Review of the peer review of the 26th Actuarial Report on the CPP

Finlaison House
15-17 Furnival Street
London
EC4A 1AB
T 0131 467 1168
E dermot.grenham@gad.gov.uk
www.gov.uk/gad


Jean-Claude Ménard
Chief Actuary, Office of the Chief Actuary
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
255 Albert Street, 10th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H2
Canada

22 April 2014

Dear Jean-Claude

The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) commissioned an external peer review of its 26th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2012 (AR26). The peer review is intended to ensure that the OCA is providing sound and relevant actuarial advice to Members of the Canadian Parliament and to the Canadian population.

In April 2013 the OCA asked the Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) of the United Kingdom to:

  1. Select on the basis of the comparative qualifications of the applicants the independent Canadian actuaries who will perform the peer review, and
  2. Provide an opinion on the work done by the reviewers once the peer review is completed.

The request for GAD to provide an opinion of the review is to further increase the credibility of the peer review.

1. GAD’s role

  • 1.1
    GAD fulfilled the first part of the OCA’s request, advising on the selection of the independent Canadian actuaries, in August 2013. GAD received six applications directly from individuals wishing to be appointed as peer reviewers and assessed their applications using weighted selection criteria. These criteria included the level of experience of the applicants in social insurance, pensions and investment policy, as well as the applicants’ qualifications and status within the Canadian Institute of Actuaries. GAD provided the Chief Actuary with a schedule setting out the results of our assessment, with a ranking of the six candidates. The Chief Actuary successfully entered into an agreement with the three highest ranking candidates to undertake the peer review.
  • 1.2
    This letter addresses the second part of the OCA’s request, providing our comments and opinion on the work done by the peer reviewers as detailed in the report, “Review of the 26th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan” (‘the Peer Review’) prepared by Robert L Brown, Mark W Campbell and Thomas D Levy, dated 7 March 2014.

2. Peer Review Terms of Reference

  • 2.1
    The terms of reference for the Peer Review were:

    The Canadian peer reviewers will review the work of the Chief Actuary in completing the 26th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2012 and, following the review, provide a report to the Chief Actuary and the United Kingdom Government Actuary’s Department (GAD). GAD will then provide its opinion of the peer review to the Chief Actuary.

    The review report should contain opinions on the following questions:

    1. Is the professional experience of the Chief Actuary and his staff who worked on the report adequate for carrying out the work required?
    2. Has the work been completed in compliance with the relevant professional standards of practice and statutory requirements?
    3. Did the Chief Actuary have access to the information required to perform the valuation, and were relevant tests and analysis on the data completed as might be expected?
    4. Were the actuarial methods and assumptions used in completing the report reasonable?
    5. Does the 26th Report fairly communicate the results of the work performed by the Chief Actuary and his staff?

    In providing opinions on the questions listed above, the Canadian peer reviewers will also provide such recommendations as the peer reviewers deem appropriate with respect to future actuarial reports on the Canada Pension Plan prepared by the Office of the Chief Actuary.

3. Summary of the Peer Review

  • 3.1
    The Peer Review addressed all of the items listed in the terms of reference and the peer reviewers were able to answer all five of the questions in the affirmative, noting that the three peer reviewers reached agreement on all of the opinions and recommendations set out in the report.
  • 3.2
    The report is very clear about the remit of the peer reviewers, noting that their focus was on the actuarial work done with reference to the data used, the major methodology issues, ten key actuarial assumptions and the quality of the reporting. It highlights that the peer review does not provide a detailed audit of the data nor verification of the accuracy of the model. Similarly, the peer reviewers have not made a detailed evaluation of the appropriateness of the response of the Chief Actuary to the findings of the prior actuarial review panel.
  • 3.3
    In the report, the peer reviewers acknowledge the difficulties in determining “best-estimate” assumptions, given that many of the assumptions are not amenable to precise prediction. They note that determining a best-estimate assumption is not based on absolute science and the most that can be achieved is to arrive at an estimate that is “reasonable”, or at least “not unreasonable”.
  • 3.4
    In the executive summary, the peer reviewers have complimented the Chief Actuary and his staff on their competence, commitment and professionalism, mentioning that they were unfailingly helpful in clarifying issues and in providing additional information. The peer reviewers have offered eight recommendations which they considered would enhance future actuarial reports.

4. GAD’s opinion on the peer reviewers’ work and report

  • 4.1
    There is nothing in the Peer Review that gives us any cause for concern or indicates that the peer reviewers have not carried out a sufficiently thorough review of AR26. We consider that the opinions of the peer reviewers adequately cover all the main issues and that it is reasonable, based on the contents of their report, for them to answer in the affirmative all five of the questions listed in the terms of reference.
  • 4.2
    We are also content that the terms of reference of the Peer Review are sufficient to enable the peer reviewers to address all of the relevant issues they need to in order to perform detailed review of the actuarial work underlying the AR26 and the contents of the AR26 itself.
  • 4.3
    Following our review, we have some comments on the peer reviewers’ report which you may find helpful.

General

  • 4.4
    Our understanding is that legislation (Section 113.1 of the Canada Pension Plan statute) provides for automatic increases in the contribution rate and/or freezing of benefits, if the minimum contribution rate is higher than the legislated rate. AR26 provides for a minimum contribution rate of 9.84% which is very close to the current legislated 9.9% contribution rate. This suggests that small differences in assumptions could have significant consequences. We think it would have been helpful for the peer reviewers to mention the potential significance of even small changes in the estimate of the minimum contribution rate.

Executive Summary

  • 4.5
    In the Executive Summary the peer reviewers noted that in their opinion the assumptions used in AR26 were reasonable, both individually and in the aggregate. However, within the body of the report, the peer reviewers comment that they would have chosen slightly different assumptions for mortality, price inflation and investment returns to those chosen by the Chief Actuary. We believe it would have been helpful for the comment provided in Section 6.4 to have been reflected in the executive summary, noting that they were content that the assumptions were within a reasonable range and perhaps mentioning that there would be some offsetting effects arising from the use of alternative assumptions.

Methodology

  • 4.6
    The minimum contribution rate is calculated by combining a steady-state funding contribution rate and a contribution rate in respect of full funding for post-1997 benefit improvements and is estimated to the nearest 0.01%. Section 1.7 of the report notes that the full funding rate in respect of the 2008 amendments is now deemed to be 0.0% because the value is less than 0.02%. At first glance this could raise questions about the consistency or reasonableness of this approach, particularly given the size of the difference between the minimum contribution rate and the current contribution rate. However, Section 5.4.2 highlights that the rounding of the full-funding contribution rate is pursuant to the Calculation of Contribution Rates Regulation, 2007. It would have been helpful to also have included this reference in Section 1.7.
  • 4.7
    We have noted the comment in Section 5.2 of the report that the experience adjustment factors used to calibrate the model to historical experience are “generally modest”. In the absence of any comment relating to this, it implies that the peer reviewers are content that these adjustments are reasonable. However, it may have been helpful to include an explicit comment noting this, or otherwise.

Assumptions

  • 4.8
    As mentioned above, the peer reviewers have noted that in their opinion the assumptions used in AR26 are reasonable, both individually and in the aggregate. In the body of the report information was provided about how the assumptions were determined, which gave some indication of how the peer reviewers came to their conclusion. However, we think some further commentary would have been helpful where the demographic assumptions used differ from the Statistics Canada medium assumptions.
  • 4.9
    We were pleased to read that the OCA re-ran the actuarial valuation, at the peer reviewers’ request, using the alternative assumptions they would have chosen and we have noted the comment that the resulting minimum contribution rate was not materially different from that reported in AR26. It would have been helpful to have included some explanation of what ‘not materially different’ means in this context. We have assumed that it is means that the minimum contribution rate would not exceed 9.9%.

We have not carried out an independent assessment of the eight recommendations made by the peer reviewers and therefore do not specifically agree or disagree with any of them. Generally, the nature and scope of the recommendations made by the reviewers appear to be reasonable.

I hope that you find these comments helpful. Please contact me if you would like to discuss them further.

Yours sincerely

Dr Dermot Grenham FIA Signature  

Dr Dermot Grenham FIA
Chief Actuary, Insurance & Social Security

Revue de l’examen par les pairs du 26e Rapport actuariel sur le RPC

Finlaison House
15-17 Furnival Street
London
EC4A 1AB
T 0131 467 1168
E dermot.grenham@gad.gov.uk
www.gov.uk/gad


Jean-Claude Ménard
Actuaire en chef, Bureau de l’actuaire en chef
Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
10e étage, Immeuble Carré Kent
255, rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H2
Canada

Le 22 avril 2014

Cher Jean-Claude

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) a demandé un examen externe par les pairs de son 26e Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2012 (RA26). L’examen par les pairs vise à obtenir l’assurance que le BAC fournit une opinion actuarielle pertinente et de qualité aux membres du Parlement canadien et à la population canadienne.

En avril 2013, le BAC a demandé au Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) du Royaume-Uni de :

  1. Sélectionner les actuaires canadiens indépendants qui formeront le comité d’examen externe sur la base des compétences des candidatures reçues, et
  2. Fournir une opinion sur le travail effectué par le comité d’examen une fois l’évaluation complétée.

L’opinion du GAD sur l’examen externe est demandée pour augmenter le niveau de crédibilité de l’examen externe.

1. Rôle du GAD

  • 1.1
    Le GAD a rempli la première partie de la demande formulée par le BAC, en faisant une recommandation sur la sélection des actuaires canadiens indépendants, en août 2013. Le GAD a reçu six candidatures d’individus souhaitant faire partie du comité d’examen externe et a évalué leurs candidatures en se basant sur des critères de sélection pondérés couvrant l’expérience dans les domaines de l’assurance sociale, des pensions et des politiques d’investissement, ainsi que leurs compétences et leur statut auprès de l’Institut canadien des actuaires. Le GAD a soumis à l’actuaire en chef un document indiquant les résultats de son évaluation et le classement des six candidats. L’actuaire en chef a ensuite conclu une entente avec les trois candidats les mieux notés et leur a confié l’exécution de l’examen par les pairs.
  • 1.2
    Cette lettre donne suite au second volet de la demande faite par le BAC, et contient nos commentaires et opinions sur le travail effectué par les examinateurs externes contenu dans le rapport intitulé Examen du 26e Rapport actuariel du Régime de Pensions du Canada (l’« examen par les pairs ») daté du 7 mars 2014 et préparé par MM. Robert L. Brown, Mark W. Campbell et Thomas D. Levy.

2. Mandat de l’examen par les pairs

  • 2.1
    Le mandat de l’examen par les pairs était le suivant:

    Les actuaires canadiens qui effectueront la revue par les pairs examineront les travaux effectués par l’actuaire en chef dans le cadre du vingt-sixième Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2012 et après cet examen, remettront un rapport à l’actuaire en chef et au Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) du Royaume-Uni. Le GAD formulera ensuite une revue de l’examen par les pairs à l’actuaire en chef.

    Le rapport d’examen doit contenir des opinions concernant les questions suivantes :

    1. L’expérience professionnelle de l’actuaire en chef et de ses collaborateurs qui ont participé à la préparation du rapport est-elle suffisante pour exécuter les travaux exigés?
    2. Les travaux ont-ils été effectués en conformité avec les normes de pratique professionnelles et exigences réglementaires pertinentes?
    3. L’actuaire en chef a-t-il eu accès aux renseignements nécessaires pour exécuter l’évaluation et les tests et analyses pertinents ont-ils été exécutés sur les données comme l’on pourrait s’y attendre?
    4. Les méthodes et hypothèses actuarielles utilisées pour préparer le rapport sont-elles raisonnables?
    5. Le 26e Rapport communique-t-il équitablement les résultats des travaux exécutés par l’actuaire en chef et ses collaborateurs?

    En donnant leur opinion sur les questions susmentionnées, les examinateurs fourniront également les recommandations qu’ils estiment pertinentes au sujet des rapports actuariels futurs que préparera le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef relativement au Régime de pensions du Canada. »

3. Résumé de l’examen par les pairs

  • 3.1
    L’examen par les pairs traite de toutes les questions mentionnées dans le mandat. Les examinateurs ont réussi à répondre aux cinq questions dans l’affirmative, et sont parvenus à s’entendre sur toutes les opinions et les recommandations formulées dans le rapport.
  • 3.2
    Le rapport est très clair sur le mandat confié aux examinateurs externes, leur attention étant sur le travail actuariel effectué en lien avec les données utilisées, les principaux enjeux de la méthodologie, les dix hypothèses actuarielles clés et la qualité de la communication. Il souligne le fait que l’examen externe ne fournit pas une revue des données ni la vérification de l’exactitude du modèle. De la même façon, les examinateurs externes n’ont pas évalué de façon détaillée la convenance de la réponse de l’actuaire en chef aux résultats du comité d’examen externe précédent.
  • 3.3
    Dans le rapport, les examinateurs reconnaissent la difficulté de déterminer les hypothèses de meilleure estimation, puisque plusieurs hypothèses ne peuvent être  prédites de façon précise. Ils mentionnent que déterminer les hypothèses de meilleure estimation n’est pas une science absolue et que le mieux qui peut être fait est d’arriver à un estimé « raisonnable », ou du moins « non déraisonnable ».
  • 3.4
    Dans le sommaire, les examinateurs ont fait l’éloge de l’actuaire en chef et de ses collaborateurs à propos de leurs compétences, leur engagement et leur professionnalisme, en mentionnant qu’ils ont été très serviables pour clarifier certains points et pour fournir de l’information supplémentaire. Les examinateurs externes ont offert huit recommandations qui, de leur avis, contribueraient à améliorer les rapports actuariels ultérieurs.

4. Opinion du GAD à propos du travail effectué par les examinateurs et de leur rapport

  • 4.1
    Nous n’avons relevé dans l’examen par les pairs aucun élément inquiétant ou indiquant que le travail des examinateurs n’a pas été suffisamment exhaustif lors de la revue du RA26. À notre avis, les opinions des examinateurs couvrent adéquatement toutes les grandes questions et, vu la teneur de leur rapport, il était raisonnable qu’ils répondent par l’affirmative aux cinq questions soulevées dans le mandat.
  • 4.2
    Le GAD estime que le mandat de l’examen par les pairs permettait aux examinateurs d’aborder toutes les questions pertinentes à traiter pour examiner en détail les travaux actuariels qui sous‑tendent le RA26 et le contenu de ce dernier.
  • 4.3
    À l’issue de notre revue du rapport d’examen, nous avons quelques commentaires que vous trouverez peut-être utiles.

Général

  • 4.4
    Notre compréhension est que la législation (Section 113.1 de la loi sur le Régime de pensions du Canada) prévoit des augmentations automatiques du taux de cotisation et/ou le gel des prestations, si le taux de cotisation minimal est plus grand que le taux prévu par la loi. Le RA26 prévoit un taux de cotisation minimal de 9,84 %; celui-ci est très proche du taux actuel de cotisation prévu par la loi de 9,9 %. Ceci suggère que de petites différences dans les hypothèses pourraient avoir des conséquences significatives. Nous pensons qu’il aurait été utile que les examinateurs mentionnent l’importance potentielle de changements même mineurs de l’estimé du taux de cotisation minimal.

Sommaire

  • 4.5
    Dans le sommaire, les examinateurs sont d’avis que les hypothèses utilisées dans le RA26, prises individuellement ou dans leur ensemble, sont raisonnables. Cependant, à l’intérieur du rapport, les examinateurs soulignent qu’ils auraient choisi des hypothèses légèrement différentes de celles choisies par l’actuaire en chef pour la  mortalité, l’indice des prix et les taux de retour sur les investissements. Nous croyons qu’il aurait été utile que le commentaire formulé à la Section 6.4 soit reflété dans le sommaire afin de souligner qu’ils étaient confiants que les hypothèses se situaient à l’intérieur de choix raisonnables et peut-être mentionner qu’il y aurait des effets compensatoires si d’autres hypothèses étaient utilisées.

Méthodologie

  • 4.6
    Le taux de cotisation minimal est calculé en combinant le taux de cotisation déterminé selon la méthode de régime permanent avec le taux de cotisation déterminé selon la méthode de la capitalisation intégrale pour les bonifications aux prestations après 1997. Le taux de cotisation minimal est estimé au 0,01 % le plus près. La Section 1.7 du rapport mentionne que le taux de cotisation déterminé par la méthode de la capitalisation intégrale pour les modifications de 2008 est maintenant réputé être 0,0% car la valeur est inférieure à 0,02 %. À première vue, cela pourrait soulever des questions quant à la consistance ou le caractère raisonnable de cette approche, compte tenu notamment de la taille de la différence entre le taux de cotisation minimal et le taux de cotisation actuel. Cependant, la Section 5.4.2 souligne que l’arrondissement du taux de cotisation selon la méthode de la capitalisation intégrale est conforme en vertu du Règlement de 2007 sur le calcul des taux de cotisation. Il aurait été utile d’inclure cette référence dans la Section 1.7.
  • 4.7
    Nous avons noté le commentaire de la Section 5.2 du rapport mentionnant que les facteurs d’ajustements pour l’expérience utilisés pour calibrer le modèle avec l’expérience historique sont « généralement modestes». En l’absence de tout commentaire relatif à ce fait, il implique que les examinateurs sont confiants que ces ajustements sont raisonnables. Cependant, il aurait été peut-être utile d’inclure un commentaire notant cela, ou autrement.

Hypothèses

  • 4.8
    Comme mentionné auparavant, les examinateurs sont d’avis que les hypothèses utilisées dans le RA26, prises individuellement ou dans leur ensemble, sont raisonnables. Dans le corps du rapport, des informations ont été fournies sur la façon dont les hypothèses sont déterminées, ce qui a donné une indication sur la façon dont les examinateurs sont venus à leur conclusion. Cependant, nous pensons que certains autres commentaires auraient été utiles là où les hypothèses démographiques utilisées diffèrent des hypothèses moyennes de Statistique Canada.
  • 4.9
    Nous avons été heureux de lire que le BAC a ré-exécuté l'évaluation actuarielle, à la demande des examinateurs, en utilisant les hypothèses qu'ils auraient choisies et nous avons noté le commentaire que le taux de cotisation minimal résultant n'était pas sensiblement différent de celui rapporté dans RA26. Il aurait été utile d'inclure une explication de ce que « pas sensiblement différent » signifie dans ce contexte. Nous avons supposé qu'il signifie que le taux de contribution minimal ne dépasse pas 9,9 %.

Nous n’avons pas évalué à titre indépendant les huit recommandations formulées par les examinateurs; par conséquent, nous n’approuvons ni ne désapprouvons aucune d’elles. Dans l’ensemble, la nature et la portée des recommandations des examinateurs semblent raisonnables.

J’espère que les observations qui précèdent vous seront utiles. Si vous souhaitez en discuter plus en détail, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

Signature de Dr Dermot Grenham FIA 

Dr Dermot Grenham FIA
Actuaire en chef, assurance et sécurité sociale