Mission and Mandate of the Office of the Chief Actuary

The federal government and the provinces, through the Canada Pension Plan (CPP), public sector pension arrangements and other social programs have made commitments to Canadians and have taken on emanated responsibility for the financing of these commitments. Some are long-term and it is important that decision-makers, Parliamentarians and the public understand these and the inherent risks. The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) has a vital and independent role to play in this process. The OCA provides checks and balances on the future costs of the different pension plans under its responsibilities.

The mandate of the Office of the Chief Actuary is to conduct statutory actuarial valuations of the CPP, Old Age Security (OAS) program, federal public sector employee pension and insurance plans and the Canada Student Loans Program (CSLP). These valuations estimate the financial status of these plans and programs as required by legislation. Since 2012, the OCA is responsible for preparing the statutory actuarial report on the Employment Insurance (EI) premium rate. Hereinafter, this actuarial report will be tabled before Parliament by the Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC).

The OCA prepares actuarial reports as required by legislation including reports on proposed changes to the CPP introduced in Parliament. The OCA submits these reports to the minister of Finance, the minister of HRSDC, the President of the Treasury Board and to the Chairperson of the Employment Insurance Commission (CEIC). The OCA also provides sound actuarial advice that assists them in the design, funding and administration of these programs.

Social Insurance Programs Section

This Unit assists the Chief Actuary in providing to the Ministers of Finance and HRSDC and the Chairperson of CEIC statutory actuarial reports showing the costs, liabilities and long-term financial projections for the CPP, the OAS, the CSLP and the EI Program. Other non-statutory actuarial services include actuarial estimates of costs and liabilities and long-term financial projections of any changes to the CPP, the OAS, the CSLP and the EI Program being considered by governments.

Public Sector Insurance and Pension Programs Section

This section assists the Chief Actuary in providing to the President of Treasury Board statutory actuarial reports on the costs, liabilities and long-term financial projections in respect of several insurance and pension programs. Other non-statutory actuarial services normally associated with the administration of these programs:

  • Actuarial estimates of costs and liabilities of all public insurance and pension programs for Public Accounts purposes;
  • Actuarial information to Treasury Board on the costs charged by private life insurance companies for the group life, health and disability programs sponsored by the government for its employees;
  • Actuarial information and services to the various sponsors of Public Sector programs in respect of transfer and arrears values, Retirement Compensation Arrangements, credit-splitting on spousal union breakdown, optional survivor benefits, etc.;
  • Actuarial estimates of costs and liabilities, of proposals to change any of the public insurance and pension programs; actuarial information and services to Treasury Board in respect of privatization agreements of certain government departments or Crown Corporations; and
  • Actuarial information and services to the Department of Justice or the Judge Advocate General in respect of litigation cases under any of the insurance and pension programs of the government, including expert witness testimony in court cases.

Other non-statutory actuarial services include actuarial estimates of costs, liabilities and long-term financial projections of any changes being considered by Governments.

Supplying Actuarial Information and Services

Policy for Supplying Actuarial Information and Services on the Canada Pension Plan:

In the interest of fostering informed public commentary on the Canada Pension Plan, the Chief Actuary has in the past responded to many requests to explain actuarial information and, in some circumstances, to do special actuarial work related to the Canada Pension Plan when time and resources made this possible. This policy (PDF, 43 kB) is designed to standardize practices used to foster informed public commentary on the Canada Pension Plan and ensure transparency in their operation.

Policy for Supplying Actuarial Information and Services on Other Government Programs:

For services on other government programs, the Chief Actuary has also responded to requests to do special actuarial work related to the public pensions, when time and resources made this possible. This policy is also designed to standardize practices used to foster informed public commentary on the public pensions and ensure transparency in their operation.

Applicable Fees:

In each fiscal year (April 1 to March 31) a charge for special information or actuarial work on a fee for service basis provided by the Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) is necessary to reflect the adequate costs incurred by the OCA. On a full cost recovery basis, the charge to be paid for actuarial services provided by the Chief Actuary of the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI), in respect of requests for services ancillary to the mandate of the Chief Actuary on the Canada Pension Plan or on other government programs, is $230 per hour starting April 19, 2011.

Mission et mandat du Bureau de l'actuaire en chef

Par la mise en place du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), des régimes de pension du secteur public et d’autres programmes sociaux, le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces ont pris des engagements envers les Canadiens et sont responsables du financement qui en découle. Dans certains cas, ce sont des engagements à long terme et il est important que les décideurs, les parlementaires et les Canadiens les comprennent et saisissent les risques qui leur sont rattachés. Le Bureau de l'actuaire en chef (BAC) joue un rôle primordial et indépendant dans ce processus. Le BAC effectue les évaluations des coûts futurs des divers régimes de pension sous sa responsabilité.

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef a pour mandat d’effectuer des évaluations actuarielles statutaires du RPC, du programme de la sécurité de la vieillesse (SV), des régimes de pension et d’assurance des employés du secteur public fédéral et du programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants. Ces évaluations statutaires permettent d’estimer la situation financière de ces régimes et programmes. Depuis 2012, le BAC est chargé de préparer le rapport statutaire sur le taux de cotisation d’assurance-emploi (PCPE). Ce rapport actuariel sera désormais déposé devant le Parlement par le ministre des Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC).

Le BAC prépare des rapports actuariels statutaires, notamment des rapports sur les changements proposés au RPC qui sont présentés au Parlement. Le BAC remet ces rapports au ministre des Finances, au ministre de RHDCC, au président du Conseil du Trésor et au président de la Commission de financement de l’assurance-emploi du Canada (OFAE). Le BAC fournit également des conseils actuariels pertinents pour aider à concevoir, à provisionner et à administrer ces programmes.

Section des programmes d'assurance sociale

Cette section aide l'actuaire en chef à préparer, à l'intention du ministre des Finances, du ministre de RHDCC et du président de la CAEC, les rapports actuariels exigés par la loi indiquant les coûts, les obligations et les projections financières à long terme du RPC, de la SV, du PCPE et du programme d’AE. Les autres services actuariels non prévus par la loi comprennent les estimations actuarielles des coûts et des obligations et les projections financières à long terme relatives à une modification au RPC, à la SV, au PCPE et à l’AE envisagées par les gouvernements.

Section des programmes publics d'assurance et de pension

Cette section aide l'actuaire en chef à préparer, à l'intention du président du Conseil du Trésor, les rapports actuariels statutaires exigés par la loi sur les coûts, les obligations et les projections financières à long terme de plusieurs programmes d'assurance et de pension. Les autres services actuariels non prévus par la loi généralement liés à l'administration de ces programmes sont les suivants :

  • les estimations actuarielles des coûts et des obligations de l'ensemble des programmes publics d'assurance et de pension aux fins des Comptes publics;
  • l'information actuarielle fournie au Conseil du Trésor sur les coûts facturés par les assureurs-vie privés pour les régimes collectifs d'assurance-vie, d'assurance-maladie et d'assurance-invalidité offerts par le gouvernement à ses employés;
  • l'information et les services actuariels fournis aux divers répondants des programmes publics en matière de valeurs des transferts et des arrérages, de régimes compensatoires, de partage des droits en cas de rupture du mariage, de prestations facultatives de survivant, etc.
  • les estimations actuarielles des coûts et des obligations découlant des propositions visant à modifier les programmes publics d'assurance et de pension; l'information et les services actuariels fournis au Conseil du Trésor à propos d'accords de privatisation conclus par certains ministères ou sociétés d'État;
  • l'information et les services actuariels fournis au ministère de la Justice ou au Juge-avocat général dans le cadre des litiges liés aux programmes gouvernementaux d'assurance et de pension, y compris le témoignage d'experts aux audiences.

Prestations de renseignments et services actuarials

Politique sur la prestation de renseignements et de services actuariels au sujet du Régime de pensions du Canada :

Afin de promouvoir un débat informé sur le Régime, l'actuaire en chef a répondu dans le passé à plusieurs demandes d'explications des renseignements actuariels et, dans certains cas, a accepté d'effectuer des travaux actuariels spéciaux concernant le RPC, sous réserve des disponibilités de temps et de ressources. Cette politique (PDF, 44 ko) a pour but d'uniformiser les pratiques utilisées pour promouvoir un débat informé sur le Régime et de garantir la transparence de ces dernières dans leur application. 

Politique sur la prestation de renseignements et de services actuariels au sujet d'autres programmes gouvernementaux :

En ce qui a trait aux services relatifs à d'autres programmes gouvernementaux, l'actuaire en chef a également répondu à des demandes qui nécessitaient des travaux actuariels spéciaux liés aux pensions publiques, sous réserve des disponibilités de temps et de ressources. Cette politique est également conçue pour uniformiser les pratiques utilisées pour promouvoir un débat informé sur les pensions publiques et pour assurer la transparence dans leur application.

Honoraires applicables

Pour chaque exercice (1er avril au 31 mars), il est nécessaire de déterminer les droits à payer pour les renseignements et travaux actuariels spéciaux effectués par le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) sur une base de rémunération à l’acte afin de refléter adéquatement les coûts encourus par le BAC. Selon le coût de revient complet, les droits à payer pour les services actuariels fournis par l'actuaire en chef du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) pour répondre aux demandes de services qui ne sont pas prévus dans le mandat de l'actuaire en chef concernant le Régime de pensions du Canada ou d'autres programmes gouvernementaux, est 230 $ par heure, à compter du 19 avril 2011.