Minimum Capital Test 2023 – Adjustments and clarifications

This communication sets out adjustments and clarifications to the Minimum Capital Test Guideline (MCT) 2023 and associated instructions and forms since their publication in July 2022. Items reflected on this list will be incorporated in the PC4 Instruction and may also be incorporated into a future version of the MCT guideline, as appropriate.

Summary of adjustments and clarifications

Any questions should be addressed at MCT-TCM@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

1. Unexpired coverage for insurance contracts issued (page 40.05)

OSFI remarks

OSFI is clarifying when an insurance contract is included for the determination of the unexpired coverage for insurance contracts issued in section 4.2.2 of the MCT 2023 guideline.

Clarification and page impacted in the PC4 Instruction

Page 40.05

Insurance contracts issued in accordance with paragraphs 25 to 28 of the IFRS 17 standard are recognized for capital purposes in the MCT 2023 Guideline, unless otherwise specified. To determine the unexpired coverage for insurance contracts issued in section 4.2.2 of the MCT 2023 Guideline, only insurance contracts that have the earliest of:

  1. the date the coverage begins, and
  2. the date on which the first payment of the premium is due,

on or prior to the reporting date should be considered recognized. For greater clarity, this means that only insurance contracts that individually meet the recognition criteria (a) or (b) set out in paragraph 25 of IFRS 17, by the reporting date, are to be treated as insurance contracts issued for purposes of the MCT’s requirements for unexpired coverage.

Updated date

November 2022

2. Cryptoassets (page 20.00)

OSFI remarks

OSFI published an advisory on the interim capital treatment for cryptoasset exposures on August 18, 2022. Per the advisory, Group 1 cryptoasset exposures receive a capital treatment consistent with that of comparable traditional assets, including credit, market and/or other risks. Group 2 cryptoasset exposures, including the absolute value of short positions, the full notional amount of long option positions, and the full notional amount of long forward contracts, are deducted from capital available.

Clarification and page impacted in the PC4 Instruction

Page 20.00

Group 2 cryptoasset exposurers are to be reported on the line 225 “Other (specify)” line of MCT with “Group 2 cryptoasset exposures” specified as the description.

Updated date

November 2022

Ligne directrice Test du capital minimal de 2023 – Ajustements et clarifications

La présente communication énonce les ajustements et clarifications apportées à la ligne directrice Test du capital minimal (TCM) de 2023 ainsi qu’aux instructions et formulaires afférents depuis leur publication en juillet 2022. Les éléments de la liste ci-après seront intégrés au guide de production du relevé PC4 et pourraient également être reflétés dans une version ultérieure de la ligne directrice TCM, si nécessaire.

Sommaire des ajustements et clarifications

Veuillez envoyer toute question à MCT-TCM@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

1. Couverture non expirée au titre des contrats d’assurance émis (page 40.05)

Remarques du BSIF

Le BSIF précise dans quelles circonstances un contrat d’assurance est inclus dans le calcul de la couverture non expirée au titre des contrats d’assurance émis conformément à la section 4.2.2 de la ligne directrice TCM de 2023.

Clarification et page visée dans le guide de production du relevé PC4

Page 40.05

Les contrats d’assurance émis conformément aux paragraphes 25 à 28 de l’IFRS 17 sont pris en compte dans le calcul du capital aux termes de la ligne directrice TCM de 2023, à moins d’indication contraire. Pour calculer la couverture non expirée au titre des contrats d’assurance émis conformément à la section 4.2.2 de la ligne directrice TCM de 2023, seuls les contrats d’assurance dont la première des dates suivantes coïncide avec la date de déclaration ou la précède devraient être considérés comme comptabilisés :

  1. la date du début de la période de couverture;
  2. la date à laquelle le premier paiement de la prime devient exigible.

Autrement dit, seuls les contrats d’assurance qui, pris individuellement, satisfont au critère de comptabilisation (a) ou (b) du paragraphe 25 de l’IFRS 17, à la date de déclaration, doivent être traités comme des contrats d’assurance émis aux fins des exigences du TCM au titre de la couverture non expirée.

Date de révision

Novembre 2022

2. Cryptoactifs (page 20.00)

Remarques du BSIF

Le 18 août 2022, le BSIF a publié un préavis sur les dispositions provisoires du régime au regard des normes de fonds propres et de liquidité visant les expositions sur cryptoactifs. Aux termes de ce document, le régime au regard des normes de fonds propres applicable aux expositions sur cryptoactifs du groupe 1 est comparable à celui visant les actifs traditionnels, y compris le risque de crédit et de marché ou d’autres risques. Les expositions sur cryptoactifs du groupe 2, notamment la valeur absolue des positions courtes, le montant notionnel complet des positions longues sur options et le montant notionnel complet des positions longues sur contrats à terme de gré à gré, sont déduits du capital disponible.

Clarification et page visée dans le guide de production du relevé PC4

Page 20.00

Les expositions sur cryptoactifs du groupe 2 doivent être déclarées à la ligne 225 « Autre (Veuillez spécifier) » du relevé afférent au TCM en inscrivant « Expositions sur cryptoactifs du groupe 2 » à titre de description.

Date de révision

Novembre 2022