qui sont résidents canadiens).

L’AP doit voir à ce que la SSE se conforme aux lois et règlements applicables et qu’il mène ses activités et affaires d’une manière qui respecte les lignes directrices du BSIF pertinentes. Par exemple, le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’AP soit responsable au premier chef de garantir que la SSE a suffisamment d’éléments d’actif placés en fiducie pour couvrir ses éléments de passif et les marges requises. Pour d’autres renseignements sur les questions de conformité, prière de consulter la ligne directrice E-13 du BSIF Gestion du respect de la législation.

Même si l’AP peut déléguer la responsabilité de la gestion quotidienne à d’autres, le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’AP soit en mesure de vérifier l’état annuel. Par conséquent, le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’AP comprenne, ou voit à ce que les personnes menant des activités en rapport avec la SSE comprennent, les lois, règlements et lignes directrices pertinents ainsi que les activités et les dossiers de la SSE, notamment ses éléments d’actif et de passif, revenus et dépenses.

2. Exigences en matière de tenue de livres

Le mandat confié au BSIF comporte l’examen et l’analyse périodiques des activités et affaires de chaque SSENote de bas de page 6. À cette fin, la LSA stipule que les SSE sont tenues de conserver certains livres à l’agence principaleNote de bas de page 7. On trouvera des précisions à ce sujet dans l’Annexe.

Quand les livres relatifs aux activités de la SSE sont traités ailleurs qu’à l’agence principale, il est impératif d’en faire une sauvegarde adéquate et de la remettre à l’agence principale pour garantir que les livres conservés au Canada sont à jour à la fin de chaque jour ouvrable. Note de bas de page 8 Le BSIF reconnaît que certains dossiers comptables ne sont peut-être disponibles que selon un cycle comptable mensuel ou trimestriel, mais cela n’annule pas l’exigence en question à l’égard des autres dossiers.

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les dossiers conservés au Canada soient suffisamment détaillés pour :

  1. permettre à l’AP de s’acquitter des responsabilités qui lui incombent à l’égard des activités de la SSE;

  2. permettre au BSIF d’examiner et d’analyser les activités et affaires de la SSE;

  3. permettre au BSIF d’administrer les activités de la SSE si le surintendant prend le contrôle des éléments d’actif de la SSE.

Si l’information disponible n’est pas suffisante, le BSIF peut l’exiger, s’il y a lieuNote de bas de page 9 .

Annexe: Livres tenus par les SSE

i. Type de livres

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les livres conservés par une SSE au Canada comportent un jeu complet des dossiers comptables, des registres, des journaux et des balances des comptes relativement aux activités d’assurances au Canada de la SSE qui sont suffisamment détaillés pour comprendre et vérifier les éléments d’actif et de passif, les revenus et les dépenses consignés dans les états réglementaires et permettre aux surveillants d’évaluer le profil de risque de la SSE. De plus, le surveillant doit pouvoir accéder aux personnes à qui l’AP a peut-être délégué des responsabilités au sein de la succursale ou au moyen d’une entente avec l’établissement principal, une autre entité du groupe ou un tiers.

Les livres concernant les activités d’une SSE qui doivent être conservés conformément aux alinéas 647(1)b) et c) de la LSA comportent ce qui suit.

  • Les livres comptables complets.
  • Les registres des polices, l’original ou une photocopie de toutes les polices au titre desquelles la SSE garantit des risques au Canada (y compris les polices pouvant couvrir des risques à l’extérieur du Canada), les demandes de police et les demandes de changement de police.
  • Les registres des sinistres, les dossiers complets des sinistres, y compris l’avis et la preuve des sinistres, la date du règlement, les dossiers des paiements des sinistres, les détails des sinistres non payés et les montants recouvrables, les rapports des ajusteurs et les documents à l’appui.

Pour appuyer les livres susmentionnés, le BSIF s’attend à ce que la SSE conserve les dossiers suivants.

  • Les détails des placements, des instruments dérivés, des actifs gagés, etc.
  • Les documents de travail avec renvoi pertinent aux pistes de vérification pour appuyer les états financiers / états réglementaires.
  • Les relevés bancaires, les registres des chèques, le rapprochement bancaire mensuel, les pièces justificatives et reçus ayant trait aux opérations canadiennes et les pièces confirmant que les montants dus au titre des activités d’assurance de la SSE ont été versés au compte bancaire au Canada.
  • Les dossiers à l’appui des montants dus à l’établissement principal et aux entités du même groupe (s’il y a lieu), ou en provenant.
  • Les pièces justificatives en matière d’imposition.
  • Les rapports sur le mouvement des polices et les montants des réserves.
  • Les registres des primes précisant les primes souscrites, acquises et non acquises.
  • La liste des avances sur police, les montants en dépôt par police, les intérêts créditeurs ou débiteurs connexes et l’original ou une copie des demandes d’avance sur police.
  • Le registre complet des placements, y compris les déclarations de placement, un résumé du revenu de placement issu de l’assurance et des autres opérations, la documentation à l’appui, y compris les registres des titres (notamment l’information concernant les titres de la SSE détenus à l’extérieur du Canada), le registre des hypothèques et les conventions hypothécaires.
  • La documentation à l’appui des comptes débiteurs et créditeurs (dus aux agents, courtiers, souscripteurs et autres ou en provenant).
  • Les registres de la réassurance pour les hypothèses et les cessions comportant des détails sur les données de la souscription par traité, les primes, les pertes, les commissions, etc., les soldes dus aux sociétés de réassurance ou en provenant et les documents sources à l’appui.
  • L’analyse du compte de l’établissement principal.

Voici d’autres documents qui pourraient permettre à l’AP de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités et(ou) de faciliter le processus de surveillance.

  • Une description du système comptable.
  • Des copies de toutes les ententes, y compris celles d’impartition avec l’établissement principal et les entités du groupe.
  • Des copies signées de tous les marchés importants pour la SSE portant sur le fonctionnement administratif de la SSENote de bas de page 10;
  • Des copies des politiques et des pratiques régissant les opérations de la SSE au Canada.
  • Un organigramme à jour indiquant les rapports hiérarchiques au sein de la SSE et envers l’établissement principal et(ou) les autres entités du groupe.
  • Les renseignements concernant les ressources humaines et la feuille de paye.
  • La liste évolutive des personnes (et leurs coordonnées) chargées des principales fonctions administratives et dans laquelle on précise l’emplacement des services responsables lorsqu’ils se trouvent ailleurs qu’à l’agence principale.
  • Les détails de toute question litigieuse en cours.
  • Les renseignements signalétiques recueillis au moment où chaque particulier est devenu un souscripteurNote de bas de page 11 ou un client de la SSE et les coordonnées à jour de la personne-ressource.
  • Les copies signées des accords de réassurance et des modifications connexes, les certificats de réassurance facultatifs, les contrats collectifs et les ententes des agentsNote de bas de page 12;
  • Les rapports actuariels, y compris les rapports d’évaluation, les rapports d’examen externe, les études actuarielles, etc., et la documentation à l’appui.
  • Les analyses appuyant la suffisance de la marge des éléments d’actif au Canada sur les éléments de passif au Canada par rapport au niveau cible de la SSE et au niveau de surveillance cible établi dans les lignes directrices du BSIF, y compris les résultats des simulations de crise et des analyses de scénarios.

ii. Forme des livres

Une SSE peut préparer et tenir à jour des registres en copie papier ou électronique, pourvu que les copies électroniques puissent être reproduites en forme écrite intelligente dans un délai raisonnable Note de bas de page 13. Le BSIF doit pouvoir obtenir cette information sans engager de frais supplémentaires et en utilisant des applications commerciales facilement disponibles. Pour certains types de renseignements, par exemple, accords de réassurance ou dossiers sur des activités plus complexes, il se peut que les registres électroniques reproduits ne soient pas suffisants aux fins de l'examen du BSIF. Celui-ci peut exiger que l'information sur copie papier soit disponible à la succursale au Canada, s'il y a lieu. Les systèmes d’information de la SSE doivent être en mesure de générer des rapports appropriés comportant de l’information pertinente et adéquate pour faciliter la prise de décisions de gestion et d’offrir et de tenir à jour une piste de vérification permettant de vérifier les états réglementaires.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (LSA), une société étrangère s’entend d’une entité faisant l’objet de l’agrément prévu au paragraphe 574(1) de ladite loi. Dans le cas d’une association, le rôle de l’agent principal est confié à un fondé de pouvoir.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Au sens de la LSA, une entité étrangère s’entend d’une entité constituée en personne morale ou formée sous le régime de la législation d’un pays étranger. Est également visée par cette définition une association et un groupe d’échange.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Conformément à l’article 571 de la LSA, un AP est la personne nommée en vertu du paragraphe 579(3) et nommé à ce titre dans la procuration dont il est question à l’alinéa 579(1)b). Conformément au paragraphe 579(3), la société étrangère est tenue de nommer un AP qui réside habituellement au Canada. Conformément à l’alinéa 579(2)b), la société étrangère est tenue de doter l’AP d’une procuration l’autorisant expressément à recevoir tous les avis prévus par les lois du Canada du ministre ou du surintendant.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Il est reconnu que l’établissement principal peut avoir établi certaines de ces politiques et procédures. Le cas échéant, le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’AP en approuve la pertinence et recommande, s’il y a lieu, des modifications en fonction des activités de la SSE.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Conformément à l’article 674 de la LSA.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Conformément au paragraphe 647(3) de la LSA.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

Il n’est pas nécessaire de les transmettre à l’agence principale canadienne lorsque les données qu’ils contiennent n’ont pas été modifiées durant la journée.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8

Note de bas de page 9

Conformément à l’article 664 de la LSA.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 9

Note de bas de page 10

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que ces marchés portent la signature de l’AP ou d’une autre personne officiellement désignée par celui-ci. Le BSIF reconnaît que l’établissement principal peut, parfois et au nom de la SSE, conclure ces marchés. Le cas échéant, le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’AP soit au courant de ces arrangements et que la SSE en conserve une copie à l’agence principale au Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 10

Note de bas de page 11

Souscripteur s’entend des souscripteurs directs et de tous les détenteurs de certificats qui pourraient avoir une réclamation contre la société étrangère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 11

Note de bas de page 12

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que tous les accords de réassurance, contrats collectifs et ententes des agents portent la signature de l’AP ou de son remplaçant officiellement désigné.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 12

Note de bas de page 13

Alinéa 266(1)b) de la LSA (applicable aux sociétés étrangères en vertu de l’article 649 de la LSA).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 13