Chief Actuary Biography

Jean-Claude Ménard

Profile photo 

 

Jean-Claude Ménard joined the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions as Chief Actuary of Canada in August 1999.

The Chief Actuary prepares actuarial reports on the Canada Pension Plan, the Old Age Security program, the Canada Student Loans Program, and pension and benefits plans for federal public servants, the Canadian Forces, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, federally appointed judges and Members of Parliament.

Between 1980 and 1999, Mr. Ménard held progressively more senior roles with the Quebec Pension Board, culminating in his appointment as Chief Actuary and Director of Valuation in 1995.

From 1987 to 1994, he served on an Examination Committee of the Society of Actuaries, the last three years as Vice-Chairman.

From 2002 to 2007, he was Vice-Chairman of the Technical Commission of Statistical, Actuarial and Financial Studies of the International Social Security Association (ISSA). In 2008, he became Chairman of that Commission. In this capacity, he is the official representative of the ISSA on the Social Security Committee of the International Actuarial Association.

In February 2008, he was appointed member of the National Academy of Social Insurance (NASI), a non-profit organization made up of the leading experts on social insurance.

Mr. Ménard has been a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries since 1985, and is a member of the Quebec Actuarial Club. He earned a B.S. in Actuarial Sciences from Université Laval in Québec City.

Biographie de l'actuaire en chef

Jean-Claude Ménard

Profile photo 

 

Jean-Claude Ménard est entré en fonction au Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières en tant qu’actuaire en chef du Canada, en août 1999.

À ce titre, il est responsable de la préparation des rapports actuariels sur le Régime de pensions du Canada, le programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse, le Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants et les régimes de retraite et d’avantages sociaux des employés de la fonction publique fédérale, des membres des Forces armées, de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ainsi que des juges de nomination fédérale et des parlementaires.

De 1980 à 1999, M. Ménard a occupé des postes de plus en plus importants à la Régie des rentes du Québec, et sa carrière a culminé par sa nomination au poste d’actuaire en chef et de directeur de l’évaluation en 1995.

De 1987 à 1994, il a été membre d’un comité d’examen de la Society of Actuaries, dont les trois dernières années comme vice-président.

De 2002 à 2007, il a été vice-président de la Commission technique des études statistiques, actuarielles et financières de l’Association internationale de la sécurité sociale (AISS). En 2008, il a accepté la présidence de ladite Commission. À ce titre, il est le représentant officiel de l’AISS au sein du comité de sécurité sociale de l’Association actuarielle internationale.

En février 2008, il a été nommé membre de la National Academy of Social Insurance (NASI), un organisme sans but lucratif composé d’experts renommés en sécurité sociale.

M. Ménard est titulaire de la désignation de Fellow de la Society of Actuaries et de l’Institut canadien des actuaires depuis 1985, et il est membre du Club des actuaires de Québec. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences actuarielles de l’Université Laval à Québec.