Remarks by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary Office of the Chief Actuary, to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates, Ottawa, Ontario, June 18, 2013

Introduction

Good morning Mr. Chairperson, Honourable members of the Committee. Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today.

Mandate and Activities of the Office of the Chief Actuary

The primary role of the Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) is to provide actuarial services to the federal and provincial governments that are Canada Pension Plan (CPP) stakeholders. While I report to the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, I am solely responsible for the content and actuarial opinions reflected in the reports prepared by my office.

The OCA conducts statutory actuarial valuations on the CPP, the Old Age Security (OAS) Program, and pension and benefits plans covering the Federal Public Service, the Canadian Forces, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, federally appointed judges, and members of Parliament.

In addition, whenever a bill is introduced before Parliament that significantly impacts the financial status of a public pension plan under the statutory responsibility of the Chief Actuary, the OCA must submit an actuarial report to the appropriate minister.

Recent Amendments to the Public Service Superannuation Act (Bill C-45)

The Public Service Superannuation Act was amended to increase the pensionable age by five years (from age 60 to 65) for contributors entering the plan after January 1st 2013. Member contribution rates will be increased to bring their share of the plan’s current service cost from 35% to 50%, thereby splitting the cost 50/50 between the members and the Government. The President of the Treasury Board, the Honourable Tony Clement, tabled an actuarial report on March 25th, 2013.

Remarkable Gains in Life Expectancy

Back in 1965, average life expectancy at age 65 was another 15 years, with women living slightly longer than men. Today, retirees at 65 can expect to live for another 20 years on average, again with women living slightly longer. If we project into the future, taking into account future assumed mortality improvements (that is, further future gains in life expectancies due to decreasing mortality rates), we could expect an additional three-to-four-year gain in life expectancy at age 65.

Canadians are living longer, healthier lives and are working to a more advanced age. According to the most recent (2012) Labour Force Survey from Statistics Canada, the number of Canadians working between ages 65 and 69 has more than doubled over the past 10 years, increasing from 144,000 in 2002 to 374,000 in 2012. The number of those aged 60 to 64 who are still working also increased significantly to reach one million in 2012. Overall, the number of workers between ages 60 and 69 has more than doubled over the past 10 years, increasing from 637,000 to 1.4 million.

In any case, whether the focus is on pay-as-you-go or fully funded plans, defined benefit or defined contribution plans, or public or private sector plans, increased longevity will continue to put pressure on pension plan financing.

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before the Committee. I am happy to answer any questions that you might have.

Allocution de Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, devant les membres du Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires de la Chambre des communes, Ottawa (Ontario), le 18 juin 2013

Introduction

Bonjour, Monsieur le Président et honorables membres du Comité. Je vous remercie de l’occasion que vous m’offrez de m’adresser à vous aujourd’hui.

Mandat et activités du Bureau de l’actuaire en chef

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) est chargé en premier lieu de fournir des services actuariels au gouvernement fédéral et aux gouvernements provinciaux qui sont des intervenants du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC). Bien que je relève du surintendant des institutions financières, j’assume l’entière responsabilité de la teneur des rapports que le BAC prépare et des opinions actuarielles qu’il y exprime.

Le BAC a pour mandat d’effectuer des évaluations actuarielles prévues par la loi à l’égard du RPC, du programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV) et des régimes de retraite et d’avantages sociaux des employés de la fonction publique fédérale, des Forces canadiennes, de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, des juges de nomination fédérale et des députés.

De plus, chaque fois que le Parlement est saisi d’un projet de loi ayant d’importantes répercussions sur la situation financière d’un régime de retraite public à l’égard duquel la loi confère des attributions à l’actuaire en chef, le BAC doit soumettre un rapport actuariel au ministre intéressé.

Modifications récentes de la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique (projet de loi C-45)

La Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique a été modifiée pour hausser l’âge admissible de cinq ans (pour le faire passer de 60 à 65 ans) dans le cas des contributeurs qui adhèrent au régime après le 1er janvier 2013. Les taux de cotisation des participants augmenteront pour faire passer de 35 % à 50 % leur part des coûts du service courant du régime, de manière à répartir les coûts à parts égales entre les participants et le gouvernement. Le président du Conseil du Trésor, l’honorable Tony Clement, a déposé un rapport actuariel le 25 mars 2013.

Progrès remarquables de l’espérance de vie

En 1965, l’espérance de vie moyenne à 65 ans était d’environ 15 ans, les femmes vivant un peu plus longtemps que les hommes. De nos jours, les retraités de 65 ans peuvent espérer vivre encore 20 ans en moyenne, les femmes étant à nouveau légèrement plus avantagées que les hommes. Selon les projections, compte tenu de l’amélioration de la longévité prévue – c’est-à-dire des autres gains futurs d’espérance de vie résultant de la baisse des taux de mortalité –, on peut s’attendre à ce que l’espérance de vie à 65 ans augmente de trois ou quatre ans encore.

Les Canadiens vivent plus longtemps, ils sont en meilleure santé et ils travaillent jusqu’à un âge plus avancé. Selon la plus récente Enquête sur la population active de Statistique Canada, qui a été réalisée en 2012, le nombre de Canadiens âgés entre 65 et 69 ans qui travaillent a plus que doublé au cours des dix dernières années, passant de 144 000 en 2002 à 374 000 en 2012. Le nombre des 60 à 64 ans qui travaillent encore a aussi augmenté de façon sensible – à 1 million – en 2012. Dans l’ensemble, le nombre de travailleurs âgés entre 60 et 69 ans a plus que doublé depuis dix ans, passant de 637 000 à 1,4 million.

De toute manière, que l’on cible les régimes financés par répartition ou ceux pleinement capitalisés, les régimes à prestations déterminées ou à cotisation déterminées, ou encore les régimes du secteur public ou du secteur privé, la progression de la longévité continuera de faire pression sur le financement des régimes de retraite.

Je vous remercie de m’avoir invité à m’adresser à vous aujourd’hui. Je serai maintenant heureux de répondre à toutes vos questions.