Role of the Principal Officer and Record Keeping Requirements

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Guideline
  • Date: November 2005
  • No: E-4B
  • Audiences: FBB

Introduction

This guideline describes OSFI’s expectations with respect to the role of the Principal Officer (PO) of an authorized foreign bank Footnote 1. The guideline applies to the Canadian Branch operations of foreign banks. For the purposes of this guideline, these entities will be referred to collectively as foreign bank branches (FBBs). It also discusses OSFI’s expectations with respect to records and documents to be maintained at branch offices in Canada. The guideline does not address all legislative and regulatory obligations and requirements; therefore, POs are expected to refer to relevant provisions in the legislation and regulations. The guideline should also be read in conjunction with a number of other guidelines applicable to authorized foreign banksFootnote 2 including OSFI’s Guide to Foreign Bank Branching which addresses the process for establishing a FBB in Canada including the criteria that must be met and the information that must be submitted as part of the application.

As part of its risk-based supervisory framework, OSFI evaluates FBBs against the expectations of this guideline and other guidelines applicable to FBBs.

1. Role of the Principal Officer

Authorized foreign banks establishing a branch in Canada are required to appoint a POFootnote 3. As noted in the Corporate Governance Guideline, OSFI looks to the PO to oversee the management of the branch, including matters of a corporate governance nature that relate to the branch. As such, OSFI expects that the PO will be accountable for the FBB’s operations. However, OSFI recognizes the nature, scope, complexity, and risk profile of FBBs may affect how the PO carries out his or her role with respect to the expectations set out in this guideline.

It is recognized that the PO may delegate various branch responsibilities to branch employees. Alternatively, he/she may enter into arrangements with the home office, another entity within the corporate group, or a third party. OSFI would expect all situations where the PO does not have direct responsibility for a significant function (e.g., oversight of loan underwriting centralized at the home office) to be documented either in written mandates/policies or service level agreements of the FBB. Such arrangements made with the home office, another entity within the group, or a third party would be considered outsourcing under OSFI’s Guideline B-10 on Outsourcing of Business Activities, Functions, and Processes. This guideline sets out OSFI’s expectations for the management of various types of outsourcing arrangements, including the areas to be addressed by a written outsourcing agreement. Guideline B-10 includes specific expectations for arrangements where the service provider is a related party of an FBB.

While the PO may not conduct all responsibilities or activities directly, OSFI expects the PO to retain his or her overall accountability for the operations of the FBB. Regardless who conducts the various functions, OSFI expects the PO to:

  • ensure that business objectives, strategies, and plans set for the FBB are prudent in the context of the FBB. Recognizing that FBBs are not legal entities but rather an extension of the home office, the PO is expected to advise the home office should any planned activities for the FBB not be considered suitable;
  • be satisfied that appropriate policies and procedures (i.e. control systems) are in place to manage the risks regardless of where the controls may reside;
  • receive sufficiently comprehensive and frequent reports to understand and monitor the business of the FBB; and
  • undertake or obtain, periodically, an independent assessment of the adequacy and effectiveness of the controls. Independent assessment may be obtained from individuals or groups designated with that role, such as internal audit or risk management (either at the branch or home office), or qualified third parties.

The PO is expected to ensure that there are robust policies and procedures Footnote 4 to manage the assets and liabilities recorded on the FBB’s books and records and related accounts (e.g. deposit, loan, investment, vested in trust, etc.). With respect to assets and liabilities and their related cash flows, OSFI expects the PO to be able, on demand, to provide timely information on their location.

The FBB’s accounts at banks and/or trust companies should only be accessible with the signature of the PO or his/her formally appointed designate(s).

The PO should ensure the FBB is in compliance with applicable legislation and regulations, and is conducting its business and affairs in a manner that is consistent with applicable OSFI guidelines. For example, OSFI would expect the PO to have ultimate responsibility for ensuring the FBB has sufficient assets vested in trust to cover the capital equivalency deposit and any assets required to be maintained in Canada pursuant to section 617 of the BA. Additional information on compliance issues can be found in OSFI’s Guideline E-13: Legislative Compliance Management.

While the PO may delegate responsibility for day-to-day management to others, OSFI expects the PO to be in a position to verify the annual return. Therefore, OSFI would expect the PO to have, or to ensure the individuals undertaking activities with respect to the FBB have, a good understanding of applicable legislation, regulations and guidelines, as well as the activities and related records of the branch, including its assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses. OSFI would also expect the PO should be satisfied with any work performed by others (e.g., home office or another entity within the group) and should ensure any deficiencies are corrected.

2. Record Keeping Requirements

OSFI’s mandate includes the periodic examination of and inquiry into the business and affairs of each FBBFootnote 5. FBBs are required to maintain all records at their principal office Footnote 6. In addition, FBBs are required to maintain and process in Canada information and data relating to the preparation and maintenance of these records unless they obtain an exemption from the Superintendent.Footnote 7 OSFI’s expectations in evaluating a request for approval to process records outside Canada are set out in Section VIII of Guideline B-10, Outsourcing of Business Activities, Functions and Processes Footnote 8. Furthermore, regardless of whether such an exemption has been obtained, an FBB will continue to be required to maintain records in Canada as specified in the Appendix.

Where processing of records related to the FBB’s business occurs at a location other than the principal office, it is critical that they are backed up as appropriate and provided to the FBB to ensure that records maintained in Canada are up to date at the end of each business day. Footnote 9 While OSFI recognizes some accounting records may only be available on a monthly or quarterly accounting cycle, this does not override the foregoing requirement with respect to other records.

OSFI expects records maintained in Canada will be of sufficient detail to:

  1. enable the PO to fulfill his or her accountabilities with respect to the FBB’s business;
  2. enable OSFI to conduct an examination and inquiry into the business and affairs of the FBB; and
  3. enable OSFI to administer the FBB’s business should the Superintendent take control of the FBB’s assets.

Where sufficient information is not available, OSFI may request it as necessaryFootnote 10.

The Appendix contains additional guidance with respect to the type and form of records OSFI expects FBBs to maintain in Canada.

Appendix: Records Maintained by FBBs

i) Type of Records

OSFI expects the records maintained by an FBB in Canada would include a complete set of accounting records, ledgers, journals and trial balances related to the FBB’s business in Canada, with sufficient detail to understand and verify the assets, liabilities, revenue and expenditures recorded in the regulatory returns and to enable supervisors to assess the risk profile of the FBB. This would be supported by supervisory access to individuals to whom the PO may have delegated responsibility within the branch or through an arrangement with the home office, another entity within the corporate group, or a third party.

Records in respect of an FBB’s business that should be held pursuant to paragraph 597(1)(b) and (c) of the BA would include:

  • complete accounting records; and
  • for each customer, records showing, on a daily basis, particulars of each transaction with that customer and the balance owing to or by the FBB to that customer;

In support of the above records, OSFI expects the FBB to maintain the following records:

  • details of investments, derivatives, pledged assets, etc;
  • working papers, with properly referenced audit trails, to support the financial statements/regulatory returns;
  • bank statements, cheque registers, monthly bank reconciliation, vouchers and receipts pertaining to the Canadian operations, and adequate documentation to confirm the amounts due in respect of business in Canada;
  • records supporting amounts due to or from the home office and affiliated entities (if any);
  • taxation documentation;
  • listing of loans, by type, allowance for impairment and analyses of changes thereto, and a summary of interest and fee income;
  • details of any guarantees and acceptances;
  • securities ledgers for securities held for investment and trading purposes both inside and outside Canada, together with a summary of interest and dividend income due and accrued, with supporting documentation; and
  • deposit records, by type, together with a summary of interest expense.
  • analysis of home office account

Additional records that could enable the PO to fulfill his/her responsibilities and/or to facilitate the supervisory process of an FBB would include:

  • a description of the accounting system;
  • copies of all agreements, including outsourcing agreements with home office and affiliates;
  • signed copies of all contracts, material to the FBB, that relate to the administrative operation of the FBBFootnote 11;
  • copies of policies and practices governing the FBB’s Canadian operations;
  • current organization chart, showing reporting lines within the FBB and to home office and/or other affiliates;
  • human resource and payroll information;
  • details of any current litigation matters;
  • identification information obtained at the time each individual became a depositor, or customer of the FBB and current contact information; and
  • detailed credit files having sufficient information to enable PO to fulfill his or her accountability and supervisors to perform an asset quality review (borrower and security information, location of borrower and security, encumbrances on security, etc).

ii) Form of Records

An FBB has the option of preparing and maintaining records in hard copy or electronically, provided that electronic records can be reproduced, “in intelligible written form within a reasonable period of time” Footnote 12. OSFI would expect to be able to obtain such information without incurring additional costs and using readily available commercial applications. For certain types of information, such as detailed credit files or files on more complex activities, reproduced electronic records may not be sufficient for OSFI’s review. OSFI may request that the hard copy, original information be available at the branch in Canada, as needed. The FBB’s information systems should be capable of providing appropriate reports having adequate, relevant information for management decision-making and to provide and maintain an audit trail to verify regulatory returns.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Pursuant to section 2 of the Bank Act (BA), an authorized foreign bank means a foreign bank in respect of which an order under subsection 524(1) of that Act has been made.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Refer to OSFI’s Internet Web site at http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/osfi/index_e.aspx?ArticleID=526 for other guidelines.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Pursuant to section 2 of the BA, PO in relation to an authorized foreign bank means the person appointed under section 536. Pursuant to subsection 536(1), an authorized foreign bank shall appoint an employee who is ordinarily resident in Canada to be its PO for the purposes of Part XII.1 of the BA. Pursuant to subsection 536(2), the authorized foreign bank shall provide the PO with a power of attorney expressly authorizing the PO to receive all notices under the laws of Canada from the Minister or Superintendent.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

It is recognized that the home office may have established some of these policies and procedures. Where this is the case, OSFI would expect the PO to concur with their appropriateness and recommend amendments where necessary to suit the FBB's activities.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Pursuant to section 613 of the BA.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Pursuant to subsection 597(2) and (3) of the BA, authorized foreign banks may keep records in Canada at a location other than the principal office, so long as the Superintendent is informed of such location.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

Pursuant to subsection 245(1) of the BA.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

See also OSFI’s Transaction Instruction DA No. 10 on “Processing Information outside Canada” (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/app/DocRepository/1/eng/guides/transaction/trans10_e.pdf) on the OSFI’s Internet Web site.

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Downloading of records to the Canadian operation is only required when the records have changed from the previous day.

Return to footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

Section 600 and subsection 605 (1) of the BA.

Return to footnote 10 referrer

Footnote 11

OSFI expects that these contracts will bear the signature of the PO or a person with signing authority at the home office to bind the FBB. A list of those persons with such signing authority should be available at the principal office and available to OSFI on request. Where persons at the home office enter into contracts on behalf of the FBB, OSFI would expect the PO to be aware of these contracts and for the FBB to maintain a copy of these contracts at the principal office in Canada.

Return to footnote 11 referrer

Footnote 12

Subsection 597(7) of the BA.

Return to footnote 12 referrer

Rôle du dirigeant principal et exigences en matière de tenue de livres

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Ligne directrice
  • Date : Novembre 2005
  • No : E-4B
  • Public : SBE

Introduction

La présente ligne directrice décrit les attentes du BSIF à l’égard du rôle du dirigeant principal (DP) d’une banque étrangère autorisée Note de bas de page 1. La ligne directrice s’applique aux activités des succursales canadiennes de banques étrangères. Aux fins de la présente ligne directrice, ces entités seront désignées collectivement les succursales de banques étrangères (SBE). Il y est également question des attentes du BSIF en matière de tenue de livres et de documents dans les bureaux des succursales au Canada. La ligne directrice ne porte pas sur toutes les obligations et exigences législatives et réglementaires; le BSIF s’attend donc à ce que les DP consultent les dispositions pertinentes des lois et règlements. On devra également consulter cette ligne directrice de pair aux autres lignes directrices visant les SBE Note de bas de page 2, notamment le Guide d’établissement des succursales de banques étrangères, qui porte sur le processus d’établissement d’une SBE au Canada et précise les critères à respecter et les renseignements à produire dans le cadre de la demande.

Conformément à son processus de surveillance axée sur les risques, le BSIF évalue les SBE en fonction des attentes énoncées dans la présente ligne directrice et des autres lignes directrices visant les SBE.

1. Rôle du dirigeant principal

Les banques étrangères autorisées qui établissent une succursale au Canada sont tenues de nommer un DPNote de bas de page 3. Ainsi qu’il est signalé dans la Ligne directrice sur la gouvernance d’entreprise, le BSIF s’attend à que le DP supervise la gestion de la succursale, y compris des questions relevant de la régie d’entreprise qui ont trait à la succursale. Ainsi, le BSIF s’attend à ce que le DP soit tenu responsable des activités de la SBE. Or, le BSIF reconnaît que la nature, la portée, la complexité et le profil de risques des SBE peuvent influer sur la manière dont le DP s’acquitte de son rôle à l’égard des attentes énoncées dans la présente ligne directrice.

Il est reconnu que le DP peut déléguer diverses responsabilités de la succursale aux employés de celle-ci. Par ailleurs, il peut conclure des modalités avec l’établissement principal, une autre entité du groupe ou un tiers. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que toutes les situations où le DP n’est pas directement responsable d’une fonction importante (p. ex., la supervision de la souscription de prêts centralisée à l’établissement principal) soient documentées sous forme de mandats / politiques ou d’ententes sur le niveau de service de la SBE écrits. Les modalités conclues avec l’établissement principal, une autre entité du groupe ou un tiers seraient réputées être de l’impartition en vertu de la Impartition d’activités, de fonctions et de méthodes commerciales. Cette ligne directrice énonce les attentes du BSIF à l’égard de la gestion de divers types de modalités d’impartition, y compris les domaines visés par une entente d’impartition par écrit. La Ligne directrice B-10 comporte des attentes précises à l’égard des modalités où le fournisseur de services est un apparenté d’une SBE.

Même si le DP ne peut assumer directement toutes les responsabilités ou prendre directement en charge toutes les activités, le BSIF s’attend à ce qu’il conserve la responsabilité des activités de la SBE. Peu importe de qui relèvent les diverses fonctions, le BSIF s’attend à ce que le DP :

  • Voit à ce que les objectifs, stratégies et plans administratifs élaborés pour la SBE soient prudents dans l’optique de la SBE. Étant donné que les SBE ne sont pas des entités juridiques mais bien une prolongation de l’établissement principal, le DP devrait aviser l’établissement principal si une activité prévue pour la SBE n’est pas jugée convenable.

  • Soit convaincu que des politiques et procédures adéquates (c.-à-d., systèmes de contrôle) sont instaurées pour gérer les risques, peu importe l’endroit où peuvent se trouver les mécanismes de contrôle.

  • Reçoive des rapports suffisamment complets et fréquents pour comprendre et surveiller les affaires de la SBE.

  • Entreprenne ou obtienne, périodiquement, une évaluation indépendante de la pertinence et de l’efficacité des mécanismes de contrôle. L’évaluation indépendante peut être faite par des particuliers ou des groupes à qui ce rôle a été confié, par exemple, vérification interne ou gestion des risques (de la succursale ou de l’établissement principal) ou des tiers compétents.

Le DP devrait s’assurer que les politiques et procédures Note de bas de page 4 visant à gérer les éléments d’actif et de passif figurant dans les livres et registres et les comptes connexes de la SBE (p. ex., dépôts, prêts, investissements, placés en fiducie) sont robustes. En ce qui concerne les éléments d’actif et de passif et les flux de trésorerie connexes, le BSIF s’attend à ce que le DP soit en mesure de fournir sur demande de l’information à jour au sujet de l’endroit où ils se trouvent.

Il ne devrait être possible d’accéder aux comptes de la SBE dans les banques et(ou) les sociétés de fiducie qu’avec la signature du DP ou de son remplaçant officiel (ses remplaçants officiels).

Le DP doit voir à ce que la SBE se conforme aux lois et règlements applicables et qu’il mène ses activités et affaires d’une manière qui respecte les lignes directrices du BSIF pertinentes. Par exemple, le BSIF s’attend à ce que le DP soit responsable au premier chef de garantir que la SBE a suffisamment d’éléments d’actif placés en fiducie pour couvrir le dépôt en équivalent de fonds propres et les éléments d’actif devant être détenus au Canada en application de l’article 617 de la LB. Pour d’autres renseignements sur les questions de conformité, prière de consulter la Ligne directrice E-13 du BSIF Gestion du respect de la législation.

Même si le DP peut déléguer la responsabilité de la gestion quotidienne à d’autres, le BSIF s’attend à ce que le DP soit en mesure de vérifier l’état annuel. Par conséquent, le BSIF s’attend à ce que le DP comprenne, ou voit à ce que les personnes menant des activités en rapport avec la SBE comprennent, les lois, règlements et lignes directrices pertinents ainsi que les activités et les dossiers de la SBE, notamment ses éléments d’actif et de passif, revenus et dépenses. Le BSIF s’attend en outre à ce que le DP soit satisfait des travaux accomplis par des tiers (par exemple, l’établissement principal ou une autre entité faisant partie du groupe) et veille à ce que tout manquement soit immédiatement rectifié.

2. Exigences en matière de tenue de livres

Le mandat confié au BSIF comporte l’examen et l’analyse périodiques des activités et affaires de chaque SBENote de bas de page 5. Les SBE sont tenues de conserver tous les livres au siège social Note de bas de page 6. De plus, les SBE sont aussi tenues de conserver et de traiter au Canada les renseignements et données se rapportant à la tenue et à la conservation de ces livres sauf si le surintendant les en a exemptées.Note de bas de page 7. Les attentes du BSIF à l’égard de l’évaluation d’une demande d’approbation pour traiter les livres à l’extérieur du Canada sont énoncées à la Section VIII de la Ligne directrice B-10, Impartition d’activités, de fonctions et de méthodes commercialesNote de bas de page 8. En outre, peu importe si l’exemption a été accordée, une SBE sera toujours tenue de conserver les livres au Canada, comme il est indiqué dans l’Annexe.

Quand les livres relatifs aux activités de la SBE sont traités ailleurs qu’au siège social, il est impératif d’en faire une sauvegarde adéquate et de la remettre à la SBE pour garantir que les livres conservés au Canada sont à jour à la fin de chaque jour ouvrable.Note de bas de page 9 Le BSIF reconnaît que certains dossiers comptables ne sont peut-être disponibles que selon un cycle comptable mensuel ou trimestriel, mais cela n’annule pas l’exigence en question à l’égard des autres dossiers.

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les dossiers conservés au Canada soient suffisamment détaillés pour :

  1. permettre au DP de s’acquitter des responsabilités qui lui incombent à l’égard des activités de la SBE;
  2. permettre au BSIF d’examiner et d’analyser les activités et affaires de la SBE;
  3. permettre au BSIF d’administrer les activités de la SBE si le surintendant prend le contrôle des éléments d’actif de la SBE.

Si l’information disponible n’est pas suffisante, le BSIF peut l’exiger, s’il y a lieuNote de bas de page 10.

On trouvera également à l’Annexe d’autres directives concernant le type et la forme des dossiers que les SBE doivent conserver au Canada pour se conformer aux attentes du BSIF.

Annexe: Livres tenus par les SBE

i. Type de livres

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les livres conservés par une SBE au Canada comportent un jeu complet des dossiers comptables, des registres, des journaux et des balances des comptes relativement aux activités de la SBE au Canada qui sont suffisamment détaillés pour comprendre et vérifier les éléments d’actif et de passif, les revenus et les dépenses consignés dans les états réglementaires et permettre aux surveillants d’évaluer le profil de risque de la SBE. De plus, le surveillant doit pouvoir accéder aux personnes à qui le DP a peut-être délégué des responsabilités au sein de la succursale ou au moyen d’une entente avec l’établissement principal, une autre entité du groupe ou un tiers.

Les livres concernant les activités d’une SBE qui doivent être conservés conformément aux alinéas 597(1)b) et c) de la LB comportent ce qui suit.

  • Les livres comptables complets.
  • Pour chaque client, des dossiers renfermant, sur une base quotidienne, les détails de chaque transaction avec le client en question et le solde que doit verser celui-ci à la SBE ou que celle-ci doit lui verser.

Pour appuyer les livres susmentionnés, le BSIF s’attend à ce que la SBE conserve les dossiers suivants.

  • Les détails des placements, des instruments dérivés, des actifs gagés, etc.
  • Les documents de travail avec renvoi pertinent aux pistes de vérification pour appuyer les états financiers / états réglementaires.
  • Les relevés bancaires, les registres des chèques, le rapprochement bancaire mensuel, les pièces justificatives et reçus ayant trait aux opérations canadiennes et la documentation adéquate pour confirmer les montants dus au compte bancaire au Canada à l’égard du flux des activités au Canada.
  • Les dossiers à l’appui des montants dus à l’établissement principal et aux entités du même groupe (s’il y a lieu) ou en provenant.
  • La documentation en matière d’imposition.
  • La liste des prêts, par type, les provisions pour dépréciation et les analyses des changements connexes et un résumé des intérêts et frais créditeurs.
  • Les détails des garanties et des acceptations.
  • Les registres des titres détenus à des fins de placement et de négociation, tant au Canada qu’à étranger, ainsi qu’un résumé du revenu tiré des intérêts et des dividendes échus et courus, avec pièces justificatives.
  • Les registres des dépôts, par type, ainsi qu’un résumé des intérêts débiteurs.
  • L’analyse du compte de l’établissement principal.

Voici d’autres documents qui pourraient permettre au DP de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités et(ou) de faciliter le processus de surveillance.

  • Une description du système comptable.
  • Des copies de toutes les ententes, y compris celles d’impartition avec l’établissement principal et les entités du groupe.
  • Des copies signées de tous les marchés d’envergure pour la SBE portant sur le fonctionnement administratif de la SBENote de bas de page 11;
  • Des copies des politiques et des pratiques régissant les opérations de la SBE au Canada.
  • Un organigramme à jour indiquant les rapports hiérarchiques au sein de la SBE et envers l’établissement principal et(ou) les autres entités du groupe.
  • Les renseignements concernant les ressources humaines et la feuille de paye.
  • Les détails de toute question litigieuse en cours.
  • Les renseignements signalétiques recueillis au moment où chaque particulier est devenu un déposant ou un client de la SBE, ainsi que ses coordonnées les plus récentes.
  • Les dossiers de crédit présentant suffisamment d’information pour permettre au DP de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités et aux surveillants d’examiner la qualité des actifs (information sur les emprunteurs et les titres, emplacement des emprunteurs et titres, engagements sur les titres, etc.)

ii. Forme des livres

Une SBE peut préparer et tenir à jour des registres en copie papier ou électronique à condition que les copies électroniques puissent être reproduites en forme écrite intelligible dans un délai raisonnable Note de bas de page 12. Le BSIF doit pouvoir obtenir cette information sans engager de frais supplémentaires et en utilisant des applications commerciales facilement disponibles. Pour certains types de renseignements, par exemple, les dossiers de crédit détaillés ou les dossiers sur des activités plus complexes, il se peut que les registres électroniques reproduits ne soient pas suffisants aux fins de l'examen du BSIF. Celui-ci peut exiger que l'information sur copie papier soit disponible à la succursale au Canada, s'il y a lieu. Les systèmes d’information de la SBE doivent être en mesure de générer des rapports appropriés comportant de l’information pertinente et adéquate pour faciliter la prise de décisions de gestion et d’offrir et de tenir à jour une piste de vérification permettant de vérifier les états réglementaires.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Conformément au paragraphe 2 de la Loi sur les banques (LB), une banque étrangère autorisée s’entend d’une banque étrangère ayant fait l’objet de l’arrêté prévue au paragraphe 524(1) de ladite loi.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Consulter les autres lignes directrices sur le site Web du BSIF à l’adresse http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/osfi/index_f.aspx?ArticleID=526.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Conformément à l’article 2 de la LB, dirigeant principal, s’agissant de la banque étrangère autorisée, est la personne nommée en vertu de l’article 536. Aux termes du paragraphe 536(1), la banque étrangère autorisée est tenue de nommer un employé résidant habituellement au Canada pour agir comme son dirigeant principal pour l’application de la partie XII.1 de la LB. En vertu du paragraphe 536(2), la banque étrangère autorisée est tenue de donner une procuration au dirigeant principal l’habilitant expressément à recevoir du ministre et du surintendant tous les avis prévus par les lois du Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Il est reconnu que l’établissement principal peut avoir établi certaines de ces politiques et procédures. Le cas échéant, le BSIF s’attend à ce que le DP en approuve la pertinence et recommande, s’il y a lieu, des modifications en fonction des activités de la SBE.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Conformément à l’article 613 de la LB.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Conformément aux paragraphes 597(2) et (3) de la LB, les banques étrangères autorisées peuvent conserver des documents au Canada ailleurs qu’au siège social, sous réserve que le surintendant soit informé de l’endroit en question.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Conformément au paragraphe 245(1) de la LB.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

Consulter aussi le document Instructions relatives aux opérations no 10, Traitement de l’information à l’extérieur du Canada à l’adresse (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/app/DocRepository/1/fra/guides/operations/trans10_f.pdf) sur le site Web du BSIF.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8

Note de bas de page 9

Il n’est pas nécessaire de les transmettre à la SBE canadienne lorsque les données qu’ils contiennent n’ont pas été modifiées durant la journée.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 9

Note de bas de page 10

Conformément à l’article 600 et au paragraphe 605(1) de la LB.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 10

Note de bas de page 11

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que ces marchés portent la signature du DP ou d’un employé de l’établissement principal habilité à signer des documents engageant la SBE. La liste des titulaires d’un tel pouvoir de signature doit se trouver à la SBE et être fournie au BSIF sur demande. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que le DP soit au courant de tous les marchés que ces personnes auront conclus au nom de la SBE et à ce que cette dernière conserve un copie desdits marchés dans ses bureaux au Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 11

Note de bas de page 12

Paragraphe 597(7) de la LB.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 12