Remarks by the Chief Actuary of Canada, Jean-Claude Ménard, to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Public Accounts, Ottawa, Ontario, May 28, 2014

Good afternoon, Mr. Chairperson, Honourable members of the Committee. Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today.

Mandate and Activities of the Office of the Chief Actuary

The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) is an independent unit within the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions that provides a range of actuarial valuation and advisory services to the Government of Canada. While I report to the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, I am solely responsible for the content and actuarial opinions reflected in the reports prepared by my office. The OCA plays an important role in helping the decision-makers, the Parliamentarians and the public understanding some of the risks associated with the public sector pension arrangements by providing checks and balances on the future costs of the different pension plans under its responsibilities.

As part of its mandate, the OCA conducts statutory actuarial valuations on the pension plans covering the federal Public Service (PSSA), the Canadian Forces (CFSA), the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), federally appointed judges, and Members of Parliament. These actuarial valuations are conducted every three years, or whenever an amendment is made that has a significant impact on the financial status of a plan. The purpose of these actuarial valuations is to determine the financial position of the plans and to assist the President of the Treasury Board in making informed decision regarding the financing of the government’s pension benefit obligations. The actuarial assumptions used in the actuarial valuations are determined independently by the OCA and they represent the OCA’s best estimate of expected future events. The actuarial assumptions are revised every time a new valuation is performed based on economic trends and demographic experience. The actuarial valuations are conducted in accordance with accepted actuarial practice in Canada.

Recent Amendments to the Statutes Governing the Public Sector Pension Plans

With the amendments introduced in 2012, contribution rates for public service employees and Members of Parliament are being increased to bring their share of the plans’ current service costs to 50% by 2017, thereby splitting the cost 50-50 between the members and the Government. In addition, the age at which Members of Parliament and public servants entering the plan after 1 January 2013 may receive an unreduced pension is being increased to 65. Actuarial reports presenting the effect of these amendments on the Pension Plan for the Public Service of Canada and on the Pension Plan for the Members of Parliament were prepared by the OCA and tabled before Parliament on 25 March 2013 and 31 May 2013, respectively. It was estimated that these measures will reduce the cost to the Government by $2.6 billion by 2017 and subsequently by $900 million per year.

Remarkable Gains in Life Expectancy

Back in 1965, average life expectancy at age 65 was another 15 years, with women living slightly longer than men. Today, retirees at 65 can expect to live for another 20 years on average, again with women living slightly longer. If we project into the future, taking into account future assumed mortality improvements (that is, further future gains in life expectancies due to decreasing mortality rates), we could expect an additional three-to-four-year gain in life expectancy at age 65. These expected future mortality improvements are embedded in our actuarial valuations of the pension plans. If the future improvements in mortality were not taken into account, the total actuarial liability of the three largest public sector pension plans (PSSA, CFSA and RCMP) as at 31 March 2013 would be reduced by $7.7 billion or 3.4%.

In closing, I am pleased to quote the 2014 Spring Report of the Auditor General of Canada: “We found that the Treasury Board Secretariat, National Defence and the RCMP respected the independence of the Chief Actuary”.

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before this Committee. I would be pleased to answer any questions that you might have.

Allocution de Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, devant le Comité permanent des comptes publics de la Chambre des communes, Ottawa (Ontario), le 28 mai 2014

Bonjour, Monsieur le Président et honorables membres du Comité. Je vous remercie de l’occasion que vous m’offrez de m’adresser à vous aujourd’hui.

Mandat et activités du Bureau de l’actuaire en chef

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) est une unité indépendante au sein du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières qui offre une gamme de services d’évaluation et de consultation actuarielles au gouvernement du Canada. Bien que je relève du surintendant des institutions financières, je suis seul responsable du contenu des rapports préparés par le BAC et des opinions actuarielles qui y sont formulées. Le BAC joue un rôle important en aidant les décideurs, les parlementaires et le public à comprendre certains des risques rattachés aux régimes de retraite du secteur public en évaluant les coûts futurs des divers régimes de pension sous sa responsabilité.

Une partie du mandat du BAC consiste à effectuer les évaluations actuarielles statutaires des régimes de retraite de la fonction publique fédérale (LPFP), des Forces canadiennes (LPRFC), de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), des juges de nomination fédérale et des parlementaires. Ces évaluations actuarielles ont lieu tous les trois ans ou chaque fois que le Parlement est saisi d’un projet de loi ayant d’importantes répercussions sur la situation financière d’un régime. L’objet de ces évaluations actuarielles est de déterminer la situation financière des régimes et de renseigner le président du Conseil du Trésor pour qu’il puisse prendre des décisions éclairées quant au financement des obligations du gouvernement à l’égard des prestations de retraite. Les hypothèses actuarielles qui sous-tendent les évaluations actuarielles sont établies de façon indépendante  par le BAC, et elles sont basées sur la meilleure estimation. Ces hypothèses sont révisées chaque fois qu’une nouvelle évaluation est effectuée afin de refléter les tendances économiques et les résultats démographiques observés. En outre, les évaluations sont conformes à la pratique actuarielle reconnue au Canada.

Modifications récentes de la législation des régimes de pension du secteur public

Avec les modifications apportées en 2012, la part des coûts du service courant assumée par les fonctionnaires fédéraux et les parlementaires sera portée à 50 % d’ici à 2017. Ainsi, les coûts seront répartis à parts égales entre les participants et le gouvernement. De plus, l’âge auquel les parlementaires et les fonctionnaires fédéraux qui adhèrent au régime après le 1er janvier 2013 auront droit à une prestation de retraite non réduite passera à 65 ans. Le BAC a préparé des rapports actuariels décrivant les effets de ces modifications sur le Régime de retraite de la fonction publique et le Régime de retraite des parlementaires.  Ces rapports ont été déposés au Parlement le 25 mars 2013 et le 31 mai 2013, respectivement. Il a été estimé que ces modifications viendront réduire les coûts du gouvernement de 2,6 milliards de dollars d’ici 2017 et de 900 millions de dollars par année par la suite.

Progrès remarquables de l’espérance de vie

En 1965, l’espérance de vie moyenne à 65 ans était d’environ 15 ans, les femmes vivant un peu plus longtemps que les hommes. De nos jours, les retraités de 65 ans peuvent espérer vivre encore 20 ans en moyenne, les femmes étant de nouveau légèrement plus avantagées que les hommes. Selon les projections, compte tenu de l’amélioration de la longévité prévue – c’est-à-dire, des autres gains futurs d’espérance de vie résultant de la baisse des taux de mortalité –, on peut s’attendre à ce que l’espérance de vie à 65 ans augmente de trois ou quatre ans encore. Ces améliorations prévues des taux de mortalité sont prises en compte dans nos évaluations actuarielles des régimes de retraite. Si les améliorations futures de la mortalité n’étaient pas incluses dans les calculs, le passif actuariel total des trois plus importants régimes du secteur public (LPFP, LPRFC et GRC) au 31 mars 2013 diminuerait de 7,7 milliards de dollars, ou 3,4 %.

En terminant, je suis heureux de citer le rapport du printemps 2014 du vérificateur général du Canada : « Nous avons constaté que le Secrétariat [du Conseil du Trésor], la Défense nationale et la GRC avaient respecté l’indépendance de l’actuaire en chef. »

Je vous remercie de m’avoir invité à m’adresser à vous aujourd’hui. Je serai maintenant heureux de répondre à vos questions.