Actuarial Studies

Projecting the long-term financial status of the Canada Pension Plan, Old Age Security, Canada Student Loans and federal sector workplace pension and insurance plans requires the Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) to assess historical, present and future trends in the areas of demography and economics. Given these concerns and the mandate of the OCA, our Office is continuously involved in preparing various experience studies and research covering a wide range of social security, demographic and economic issues that may affect the financial status of these plans.

Some of these studies also serve to support policymakers in developing and analyzing various policy options in the context of plan reforms. The information presented in these studies could benefit private sector organizations that evaluate social security or private pension plan schemes.

To keep the general public informed, the OCA is committed to prompt disclosure of information through our periodic statutory actuarial reports and by making available the results of our special studies on the many aspects of these programs.

Actuarial Study Title
No. 18

Canada Pension Plan Actuarial Adjustment Factors: Actuarial Study No 18 (PDF, 405 KB)

The Office of the Chief Actuary confirms that the Canada Pension Plan legislated actuarial adjustment factors are appropriate.

No. 17

Old Age Security Program Mortality Experience: Actuarial Study No. 17 (PDF, 2.1 MB)

In 2013, beneficiaries with low income live on average about 2 and half years less than those with higher income. The differential in life expectancies at age 65 by level of income has shown little variability over the last 15 years.

No. 16

Canada Pension Plan Retirement, Survivor and Disability Beneficiaries Mortality Study: Actuarial Study No. 16 (PDF, 1.6 MB)

Over the last two decades, life expectancy at age 65 of CPP retirement beneficiaries increased by 2.5 years, reaching 20.5 years in 2013.

No. 15

Pension Plan for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Actuarial Study No. 15 (PDF, 951 KB)

Regular Members of the Pension Plan for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police are living longer than the general Canadian population, mainly ( because of lower mortality rates before age 80.

No. 14

Pension Plan for the Public Service of Canada Mortality Study: Actuarial Study No. 14 (PDF, 1.79 MB)

At age 65, federal public servants are expected to live approximately one year longer than the general Canadian population. At the same time, they are expected to live as long as members of Canadian private sector pension plans, and shorter lives than members of Canadian public sector pension plans.

No. 13

Assessing the Sustainability of the Canada Pension Plan through Actuarial Balance Sheets

The inclusion of future contributions and benefits with respect to both current and future contributors in the assessment of the Canada Pension Plan financial status through actuarial balance sheets shows that the Plan is able to meet its financial obligations and is sustainable over the long term. 

No. 12

Mortality Projections for Social Security Programs in Canada

Canadians have made significant gains in longevity over the past century. Future gains in longevity are projected to continue, with many Canadians expected to live beyond age 90 on average in the future. However, living to 100 will continue to be a challenge for most.

No. 11

Old Age Security Program Mortality Experience (PDF, 1.13 MB)

Over the last decade, life expectancy at age 65 has experienced the largest ever increase since the Old Age Security Program’s inception with life expectancy at age 65 increasing by about two years to reach 20 years in 2010.

No. 10

Measuring the Financial Sustainability of the CPP (PDF, 709 KB)

If the CPP’s financial sustainability is to be measured based on its actuarial balance sheet, it should be done so on an open group basis that reflects the partially funded nature of the Plan, that is, its reliance on both future contributions and invested assets as means of financing its future expenditures.

No. 09

Experience Study of Disability Beneficiaries - ARCHIVED (PDF, 1.92 MB)

It is generally observed that the mortality rates of CPP disability beneficiaries are on average five to six times higher than mortality rates of the general population.

No. 08

Technical Aspects of the Financing of the CPP - ARCHIVED (PDF, 377 KB)

The study concludes that the inclusion of future contributions and benefits from both current and future contributors in the assessment of the Plan's funded status shows that the Plan is able to meet its financial obligations and sustainable over the 75-year projection period.

No. 07

CPP Mortality Study - ARCHIVED (PDF, 953 KB)

More Canadians are expected to receive pension benefits from the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) for a longer period of time. The study’s findings also underscore a correlation between the level of CPP income and a beneficiary’s life expectancy; the higher the CPP retirement pension, the higher the beneficiary’s life expectancy.

No. 06

Optimal Funding of the Canada Pension Plan - ARCHIVED (PDF, 427 KB)

The actuarial study concludes that the current partial-funding model of the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) is robust and appropriate for the purpose of contributing to the long-term financial sustainability of the Plan.

No. 05

Old Age Security Program Mortality Experience - ARCHIVED (PDF, 487 KB)

No. 05

Addendum to Actuarial Study No.5 - Old Age Security Program Mortality Experience - ARCHIVED (PDF, 275 KB)

No. 04

National Population Projections - ARCHIVED (PDF, 1.11 MB)

No. 03

Mortality Study - ARCHIVED (PDF, 3.13 MB)

No. 02

Actuarial Adjustment Factors Study - ARCHIVED (PDF, 210 KB)

No. 01

Experience Study of Disability Beneficiaries - ARCHIVED (PDF, 232 KB)

Études actuarielles

Pour faire des projections de la situation financière à long terme du Régime de pensions du Canada, de la Sécurité de la vieillesse, du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants et des programmes d'assurance et de pension du secteur public fédéral, le Bureau de l'actuaire en chef (BAC) doit évaluer les tendances historiques, présentes et futures dans les domaines démographiques et économiques. Étant donné les préoccupations et le mandat du BAC, notre bureau participe sans cesse à diverses études de résultats et divers travaux de recherche sur une vaste gamme de questions démographiques, économiques et liées à la sécurité sociale susceptibles d'influer sur la situation financière de ces programmes.

Les décideurs se servent aussi de certaines de ces études pour élaborer et analyser les diverses options stratégiques offertes aux fins de la réforme des programmes. L'information figurant dans ces études pourrait être utile pour les organismes du secteur privé qui prennent part à l'évaluation des programmes de sécurité sociale ou des régimes de retraite privés.

Dans le but de tenir le grand public informé, le BAC s'engage à divulguer cette information en publiant nos rapports actuariels périodiques prévus par la loi et en rendant disponibles les résultats de nos études spéciales sur de nombreux aspects de ces programmes.

Étude actuarielle Titre
No. 20

Document technique sur les Règlements sur le Régime de pensions supplémentaire du Canada : Étude actuarielle no 20 (PDF, 1,83 Mo)

Les règlements sur le Régime de pensions du Canada supplémentaire visent à garantir que la portion bonifiée du régime soit financée de façon appropriée au fil du temps, tout en respectant l'équité intergénérationnelle et les objectifs de financement de la bonification.

No. 19

Évaluation et présentation des obligations du Régime de pensions du Canada : Étude actuarielle no 19 (PDF, 1,20 Mo)

Les processus utilisés pour évaluer la viabilité financière du RPC et les rapports correspondants sont reconnus partout dans le monde comme de bonnes pratiques.

No. 18

Facteurs d’ajustement actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada : Étude actuarielle no 18 (PDF, 471 Ko)

Le bureau de l’actuaire en chef confirme que les facteurs d’ajustement actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada sont appropriés.

No. 17

Programme de la sécurité de la vieillesse, Résultats de la mortalité : Étude actuarielle no 17 (PDF, 2.4 Mo)

En 2013, les bénéficiaires à faible revenu vivent en moyenne environ deux années et demie de moins que ceux avec des revenus plus élevé. La différence des espérances de vie à 65 ans selon le niveau de revenu a peu varié au cours des 15 dernières années.

No. 16

Étude de mortalité des bénéficiaires de prestations de retraite, de survivant et d’invalidité du Régime de pensions du Canada: Étude actuarielle no 16 (PDF, 1.9 Mo)

 Au cours des deux dernières décennies, l'espérance de vie à 65 ans des bénéficiaires de retraite du RPC a augmenté de 2,5 ans, atteignant 20,5 années en 2013.

No. 15

Régime de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada : Étude actuarielle no 15 (PDF, 953 Ko)

Les membres réguliers du Régime de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada vivent plus longtemps que la population canadienne, principalement en raison de taux de mortalité moins élevés avant l’âge de 80 ans.

No. 14

Régime de retraite de la fonction publique du Canada - Étude de mortalité : Étude actuarielle no 14 (PDF, 1.92 Mo)

À l'âge de 65 ans, les fonctionnaires fédéraux devraient vivre environ une année de plus que la population générale canadienne. Cependant, ils devraient vivre aussi longtemps que les participants aux régimes de retraite du secteur privé, mais moins longtemps que les participants aux régimes de retraite du secteur public.

No. 13

Évaluation de la viabilité financière du Régime de pensions du Canada à l’aide des bilans actuariels

La prise en compte des cotisations et des prestations futures en rapport avec les participants actuels et futurs dans l’évaluation de la situation financière du Régime de pensions du Canada à l’aide des bilans actuariels confirme que le Régime est en mesure de s’acquitter de ses engagements financiers et qu’il est viable à long terme.

No. 12

Projections de mortalité pour les programmes de sécurité sociale au Canada

La longévité des Canadiens a augmenté sensiblement depuis un siècle. Selon les projections, la longévité continuera d’augmenter et de nombreux Canadiens pourront s’attendre à vivre au-delà de l’âge de 90 ans en moyenne. Cependant, les centenaires continueront de se faire rares.

No. 11

Programme de la sécurité de la vieillesse, Résultats de la mortalité (PDF, 1,32 Mo)

Durant la dernière décennie, l’espérance de vie à 65 ans a connu sa plus forte croissance depuis le début du Programme de la Sécurité de la Vieillesse avec une augmentation d’environ deux ans pour atteindre 20 ans en 2010. 

No. 10

Mesurer la viabilité financière du RPC (PDF, 522 Ko)

Si la viabilité financière du Régime doit être mesurée d’après l’excédent ou le déficit de l’actif, cette évaluation doit reposer sur le groupe ouvert qui tient compte de la capitalisation partielle du Régime, c’est‑à‑dire le recours aux cotisations futures et à l’actif investi pour financer les dépenses futures.

No. 09

Étude d’expérience des bénéficiaires de prestations d’invalidité - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 2,01 Mo)

Il est généralement observé que les taux de mortalité des bénéficiaires de la rente d'invalidité du RPC sont en moyenne de cinq à six fois plus élevés que ceux observés dans la population générale.

No. 08

Aspects techniques du financement du RPC - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 404 Ko)

L’étude conclut que la prise en compte des cotisations et prestations des cotisants actuels et futurs dans l'évaluation de la situation financière du Régime permet de constater que le Régime est en mesure de répondre à ses obligations financières et qu’il demeurera viable tout au long de la période de projection de 75 ans.

No. 07

Étude de mortalité RPC - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 1,61 Mo)

On s’attend à ce que plus de Canadiens soient bénéficiaires d’une pension de retraite du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) et ce, pour une plus longue période. Les résultats de cette étude révèlent également qu’il existe une corrélation entre le niveau de la pension de retraite du RPC et l’espérance de vie du bénéficiaire; c’est-à-dire qu’une pension de retraite du RPC plus élevée est liée à une espérance de vie du bénéficiaire plus élevée.

No. 06

Capitalisation optimale du Régime des pensions du Canada - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 411 Ko)

L’étude actuarielle conclut que la formule actuelle de capitalisation partielle du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) est robuste et adéquate pour contribuer à la viabilité financière à long terme du Régime.

No. 05 Étude actuarielle sur la mortalité des bénéficiaires du Programme de la sécurité de la vieillesse - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 479 Ko)
No. 05 Supplément à l’étude actuarielle - Mortalité des bénéficiaires du Programme de la sécurité de la vieillesse - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 492 Ko)
No. 04 Les projections démographiques nationales - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 1,12 Mo)
No. 03 Étude de mortalité - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 3,16 Mo)
No. 02 Étude des facteurs d’ajustement actuariels - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 223 Ko)
No. 01 Étude d'expérience des bénéficiaires de prestations d'invalidité - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ (PDF, 247 Ko)