Total Loss Absorbing Capacity (TLAC)

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Draft Guideline
  • Date: June 2017
  • Effective Date: TBD

Upon its coming into force, subsection 485(1.1) of the Bank Act (BA) will require domestic systemically important banks (D-SIBs) to maintain a minimum capacity to absorb losses. The purpose of the Total Loss Absorbing Capacity (TLAC) requirement is to provide a non-viable D-SIB with sufficient loss absorbing capacity to support its recapitalization. This would, in turn, facilitate an orderly resolution of the D-SIB while minimizing adverse impacts on the stability of the financial sector, ensuring the continuity of critical functions, and minimizing taxpayers’ exposure to loss.

This guideline is not being made pursuant to subsections 485(2) of the BA. However, the standards set out in this guideline together with the requirements set out in the Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) guideline and the Leverage Requirements guideline provide the framework within which the Superintendent will assess whether a D-SIB maintains its minimum capacity to absorb losses pursuant to the BA.

For this purpose, the Superintendent will establish two minimum standards:

  1. the risk-based TLAC ratio, which builds on the risk-based capital ratios described in the CAR guideline; and

  2. the TLAC Leverage Ratio, which builds on the Basel III Leverage Ratio described in OSFI’s Leverage Requirements guideline.

The risk-based TLAC ratio, which will be the primary basis used by OSFI to assess a D-SIB’s TLAC, focuses on the risks faced by that institution. The TLAC Leverage Ratio will provide an overall measure of a D-SIB’s TLAC.

Canada, as a member of the Financial Stability Board and the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, participated in the development of the Principles on Loss-Absorbing and Recapitalisation of G-SIBs in Resolution: Total Loss-Absorbing Capacity (TLAC) Term Sheet (the FSB TLAC Term Sheet). This guidance, which is applicable to D-SIBs, is consistent with the FSB TLAC Term Sheet.

Overview

1. Outlined below are the expected Total Loss Absorbing Capacity (TLAC) requirements that will be applicable to banks designated by the Superintendent as domestic systemically important banks (D-SIBs) pursuant to the press release dated March 16, 2013 and formalized by an order made pursuant to subsection 484.1(1) of the BA.

2. Parts of this guideline are drawn from the Financial Stability Board (FSB) Principles on Loss-absorbing and Recapitalisation of G-SIBs in Resolution: Total Loss-absorbing Capacity (TLAC) Term Sheet (the FSB TLAC Term Sheet), the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS) Basel III framework entitled Basel III: A global regulatory framework for more resilient banks and banking systems – December 2010 (rev June 2011), and the Basel III leverage ratio framework entitled Basel III leverage ratio framework and disclosure requirements. This guideline also cross-references other OSFI guidance, including the Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) guideline and the Leverage Requirements guideline where appropriate.

3. This guideline establishes two minimum standards:

  1. the risk-based TLAC ratio, which builds on the risk-based capital ratios described in the CAR guideline; and

  2. the TLAC Leverage Ratio, which builds on the leverage ratio described in OSFI’s Leverage Requirements guideline.

The risk-based TLAC ratio, which will be the primary basis used by OSFI to assess a D-SIB’s TLAC, focuses on the risks faced by that institution. The TLAC Leverage Ratio will provide an overall measure of a D-SIB’s TLAC.

Scope of application

4. These TLAC requirements will apply, on a consolidated basis, to all D-SIBs as defined in paragraph 1 above. The consolidated entity includes all subsidiaries except insurance subsidiaries. This is consistent with the scope of regulatory consolidation used under the risk-based capital framework as set out in Section 1.1 of OSFI’s CAR guideline and the leverage framework set out in OSFI’s Leverage Requirements guideline.

Calculation of Total Loss Absorbing Capacity (TLAC)

A Risk-based TLAC Ratio

5. The risk-based TLAC ratio is defined as the TLAC Measure (the numerator) divided by Risk-Weighted Assets (the denominator), with this ratio expressed as a percentage:

Math formula 1

B. TLAC Leverage Ratio

6. The TLAC Leverage ratio is defined as the TLAC Measure (the numerator) divided by the Exposure Measure (the denominator), with this ratio also expressed as a percentage:

Math formula 2

Minimum TLAC Requirements

7. Beginning in fiscal Q1-2022 (i.e., November 1, 2021), OSFI anticipates that D-SIBs will be expected to maintain a minimum risk-based TLAC ratio of at least 21.5% of risk-weighted assets and a minimum TLAC Leverage ratio of at least 6.75%, as set out in orders made under subsection 485(1.2) of the BA after its coming into force. The Superintendent may subsequently vary the minimum TLAC requirements for individual D-SIBs or groups of D-SIBs. D-SIBs will also be expected to hold buffers above the minimum TLAC ratios.

8. Where a D-SIB falls below the minimum TLAC requirements, the Superintendent may take any measures that he or she considers appropriate, including measures described in subsection 485(3.1) of the BAFootnote 1.

TLAC Measure

9. The TLAC measure used in both ratios consists of the sum of the D-SIB’s TLAC, subject to certain adjustments.  The following are eligible to be recognized as TLAC:

  1. Tier 1 capital, consisting of:

    1. Common Equity Tier 1 capital;

    2. Additional Tier 1 capital;

  2. Tier 2 capital; and

  3. Prescribed shares and liabilities (“Other TLAC Instruments”) that are subject to conversion – in whole or in part – into common shares pursuant to subsection 39.2(2.3) of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act and meet all of the eligibility criteria set out in this guideline.

Eligibility of Regulatory Capital Elements as TLAC

10. The criteria for the capital elements comprising Tier 1 and Tier 2 capital, as well as the various limits, restrictions and regulatory adjustments to which they are subject, are described in chapter 2 of the CAR guideline.

11. Additional positive and negative adjustments to Tier 1 and Tier 2 capital are made in calculating the TLAC ratios, as set out below:

  1. Regulatory capital instruments, other than CET1, issued out of subsidiaries to third parties will only be recognized as TLAC until December 31, 2021. After that date, such interests will only be eligible towards the D-SIB’s capital ratios in accordance with OSFI’s CAR guideline.

  2. Regulatory capital instruments issued indirectly by a wholly- and directly-owned funding entity or via a special purpose vehicle (SPV) will only be recognized as TLAC where they were issued on or before December 31, 2021. Thereafter, such instruments will only be eligible towards the D-SIB’s capital ratios in accordance with the CAR guideline.

  3. Tier 2 capital instruments that are subject to amortization under OSFI’s CAR guideline may be fully included as TLAC where their residual maturity is greater than 365 days.

12. Tier 1 and Tier 2 capital eligible for TLAC must be measured on an all-in basis as described in chapter 1 of the CAR guideline.

Eligibility Criteria for Other TLAC Instruments to Qualify as TLAC

13. The criteria for Other TLAC Instruments to qualify as TLAC, as well as the various limits, restrictions and regulatory adjustments to which they are subject, are described below:

  1. The instrument is subject to a permanent conversion – in whole or in part – into common shares pursuant to subsection 39.2(2.3) of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act.Footnote 2

  2. The instrument is directly issued by the Canadian parent bank. Indirect issuances by subsidiaries or through special purpose vehicles (SPVs) will not be eligible as TLAC.

  3. The instrument satisfies all of the requirements set out in the Bank Recapitalization (Bail-in) Issuance Regulations.

  4. The instrument must be issued and paid for in cash or, with the prior approval of the Superintendent, in property.

  5. Neither the institution nor a related party over which the institution exercises control or significant influence can have purchased the instrument, nor can the institution directly or indirectly have funded the purchase of the instrument.

  6. The instrument is neither fully secured at the time of issuance nor covered by a guarantee of the issuer or related party or other arrangement that legally or economically enhances the seniority of the claim vis-à-vis the institution’s depositors and/or other general creditors.

  7. The instrument is not subject to set-off or netting rights.

  8. Except as provided below, the instrument must not provide the holder with rights to accelerate repayment of principal or interest payments outside of bankruptcy, insolvency, wind-up or liquidation.  Events of default relating to the non-payment of scheduled principal and/or interest payments will be permitted where they are subject to a cure period of no less than 30 business days and clearly disclose to investors that:

    1. acceleration is only permitted where an order has not been made pursuant to subsection 39.13(1) of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act in respect of the institution; and that

    2. notwithstanding any acceleration, the instrument continues to be subject to bail-in prior to its repayment.

  9. The instrument is perpetual or has a residual maturity in excess of 365 daysFootnote 3.

  10. The instrument can be called or purchased for cancellation at the initiative of the issuer only and, where the redemption or purchase would lead to a breach of the D-SIB’s minimum TLAC requirements, with the prior approval of the Superintendent.

  11. The instrument does not have credit-sensitive dividend or coupon features that are reset periodically based in whole or in part on the institution’s credit standing.

  12. Where an amendment or variance of the instrument’s terms and conditions would affect its recognition as TLAC, such amendment or variance will only be permitted with the prior approval of the Superintendent.

Risk-Weighted Assets Measure

14. The denominator for the risk-based TLAC ratio uses risk-weighted assets as calculated by the D-SIB under OSFI’s CAR guideline.

Exposure Measure

15. The denominator for the TLAC Leverage ratio uses leverage ratio exposures as calculated under OSFI’s Leverage Requirements guideline.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

In due course, OSFI will update its Supervisory Framework and Guide to Intervention for Deposit-taking Institutions to incorporate TLAC.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Where the instrument is governed by foreign laws, the D-SIB should provide evidence that there are no impediments to the application of Canadian statutory bail-in powers under the foreign law or within the terms of the instrument.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Where the instrument has a step-up or other incentive to redeem, the instrument is deemed to mature on the date on which the incentive to redeem becomes effective.  For such instruments, the residual maturity would be measured with reference to the effective date of the incentive to redeem rather than the contractual maturity date.

Return to footnote 3

​​​​​

Capacité totale d’absorption des pertes (TLAC)

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication: Projet de ligne directrice
  • Date : Juin 2017
  • Date d’entrée en vigueur : À déterminer

Lorsqu’il entrera en vigueur, le paragraphe 485(1.1) de la Loi sur les banques (LB) obligera les banques d’importance systémique intérieure (BISi) à maintenir une capacité minimale d’absorption des pertes. La norme sur la capacité totale d’absorption des pertes (Total Loss Absorbing Capacity [TLAC]) vise à faire en sorte qu’une BISi non viable dispose d’une capacité d’absorption des pertes suffisante pour soutenir sa recapitalisation. Cela faciliterait ensuite la résolution ordonnée de la BISi tout en minimisant les conséquences négatives pour la stabilité du système financier, en assurant la continuité des fonctions critiques et en minimisant l’exposition des contribuables aux pertes.

La présente ligne directrice n’est pas fondée sur le paragraphe 485(2) de la LB. Elle constitue toutefois, de concert avec les exigences de la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres (NFP) et de la ligne directrice Exigences de levier, le cadre sur lequel le surintendant s’appuie pour déterminer si une BISi maintient une capacité minimale d’absorption des pertes conforme à la LB.

Le surintendant établira deux normes minimales à cette fin :

  1. le ratio TLAC fondé sur les risques, qui s’appuie sur les ratios de fonds propres fondés sur les risques décrits dans la ligne directrice NFP;

  2. le ratio de levier TLAC, qui s’appuie sur le ratio de levier de Bâle III décrit dans la ligne directrice Exigences de levier du BSIF.

Le ratio TLAC fondé sur les risques, qui constituera le premier critère utilisé par le BSIF pour évaluer la TLAC d’une BISi, met l’accent sur les risques qui pèsent sur l’institution. Le ratio de levier TLAC fournira une mesure globale de la TLAC d’une BISi.

À titre de membre du Conseil de stabilité financière (CSF) et du Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire (CBCB), le Canada a participé à l’élaboration du document Principles on Loss-Absorbing and Recapitalisation Capacity of G-SIBs in Resolution: Total Loss-absorbing Capacity (TLAC) Term Sheet (le « tableau des modalités de la TLAC du CSF »). Les présentes consignes, qui s’appliquent aux BISi, sont conformes au tableau des modalités de la TLAC du CSF.  

Vue d’ensemble

1. On trouvera ci-après les exigences prévues de la TLAC qui s’appliqueront aux banques désignées à titre de BISi par le surintendant en vertu du communiqué du 16 mars 2013 et dont la désignation sera confirmée par ordonnance aux termes du paragraphe 484.1(1) de la LB.

2. Des passages de la présente ligne directrice sont tirés du tableau des modalités de la TLAC du CSF, du dispositif de Bâle III du CBCB intitulé Bâle III : dispositif réglementaire mondial visant à renforcer la résilience des établissements et systèmes bancaires de décembre 2010 (révisé en juin 2011) et du document Bâle III : ratio de levier et exigences de publicité du CBCB. La présente ligne directrice renvoie également au besoin à d’autres consignes du BSIF, dont la ligne directrice NFP et la ligne directrice Exigences de levier.

3. La présente ligne directrice établit deux normes minimales : 

  1. le ratio TLAC fondé sur les risques, qui s’appuie sur les ratios de fonds propres fondés sur les risques décrits dans la ligne directrice NFP;
  2. le ratio de levier TLAC, qui s’appuie sur le ratio de levier de Bâle III décrit dans la ligne directrice Exigences de levier du BSIF.

Le ratio TLAC fondé sur les risques, qui constituera le premier critère utilisé par le BSIF pour évaluer la TLAC d’une BISi, met l’accent sur les risques qui pèsent sur l’institution. Le ratio de levier TLAC fournira une mesure globale de la TLAC d’une BISi.

Champ d’application

4. Les présentes exigences en matière de TLAC s’appliqueront, sur une base consolidée, à toutes les BISi au sens du paragraphe 1 ci-dessus. L’entité consolidée englobe toutes les filiales, exception faite des filiales d’assurances. Cette approche respecte la portée de la consolidation réglementaire qui s’applique au cadre de fonds propres fondé sur les risques décrit à la section 1.1 de la ligne directrice NFP du BSIF et au dispositif de levier présenté dans la ligne directrice Exigences de levier du BSIF.

Calcul de la capacité totale d’absorption des pertes (TLAC)

A. Ratio TLAC fondé sur les risques

5. Le ratio TLAC fondé sur les risques est égal à la mesure de la TLAC (au numérateur) divisée par les actifs pondérés en fonction du risque (au dénominateur), et s’exprime en pourcentage :

Formule mathématique 1

B. Ratio de levier TLAC

6. Le ratio de levier TLAC est égal à la mesure de la TLAC (au numérateur) divisée par la mesure de l’exposition (au dénominateur), et s’exprime en pourcentage :

Formule mathématique 2

Exigences minimales de TLAC

7. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que, à compter du premier trimestre d’exercice de 2022 (le 1er novembre 2022, p. ex.), les BISi maintiennent un ratio TLAC fondé sur les risques d’au moins 21,5 % des actifs pondérés en fonction du risque et un ratio de levier TLAC d’au moins 6,75 % conformément aux ordonnances prises aux termes du paragraphe 485(1.2) de la LB une fois ce dernier en vigueur. Par la suite, le surintendant pourra modifier les exigences minimales de TLAC pour certaines BISi ou pour certains groupes de ces dernières. Les BISi devront aussi maintenir des réserves supérieures aux ratios minimaux de TLAC.

8. Si une BISi ne respecte pas les exigences minimales de TLAC, le surintendant peut prendre toute mesure qu’il juge adéquate, y compris celles prévues au paragraphe 485(3.1) de la LBNote de bas de page 1.

Mesure de la TLAC

9. La mesure de la TLAC appliquée aux deux ratios correspond à la somme de la TLAC de la BISi, sous réserve de certains ajustements. Peuvent être constatés aux fins du calcul de la TLAC :

  1. les fonds propres de catégorie 1, qui englobent :

    1. les fonds propres de catégorie 1 sous forme d’actions ordinaires;

    2. les autres éléments de fonds propres de catégorie 1;

  2. les fonds propres de catégorie 2;

  3. les actions et éléments de passif prescrits (« autres instruments TLAC ») qui peuvent être convertis – en tout en en partie – en actions ordinaires en vertu du paragraphe 39.2(2.3) en vertu de la Loi sur la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada et satisfont tous les critères d’admissibilité énoncés dans la présente ligne directrice.

Admissibilité des éléments de fonds propres réglementaires aux fins de la TLAC

10. Les critères des éléments de fonds propres de catégorie 1 et de catégorie 2, de même que les limites, restrictions et ajustements réglementaires auxquelles ils sont soumis, sont décrits au chapitre 2 de la ligne directrice NFP.

11. Les autres ajustements positifs et négatifs suivants des fonds propres de catégorie 1 et de catégorie 2 s’appliquent au calcul des ratios TLAC :

  1. Les instruments de fonds propres réglementaires, autres que ceux de catégorie 1 sous forme d’actions ordinaires, qui sont émis par une filiale à des tiers ne seront comptabilisés aux fins du TLAC que jusqu’au 31 décembre 2021. Après cette date, ces participations ne seront admissibles aux fins des ratios de fonds propres de la BISi que dans la mesure prévue par la ligne directrice NFP du BSIF.
  2. Les instruments de fonds propres réglementaires émis directement par une entité de financement en propriété exclusive et directe ou par l’entremise d’une entité ad hoc (SPV) ne seront comptabilisés aux fins de la TLAC que s’ils sont émis au plus tard le 31 décembre 2021. Après cette date, ces instruments ne seront admissibles aux fins des ratios de fonds propres de la BISi que dans la mesure prévue par la ligne directrice NFP du BSIF.
  3. Les instruments de fonds propres de catégorie 2 qui sont soumis à l’amortissement en vertu de la ligne directrice NFP du BSIF peuvent être entièrement inclus aux fins de la TLAC si leur échéance résiduelle dépasse 365 jours.

12. Les fonds propres de catégorie 1 et de catégorie 2 qui sont admissibles aux fins de la TLAC doivent être mesurés sur la base « tout compris » conformément au chapitre 1 de la ligne directrice NFP.

Critères d’admissibilité d’autres instruments TLAC aux fins de la TLAC

13. Les critères des autres instruments TLAC aux fins de la TLAC, de même que les limites, restrictions et ajustements réglementaires auxquelles ils sont soumis, sont décrits ci dessous

  1. L’instrument fait l’objet d’une conversion permanente – totale ou partielle – en actions ordinaires en vertu du paragraphe 39.2(2.3) de la Loi sur la Société d’assurance-dépôts du CanadaNote de bas de page 2

  2. L’instrument est émis directement par la banque mère canadienne. Les instruments émis indirectement par une filiale ou par un SPV ne seront pas admissibles aux fins de la TLAC.

  3. L’instrument respecte toutes les exigences du [Règlement sur la recapitalisation interne des banques (émission)].

  4. L’instrument doit être émis et payé en espèces ou, si le surintendant y consent, nature.

  5. L’instrument ne peut avoir été acheté par l’institution ou par une entité liée sur laquelle l’institution exerce son contrôle ou une influence significative, et l’institution ne peut avoir financé directement ou indirectement l’achat de l’instrument.

  6. L’instrument n’est ni pleinement garanti au moment de son émission, ni couvert par une garantie de l’émetteur ou d’une entité liée ou par un autre dispositif rehaussant, sous une forme juridique ou économique, le rang de la créance par rapport à celles des déposants et(ou) des créanciers ordinaires de l’institution.

  7. L’instrument n’est assujetti à aucun droit de compensation.

  8. Sous réserve des exceptions prévues ci-après, l’instrument ne doit pas autoriser le détenteur à précipiter le remboursement du principal ou des intérêts), sauf en cas de faillite, d’insolvabilité ou de liquidation. Les cas de défaut de paiement préprogrammé du principal ou des intérêts seront permis à condition d’être visés par un délai d’au moins 30 jours ouvrables et de clairement indiquer à l’investisseur ce qui suit :

    1. le détenteur ne peut précipiter le remboursement que sur décret pris aux termes du paragraphe 39.13(1) de la Loi sur la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada à l’égard de l’institution;

    2. nonobstant la précipitation, l’instrument pourra être recapitalisé à l’interne jusqu’à ce qui ait été remboursé.

  9. L’instrument est perpétuel ou comporte une échéance résiduelle de plus de 365 joursNote de bas de page 3.

  10. L’instrument ne peut être remboursé ou racheté pour radiation qu’à l’initiative de l’émetteur et, lorsque le remboursement ou le rachat donne lieu à une dérogation à l’exigence minimale de TLAC, avec l’accord préalable du surintendant.

  11. L’instrument ne peut pas comporter une clause liant le dividende ou le coupon au risque de crédit; autrement dit, le coupon ou le dividende ne peut être redéfini périodiquement en fonction, intégralement ou partiellement, de la note de crédit de l’institution.

  12. La modification des modalités de l’instrument affectant sa reconnaissance aux fins de la TLAC doit être approuvée préalablement par le surintendant.

Mesure des actifs pondérés en fonction du risque

14. Le dénominateur du ratio TLAC fondé sur les risques fait appel aux actifs pondérés en fonction du risque calculés par la BISi conformément à la ligne directrice NFP du BSIF.

Mesure de l’exposition

15. Le dénominateur du ratio de levier TLAC fait appel à l’exposition du ratio de levier calculée en vertu de la ligne directrice Exigences de levier du BSIF.

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le BSIF mettra à jour en temps utile son Cadre de surveillance et son Guide en matière d’intervention à l’intention des institutions de dépôts afin qu’ils tiennent compte de la TLAC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Si l’instrument est régi par une loi étrangère, la BISi doit fournir des preuves montrant qu’aucune disposition de ladite loi ou modalité de l’instrument ne fait obstacle à l’application des pouvoirs de recapitalisation interne prévus par la législation canadienne.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Si l’instrument comporte une progression (step-up) ou une autre clause incitative au remboursement, il est réputé venir à échéance à la date d’effet de la clause incitative au remboursement. Dans ce cas, l’échéance résiduelle doit être mesurée par rapport à la date d’effet de la clause incitative au remboursement plutôt que d’après la date d’échéance contractuelle.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

​​​​​