Speeches and Presentations - Assia Billig

Title Date Published
Multi-pillars pension systems – Supporting material for panel discussion with Assia Billig at the DC Plan Summit, Banff, 6-8 February 2019 2019-02-11
Presentation to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Korea Policy Center by the Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) at the 12th Pension Experts Meeting on the topic of Pension Measures against Low Fertility and Population Aging 2017-05-25
Living to 100 – Myth or Reality.  CIA Webcast
From 2010 to 2015, the growth in life expectancy at age 65 of CPP and OAS beneficiaries has slowed down. While similar trends have emerged elsewhere, it’s too early to tell if the recent slowdown will continue.
November 3, 2016
2016-11-23

Viability of Canadian Retirement Income System: Political Consensus and Sound Actuarial Advice, by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, and Assia Billig, Actuary
Office of the Chief Actuary, Office of the Superintendant of Financial Institutions, Canada,
Panama, Panama, November 16, 2016

2016-11-17

Presentation by Assia Billig, Actuary, to the International Social Security Association's Regional Social Security Forum for the Americas, on the topic of "Actuarial Assumptions Development – deepening the expertise and enhancing the independence of the Chief Actuary"

2016-04-13

Presentation by Assia Billig, Actuary, at the Eurostat/ ILO/IMF/OECD Workshop on Pensions on the topic of "Compiling the actuarial balance sheet for the Canada Pension Plan – methodological overview"

2016-03-09

Presentation by Assia Billig, Actuary, at the 30th International Congress of Actuaries on the topic of "Why actuaries are interested in demographic issues and why others should listen to them ", 31 March 2014, Washington, USA.

"The actuarial profession possesses a profound understanding of demographic risks in the modern world and their implications on the most vulnerable: the old, the sick, the disabled, the unemployed or the one who suffers the loss of a family member."

2014-05-26

Presentation to the Technical Seminar of the International Social Security Association (ISSA) Technical Commission on Statistical, Actuarial and Financial Studies: "Sustainable Financing and extension of social security coverage", 28 April 2010, Montevideo, Uruguay, on the topic of "Stochastic Sensitivity Testing for the Canada Pension Plan Actuarial Reports".

2010-04-28

Discours et exposés - Assia Billig

Titre Date de publication
Systèmes de retraite à plusieurs piliers – Document de référence pour une discussion d’experts avec Assia Billig au DC Plan Summit, Banff, 6-8 Février 2019 2019-02-11

Communication du Bureau de l’actuaire en chef à l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) dans le cadre de la Douzième rencontre des experts en retraite, au Centre politique de la Corée, sur le thème Mesures relatives aux pensions pour contrer la faiblesse de la fécondité et le vieillissement de la population

2017-05-25
Vivre jusqu’à 100 ans – Un mythe ou une réalité.  Webémmission de l’ICA
De 2010 à 2015, la croissance de l’espérance de vie à 65 ans des bénéficiaires du RPC et de la SV a ralenti. Malgré que des tendances similaires aient été observées ailleurs, il est trop tôt pour savoir si ce ralentissement va se poursuivre.
3 novembre 2016
2016-11-23

Viabilité du système canadien de revenu de retraite: consensus politique et conseils actuariels solides par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, et Assia Billig, actuaire
Bureau de l’actuaire en chef,
Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada, Panama, 16 novembre 2016

2016-11-17

Présentation par Assia Billig, actuaire, dans le cadre du Forum régional de la sécurité sociale pour les Amériques, de l'Association internationale de la sécurité sociale intitulée « Développement des hypothèses actuarielles – approfondir l'expertise et rehausser l'indépendance de l'actuaire en chef »

2016-04-13

Présentation par Assia Billig, actuaire, à l'atelier Eurostat/OIT/FMI/OCDE sur les pensions intitulée « Vue d'ensemble de la méthodologie de compilation du bilan actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada »

2016-03-09

Présentation par Assia Billig, actuaire, au 30e Congrès international des actuaires portant sur le «Pourquoi les actuaires s'intéressent aux questions démographiques et pourquoi il faut les écouter», 31 mars 2014, Washington, États-Unis.

« La profession actuarielle est caractérisée par une profonde compréhension des risques démographiques du monde moderne ainsi que leurs implications sur les plus vulnérables, en l'occurrence les personnes âgées, les malades, les chômeurs ou les personnes qui perdent un membre de leur famille.»

2014-05-26

Présentation au Séminaire technique de la Commission technique des études statistiques, actuarielles et financières de l'Association internationale de la sécurité sociale (AISS) : « Financement viable et extension de la couverture de la sécurité sociale », 28 avril 2010, Montevideo, Uruguay, portant sur « Analyses de sensibilité stochastiques aux fins des rapports actuariels sur le Régime de pensions du Canada ».

2010-04-28